Fashion Sale Hier klicken Strandspielzeug b2s Cloud Drive Photos Erste Wahl Learn More saison Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle Sparpaket Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,4 von 5 Sternen
909
4,4 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:7,15 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 1. August 2000
Morrie wanted to share his upbeat philosophy of life and how that should carry over in his death. If he were alive today, he clearly would be staggered by the number of people who took the time to listen.
I bought this book two years ago based on great reviews but couldn't get excited about reading a book about death. I even skipped the movie. But after finally picking it up, I throughly enjoyed the quick, insightful read that makes everyone re-examine their life's values, including me.
Morrie was clearly an exceptional human being. We've all had great teachers but this guy was the ultimate with the joy and love he took in his craft. Mitch Albom is a typical American caught in the American dream without realizing there is a problem. I applaud Mitch for writing this book and softly admitting some of his past sins. My only complaint is that I wish Mitch had been able to more definitely conclude the issues he may or may not have with his brother.
But this is Morrie's book. I spent the next day trying to recall if I had met anyone quite like him. It's difficult to live up to the high standards he sets. An excellent read and excellent lessons we should all remember.
0Kommentar| 11 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
VINE-PRODUKTTESTERam 27. Oktober 2014
Mitch Albom is the narrator of this book recalls Morrie Schwartz his favorite university with whom he promised to keep in touch after graduation – which, of course, he didn’t. Sixteen years after his graduation, Mitch feels increasingly disappointed with the life he leads. He focuses on his career and and tries to succeed. One day he is shocked to see Morrie on TV who is being interviewed because he is dying.

In his professional life he is increasingly aware that eh chases the wrong thing – celebrities who do not have much to offer but boredom and emptiness. He establishes a relationship with Morrie again and they agree to meet each Tuesday to discuss the lessons of life. Morrie did not have – on the outside – a very happy childhood. His father was cold and distant so Morrie tries to be the very opposite. In their meetings Mitch comes to realize that the wrong values are stressed in our society – there is a focus on greed, egotism and shallowness. Morrie learns to accept death and aging as the eternal cycle of life.

Obviously, the book touches on many topics that are relevant to each and every reader. As a living example Morries learns to accept that life has to come to an end and one’s happiness does not depend on material goods. A simple lesson but some we all need to be reminded again and again because it is way too easy top fall into the traps society sets up for us.

It is an easy book to read and highly recommendable for readers of all ages.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Dezember 1999
Tuesday's with Morrie was a wonderful book. Mitch Albom, the author, describes his hectic life as a sports writer, jet setting around the world, but missing something. When Mitch accidentally sees his former teacher and mentor from college on Night Line with Ted Koppel, Mitch is curious and contacts him. Unfortunately, Morrie is dying from ALS and as their relationship grows, so does the ravages of this disease. Each Tuesday, Morrie and Mitch have a session where some of life's simplest ideas are discussed. Morrie maps out suggestions for living that are so simple and uncomplicated that Mitch and the reader cannot help but pay attention to such good advice. Some of Morrie's advice comes from tough experiences such as the death of his Mother when he was only eight years old. Morrie tells of never really getting over this tragedy and it was mostly because his father would not discuss it. Sadly, the telegram announcing his mother's death in a hospital is his only momento of her. Morrie decides to make his dying as untraumatic as is possible. He has plenty of time to say good-bye to loved ones and Mitch is included in this special group. Of course, this story cannot have a happy ending because this disease is incureable, yet Mitch is content in the end to go to Morrie's grave and talk while Morrie listens. As Morrie said those you love in this life are always with you in your memories. Professor Morrie Schwartz was a truly remarkable man and the sense of humor he kept through out his terrible suffering and humiliations he endured as his body shrunk to nothing is something I will always remember. Morrie Schwartz was the ultimate teacher and his life was the lesson we all should follow. This book tells you through out to stop and smell the roses. Talk to your friends and family as if you may not see them ever again after today. Love each other and don't let petty problems get in the way of any relationship that means something to you. We never know how many tomorrows we have left. Morrie Schwartz with his books, hibiscus plant and love for mankind was a great guy to know through this book. Mitch Albom did a great job and I recommend this book to anyone because we all share in the lessons Morrie had to teach.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. Januar 2006
Tuesdays at Morrie's is an incredible book about how everything in life matters: An old professor - Morrie - knows that he will be dying, but instead of pitying himself, he is sharing everything that is important to him until the last minute. He talks with a former student of his about different themes of life and how he approaches them. Sharing his knowledge makes a huge difference in a lot of people's lifes.
It reminded me of "Working on yourself doesn't work" from Ariel and Shya Kane. A great book about going for your life with totality and excellence, but without fixing yourself. I know it sounds like a paradox, but this books gives you the tools how to have a magnificent life: day in and day out. I highly recommend it!
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Oktober 2012
Die Lebensweisheiten hier sind ziemlich banal, aber was schlimmer ist, sie werden einem eingehämmert und zehnmal wiederholt, anstatt die Geschichte für sich selbst wirken zu lassen.

Dazu kommt, dass fast jedes Kapitel in diesem spärlichen 50 Seiten (effektiv) Buch so ziemlich die gleiche Message und den gleichen Aufbau hat.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. Dezember 1999
TUESDAYS WITH MORRIE is a beautiful, true story filled with such wonder and wisdom. Although it is a "no holds barred" account of the impending ALS-inflicted death of Professor Morrie Schwartz .. the unselfish happiness that "oozed" from this gracious, gentle man .. far outweighs the inevitability of his death. His outlook on life .. and death .. is astounding! The story was chronicled on Nightline with Ted Koppel .. and in a TV movie that aired in early December of 1999. His philosophy teachings and love of life is evident in every page. He just plain "loved people" .. especially his students. He was kind enough to share the most precious gift any of us can ever give .. he gave "himself" .. to anyone and everyone who was willing to listen .. and that would share with him in return. He .. as I do .. believed that "sharing your love" and "a little of your time" can make "all the difference" in people's lives .. and that you will be overwhelmed with "what comes back" to you! He was a great teacher .. to the very end.
I was so touched by this book .. I read it in its entirety .. in one sitting. I hope you will "do yourself a favor" and pick up a copy .. if you haven't already.
Sandy Taylor
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. Juli 2000
"Tuesdays with Morrie" is a book to be read by anybody who is interested in finding more satisfaction in their life. It reminds you of what it means "to be human" and encourages you to disconnect from the lures of our culture (money, material possessions, youth...) and reconnect with your spirit and what is essential to bring purpose and meaning to your life. Morrie who was stricken by a terminal illness also teaches us that if you do not resist the way your life shows up there is satisfaction in every moment of life no matter how challenging the circumstances. This essential message is taken further in the wonderful book "Working on yourself doesn't work" by Ariel and Shya Kane. "Working on Yourself doesn't work" is a gem among self awareness books. In a style very different from "Tuesday with Morrie", with a mixture of ideas and narratives, it delivers the keys to personal transformation and enlightenment. If your life is about discovering that state of being where satisfaction, self expression, aliveness and purpose reside don't hesitate to look up this very unique book also.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Juni 2004
When I bought this book and read it immediately, I was deeply moved by this story. This book contains a lot of wisdom you should think about it... most important is: "live your life NOW and INTENSIVE". I've heard it a lot of times, but since I read this book I then began to understand. It is still a process and I have to work on it but... I am now a step closer to it, to live my life more intensive.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Mai 2000
Tuesdays with Morrie is the tale of a "dying man talking to a living man, telling him what he should know." It's a compendium of one man's life's lessons, dispensed by the sainted Morrie in his effort to "walk that final bridge between life and death and narrate the trip."
My question is this--is Morrie's advice of any real value? Are his utterances practicable to the point that Mr. Albom has the right to pass them off as gospel? Is Morrie's message, just because it's right for him, necessarily right for the rest of mankind? If not, then it's presumptuous and pushy for Morrie's disciple to attempt to foist ideas about how to live on the rest of us.
In America, self-improvement instruction has long been the publisher's cash cow. It's notoriously profitable. People want to be told how to live. Consequently, there's always someone like Mitch around to provide a map of the road to happiness, to show us the ropes of life, to provide the keys to fulfillment and self-actualization. "Tuesdays With Morrie" is one more bag of balm in a smarmy genre that won't go away. What makes Morrie a little different is that the central character lives and breathes, and, to make matters more heart-rending, we're permitted to accompany him on his journey to the Valley of Death. It's the perfect setup. Dying man's words reek of authenticity; author uses them to bathe the reader in his own shame. The result? Catharsis! Albom is saying, look, here's a guy who's dying. Instead of crying in his beer and fearfully living out his last days in self-pity, he's willing to give everything to teach you barbarians the real lessons of life. And what are you doing? Living your lives in the same shallow, unfocused, materialistic way you always have. It's shameful. C'mon, get with the program. Listen to Morrie. Live as if today were your last. Do unto others. Can't buy me love. Stop and smell the roses. Love one another. Make a commitment. All you need is love.
Of course these are good lessons, and of course they can provide meaning and purpose in our lives, but the book itself (like most self-help books) is something of a sham. It's essentially a re-packaging of things we already know or things we've heard over and over, from every do-gooder from Roy Rogers to Mr. Rogers. And if we don't believe them now we're not going to learn them just because a dying man in a twenty dollar book whispers them to us through a wet hankie, no matter how sincerely they're uttered. If we one day choose to apply these lessons, we will have to learn them first--through hard knocks, personal discovery and, as Morrie did, through personal suffering--not via the transparent artifices of a maudlin, poorly written best seller.
One can admire the selfless character of Morrie Schwartz. He's humane. He sets a good example. He fights the good fight and does his best under trying circumstances. He appears to care more for others than he does for himself. And I have no quarrel with the bromides his devoted apprentice is selling. Most likely the world would be a better place if we all could find it in our hearts to live by Morrie's code. And perhaps we'd all be happier. But it is Albom's presumption that, like him, we all need gather 'round to bask in the wisdom of Morrie the Master that raises my hair. May I please live my life myself? May I find life's meaning for myself? May I learn to feel the joy and pain of living on my own, instead of yielding up the pleasure of making life's discoveries to the Mitch and Morrie machine?
Truly, if Morrie's message and memory meant so much to Mr. Albom, he would have marketed his dead teacher's platitudes the way the Gideons market Bibles: voluminously, ubiquitously, and for FREE!
11 Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. August 2015
"Dying is only one thing to be sad over. Living unhappily is something else."
- Morrie Schwartz

Eine wunderschöne und kluge Geschichte über die wahren Werte im Leben, die einen einerseits zum Nachdenken und andererseits - man möchte es nicht vermuten - zum Schmunzeln anregt.
Das liegt sicher nicht nur an Mitch Alboms Erzählweise, sondern vor allem an Morries humorvoller und spitzbübischer Art, die einen - trotz der teilweise schweren Themen (Krankheit, Angst vor dem Älterwerden, Tod) - immer wieder daran erinnert, dass man sich selbst und das Leben manchmal nicht zu ernst nehmen sollte.

Pluspunkt: Ich habe mich seit langem wieder einmal dazu entschlossen ein Buch auf Englisch zu lesen und deshalb hat es mich umso mehr gefreut, dass es auch in der Originalsprache sehr leicht zu verstehen ist.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Benötigen sie kundenservice? Hier klicken