find Hier klicken Sonderangebote PR CR0917 Cloud Drive Photos Alles für die Schule Learn More TDZ Hier klicken Mehr dazu Hier Klicken Shop Kindle Unlimited AmazonMusicUnlimited Fußball longss17


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 2. März 2017
I read The Horologicon before this one, and I am glad I didn't give up Mark Forsyth. This one rockets along from one extremely interesting word root to another. Not a dull moment.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. August 2012
If you enjoy discovering where words come from you'll love this book, it's one of the funniest things I've read on the subject! Reading it is a bit like having a very knowledgable and entertaining guest to tea. Mark Forsyth describes his book as "a circular stroll through the hidden connections of the English language" and that says it perfectly. He takes us on a ramble from a word to its derivatives and its various spawnings in an informative yet often hilarious way. I have the book on my coffee table and dip into it whenever I have a few minutes. A friend recommended this book to me and I'm so glad she did - it's a treat!
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. November 2012
I bought this after parts of this were on BBC Radio4's Book of the Week and thoroughly amused me by the whimsical and meandering style. I was mostly not disappointed; my only problem is that the segues from one chapter to the next become more and more forced as the book progresses. (Or maybe that's just the impression that I got, reading about two thirds of it on a rainy day in a hotel room. Hence, I do recommend not to read more than two or three chapters at a time.)
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Oktober 2014
Truly remarkable, how many connections can be uncovered by linguists. The author has done "his homework". The results of his endeavors seem to be reliable. Highly recommended, if you are the kind of reader that can consume (and retain) enormous quantities of information.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. Oktober 2016
The first lines of this book and I am already giggling.
As I am a linguistic nerd, love the English language and, even more, love getting to know origins of words, this book is just perfect!
I would love to hang out with Mr Forsyth and just listen to him all day long.
Not only does one get new insights of the world around us, which just seems so normal and regular and the words are just there, but also getting to know how they originated and that they were once invented and did not exist all the time, already.
As I have studied English Language and Literature, it is such a joy to read this book and explore all the anecdotes and stories.
I will def. look at Mr Forsyth's blog and giggle some more!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. April 2013
Sehr unterhaltsam geschrieben, witzig und originell. Wer das Buch bis zum Ende liest, wird vor allem feststellen, dass es sich in der Tat um einen "Circular stroll" handelt :)
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Februar 2016
An excellent book containing some wonderful research into the root of words.
With so much information and some excellent historical backgrounds,you can impress your friends with your new word knowledge.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Dezember 2012
wer wörter und ihre herkunftsgeschichte liebt, der sollte unbedingt dieses buch lesen. ein wundervoller, unterhaltsamer und informativer rundgang durch die englische sprachgeschichte.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. August 2013
Ein sehr vergnügliches, kurzweiliges und geistreiches Buch. Definitiv eine Empfehlung.
Habe auch schon die Fortsetzung auf meinen Kindle geladen, The Horologicon.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Dezember 2015
Lots of fun and insight - whish there were something like that in German! Will buy the 'Horologicon' and am really looking forward to getting it soon!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden


Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)