find Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Book Spring Store 2017 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ Mehr dazu Hier Klicken Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimited AmazonMusicUnlimited Fußball longss17

Kundenrezensionen

4,3 von 5 Sternen
26
4,3 von 5 Sternen
Format: Kindle Edition|Ändern
Preis:12,29 €


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 21. Mai 2016
Es handelt sich bei diesem Werk nicht mal um ein vollständiges Buch. Es ist ein Auszug von dem Original und lässt sich innerhalb einer Stunde lesen. Ein Blödsinn so etwas um den Preis anzubieten.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. Juli 2017
The book is absolute must read not only if you are in the management, but also as a short introduction on how management works. A bit overpriced though...
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. Januar 2013
Peter Drucker gehört zur Pflichtlektüre und ich empfehle dringend den englischen Originaltext. Das Buch hat ein ansprechendes Miniformat (ca A6). Allerdings halte ich den Preis für sehr hoch angesetzt und eher für Liebhaber positioniert. Man sollte nicht vergessen, dass der Artikel als pdf erhältlich ist.
0Kommentar| 15 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Dezember 2015
This booklet is an excellent start and guide for the adventure of managing oneself.

Drucker provides rare examples of well-known historic figures who managed themselves, e.g. Napoleon, da Vinci, Mozart. These examples show that there is a difference between self-management and successful self-management. Kierkegaard, Drucker’s most preferred philosopher, taught us that we have to live our lives forward and understand it only backward, in the hindsight.

The famous Abraham H. Maslow wrote in his book “Motivation and Personality” first published in 1954 that according to extensive experiments probably 5% to 30% of the population in USA are making their own decisions which is a key indicator for self-management. If we sharpen the question to “how many are applying systematic self-management” the percentage is pretty low.

At the same time young people, adult people and even people moving towards retirement need self-management skills without knowing where to get it and how to apply it. Very often famous self-help books are more esoteric and spiritual compared to techniques derived from proven practices of management.

Drucker recommends the following steps:
Identify and develop your strengths with regular reviews within 9-12 months and subsequent tuning. According to Drucker such a feedback analysis is by no means new, it was invented in the 14th century and applied by John Calvin and Ignatius of Loyola 150 years later.
Analyze how do you perform, e.g. are you a reader or listener?
Find out how to do you learn, because teachers do not know that for every person, every person is different. You have to transform what is taught into your personal learning system. One of the best ways to learn is teaching including the feedback analysis.
Define and sharpen your value system. Drucker recommends the mirror test: “I refuse to see a pimp in the mirror in the morning when I shave.” You should avoid working in an organization or in an environment which is contrary to your values and principles.
It is important to know where you belong and where you do not belong. It is closely linked with your value system.
Understand and develop your contributions – what is expected from you and what do you consider as your best possible contribution. Strive for performance and wherever possible for excellence.
Take responsibility for your relationships. Freedom without responsibility does not work. As you expect that your environment takes care of you, you have to care about your specific environment. Freedom and responsibility are mutually intertwined.
Prepare yourself for the second half of your life, be on time. The lead time is longer than you think. My experience is: 10-15 years. Drucker describes several ways how to do it.

According to my experiences this is an excellent agenda to start with. Peter Drucker provides details of his personal development resp. self-management in his excellent book “Managing the Non-Profit-Organization” published in 1990. In his excellent book “Management – Revised Edition – revised and updated by Joseph Maciariello” published in 2008, three years after Peter Drucker passed away, you find updates in Part X – New Demands on the Individual.

There are other serious sources I can recommend in addition to this book:
How to get Control of your Time and your Life by Alan Lakein, How will you measure your Life by Prof. Clayton M. Christensen, Total Leadership by Prof. Stewart Friedman and See You at the Top by Zig Ziglar. Philosophical views are excellently covered by Seneca in his essay “On the shortness of life”, by Marc Aurel in his “Meditations”, by Balthasar Gracian in his “Art of worldly wisdom”, by Khalil Gibran in his “Prophet” and by Antoine de Saint Exupery in his “The Little Prince”.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Januar 2015
Kann mich meinem Vorredner nur anschließen.

Drucker bringt auf diesen kurzen 60 Seiten sehr viele Einsichten zusammen.
Sich selbst und seine Arbeitsweise zu kennen bringt oft viele Vorteile mit sich.
Leider nehmen sich nur die wenigsten Zeit dafür.

Ich empfehle auch jedem den englischen Originaltext.
Die Kürze des Buches macht es auch zu einer tollen Lektüre für "zwischendurch", nachdem man sich einmal Zeit dafür gelassen hat.

Der Preis ist in der Tat etwas hoch gegriffen, vergleicht man die Einsichten die man hier bekommt jedoch mit anderen Büchern, finde ich persönlich den Preis für angemessen.

4 Sterne. (5 für den Inhalt)
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. März 2016
Das Buch mag einige interessante Themen ansprechen, jedoch lässt es mangels Tiefgang an Substanz vermissen. Bei einem Preis von aktuell 4,99 Euro für 70 Seiten Material (Kindle Version - Stand: März 2016), eine echte Enttäuschung.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. November 2015
On the backcover of the renewed edition published in 1982 we find the following citations:

'If you read only one book on management,' the chairman of one of the world's largest banks tells his officers again and again, 'read The Practice of Management.'

A classic since its publication in 1954, The Practice of Management has been a continuing international bestseller for nearly forty years. It was the first book to look at management as a whole, the first to depict management as a distinct function, managing as specific work, and being a manager as a separate responsibility. The Practice of Management created the discipline of modern management practices and principles. Comprehensive yet concise, clearly presented and readable, fundamental and basic, it remains an essential book for students, aspiring managers, and seasoned practitioners.

'Peter Drucker is a guiding light to a whole lot of us. When I see an article of his I drop everything else and read it on the spot.' ' Andrew S. Gove, President, Intel Corporation.

'Our debt to Peter Drucker knows no limit.' 'Tom Peters.

'The dean of this country's business and management philosophers.' 'Wall Street Journal
End of citations.

In November 1990, Peter Drucker himself wrote an Introduction with the headline Why My Years with General Motors Is Must Reading. This book ' My Years with General Motors - by Alfred P. Sloan (1875-1966 ' long-time president, chairman and CEO of General Motors Corporation) was published in 1963. Peter Drucker: 'Far more important, however, than that My Years with General Motors presents Sloan the mentor, rather than Sloan the man, is that the book does not, for most readers, make clear the lessons for the sake of which Sloan wrote the book. It is, I still maintain, the best management book ' and whether one agrees with everything Sloan proposes is quite irrelevant.'

Bill Gates, Chairman, Microsoft writes about Sloan's book: 'I think Alfred Sloan's My Years with General Motors is probably the best book to read if you want to read only one book about business. The issues [Sloan] dealt with in organizing and measuring, in keeping [other executives] happy, dealing with risk, understanding model years and the effect of used vehicles, and modeling his competition all in a very rational, positive way is inspiring.'

Confronted with the same question and with my background and knowledge today I would modify these statements:
I would not recommend reading only one book about business management, because it would not correspond with the complexity of this discipline. At least you should read two books and not only one:

The Practice of Management by Peter F. Drucker, first published in 1954 and
My Years with General Motors by Alfred P. Sloan, Jr., published in 1963.

Both books are ranked in '"The Best Business Books Ever - The 100 Most Influential Management Books You'll Never Have Time To Read"' published 2003 and 2011. In the 2003 edition we find the following statement on Page 6: 'Management guru Gary Hamel said, 'Peter Drucker's reputation is as a management theorist. He has also been a management prophet. Writing in 1969, he clearly anticipated the emergence of the knowledge economy. I'd like to set a challenge for would-be management gurus: try to find something to say that Peter Drucker has not said first, and has not said well. This high hurdle should substantially reduce the number of business books clogging the bookshelves of book-sellers, and offer managers the hope of gaining some truly fresh insights.'

As a management practitioner knowing all the books by Peter Drucker and about Peter Drucker as well as the books in the aforementioned best business books guides I am convinced that Peter Drucker should be taught at business schools and business universities with a focus on 'lessons for the future' starting with Drucker's books 'The Practice of Management; Management: Tasks, Responsibilities, Practices; Management revised and updated by Joseph A. Maciariello.'

'The 100 Best Business Books of All Time' by Jack Covert and Todd Sattersten, published in 2009 is a very interesting and helpful guide into the world of best business books; however, the omission of Peter Drucker's 'The Practice of Management' is a big mistake.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. Oktober 1998
Peter Drucker wrote this book at the height of the mis-application of statistics and "science" in areas such as management and economics. Drucker, who had the benefit of experience, saw the flaws decades before the rest of us. I suspect that the reason Drucker was so ahead of his time is that he was able to tap the experience of the great industrialists who probably were unwilling to share the trade secrets of their management knowledge with the general public. It wasn't until the 1980s when the masses began to learn these things.
The book is a classic and is just as valid today as it was in the mid 20th century (why wouldn't it be?).
Drucker explains within the book the reason for the word "practice" rather than "theory" of managment.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. August 2014
Peter F. Drucker predicted the 21st century in the year 1954 with an acuracy that is just amazing. He analyzes all the driving forces in our western society and correctly predicts the effects of automation and the downfall of communism through lack of effective management at a time where that was far from clear. His book describes the governing principles of our capitalist economy and society at a fundamental level. His writing is a truly timeless classic and will be up-to-date as long as our society exists.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Februar 2016
Definitely worth reading if you are interested in management. Yet there are some ideas in the book I personally do not agree with such as: you are born with a talent, if you are not good at something you shouldn't force it. Whereas I believe one can be anything one wants if one puts the effort and the power of will towards achieving a goal. Talent isn't something your born with, success is rather the product of hard work. But that is just my opinion
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen


Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)