Sale Sale Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Book Spring Store 2017 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle PrimeMusic BundesligaLive wint17



am 3. Februar 2014
Diese Rezension bezieht sich auf die Hardcover-Ausgabe. Über den Inhalt will ich mich hier nicht im Einzelnen äußern: Die Erdsee-Romane von Ursula K. Le Guin zählen zu den Klassikern der modernen Fantasy-Literatur, und ganz gleich, ob man sich nur auf die ersten drei Romane, A WIZARD OF EARTHSEA, THE TOMBS OF ATUAN und THE FARTHEST SHORE beschränkt oder auch die wesentlich später geschriebenen Bände TEHANU, den Geschichtenband TALES FROM EARTHSEA und das abschließende THE OTHER WIND hinzunimmt, welche die Aussage der ersten Trilogie im Nachhinein relativieren, lohnen sie auch die wiederholte Lektüre. Die vorliegende Ausgabe ist ein etwas kleineres amerikanisches Hardcover-Format, aber durch den großen Satzspiegel und den breiten Zeilendurchschuss sind die Bände trotzdem gut lesbar. Ich wollte die Romane, die ich seinerzeit nach ihrem Erscheinen gelesen hatte, in einer einheitlichen schön gestalteten Ausgabe besitzen, und als solche kann ich diese Bücher empfehlen. Es sind, gemessen an neuen Fantasy-Epen, keine sehr umfangreichen Bücher, aber sie haben trotzdem ein gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 1. März 2014
This book is filled to the brim with explanation of magical concepts such as the power of utterance, the nature of destructive forces, living in balance with nature, finding one's path of learning. However, none of these explanations are called out as such - but woven into a wonderful story of a young boy setting out on his magical path. I strongly recommend this book for anybody who is aiming to do the same. You will learn a lot.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 16. Oktober 2013
Das Buch ist wunderbar, sehr gut erzählt und sehr zu empfehlen. Die Charakterentwicklung von Sparrowhawk ist wirklich gut dargestellt. Top!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
This is the first volume of what would become a classic fantasy tetralogy about a world of islands (the other books in the series are "The Tombs of Atuan" (1971), "The Farthest Shore" (1972), and "Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea" (1990)). "The Wizard of Earthsea" is often a required text in college courses on speculative fiction as well as in courses in children's literature. It was originally written for juveniles and teenagers; yet, it achieved a much wider following. It won the 1969 "Boston Globe" Horn Book Award for Excellence. The story is centered about the young boy known as Sparrowhawk, later known as Ged, who goes off to be trained as a wizard. His pride and anger accidentally lets loose a shadow upon the world. Ged learns humility and duty and, after confronting a dragon threatening villagers, he goes off to restore the balance in the world by facing this shadow. The reader becomes well aware of the importance of words: words, by themselves, can become acts. We have to be very careful in what we say and how we phrase sentences. In addition, the reader sees Ged face his fears and discovers an aspect of the nature of good and evil that allows him to grow more complete.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 29. Mai 2000
Not only is the "Earthsea" trilogy a wonderful series for adolescents but it also contains profound wisdom for adults seeking their own path to individuation. Rich in timeless myth, the series has the young mage Ged surmount many trials on his way to understanding himself and therein lies the key to his ultimately becomming the Archmage of Roke. Each book in the series has the main story turn on the issue of trust between two people and upon Ged's courage in facing dark issues either within himself or in the enviroment. Ged is a powerful role for young people developing a sense of their inner integrity and for middle-agers every where beginning to deal with their shadow issues. Of course there are plenty of dragons, battles, transformations and journeys which can be enjoyed simply as a good storey, but don't pass up the chance to re-read to catch the deeper meaning. This series is too good to be eclipsed in popularity by LOTR and the Chornicles of Narnia, "Earthsea" stands on its own! If I haven't convinced you, please read the essay by Noel Perrin in his book, "A Child's Delight."
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 18. Mai 2000
I'm a big fan of "A Wizard of Earthsea", which I consider LeGuin's best writing, certainly as far as style is concerned. Simplicity in writing style is something she shares with some of the genre's great writers like Arthur C. Clarke and John Wyndham.
I read her more popular "Left Hand of Darkness" and "The Dispossessed" simply because they'd won awards, but found them a little dissapointing, probably because they are both Nebula AND Hugo winners for their year and I was expecting more.
This book, however, delivers exactly what I was expecting, intelligent fantasy done just right. I appreciate the author's ability to zoom in and out of the story without losing focus. She at some times brings us down to a day by day, person to person level, but can quickly zoom out and weeks or even years pass in a page or two. I found that she picked just the right days in the life of the wizard to hold the reader's interest and still gave the grand scheme of his life.
The next two books were very good as well, but didn't capture the wonder of the first. I love the way that LeGuin introduces the reader to the magic of Earthsea, how the magic works and doesn't work etc...
This book is well worth any Fantasy lovers time and energy.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 12. Juni 2000
This is the first Le Grin book I've read for many years. WhileI don't remember the details of the earlier books, I do remember thefeeling I had entering her world. And the blend of moral insight, magical powers and occult dangers seems like a familiar and slightly disquieting scent.
Le Grin undoubtedly is a skilled myth-maker. Her protagonist is a young man who is learning to use his magical powers. Her world is sparsely but I think rather well realized. (Her maps are more real-looking than Tolkien's.) The outline of the book is rather similar to the great Chinese classic Journey to the West: a hero of great power overreaches himself and is forced to set out on a journey to learn (among other things) humility and self-control. Along the way Le Grin drops the reader thoughts to chew on for a while. "Magic consists in this: the true naming of a thing." (How does that apply to modern genetics?) "The price of the game is the peril of losing one's self." (True whether the game is business, the occult, or modern science.)
The ease with which Le Grin's hero, Ged, works magic, I think, threatens the plot and the imaginable quality of her world sometimes. Ged flits from island to island so easily that the world becomes rather too dream-like. He is in danger of becoming too strong to have adventures. The story is about his taming to good, like the Monkey King. Yet one gets the feeling that in Le Grin's world, evil is ultimately stronger. Perhaps this is why her world feels less real, and less enjoyable, to me than those of Tolkien or Lewis, based on a Christian psychology, or that of Journey to the West, based on a rather cheerful Buddhism. Nor do I think her insight or imagination can really be compared with Tolkien in Lord of the Rings or Lewis in Till We Have Faces. And her world seems to have less humor than the other three. While I enjoyed the creative realization of her story, and felt as if she were bringing me near to some depths of psychological insight, I felt a little dizzy from the journey, and was glad to be back on terra firma. But I'll probably take another short visit before long.
author, Jesus and the Religions of Man...
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 23. Mai 2000
This book was so unstimulating that i read in in one day just to be rid of it. The characters remain undeveloped as the very modest storyline unfolds itself. For readers of younger ages (10-12) this book would be very interesting because it poses no intellectual difficulties. It passes over months of the characters life with barely a word. It left me with a feeling of com,plete and utter lack of connection with the main character. The fact that someone would even compare this book to Tolkien let alone praising it over him is rediculous. I would actually reread sewctions of the book figuring i must have left out an entire chapter since seemingly important sections of a characters life were just passed by. I would not recommend this book to anyone over the age of 13 unless you have an afternoon to waste.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 17. März 2000
This is a different fantasy story than what I am used to. Fantasy often involves page after page of trolls, dwarfs, elves and wizards with strange names locked in epic wars and quests. While that formula is all fine and good, by keeping action to a minimum and philosophy to a maximum, Ursula K. le Guin departs from it somewhat in the story "A Wizard of Earthsea."
The story involves the early exploits of the powerful archmage Ged, when he was a young man named Sparrowhawk. At a young age he is living with an abusive guardian, when he discovers he has magical powers. He then leaves this abusive person and goes off to wizard school to be learned in the arts of magery (sound familiar Potter fans?). There he befriends a fellow prentice named Vetch, and enters into a rivalry with another wizard prentice by the name of Jasper. This rivalry results in the release of a dark, evil shadow from the realm of "unlife" during a "wizard duel," when Ged casts a spell beyond his control. Ged then spends the length of the book first running from the shadow, which seeks to posses him, and then pursuing the shadow, seeking to destroy it, trying to undo the evil he had begun in a moment of stupid pride.
I have often felt that a good fantasy formula is pitting a fallible character(s) against the deeds of his errant actions. This formula is used in the Narnia books and also in Tolkien's stories. It is repeated in this book and works very well. While the obvious lack of action (although when there is action it happens with some amount of violence) may alienate traditional fantasy readers, the philosophy of the book and the examination of the balances between good and evil should appeal to adults and older children alike. The inclusion of maps and the well developed magic system, and the unique emphasis on names, also contributes to the plausibility of the book and gives it the characteristic feel of a good fantasy story. An excellent, highly-recommended book.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
I first read this book two years ago when i was 22 and away on holiday with my fiance. It is one of his favourite books, and he has read the whole series time and again. I enjoy reading all types of literature, although science-fiction and fantasy books are my favourite. I have always favoured sci-fi, especially Asimov and Clarke, and my fiance fantasy, particularly Tolkien and Le Guin. This book, along with The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings, have made me as passionate about fantasy as sci-fi.
The book works on many levels, as a good story, as escapism, as a gateway to an incredible fantasy land, and as something far deeper. The story is thought-provoking and compelling, rich and meaningful. The book examines how we consider ourselves and the world around us. What is our real self ? What are we capable of ? How do our actions influence the world around us ? How do the names that we apply to objects affect how we view and understand them ?
A brilliant book that i would recommend to anyone of any age. I think its ridiculous that great literature such as this, The Hobbit, Lord of the Rings, Alice in Wonderland, C.S. Lewis, and so on get classified as "childrens books". They are books for everyone with imagination, who enjoys good story-telling, and interesting and unusual characters. They are tales which leave strong images for years after reading, which make you want to go back to read again and again, which offer something new each time they are read, which make you want to tell other people about them, which enthrall and inspire you, which leave you with plenty to think and talk about, and which push back the boundaries of your thoughts and imagination.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden