Hier klicken Sale Salew Salem Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto Sonderangebote Books Summer Shop 2017 Cloud Drive Photos Alles für die Schule Learn More TDZ HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimited longss17

Kundenrezensionen

3,4 von 5 Sternen
45
3,4 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:5,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 20. März 2017
Das Buch besteht aus dünnem recycel Papier. Ist günstig. Jedoch fühlt es sich nicht so schön in der Hand an. Für einmal lesen mit einer Klasse ist es jedoch brauchbar.

Das Buch ist interessant geschrieben und für einen zehnten Jahrgang in der Schule auf Gymnasialniveau verwendbar
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
VINE-PRODUKTTESTERam 8. November 2009
In diesem Buch geht es um die Geschichte von Ursula - Ugly Girl - und Matthew - Big Mouth. Matt bringt sich mit einer unbedachten Äußerung in große Schwierigkeiten und seine Freunde sind auf einmal nicht mehr für ihn da. Nur Ursula, die er kaum kennt, steht für ihn ein und hilft ihm aus der Riesenklemme. Daraus entsteht eine tiefe Freundschaft.
Das Buch hat mich sehr bewegt. Es ist sehr eindringlich geschrieben, und reflektiert die Tatsache, dass eine Massenhysterie schnell zu unbedachten Taten und großen Tragödien führen kann. Oates' Schreibstil ist äußerst angenehm und auch ungewöhnlich. Ich habe es in Vorbereitung auf ein Uni-Seminar gelesen, wo dieses als mögliche Schullektüre vorgeschlagen wird. Und ich finde die Wahl sehr gelungen: Das Buch gibt viel Anlass zum Diskutieren, lässt sich dabei aber auch einfach und schnell lesen.
Kann ich auch für jeden empfehlen, der sein Englisch ein bisschen auffrischen möchte!
0Kommentar| 16 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. August 2010
Dieses Buch spiegelt eine Geschichte wieder, wie Sie einem jeden passieren kann.
Die Story ist klasse, die Art des Schreibens macht einem spaß zu lesen und für jemanden der sich etwas in der englischen Sprache wieder besser einfinden möchte auch gut zu verstehen.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. April 2007
ich musste mir das buch "big mouth & ugly girl" gewissermaßen gezwungen als schullektüre im englischunterricht zulegen. als ich das buch das erste mal gelesen habe, fand ich die story sehr mäßig. wenn man allerdings über die einzelnen charaktere, ihre beziehungen zueinander und ihre entwicklungen genauer betrachtet und analysiert, denke ich ,dass es eine sehr große qualität an ausdruck und gefühl hat. deshalb mein tipp: für "nur lesen, nein"; genaueres lesen und nachdenken: "auf jeden fall"
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. April 2015
The novel “big mouth & ugly girl”, written by Joyce Carol Oates is about Matt Donaghy – big mouth – Ursula Riggs – ugly girl.
Matt gets in trouble, because of his big mouth. He says he want to blow up the school and massacre many students and teachers, but it was only a joke. The accusation of the school, the students, the police and the media make him a bad time. His friends turns away from him and only Ursula has the courage to be a witness for Matt and tells the truth.
In the course of time Matt and Ursula get closer and become best friends.

I think the story is well written and you want to know how it goes on. That feeling you get already in the first chapter, when Matt have to come out with the detectives and you don't know if he did something bad.

Already in the beginning you get to know both characters very well, it is written in two perspectives. For example in one chapter out of Ursula's perspective and in the following out of Matt's perspective.
Maybe it becomes to some readers in a short time very boring because of too much explanation of the circumstances and the characteristics.
Later the two perspectives become to only one. That depends on how close their relationship is to that time.

In my opinion the characters are chosen very well. They are described very well and you only have to like Ursula and Matt.

For me the topic is very interesting and I think that many other people are interested in that topic because it is still present. I would say boys as well as girls like the topic and would read the book.
The only thing I would criticize is that the tension gets a little bit lost in the end and the end is foreseeable. But what I like about the end is that it is a happy end because I don't like books without happy end.

I would recommend the book to others because all in all it is an interesting story with a serious and present topic. It is well written and the spelling style of Joyce Carol Oates is very easy and sometimes funny.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Juni 2009
Das Buch ist auch ohne langes und mühevolles Vokabelsuchen leicht verständlich, da nicht alle Wörter nötig sind um dem Geschehen zu folgen.
Auch ist die Geschichte die sich hinter dem Buchtitel versteckt sehr lesenswert und regt zum Nachdenken an, vorallem darüber, wie schnell nur durch ein dummes Gerücht das Leben eines einzelnen so schnell umgekrempelt werden kann und wie schnell sich wahre Freunde in solchen Situationen von den Falschen unterscheiden.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. April 2015
The novel “big mouth & ugly girl”, written by Joyce Carol Oates is about Matt Donaghy – big mouth – Ursula Riggs – ugly girl.
Matt gets in trouble, because of his big mouth. He says he want to blow up the school and massacre many students and teachers, but it was only a joke. The accusation of the school, the students, the police and the media make him a bad time. His friends turns away from him and only Ursula has the courage to be a witness for Matt and tells the truth.
In the course of time Matt and Ursula get closer and become best friends.

I think the story is well written and you want to know how it goes on. That feeling you get already in the first chapter, when Matt have to come out with the detectives and you don't know if he did something bad.

Already in the beginning you get to know both characters very well, it is written in two perspectives. For example in one chapter out of Ursula's perspective and in the following out of Matt's perspective.
Maybe it becomes to some readers in a short time very boring because of too much explanation of the circumstances and the characteristics.
Later the two perspectives become to only one. That depends on how close their relationship is to that time.

In my opinion the characters are chosen very well. They are described very well and you only have to like Ursula and Matt.

For me the topic is very interesting and I think that many other people are interested in that topic because it is still present. I would say boys as well as girls like the topic and would read the book.
The only thing I would criticize is that the tension gets a little bit lost in the end and the end is foreseeable. But what I like about the end is that it is a happy end because I don't like books without happy end.

I would recommend the book to others because all in all it is an interesting story with a serious and present topic. It is well written and the spelling style of Joyce Carol Oates is very easy and sometimes funny.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. April 2013
Bestellung, Bearbeitung und Lieferung perfekt! Das ist aber die einzige positive Kritik... Ich musste das Buch für die Schule nun schon zum zweiten Mal bestellen (in deutscher- und in englischer Sprache für den Unterricht) und da ich die Geschichte somit gut kenne muss ich leider sagen, dass es das schlechteste Buch ist das ich je gelesen habe... Es ist sehr übertrieben geschrieben und schon nach wenigen Kapiteln macht das Lesen keinen Spaß mehr.
Es geht um Matt Donaghy, der durch einen schlechten Scherz als Amokläufer verdächtigt wird und in der Gesellschaft nicht mehr angesehen wird, als er sich als unschuldig erweist. Lediglich die Einzelgängerin Ursula Riggs hält zu ihm und hilft ihm wieder, seinen Weg zu finden. Das mag möglicherweise interessant klingen, aber wenn man das Buch nicht für die Schule oder ähnliches lesen muss, rate ich davon ab. Es gibt weitaus bessere Bücher, die man in seiner Freizeit lesen kann.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Oktober 2015
Der Artikel kam schon am nächsten Tag und war schnell hier. Das Buch hatte schon ein paar dellen, da es mit einem anderen hartem Artikel versendet wurde. Da es nur eine Schullektüre ist, macht das nicht soviel, bin aber kein Fan davon wenn ich Bücher so erhalte.

Das Buch ist gut für Einsteiger, ist aber auch nett zu lesen um mal einen anderen Gesichtspunkt zu bekommen von der heutigen Jugend (Bin selbst Jugendliche)
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Mai 2004
The novel "Big Mouth and Ugly Girl" which was written by Joyce Carol Oates in 2002 is about a boy named Matt Donaghy who has been accused of threatening to carry out a massacre at his High School. The accusations of the school, the students, police and even the media make him a nervous wreck. There is just one person speaking up and putting in a good word for him: Ursula Riggs, known as ugly and unpopular with others. Both never had something to do with each other but the more Matt gets in trouble the more they develop a close relationship.
From the first pages on the novel is very gripping. Fortunately Oates avoids starting with long descriptions of different circumstances which often bore the readers. Right from the start both protagonists - the charismatic Matt and the poor ugly Ursula - become very likeable. In the first half of the book you read from two perspectives, later both actions blend into each other. Firstly you get to know a lot about the two particular headstrong juniors and their backgrounds. Although the plot does not seem to be interesting the novel rarely becomes boring because Oates manages to entertain her readers with her eloquent and colloquial style of writing. You really feel pity and sympathy for Matt's and Ursula's situations.
Nevertheless the novel is not really challenging. The language of Oates is very funny and entertaining but that is it. After reading the novel you automatically feel like it was written for teenagers - I would go so far as to claim that even children would understand what this book is about. After approximately hundred pages you feel like already knowing how the story will end. And indeed - I was not surprised about the ending because I expected exactly that and I am surely not the only one.
Maybe the only interesting aspect about this book is the development of Matt because you really see how such unjust accuses can destroy a boy's life. The situation also depicts how fearful the American society is about school massacres after all the real incidents in the last months and years. But even that is already known and so there isn't anything you were not informed about before. Other aspects which Oates writes about are things like friendship, love, family affairs and especially teenagers in puberty who are developing and fighting against typical problems. The latter mostly refers to young people who represent the role of social misfits. Do not expect revolutionary ideas.
In the end I would say the novel "Big Mouth and Ugly Girl" is a book worth reading as long as you want to be entertained for a few hours. If you expect something like a book filled with pretentious surprises, brilliant characters, a story you have not heard about before or a bombastic excitement you will surely be disappointed. Compare this novel to a tasty candy: While eating you will like it, after swallowing you will forget about it.
0Kommentar| 25 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden