find Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto Sonderangebote PR CR0917 Cloud Drive Photos Alles für die Schule Learn More TDZ Hier klicken HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AlexaundMusic AmazonMusicUnlimited Fußball longSSs17

Kundenrezensionen

4,2 von 5 Sternen
112
4,2 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:8,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

1-10 von 82 Rezensionen werden angezeigt(5 Sterne). Alle 112 Rezensionen anzeigen
am 3. August 2015
Ich habe das Buch innerhalb zweier Nächte verschlungen. Faulkners Beschreibung des Niedergangs einer Amerikanischen Südstaatenfamilie (und ihrer Bediensteter) in den ersten Jahrzehnten des 20. Jahrhunderts entwickelt schnell einen Sog, dem man sich nur schwer entziehen kann.

Das Buch besteht aus 4 Kapiteln, welche sich alle über einen Tag erstrecken, aber durch zahlreiche Rückblenden und Erinnerungsfetzen ca. 30 Jahre tragischer Familiengeschichte beschreiben. Die ersten 3 Kapitel sind aus der Sicht jeweils eines von drei Brüdern geschrieben, im letzten beschreibt Faulkner die Geschehnisse in der 3. Person.

Besonders berühmt ist natürlich das 1. Kapitel: der Ich Erzähler ist geistig behindert. Auch im 2. Teil werden zahlreiche moderne Techniken angewandt, vor allem der allseits beliebte Bewusstseinsstrom nimmt viel Platz ein. Faulkners kraftvolle, alkoholgetränkte Sprache beeindruckt wie immer.

An dieser Stelle möchte ich noch auf die häufig geäußerte Meinung eingehen, The Sound and the Fury sei ein schweres Buch oder erfordere gar viel Arbeit vom Leser. Dem will ich nicht zustimmen. Ich denke, der Grund warum manche Leser Bücher wie dieses als schwer empfinden, ist eine gewisse Erwartungshaltung, alles auf Anhieb zu verstehen. Faulkner verlangt von uns aber keinesfalls, die Identitäten der einzelnen Figuren, die Zeitläufe und Zusammenhänge der Geschehnisse jederzeit nachvollziehen zu können. Nein, während des Lesens bildet sich nur nach und nach und nie völlig eindeutig ein Gesellschaftsportrait heraus, dass uns nicht nur auf atemberaubende Weise eine bestimme Epoche nahebringt, sondern voller universeller Wahrheiten und Ideen ist.

Interessierte Literaturfreunde sollten sich also nicht vom Ruf des Romans oder der Bruchstückhaftigkeit und Uneindeutigkeit der ersten Kapitel abschrecken lassen, sondern sich ganz Faulkners Vision hingeben. Dann ist das Lesen nämlich keine Arbeit, sondern uneingeschränktes Vergnügen.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Oktober 2014
Ich liebe William Faulkner und ich kann dieses Buch nur jedem empfehlen. Auch As I lay dying ist ein tolles Buch von William Faulkner, dass ich nur wärmstens an alle Literaturliebhaber weiterempfehlen kann!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Mai 2000
Sure, you need to do some work to appreciate this great novel, but many things in life require a bit of effort to appreciate. I disagree with the below reviewer who claims that if it takes work, it aint worth it. I would add that by far the most helpful companion to Faulkner's novel is the Twayne's Masterworks series (like Cliffs, only 1000 times better -- and they exist for many other great novels too). Like Wallace Stephens, Faulkner gives us four different version of the kernel of his story which in his words was our view of Caddie, the little girl who muddied her drawers, climbing up the pear tree. Faulkner gives Benjy, the 33 year old retard, the greatest gift of all -- speech! Though this first section, seen through Benjy's eyes, is confusing, Faulkner limits his vocabulary to just over a 100 or so words. My high school students this year in AP English voted this their favorite book of the year of the 11 or so novels we read. With a bit of background information, the reader's comprehension will be greatly aided. I'm going on my 15th reading and I'm happy to say the text yields up new insights every time. One of my all time favorite novels by anyone. I envy the first time reader experiencing sections I and II for the first time -- savor the experience.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Februar 2000
si no eres inteligente o no te gusta investigar, mejor no te acerques a este libro, pues no es facil leerlo y mucho mas dificil es entender su compleja estructura que consta de cuatro partes que cuentan la misma cosa de manera distinta, , benjy, el idiota que narra la primera parte es casi inaccesible, porque su mente esta fragmentada y de el obtendremos recuerdos, , pasado y presente todo junto. la segunda parte es mas narrada hacia adentro, para el , quentin, es mas importante lo que el piensa sobre el y caddy que el resto del mundo y la parte de jason, suena cruda. la ultima parte nos da luz y nos deja ver de que trata el libro, pero tambien es bueno leer mas sobre faulkner para poder entender las motivaciones de los caracteres. por ejemplo en absalom, absalom,vovemos a encontrar a quentin compson y en varias historias de faulkner podemos encontrar a jason . los personajes se cruzan de historia en historia, asi como garcia marquez, pero faulkner claro estuvo antes que marquez y el pueblo de imaginario de faulkner, me hace recordar a macondo. similitudes entre grandes escritores? averiguelo leyendolo a los dos,son muy buenos y no solo lean, el ruido y la furia luz de agosto, absalom y los cuentos de faulkner valen todos la pena.
luis mendez
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Februar 2000
si no eres inteligente o no te gusta investigar, mejor no te acerques a este libro, pues no es facil leerlo y mucho mas dificil es entender su compleja estructura que consta de cuatro partes que cuentan la misma cosa de manera distinta, , benjy, el idiota que narra la primera parte es casi inaccesible, porque su mente esta fragmentada y de el obtendremos recuerdos, , pasado y presente todo junto. la segunda parte es mas narrada hacia adentro, para el , quentin, es mas importante lo que el piensa sobre el y caddy que el resto del mundo y la parte de jason, suena cruda. la ultima parte nos da luz y nos deja ver de que trata el libro, pero tambien es bueno leer mas sobre faulkner para poder entender las motivaciones de los caracteres. por ejemplo en absalom, absalom,vovemos a encontrar a quentin compson y en varias historias de faulkner podemos encontrar a jason . los personajes se cruzan de historia en historia, asi como garcia marquez, pero faulkner claro estuvo antes que marquez y el pueblo de imaginario de faulkner, me hace recordar a macondo. similitudes entre grandes escritores? averiguelo leyendolo a los dos,son muy buenos y no solo lean, el ruido y la furia luz de agosto, absalom y los cuentos de faulkner valen todos la pena.
luis mendez
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. März 2000
It's difficult enough to distinguish a rare cultural fuse of the once-proud South after its stoop in the Civil War; Faulkner's overwhelmingly powerful pen only heightened the tension of a Southern aristocratic family melting away in this ghastly clash of old-time unity and new-time individuality.
Set in the imaginary Yoknapatawpha County in Mississippi, this 1929 masterpieces focuses on the fall of the infamous Compson clan. Similar to Joyce, Faulkner stresses the stream of consciousness rather than sheltered outward expressions. As a great technician who was not afraid to experience with his pen, Faulkner divides the book into 4 parts having 3 Compson brothers and the family slaves lead the readers through. "Through what" is the huge challenge as Faulknerian lyrics harshly bash the complex character's shallow projection by allowing the readers to trace the thoughts forming process. Named after the renowned MacBeth line:"It is a tale/Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury; Signifying nothing", Benjy the man-child begins the story in a rather confusing tone. Due to his impaired memory, the first part paints a devious path that leads into overlapping time zones where the past, the present, and the future exist as one for the youngest Compson. Like his brothers whose lives are more or less dictated by their sister Caddy's sexuality, Benjy mourns over the loss of Caddy as he drifts into a darker adulthood.
The eldest son Quentin is situated at an extremity where everything evolves around Caddy's promiscuity. "Chosen" as the aristocratic heir, Quentin goes to Harvard where he stays haunted by the mirage of a distorted youth. The only Compson who actually appreciates the Southern pride, Quentin comes to represent the fatality of a fallen giant's anguish and helplessness. Besides the disturbing twist to his relationship with Caddy, Quentin is neurotically concerned with a false sense of honor when Caddy does lose her virginity. His deadly obsession with purity and pride further compel him to grope towards a personal Hell. Jason the 3rd eldest child is the brute that lays in dormant in all of us who bears a strong hatred for Caddy. A natural cynic, Jason fully demonstrates human capacity of Satanism. His character is an ever-flowing current that gallops in no direction and in every direction at the same time. And the very paradox of Jason's identity help explain the decadence of his nature that appears unthinkable in a human being. Jason has no soul, rather, it dissolved in his own current of attempting to find himself in a dysfunctional family where he (!) is left to play the role of the patriarch. Later in the novel, his relationship with Caddy's illegitimate daughter further intensifies the devilish fury in Jason as he tries to suppresses his niece who wishes to sound her own voice-in a house where her mother's name is forbidden. The last part is narrated by Faulkner himself who ties the ends up through the black servants in the household who witness the moral fall of their masters. The beauty of this book is manifested in the final chapter when Caddy's, 2nd eldest child, tragic but in a way heroic tale is reiterated. The brilliance lies in Faulkner's ability to create his most powerful character without painting a complete picture; instead, Caddy, as the beloved mother-sister, the fallen angel, and the hated attention-grabber, comes alive through broken pieces of narration that are weaved into one another. She never has a chance to reveal her thoughts, yet through her decisions, Faulkner invigorates a courageous young woman whose only weapon against the world is rebellion. She is the heart of the story although not one full glimpse of her face is given; it is indeed the invisible and extensive vibes that connect her to every brother that enable her to become the source of the Compson sound and fury.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. April 2000
I pretty much picked "The Sound and the Fury" on a whim and I'm glad I did. As the reviewer before me, William, stated this book has so much depth. Beauty that is revealed as the story progresses.
Yes, I found it difficult at the beginning. Benjy's narrative flings itself far and wide, twisting and turning. You may get lost, but keep reading! Next you'll come to Quentin's tragic narrative, which takes place some 18 years earlier. The pieces of the Compson family puzzle began to finally come together.
Jason, the cynical brother, is next. All three brothers recall extensively their feelings and thoughts on their sister Caddy, who has no narrative, but is profoundly present the whole time. Finally Dilsey, the black servant, has the final chapter. Through each narrative the story and writing become more coherent. A truly worthwhile read to savor and enjoy.
If all else fails, I've found a few Faulker study guides on the net. Great resources to help you get more out of his rich and satisfying novels.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Juli 2000
This was the first Faulkner novle I read. The first time I read it, I wanted to chuck the book through my bedroom window. But after taking my time, reading about Faulkner, and mapping out the Benjy section with the help of Cliff's Notes, I began to enjoy this book very much. It's basically centered around one event: the daughter's lost of her virginity and the subsequent effects on her family afterwards. The book is broken into four section, each named after one of her three brothers (Benjy, Quentin, and Jason) and the family housekeeper (Disley). Each narrator gives their views of the situation, (Disley's section is narrated by Faulkner himself.)Each chapter is written in quite a different style; the most difficult, most would agree, being the first chapter, the Benjy section. Benjy is mentally retarded and has no sense of time; he works purely on physical sensation. The timeframe during his narrative is all over the place. To clear things up, Cliff's Notes map out most of the time changes in his section. (No one but Faulkner himself knows all of them, and he's dead.) Once you come to know where the scene changes, the story starts to unfold. The second section, Quentin's, is written in stream-of-consciousness. Quentin's section is written with sohpisticated vocabulary and sentence structure because he is a student at Harvard. Jason's section is probably the quickest read; he's incredibly ignorant and cruel. The Disley section is probably the most satisfying overall, but each section needs the help of the others to reach the story's full effect. This is well worth the read if you have the time.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. Januar 2000
Yes, thank goodness for Cliff's Notes or I might not have read this great, great novel, which is now one of my two or three favorite books, the other two being Ulysses and Under the Volcano. When I first opened The Sound and the Fury, I thought what in the hell is going on here? What's all this about a "caddie?" Cliff's Notes opened the book for me, helped me to clue in to the shifting time frames. Some complain Faulkner just jumbled up everything to be "different." Wrong, amigos! He knew exactly what he was doing, expressing the chaos of life and the beauty hidden within it, the "sound and fury" of the title. I'm not suprised that readers who disliked the novel identified with Jason, the "logical, common-sense" character, as some reviewers characterize him. They totally missed the point and the beauty of the book: that the characters living in torment, confusion and pain are the noble ones because of their struggle. Jason, on the other hand, is a true creep, like some of these yuppie and post-yuppie types nowadays who bad-mouth novels that don't have a slam-bang plot and who would kick their own granmothers down the stairs to further their own gains. Shallow, empty, creepy. The Sound and the Fury, especially after re-reading, is the most beautiful book ever written in America and maybe in the entire world. The supreme achievement in fiction.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. März 2000
Reading this book once is like mining for diamonds with a toothpick or- to the other extreme- a jackhammer. The layers of this novel need to brushed and cajoled away with gentle determination and loving patience.
The first part of the story is narrated by Benjy Compson, an idiot who relates incidents as they come to his mind, in his order, not chrnological, or any logical order. This is indeed frustrating at first, it is supposed to be- just like the life Benjy suffered. But don't stop, peel away the next layers of the story offered by Quinten Compson and Jason Compson. And then when you re-visit Benjy's narrative it unfolds into a fascinating exploration of his world. A pain-filled world where golfer's playing on the pasture that was once the family's and yelling for the "caddie" bring him bellowing like a wounded cow.
Read and feel the pain of Quinten's love for Caddy as he strools the streets of Cambridge looking for a place in the Cambridge river to catch his shadow that is always either ahead of him or behind him but never part of him until. . .. And finally there is the rage that is Jason Compson. A rage driven by the living ghost of Caddy and the family's impotence to change their life of arrested development in Yoknapatawpha County.
Don't read this because you have to. Read this because you love literature and find reward in the perserveance of peeling away layers until you find the core that Faulkner left for us.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

8,49 €
9,99 €

Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken