Hier klicken Sale Salew Salem Hier klicken Sonderangebote studentsignup Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimitedFamily longss17



Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 25. Juni 2017
Good for budding writers. Presents all infos in one place for easy introduction to writing well. Highly recommended for all budding as well as writers who want to improve.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Juli 2017
Sehr Gut

Kann ich empfehlen muss man lesen wenn man ein gutes Buch schreiben will.leicht zu lesen und sehr unterhaltsamen
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. Mai 2000
I am a reporter on a small town weekly and bought this book - along with several others - as a refresher course. I would recommend it to anyone who writes for a living, because Zinsser writes so well, teaches so well and gives such good examples. Although he's writing about assignments that people like me can only dream about, I have found that his guidance has stayed with me and is applicable to everyday newspaper work. I particularly liked his emphasis on avoiding abstractions in leads, and his willingness for journalism to be entertaining. Moreover, it's a very readable book. I will never forget the story about going to Timbuktoo.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. März 2000
This book was easy to read and full of useful information, with a comprehensive index. After I finished reading, I radically edited a piece I'd just written. The wordiness was cut out, the point was made clearer and it read more smoothly. The cover says the book is the classic guide to writing non-fiction; though I think the advice applies equally well to fiction.
On Writing Well is split into four parts. The first, Principles, deals with the mechanics of writing. Zinsser is insistent that you strip the clutter from your writing. Part two is Methods, advising consistency of tone and tense, and the importance of strong beginnings and endings. Part three looks in detail at types of writing (humour, memoir, science, business etc.). The final part looks at attitudes, how we approach our writing and our unique writing.
Zinsser says: "My commodity as a writer, whatever I'm writing, is me. And your commodity is you."
Probably the best advice from Zinsser was about rewriting until the piece is as good as you can get it. I wrote the first draft of this review by hand, to force at least one rewrite as I typed it up. What you're reading now is the fourth draft, and it's much better than the first was. This is an excellent book I think everyone can learn from.
0Kommentar| 14 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Mai 2000
When one of my professors handed back an essay he marked it all in red. It was then I knew I needed improve my writing style. My professor emphasized the importance of using the correct word in the correct situation, writing what is really meant, and getting rid of all useless word clutter. When I found this book on amazon.com, I was delighted, but I wasn't sure what to exactly expect. To my surprise, Zinsser emphasizes the exact same principles my Humanities professor did (yet they had never been emphasized in any prior class)!
Zinsser gives extremely practical advice about writing, in a very flowing and interesting style. One important thing he stresses is that to write well, one has to *work at it*. I was used to sitting down and expecting the words just to flow. Now when I write, I take the time to use the principles Zinsser outlines. This is one of those books that I have highlighted nearly every line in. The whole book is very useful for the professional and novice writer. I don't think I would ever be without it. The interview section was particularly helpful when I needed to do one for a church newsletter. There should be something for everyone who wants to write about places, sports, science, business, or memoirs (there is a chapter on each).
This book will be of particular help to me when I go to graduate school next year. Then I will especially need to be able to organize my thoughts and write in a clear and concise manner. Overall I cannot stop stressing how important this book has been in improving my writing style.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. April 2007
Whow: Ever seen a printed jewel before?

Even the part on "simplicity" is well worth the money.

Make it simpler - cut it down. It'll still convey your message. And Zessner

is so right about it...

Zessner goes on as he begins: precise, interesting and with many

convincing samples. Good read!
0Kommentar| 7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. Januar 2000
I found Zinsser's book at a used book sale and I immediately snatched it up as an interested writer. Whatever I paid for it was not anywhere near its worth in my opinion.
Zinsser's writing style is very fluid, easy to understand, and comes across as one writer to another. He describes the common pitfalls writers go through and provides simple, effective ways to overcome those mistakes.
Whenever I start working as a full-time journalist, this book will go on my desk right along with the AP Stylebook and other bibles of journalism.
Once in a rare while, I come across writing that is so well done that I just sit and read to enjoy the mastery. This is one of those cases.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Juli 1998
'On Writing Well' is THE book for serious writers -- begining or experienced -- and should be required reading for all journalists.
As editor of two weekly newspapers, I keep a copy of 'On Writing Well' at my office and require that new writers read it and buy their own copy. It doesn't take much prompting.
The text covers virtually all aspects of good, strong journalsim in an easy-to-understand format. From humor -- the toughest form of writing in a serious news format -- to hard news, Zinsser's often-reprinted work is a must.
Although geared toward non-fiction, the book covers creative writing and developing a 'style' well. Too many writers try for style before they find substance. Zinsser clearly explains why that's a bad idea.
Forget all the 'best of' books and buy this one. There's more useful information in each chapter of 'On Writing Well' than in entire volumes of many other like books.
After 11 years in the business, a copy of the book remains in the smallest room in my house. I've probably read it over 100 times and each read turns up something fresh in the text, helping to improve my own skills.
'On Writing Well' should be part of college courses along with the Associated Press Style Book. I reference it almost as often.
If writers want to improve, or those who want to be writers want to know how to break into the business, this is the book.
John Lowman, Editor Texas Press Association
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. November 1999
Unlike other guides I have read, this book is easy to understand and apply. Other guides impose strict planning and other techniques on the writer. Using numerous examples, Zinsser illustrates the pitfalls common in writing and provides guidelines to clear and precise writing. Practicing what he preaches, the entire book is simple, clear and precise. I would recommend this book to anyone who writes - for school, work or leisure.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. April 2000
I give this book to every high school graduate who is bound for college. While some offer harsh criticism of the author's call for simplicity, it's simplicity that forms the foundation of greater expression. Without this foundation, most writing deteriorates into meaningless drivel. This wonderful book is the foundation to writing that communicates.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)