find Hier klicken Jetzt informieren PR CR0917 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Hier Klicken Shop Kindle Unlimited AmazonMusicUnlimited Fußball longss17



Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 27. Mai 2017
You might recognize the Horowitz from Andreessen Horowitz, one of the most recognisable VC funds nowadays.

Anyways, this book is less about investing and more about the experiences of the author being the CEO of a struggling company, and what he learned from that when he transitioned to investing in startups.

Honestly, I could not say I learned much from it that I could apply myself, but it is a very entertaining read nonetheless.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. April 2014
Es macht großen Spass, das Buch zu lesen. Vorausgesetzt man mag ein etwas derberes Vokabular. Es ist im Prinzip ein Buch voller Geschichten, in denen Horowitz erzählt, was in seinem Berufsleben funktioniert hat - und was nicht.
Etwas sehr amerikanisch teilweise, aber ich habe viel gelacht und viel für meine Arbeit mitgenommen.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Mai 2017
Passt,super,gut zu lesen,wurde vielfach verborgt,als Taschenbuch gut auf Reisen,
wurde für das Studium verwendet, in die Hausarbeit auf der Uni
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. November 2014
Das Buch beschreibt interessant den Werdegang von Ben Horowitz und gibt dabei spannende Einblicken in die Start-up Welt und den Alltag eines Managers.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. April 2014
Das Buch ist sehr unterhaltsam durch viele Anekdoten und zusätzlich sehr lehrreich.
Man erhält viele Denkanstöße.
Großes Lob an Ben Horowitz.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. Januar 2016
Zu oft fokussieren sich andere Startup-Bücher auf den Prozess der Gründung oder der Iteration. Da wird dann schon mal die Planung als überflüssig abgetan, unreife Produkte und Lügen als der heilige Gral der Kundenorientierung ("Testen") ausgelegt und jede noch so unüberlegte Entscheidung lässt sich ja problemlos per "Pivot" ausbügeln. Kostet ja alles nichts.

Ben Horrowitz ist da angenehm und anders: Er lenkt den Fokus mehr auf die wirklichen Probleme: den Umgang mit den Menschen, die einem auf dem Weg begleiten. Dies sind Freunde, lieb gewonnene Kollegen, Existenzen mit Familien hinten dran. Menschen und Firmen, die ein Teil des eigenen Lebens sind - und was passiert, wenn diese Dinge plötzlich nicht mehr haltbar sind?!
Horrowitz sagt nicht, dass die Dinge wie Kunden, Prozesse oder die Gründungsphase nicht auch Herausforderungen sind. Für ihn sind das jedoch Aspekte, die schon klappen werden und die man hinbekommt. - Aber was wirklich "hart" ist .. sind die Entscheidungen, die nur zwei schlechte Optionen haben und die von Mensch mit einem Gewissen nur schwer zu fällen sind.

Angenehm und kurzweilig geschrieben mit vielen Anekdoten aus dem eigenen Leben als Einblick auf die wirklich "harten" Entscheidungen eines Gründers.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. März 2014
I am European, so this is not your typical standard praise for a very good read: This book is awesome in so many regards that it blew my mind. As an entrepreneur i starter to understand the wrong assumptions and decisions I made the last 5 years and wished I had that information earlier. There's no bulls*** and 100% substance, and it's the only business book that gets better and better where others tend to flatline after a hysterical start. Please read of you really want to reinvent your startup business into a powerful, highly functional company without the cover-your-ass people showing up.
0Kommentar| 8 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. Juni 2016
The Hard Things About Hard Things by Ben Horowitz is a book for CEOs.
Horowitz explains in a very easy to read and an entertaining style his learnings
as a CEO. For me it was especially helpful to better understand the role of a
CEO and exciting the get a look into to the decision strategies of a battle-
proven startup founder.

Especially useful for non-CEOs like me and and from a leadership perspective
are his remarks on the importance of the CEO being the person in an
organization that is actually in the position to make tough decisions and that
finding decisions in a commitee does not yield the best decision in the interest
of the company. In combination with his chapter on the _Peacetime/Wartime CEO_
this helps to understand the role of a CEO: companies cant function properly
without them and they are in a constant state of struggle, often dilemma. The
hard thing_ is that there is no simple answer to this and they deservere respect
and forgiveness for their sometimes hard to understand decisions. But only the
unique position of a CEO who has all knowledge about a business enables thme to
weigh that information and find the best decision-or just the least bad one.

Where Horowitz stands out for me is the fact that he goes great length into
explaining the importance of not letting _politics_ destroy the connection and
trust employess have to their company. He values the individual learning and
development over everything else because in the end it will be the strength
of the team that carries a startup through tough times.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. April 2014
Ben Horowitz is a very well known name in the Silicone Valley circles. A veteran of tech industry and a very successful entrepreneur, Horowitz is a cofounder of Andreesen-Horowitz, one of the most dynamic and successful high-tech venture capital firms. Those credentials, impressive as they are, would not in-and-of themselves distinguished Horowitz in the place that is teeming with incredibly talented and incredibly successful individuals. What really makes Horowitz one of the most admired figures in the world of high-tech startups are his unique willingness and ability to share the hard-earned insights from his experiences with others who are embarking upon the same path of building a successful company. For many years Horowitz has shared many of those insights via his blog. In “The Hard Thing About The Hard Things” he’s distilled some of those insights into an engaging and extremely informative book.

Writing a blog may seem like a great way of accumulating enough material for a book: you write when the fancy strikes you, you don’t have any writing deadlines to deal with, you don’t have to worry about the stricture of the written material, you get immediate and ongoing feedback from your readers which can help you correct and refine your ideas, etc. However, from my experience, most blogs that have been turned into books tend to be a failure. The fragmentary and disjoined nature of blog writing is at odds with the clear and unified structure that we’ve come to expect from books. Horowitz manages to overcome that barrier, and the book the book that comes out of his blog is remarkably coherent and smooth. The individual chapters do feel like they came out of separate blog posts, but transitions between them are smooth and there is an overall sense of coherence and continuity that neatly ties everything together.

I’ve read many books on various topics pertaining to business, careers, leadership, etc. Most of them fall somewhere between completely useless and utterly vacuous. It’s almost impossible to find any concrete, actionable advice in any of them. I have pretty much given up on the whole category. Fortunately, Ben Horowitz’s book is as far from those other books as they come. Each chapter deals with a very concrete experience and/or problem that Horowitz had encountered in the world of startups. The experience is then distilled into the most important insights, and those in turn are oftentimes channeled into very clear, actionable steps that others can take if they find themselves in a similar situation. Most of the advice makes a great deal of sense, but even if you are not totally convinced by some of it, at least you know what is the reasoning behind. This can greatly help you come up with your own set of ways to deal with the similar set of problems.

As already mentioned, Horowitz was a very successful CEO of high-tech startup(s). The experience and the advice in this book are clearly aimed at other CEOs or people in a leadership positions within their startups and companies. The book will clearly benefit all of the Silicon Valley entrepreneurs, but in my opinion there is a wider business audience that could find many of the insights in “The Hard Things” invaluable and well worth the read. Anyone who has ever had to hire or fire employees, change an important business or organizational strategy, or dealt with uncertain business and market forces, would appreciate a very candid and straightforward account of what are truly hard thing in the business world and how to deal with them.

In the end, the most important insight from this book, and one that anyone irrespective of their professional background can take, is that what really matters in business and life are people. The most important decisions that you will ever make are the ones that affect many other people, and the greatest satisfaction in all spheres of life can be found in helping other people flourish. These insights can oftentimes be lost or overlooked in the hypercompetitive technologically-obsessed world of Silicon Valley, but that’s why they need to be repeated and proclaimed whenever possible. For this insight alone Ben Horowitz’s book is a must-read for anyone who works in those circles.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. Mai 2017
Das Buch zielt wirklich absolut auf die Management Ebene eines Unternehmens ab. Hat man kein eigenes Unternehmen gibt das Buch wirklich nicht viel her. Ich musste mich zwingen das Buch zu beenden - für Großunternehmensleiter empfehlenswert, für den Rest nicht.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden