Es wird kein Kindle Gerät benötigt. Laden Sie eine der kostenlosen Kindle Apps herunter und beginnen Sie, Kindle-Bücher auf Ihrem Smartphone, Tablet und Computer zu lesen.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Geben Sie Ihre Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Kindle-Preis: EUR 9,29
inkl. MwSt.

Diese Aktionen werden auf diesen Artikel angewendet:

Einige Angebote können miteinander kombiniert werden, andere nicht. Für mehr Details lesen Sie bitte die Nutzungsbedingungen der jeweiligen Promotion.

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

Facebook Twitter Pinterest <Einbetten>
Vile Bodies (Penguin Modern Classics) von [Waugh, Evelyn]
Hörprobe anhören
Wird wiedergegeben...
Wird geladen...
Angehalten
Anzeige für Kindle-App

Vile Bodies (Penguin Modern Classics) Kindle Edition

4.0 von 5 Sternen 5 Kundenrezensionen

Alle Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Preis
Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 9,29

Kindle Storyteller 2016: Der Deutsche Self Publishing Award
Kindle Storyteller 2016: Der Deutsche Self Publishing Award
Von 15. Juni bis 15. September Buch hochladen und tollen Preis gewinnen Jetzt entdecken

Produktbeschreibungen

Kurzbeschreibung

The Bright Young Things of 1920s Mayfair, with their paradoxical mix of innocence and sophistication, exercise their inventive minds and vile bodies in every kind of capricious escapade, whether it is promiscuity, dancing, cocktail parties or sports cars. A vivid assortment of characters, among them the struggling writer Adam Fenwick-Symes and the glamorous, aristocratic Nina Blount, hunt fast and furiously for ever greater sensations and the hedonistic fulfilment of their desires. Evelyn Waugh’s acidly funny and experimental satire shows a new generation emerging in the years after the First World War, revealing the darkness and vulnerability beneath the glittering surface of the high life.

Synopsis

Here, the bright young things of Mayfair exercise their inventive minds and "vile bodies" in every kind of capricious escapade. Teetering on the brink of the preposterous, the plot is an adroit jigsaw of comic situations involving a vivid assortment of characters.

Produktinformation

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Dateigröße: 679 KB
  • Seitenzahl der Print-Ausgabe: 338 Seiten
  • Verlag: Penguin; Auflage: New Ed (31. Mai 2012)
  • Verkauf durch: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • ASIN: B0082FYQBO
  • Text-to-Speech (Vorlesemodus): Aktiviert
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Aktiviert
  • Verbesserter Schriftsatz: Aktiviert
  • Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung: 4.0 von 5 Sternen 5 Kundenrezensionen
  • Amazon Bestseller-Rang: #176.108 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop (Siehe Top 100 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop)

  •  Ist der Verkauf dieses Produkts für Sie nicht akzeptabel?

Kundenrezensionen

4.0 von 5 Sternen
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel

Top-Kundenrezensionen

Format: Taschenbuch
Far from being in the vein of Wodehouse or Saki, Waugh's second novel, Vile Bodies, is much more in the serious vein than many readers would expect. Focus on the parties of the Bright Young Things may seem to be central to the novel, but the less central focus on politics, war and the fraught gender/generation relations make this novel a serious piece of socio-historical commentary, summing up the anxieties of the 1920s as they became the 1930s, on the brink of another World War.
The first six chapters are written bouyantly, quickly, and are brilliant examples of Waugh's gift for lightly dark satire. The remainder of the novel takes on a darker tone, which causes the reader to recognise that there is, in fact, something serious going in within this novel. Personal events in Waugh's life account for this change, notably his divorce from his wife and his movement towards the Catholic Church.
This novel is pivotal in an understanding of the development of Waugh as a prose stylist, and as a social satirist of the first order.
Kommentar 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Format: Taschenbuch
In Mr. Waugh's second novel, the absurdity of humankind is explored. The reader is allowed to follow a brief period in the lives of the "Bright Young People." They are young Londoners of the early 1930's who are well educated and from good families. Through the trials of the protagonist, Adam Fenwick-Symes, the reader is able to see the silliness of human existence. The "Bright Young People" spends their days and nights avoiding all real human experiences, especially love. Mr. Waugh chronicles a time in England when the motto "eat, drink and be merry" was embraced as a spiritual philosophy. At times, passages in this book are very amusing, but it never fails to recognize how life can be wasted when people are just "vile bodies."
Kommentar 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Format: Taschenbuch
What seems to be most missed by readers of Vile Bodies is the supposedly cold ironic author's sympathy for the Bright Young Things he's writing about. So they're empty, loveless, superficial, but they are also the animating force of the novel (1930 was a turgid time of Depression), inventive, amusing, some are even likeable. The love scene between Adam and Nina is very moving behind the brutally ironic mode of its narration - we sense two very scared naive human beings who live by appearances struggling as the reality of the situation hits them. The young people act as they do because their society has no moral centre they can cling to. Parents are mentally unstable and reckless, judges allow young girls to die stupidly in their company, prime ministers are lecherous old codgers, aristocratic grands dames are white slave traders, and religion is either a stepping stone for power (Rothschild) or a vulgarised money-grubbing circus (Miss Ape). By contrast, the Things' aimless frivolity is something of an understandable rebellion in the face of this example from their elders. So ineffectual is the Establishment that the two characters who do wish to settle down in the conservative state of marriage, however sincere or otherwise, are constantly hindered. Ironically, the form of the book is fragmentary, mirroring the society it portrays, but it is the exploits of the Things that bring it together, give it a unifying force. The book is epigraphed by two quotes from Through the looking glass: like Alice, ordered hierarchical society looks at itself, and sees a mad whirling spinning top going madly out of control. Like Thomas Pynchon's Maxwell Demon, the more energy it expends the quicker it reaches inertia.Lesen Sie weiter... ›
Kommentar 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Von R.B. am 28. August 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verifizierter Kauf
Didn't like the book at all. Too superfluous. All the characters way too full of themselves. Just a waste of time.
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Von Ein Kunde am 23. September 1999
Format: Taschenbuch
This was the book I chose for years at school when asked what my favorite book was. I cannot say that I find many books impossible to put down, but this one was. The wrighting is excelent, and the humor rivals P.G. Wodehouse. I would reccomend this book to anyone who enjoys good reading, especialy decidedly English reading.
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
click to open popover