Jeans Store Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Neuerscheinungen Cloud Drive Photos OLED TVs Learn More designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle Soolo Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

3,3 von 5 Sternen
69
3,3 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 23. Juli 2013
Das Buch ist verblüffend. Der Autor hat Verhaltensmuster von Vermögensmillionären untersucht. Ihre Bildung, Berufe, Wohnumgebung, Kaufgewohnheiten.

Das Ergebnis: Nichts von dem was man so in Deutschland in Zeitungen/Zeitschriften/Fernseh über Millionäre mitbekommt, hat auch nur nährungsweise etwas mit der Realität zu tun.

Ein paar Fakten: Millionäre haben eher nur eine mittelgute Ausbildung (Studium gerade so intensiv, dass man ausreichend lernt, aber nicht so gut, dass ein Studium extrem zeitaufwendig wird) an einer mittelguten Uni. Bildung außerhalb der Uni wird dagegen konsequent und über Jahrzehnte hinweg betrieben. Millionäre schicken ihre Kinder _nicht_ auf teure Privatschulen. Millionäre bauen _keine_ Häuser. Jedenfalls nicht für sich selbst. Sie bevorzugen ältere und billigere Häuser in guter Wohnlage. Häuser kaufen sie dann, wenn andere Leute kein Haus kaufen wollen. Millionäre lassen ihre Schuhe (mehrfach) vom Schuster reparieren, statt sich neue Schuhe zu kaufen. Millionäre sind von außen nicht als Millionäre erkennbar.

In der Summe: Millionäre haben ein ausgesprochen bodenständiges Leben. Das große Vermögen entsteht durch eine Lebenseinstellung, die auf die Sammlung von Vermögen ausgerichtet ist. Das Buch ist amerikanisch und auch die zugrunde liegenden Daten stammen von amerikanischen Millionären. IMO ist aber die Denkweise von Millionären übertragbar auf Deutschland.

Spannend: Es gibt in den USA sogar Lehrer, die es schaffen im Laufe ihres Lebens Millionär zu werden. Im Buch steht, wie sie es gemacht haben.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. März 2000
From the perspective of a parent and one who has worked in sales all his life, this book, and the previous best seller "The Millionaire Next Door" and must reading. If you've worked hard enough to accumulate wealth (PAWs in Dr. Stanely-speak) get this book. Help your kids and your sales force learn all they can about the "Millionaire Mind."
Both my young-adult offspring have copies of "Millionaire Mind" already. I want them to understand why Dad frequently said "No" to their requests for "famiy wellfare." They receive more by developing their own "Millionaire Minds" than by me buying them more stuff.
Before starting my private consulting practice I was a General Partner in charge of sales and sales training for a major brokerage firm. I've read all of Dr. Stanley's books since "Selling to the Affluent" and I gave all my top sales professionals copies of each of D.r Stanley's books.
Even if salespeople under your care don't have the "Millionaire Mind" themselves, they are probably trying to sell to people who do. This book gives valuable insight.
Get the Tom Stanley library and your sales force will be better for it.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Mai 2000
The only reason I bought this book is because of "The Millionaire Next Door" (TMND) Now that was a really good book. I have mixed feelings about "The Millionaire Mind." It's an okay book, but it repeats a lot of what TMND says, and that was a bit disappointing. There are however several good points made. My favorite was the comparison of the Balance Sheet Millionaire and the Income Statement Millionaire. The myth in America is that wealth and all the goes with it has to do with income. In reality, it is accumulated wealth. I agree with that, but there has to be a distinction. If you accumulate wealth and it just sits there, what good is it? The author really doesn't say. I prefer "Rich Dad Poor Dad" by Robert Kiyosaki because he talks about accumulating wealth, but income producing wealth. If your wealth doesn't produce income, it really doesn't do a lot of good.
I'm kind of on the fence about this book, and I did find some good information in here. For those of you reading this review, I will try to summarize chapter by chapter for you, so you can make up your mind.
The first chapter is basically an introduction which summarizes the whole book. What are the characteristics of a millionaire. What are there attitudes and beliefs. Nothing new in here. I've read "Think and Grow Rich" by Napoleon Hill and other books like that, and they all pretty much sum up the attitude one needs to be successful.
Chapter 2 is called "Success Factors." This is also about attitude. You know, courage, drive, ambition, overcoming odds, that sort of thing. I found the chapter to be somewhat enlightening.
Chapter 3 I really liked. This spoke specifically about millionaires and their school grades and test scores. I would rate this chapter as my own personal revenge. I hated school because all I thought about all day was what business I was going to start when I left school. College wasn't even on my mind. This chapter really made me laugh. I loved the statistic that the average business owner millionaire had a grade point average of 2.76. Many scored around 900 on the SAT. I found this chapter to be very good and almost worth the whole book. Reading this chapter changed my overall view of the book for the better. I think it teaches a valuable lesson.
Chapter 4 was okay. It talked about courage and wealth. Basically, when everybody tells you that you can't, prove them wrong. Take risks. Stuff like that. Pretty good.
Chapter 5 was about vocation or what millionaires do for a living. This was my favorite chapter overall. I'll admit right up front that unless you're a self-employed professional or a business owner, this chapter won't mean much to you. As a business owner, I found many really good ideas in this chapter. One idea in particular, I can honestly say, made a big difference for me. I'm glad I bought the book, even if only for that one idea. Translated into dollars, it's probably worth thousands and thousands of dollars to me personally. Excellent chapter.
Chapter 6 was about spouses. One point of this chapter is that divorce can cost you a bundle. Well, no kidding. It almost reads like a therapist telling you how to choose a mate. I agree with the basic premise of the chapter. As a single person, I didn't find it useful. If I ever decide to marry, I'll certainly reread it.
Chapter 7 was about the millionaire household. Here's where we get to the coupon clipping part. I can't figure this out. I understand coupon clipping and all that, but for a millionaire? Come on now. I think his point is, and maybe he doesn't make it strong enough, that millionaires are indeed frugal. I mean, people don't get rich by spending money. They get rich by keeping it. I would classify this chapter as being useful for anyone who wants to get out of the struggle of earning and spending money.
Chapter 8 is about the millionaire home. We've heard this before. Millionaires live in fairly standard houses. They don't buy impulsively or excessively. The don't buy for show. Pretty much what we read in "The Millionaire Next Door."
Chapter 9 is about the millionaire lifestyle. I wasn't at all surprised that millionaires are more likely to visit their tax professional each year than take a ski trip. I found this chapter to be quite interesting. I think it went right to the meat of it. He talked of course about not having credit card debt, keeping spending under control and so forth. This chapter was about what millionaires do in their personal lives. How they socialize and so forth. Interesting information.
The last chapter was very short and to the point. If you want to be a millionaire, don't follow the crowd. That's it. It's a good point; although, I've heard it before.
My overall impression of this book was pretty good. There were many, many examples which helped put a realistic face on it. It's a 400 page book, so it takes a while to get through it. The real question is: "What will this book do for me?" We all want to know the bottom line. If you follow this book, yes, you can become a millionaire. If you work for someone else, forget it. Go buy a book on investing in the stock market. If you work for someone else and don't aspire to millionaire status, there is a lot of good information in here about being frugal and so forth. It's not a bad book.
I'm giving this book 3 stars primarily because I'm comparing it to "The Millionaire Next Door." As a sequel, it's not bad, but it's not great. Is it worth buying? I would say yes. We're only talking about a few dollars, and considering what I learned in the chapter about vocation, I should reap thousands of times over what this book cost me. But then, that's me, my particular situation. If you hated school and own your own business you'll absolutely love this book. Email me and we'll start a club. In fact email me and let me know your thoughts. I'm curious to hear what others have to say.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Dezember 2010
Ich habe das Hörbuch gehört und - es stimmt - das Hörbuch gibt tatsächlich einen großen Teil des Buches "The Millionaire Next Door" wieder, aber das Buch konzentriert sich auf Eigenschaften, die für Millionär typisch sind.
Und darunter fallen auch Dinge, wie etwa die Auswahl des richtigen Partners. Das Buch basiert auf einer Umfrage und deckt nur einen Teil der US-amerikanischen Millionäre ab. Diese leben aber teilweise in ärmliche, normalen oder Mittelklasse-Gegenden, fahren einen gebrauchten PKW und haben nie viel Geld für Juwelen, noch nicht mal den Hochzeits- oder Verlobungsring ausgegeben. Die sind sparsam und da sind wir im Zentrum dieses Buches.
Auf welche Arte Menschen sparsam, gleichzeitig produktiv und engagiert sind, davon handelt dieses Buch.
Das Hörbuch ist schön gemacht, es liest ein Schauspieler das Buch vor. Wer sich über Reichtum, Wohlstand und Millionäre informieren will, erhält durchaus eine gute Einfuhrung in die Geisteshaltung und Lebensführung solcher Menschen und die haben wenig mit Luxus-Limousinen und dicken Villen zu tun.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. Mai 2000
This book does not provide any new insight from "the millionare next door". The basis of this book is to have a success idea (the first book) and rewrite it again. Instead of providing facts, this time, one of the authors of the first book goes into a MOTIVATIONAL SPEECH that lasts a little bit to long.
The basic idea of the book is that a frugal life would transform you into a millionare. BE CAREFUL with the advice. There are a lot of points that the author supports and may not be true. They take their finding that most millionares are entrepreneurs and use it to promote the idea that if you want to be a millionare, you should quit your job and start your own business. Nevermind the high failure rate of some businesses and the fact that the great majority of entrepreneurs in the U.S. are not millionares. Of course, the authors say that there are other ways to become a millionare, but entrepreneurship is the most important one.
The goal of the person with a millionare mind would be to accumulate an enourmous amount of wealth by living in a small house, driving a beat up car, and never spending any money in stupid things like clothes or trips. Then, the goal would be attained by dying with a lot of money that would not be taxed by going to charity.
If you get this book, take it with a grain of salt. Take the good things, like the idea of living a frugal life, and make it work for you. Everything else is worthless. Create your own life with your own goals and your own ideas of what is worth it to you. If cars or a nice house is worth it, go for it. ACCUMULATE WEALTH, yes, but also, ENJOY IT.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. Mai 2000
WE ARE FRUGAL MILLIONAIRES (Sung to "If I were a Rich Man")
We are FRUGAL MILLIONAIRES / Daidle deedle daidle deedle daidle dum / All day long we biddy biddy bum / Because we're FRUGAL MILLIONAIRES
We STILL work hard EVERY day / Daidle deedle daidle deedle daidle dum / We are all a biddy biddy rich / Deedle daidle deedle daidle men
We do NOT build a big home / With rooms by the dozen / And NOT in the middle of town / A plain shingled roof with linoleum floors below / There is just the one staircase just going up / And the same one coming down/ And one more leading / To the basement below
We fill our junkyards with trucks / Complete with greasy old parts / So the town WON'T know we are here / Working just as noisily as we can / And each loud whack and a wham / And ka-boom and honk / Will sound like your mother-in-law on the ear / So they won't say here lives a MILLIONAIRE
Ohhhh.......
We are FRUGAL MILLIONAIRES / Daidle deedle daidle deedle daidle dum / All day long I'd biddy biddy bum / Because we're FRUGAL MILLIONAIRES
If you have read the author's first book, "The Millionaire Next Door", then there is nothing much new to be said. The mantra for this book remains the same. Please sit quietly, cross your legs, place a one penny in your hand and repeat after me, "Frugality, Frugality, Frugality....". The only difference with this book is that the author attempts to paint us a more intimate picture of these frugal millionaires. Who are these people? What are they like? How did they get so rich and what do they think about? Well, according to the author they go to church every Sunday with the family, they spend time with their children at sporting events, they are married to the same spouse forever, they were just average at school and they base their success on their honesty, hard work and lead a balanced life. In fact he would have you almost believing that godliness is the road to wealth.
Unfortunately the picture he paints ends up looking very much like Norman Rockwell's Thanksgiving portrait with everyone sitting around the dinning room table with the turkey on the table as the man of the house stands to give thanks. In fact what he has painted for us is a portrait of what most of us believe in our hearts to be true, the GREAT AMERICAN DREAM, that by hard work, determination, honesty and godliness, you too can also be rich.
I don't mean to be so cynical but do you actually think these millionaires would respond to the author's questionnaire with, "I am unhappily married to the same b@*#! for thirty years and I cheat on her regularly", or " I made my wealth by betting on Boozer in the fifth and by running moonshine during the depression" or "I lie all the time"? Once again the author repeats the same fundamental error found in his first book. Both books are based (or should I say biased) on data that was collected demographically and represents only ONE TYPE OF MILLIONAIRE, what I am calling the frugal millionaire.
Did I find the book interesting, yes to a point. Do I recommend it? Yes, if you think that it will inspire you to live more honestly, work harder and live more frugally. Is it scholarly? No. But some myths die hard, and the Great American Dream is certainly one of them. So cut up the credit cards and start cutting out those coupons from the Sunday paper because a penny saved is a penny earned!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. April 2000
After reading this book, I will admit that the data collection process could have been improved, but it is not as poor as some have stated on this review board. In order to make an accurate conclusion about the validity and reliability of his methods, we would have to see step by step how he got his information (including a copy of the material he sent out to his participants) and what statistical analysis he used for certain kinds of data. Despite this potential flaw, no research project has ever been perfect, and no project ever will be perfect. Also, some reviewers have posted comments that say things like, "Money is not the only measure of your success as an individual. What about spending quality time with your spouse and children?" Although that may ring true, it is not the point of this book. This book was intended to measure personality traits consistent with individuals who have high levels of net-worth. It was not the researcher's goal to study the behaviors and beliefs of people who are just really nice and attend church on Sunday. Also, even if he tried to measure levels of self worth outside of the financial realm, he would have a hard time doing it in the first place. Measures of self-worth are far too subjective and qualitative in nature, while financial net-worth is quantitative and easy to operationalize. Also, the author does not state that money is the final determinant of a person's true sense of self-worth- it's just the specific variable he has chosen to study during the duration of this project. I did not think that this book was as good as his first, but some reviewers may want to be careful when arguing against his procedural process.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. März 2000
A bunch of all-American self-help balooney, maskeraded as social science. TonyRobbins'ware with a lot of tables looking like statistics and high science. This book is yet another feel-good piece, just like the previous one, but an improved edition: since a lot of people complained that the next-door millionaires didn't look that great (as it was not clear what they gained by being wealthy), Mr Author produced another version, where the role models are purported to lead balanced lives. Good deal! Now everyone can truly enjoy the good old "born poor, worked hard, blah blah blah" story. Only the cowboys are missing.
Being significantly older than 15 and having been self-employed for quite some time, I laugh at the intellectual fraud that this book is. The main quality of a successful businessman an absolute honesty? Yeah, we wish. Not in my experience, and I do have some. Hey, forget that, you don't need to read it all, here's the main idea of the book: if you wanna be a millionaire, next door or otherwise, see if you are a low-IQ dumbo but with persistence and trust in God. If so, your fate is sealed, you're gonna be a millionaire next door. See? Simple. Don't need to buy no books.
Of course had I read this book 25 years ago, that'd be different, but the way it is, I feel I can't afford to pay royalties to this guy (as I'm not a millionaire next door) and so the book goes back to the store. You can get it, for after you're through with the latest Rogue Warrior installment...
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. März 2000
Thomas J. Stanley's The Millionaire Mind (Andrews McMeel Publishing) is a must read for anyone interested in achieving financial independence and/or who is fascinated with how the wealthy achieve success. This book should be required reading for college students. It is filled with practical advice not just about how to protect one's future financially but also about setting priorities, and I don't mean just getting rich. The Millionaire Mind covers everything from choosing spouses to raising children to buying homes. It is loaded with common sense and practical advice.
Achieving great wealth was never my highest priority in life, but I am convinced that if I had read The Millionaire Mind when I was younger, I could have joined the millionaire club. More importantly, like most of the millionaires Stanley surveyed, I could have done so without sacrificing any values, principles, my character, or time with my family. The Millionaire Mind is as much a statement of a philosophy of life as it is a guide to great wealth. Its tone is very positive and reinforcing.
The Millionaire Mind dispels several popular myths about wealthy people--that they made their money the old fashioned way by inheriting a bundle, that they graduated from the finest colleges and universities, and that they blew the lid off of SATs and grade point averages. Most of the 733 millionaires Dr. Stanley studied did not fit any of these characteristics. When asked what factors were most important to their success, the top five rated items (out of 30) were #1 being honest with all people, #1(tie) being well disciplined, #3 getting along with people, #4 having a supportive spouse, and #5 working harder than most people. "Graduating near/at the top of my class" was ranked 30th. This list, better than anything else in the book, is a confirmation that character and commitment count and that measures of achievement need to be broadened.
How encouraging it is to read a book that says that the American dream still exists, that individuals can overcome inadequacies, disappointments, failures, and seemingly insurmountable odds to achieve success and happiness in life. And it can be done ethically, legally, and in one generation, during one's lifetime, as many of Stanley's millionaires have proven. Stanley and his millionaires are telling us to count our blessings, play to our strengths, believe in ourselves, not let our critics get us down, and take personal responsibility for our lives. His millionaires have been married to the same spouse for an average of 28 years. The majority live modestly for their means, spend considerable time their families, and don't flaunt their wealth. What a potent message this book delivers.
I will make sure each of my children gets a copy of The Millionaire Mind and recommend it highly to my classes at The University of Georgia.
Dr. Fred Stephenson Associate Professor of Distribution Terry College of Business The University of Georgia March 12, 2000
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. März 2000
Hey, this book gives hope to me. This gives a good profile of the average multi-millionaire, and lets you know what to emulate in your attempts to get where they are. That good grades do not equal financial success in the future I know well, because one of my best friends from high school made the FORBES 400 list. When I first met him in high school, I asked him what grade he was in. He said, "Well, I'm supposed to be a junior. But my record is so bad, I think I'm technically still a sophomore." (Hardly the sign of a good student!) As far as good SAT scores not guaranteeing future wealth: this same friend of mine--when applying to a college that wasn't hard to get into--knew he wasn't "smart" enough to score well on the SAT's, so he had his more academic brother take the SAT's for him (they looked a lot alike). As a result he got into the college he wanted to...and then dropped out...and went on to become worth more than 1/2 a billion dollars. These are the types that appear over and over in these pages. (Although I have to doubt that millionaires are consistently ethical, as this book claims. My friend illegally had his brother take the SAT's, and my friend also was my only friend in high school that went around stealing car stereos). That's my one complaint about the book, having people THEMSELVES say that being honest was part of their success. How many dishonest men say they are dishonest? That's for others to decide. And we all know of robber barons in history who ended up filthy rich, by being dishonest. But everything else in this book is helpful, and well worth reading. Hey, reading this book may mean the difference between being rich and poor. In that case, it's probably worth the purchase price.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Benötigen sie kundenservice? Hier klicken

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)