Facebook Twitter Pinterest
  • Alle Preisangaben inkl. MwSt.
Nur noch 3 auf Lager (mehr ist unterwegs).
Verkauf und Versand durch Amazon. Geschenkverpackung verfügbar.
Very Persistent Gappers o... ist in Ihrem Einkaufwagen hinzugefügt worden
+ EUR 3,00 Versandkosten
Gebraucht: Sehr gut | Details
Verkauft von MEDIMOPS
Zustand: Gebraucht: Sehr gut
Kommentar: Von Europas Nr.1 für gebrauchte Bücher und Medien. Gelesene Ausgabe in hervorragendem Zustand.
Möchten Sie verkaufen?
Zur Rückseite klappen Zur Vorderseite klappen
Hörprobe Wird gespielt... Angehalten   Sie hören eine Hörprobe des Audible Hörbuch-Downloads.
Mehr erfahren
Dieses Bild anzeigen

Very Persistent Gappers of Frip (Englisch) Taschenbuch – 7. März 2005


Alle Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Preis
Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition
"Bitte wiederholen"
Taschenbuch
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 9,90
EUR 3,22 EUR 2,15
19 neu ab EUR 3,22 14 gebraucht ab EUR 2,15
click to open popover

Es wird kein Kindle Gerät benötigt. Laden Sie eine der kostenlosen Kindle Apps herunter und beginnen Sie, Kindle-Bücher auf Ihrem Smartphone, Tablet und Computer zu lesen.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

Geben Sie Ihre Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen — selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät — mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.



Produktinformation

Produktbeschreibungen

Amazon.de

Young Capable is a very tired little girl from Frip, a tiny village near the sea whose children are constantly exhausted because of the gappers--gappers being bright orange, very stupid animals with a strange weakness for goats.

When a gapper gets near a goat it gives off a continual high-pitched happy shriek of pleasure that makes it impossible for the goat to sleep, and the goats get skinny and stop giving milk. And in towns that survive by selling goat milk, if there's no goat milk, there's no money, and if there's no money, there's no food or housing or clothes, and so, in gapper-infested towns, since nobody likes the idea of starving naked outdoors, it is necessary at all costs to keep the gappers off the goats.

In Frip, it is the responsibility of the children to rid the goats of the gappers who persistently adhere themselves to the goats. Every three hours, day or night, the children must labouriously, brush them off, put them into sacks and dump them into the sea, from where the gappers begin their journey again. This cycle continues until one day, when a gapper with more brains than any of the others realises that they'd save themselves some effort if, instead of dispersing between all the yards, they just made for the yard closest to the sea--Capable's yard. The little girl finds herself overwhelmed and in need of some help from her neighbours.

This is a wonderfully surreal and imaginative tale perfectly complimented by the incredibly quirky illustrations by Lane Smith. This modern morality tale is told with affection, warmth, wit and a large amount of ironic humour which will make the reading of it as pleasurable to adults as it is to children. --Rachel Ediss -- Dieser Text bezieht sich auf eine andere Ausgabe: Gebundene Ausgabe.

Pressestimmen

'A zany, wild book' Observer 'Capable is a heroine for modern times' Daily Telegraph 'Wonderful kinky modern fable' Financial Times 'An outstanding oddity - an eccentric and comical morality tale' The Sunday Times

Alle Produktbeschreibungen

Welche anderen Artikel kaufen Kunden, nachdem sie diesen Artikel angesehen haben?

Kundenrezensionen

Es gibt noch keine Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.de
5 Sterne
4 Sterne
3 Sterne
2 Sterne
1 Stern

Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.7 von 5 Sternen 78 Rezensionen
33 von 33 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Let me put it this way... 16. Januar 2003
Von Cipriano - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe
This very evening I discovered the joy of reading George Saunders...
"There were approximately fifteen hundred gappers living in the sea near Frip. Each Frip family had about ten goats. Therefore, there would normally be about five hundred gappers per yard, or fifty gappers per goat."
What is a gapper?
Well, it is this baseball-like, Velcro-type crustacean with multitudinous eyes, that crawls out of the ocean at night along with (give or take) 1,499 of its buddies, all intent upon attaching themselves to local goats in a burr-like fashion. Side effects? Serious immediate goat-lassitude followed by actual withering, and depletion of milk supply!
Exactly! Of course!
It's fabulous.
Oh man... it's been a long while since I got so caught up into one of these child/adult books, the last time being Salman Rushdie's excellent "Haroun And The Sea Of Stories."
This one is every bit as good, or better. And every bit as crazy.
Let me put it this way... I stumbled across this book in the store, sat down with it... read the whole thing, laughed... laughed some more... thought of many people I want to give this book to... and ended up purchasing five copies. One will be for my own re-reading.
It is hilarious, and meaningful all at once... as the slipcover says, it's an "adult story for children, a children's story for adults."
The illustrations are superb, and the quality of the book is impeccable... a work of art.
It is a flawless imaginative work, that... while it makes you laugh at every second sentence, makes you realize that resourcefulness in the midst of undeserved adversity can really save the day! That selfishness is ugly... that neighbors ought to be... neighbors.
This little girl named Capable... she is a terrific role model for children.... and adults!
A brilliant work, and recommended without reservation. When you read this story to children the only question will be, who will love it more, you or them? Neither one loving it is simply an impossibility!
18 von 19 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Brilliant adult allegory masked as children's tale 25. Juli 2006
Von Craig A. Svonkin - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe Verifizierter Kauf
Saunders' brilliant, hilarious adult allegory is masked as a children's tale but is really more of a profound critique of American social Darwinism and the false idea currently held by many rich and privileged that they are rich and privileged due to their own superiority, hard work, or God's election, and not to pure luck. The book is also a thoughtful, funny response to libertarian myths of radical individuality that currently infect American politics like those Gappers of Frip. Older children might enjoy the book as well. I could imagine teaching this book, with wonderful illustrations by Lane Smith, to intelligent ten year olds, but might also integrate the book into a high school English course.
13 von 14 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An excellent fable that can be enjoyed on multiple levels 8. September 2000
Von Aaron Tell - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe
The "Very Presistent Gappers of Frip" is a wonderful fable that adults will love and that kids will enjoy as well, but on a different level. (Much as "the simpsons" has many layers.) The illustrations are also great. Lane Smith's artwork evokes the surreal quality of Saudners prose perfectly. The tale is typical of Saunders' short stories in his earlier books, although without any perversity or "unsuitable" language. The story is bizarre and endearing; the characters live in a world so different than our own, yet they seem so familiar anyway. This book is expensive considering its brevity, but is worth it just for the illustrations, let alone a funny story by George Saunders. In short: Buy it! Buy it now! Buy extra copies to give as gifts!
8 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Very Persistent Excellent Read 10. März 2004
Von RCM - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe
My sister gave me this book recently as a birthday present. Immediately I was struck by the bold, yet somewhat disturbing illustrations (the voodoo doll) that accompanied Saunders slight moral tale.
"The Very Persistent Gapper of Frip" tells the tale of the extremely small town of Frip, three families to be exact, who make their living raising goats and protecting their beloved economy from the gappers - bright orange shrieking creatures who love goats. If left to their own devices, the gappers will completely cover a goat and soon he will stop giving milk, therefore putting a halt to any sort of income for the three families. The children of the three families are responsible for brushing the numerous gappers from their goats at any given time of the day. The less-than-bright gappers settle their sights on the main character, Capable's goats. She has lost her mother and her father refuses to change (or to eat anything that isn't white) and so she is left alone to handle all the gappers of Frip since her neighbors believe her to be cursed. Seemingly alone, Capable must teach herself, her father, and her neighbors the true meaning of community (as well as how to overcome the persistent gappers).
"The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip," is a delightful and quick read even if it has a somewhat apparent purpose and moral. The illustrations by Lane Smith truly elevate this slight tale to an instant classic.
8 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Great fun and truly wonderful design by Smith 11. November 2001
Von Ein Kunde - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe
As a fan of both Saunders and Smith, I felt compelled to pick this one up. The book itself is well-made -- beautifully bound with heavy, tactile paper.
I was expecting something a little more adventurous from Saunders, but still he knows how to tell a fun story in the tradition of Seuss and Dahl. Gappers from the sea are molesting the goats of Frip with their joyous shrieking, while young Capable must support both herself and her widowed father, who insists on eating white food. You get the idea.
Or maybe you don't.
The real stand out here is Smith's illustration. I'm hoping to buy or recreate a couple of these pieces and hang them on the wall.
A good book for the kids' shelf too. This one will make for about an hour of bed-time reading and picture-viewing.
Waren diese Rezensionen hilfreich? Wir wollen von Ihnen hören.