Fashion Sale Hier klicken Neuerscheinungen Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle WalkingOnCars Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,4 von 5 Sternen
177
4,4 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:6,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 21. August 2016
Habe es als Pflichtlektüre mit meinem Kurs gelesen. Immer wieder toll. Ich mag den Film - doch das Buch ist noch besser.
Kann es nur weiterempfehlen. Alice Walker weiß zu unterhalten.
Ein tolles Buch, das jeder einmal gelesen haben sollte!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. April 2014
The story of a simple, hard life of tow sisters, told in letters between the two - I could hardly put it down, although I had seen the movie years before (I'm not sure but I think the movie has only a part of the story).
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Februar 2015
Its just a book? think again.
I read this over the summer holidays to be prepared for my Literature AS-Level and it brought me to tears several times. Now that i am rereading it, Celie's story still makes me cry- Admittedly, it is hard to get used to the narrative voice of the novel (not a fan of American English...) but the fight with the language is worth it.
Moving, powerful and deserves the both the Publitzer Prize and the National Book Award in every aspect.

As for the condition of the book, it was flawlessly new and i doubt that anyone ever opened it.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. Dezember 2005
It began with Celie. Writing letters to God. Under the strong instruction from her father never to tell anyone but God about his abuse, that is who Celie turns to.
This book is written in the form of correspondence, an exchange of letters that as often as not doesn't end up being read by the intended readers for most of a lifetime.
There is abuse, child abuse, sexual abuse, pain that no one should have to go through. They go through it. Celie is a strong enough person to realise that her father might not stop with her, and feels protective of her younger sister.
'Sometime he still be looking at Nettie, but I always git in his light. Now I tell her to marry Mr. _____. I don't tell her why. I say Marry him, Nettie, an try to have one good year out your life. After that, I know she be big.'
Celie delivered children of her father, children who were cast away, presumably dead (although Celie has the intuition to know better).
Celie put up with separation from loved ones, and a loveless, unfaithful marriage, playing second-fiddle to a more flamboyant mistress, Shug Avery. And Celie was raised not to know she deserved better.
She deserved better.
Shug Avery ironically was one who helped teach her that. There was a friendship beyond words that developed, a realisation of humanity and caring beyond the abuses of the world; Shug was neglected by her father, a pain that cut her almost as deep as Celie's pain.
But Celie found out something. Alphonso, her Pa, wasn't her Pa--he was a step. The children weren't to be shunned. The worst sin was mitigated just a bit.
And Celie and Nettie found out more. The land and house belonged to them, not to 'Pa', but rather their real daddy, who left it to them and their mother.
This is a painful story. It is a hopeful story. The courage of the women against family and societal tyranny is strong, but the courage against their own fears and shortcomings is even stronger.
Now, you may be asking, what right does a white man have in reviewing this kind of book? White people are very peripheral in the story, never central, never figuring more than just side characters, and not very human ones at that. I review this book in the hopes that it will be more widely read by those of every colour, as it gives insight into a different side of the human condition that is so far beyond my experience that, without this book, I would never have realised such things are possible.
Such despair. Such longing. Such courage. Such victory.
God is present even in the pain, even in the absence, and Celie resists (much more than I would, or indeed do in less severe circumstances) to judge God. She may be angry at times, but always faithful in her own way.
She believes in her family, even when it isn't deserved. She believes in herself in the end, when it is needed.
The Color Purple -- what does that mean? This is the symbol of God. The royal colour, the sign that all can see, that God is present and has a plan for beauty. This story is beautiful, even in its darkest moments.
'Well, us talk and talk bout God, but I'm still adrift. Trying to chase that old white man out of my head. I been so busy thinking bout him I never truly notice nothing God make. Not a blade of corn (how it do that?) not the color purple (where it come from?). Not the little wildflowers. Nothing.'
Celie learns to see. Learns to love. Even to forgive a little. She finds the love of God in her family.
I am richer for having read this story. I think everyone would be.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. Mai 2000
_The Color Purple_ by Alice Walker provides an outstanding story of a woman's journey through an unbearable life which teaches women to understand how to achieve true happiness. The main character, Celie, journys through many different, but abusive, relationships to find herself and her own happiness. However, until she finds her own strength as a woman, she allows herself to be both physically and mentally beaten down. Examples of both independent and needy women and men help Celie on her hard journey of realization. I enjoyed this look into the journey to become a strong individual. I have never read a book as realistic as _The Color Purple_ in describing the survival of one who could have so easily given up. Celie's final state of mind portays an almost idealistic example of being happy with oneself. I would definetaly recomend this book to anyone, unless they do not wish to read about some disturbing abusive and sexual situations. The treatment of women and thier place in society were the only things that made me feel uneasy while I was reading. If you like this book then you should try reading Zora Neale Hurston's _Thier Eyes Were Watching God_.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Juni 2005
In "The Color Purple" schildert Alice Walker eine nachdenklich stimmende Lebensgeschichte der schwarzen Amerikanerin Celie. In Briefen - zuerst an Gott und später an ihre Schwester Nettie - erfährt der Leser das bedrückende Schicksals Celies. Geprägt von der Mißhandlung durch Männer sucht Celie Zuflucht in der Freundschaft zu Shug Avery, die Celie letztlich hilft, aus dem Netz der Mißhandlung und Abhängigkeit auszubrechen.
Alice Walker hat zweifellos mit diesem Werk einen wichtigen literarischen Beitrag gestaltet zur englischsprachigen emanzipatorischen Literatur geleistet.
LeserInnen, welche nicht dingfest im Englischen sind, würde ich allerdings die deutsche Übersetzung ans Herz lesen, denn Celie charakterisiert sich nämlich auch durch den Schreibstil in ihren Briefen. Abweichungen vom Standardenglisch, Slangwörter und ungrammatikalische Ausdrücke zeigen den verschlossen gebliebenen Zugang Ceilies zu formeller Bildung an. Andernfalls laufen LeserInnen Gefahr, den Facettenreichtum des Romans nicht gänzlich zu erfassen.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. März 2013
Was mir von Anfang an gefallen hat, ist die fehlende Einteilung des Buches in Kapitel. Dadurch, dass "nur" Briefe aufeinanderfolgen, in denen die ganze Geschichte erzählt wird, ist das Buch umso spannender zu lesen, da man keinen Anhaltspunkt hat, um mit dem Lesen eine Pause zu machen.
Die Geschichte ist wunderschön und sehr traurig und wahnsinnig liebevoll erzählt. Trotz der tragischen Handlung schaffte Alice Walker es zwischendurch auch mal, mir ein Lächeln abzuringen, was das Lesen umso angenehmer macht. Ich muss sagen, ich habe das Buch wirklich genossen, kann ich nur empfehlen!
P.S.: Auch der Film ist sehr gelungen, falls jemand nicht so gerne liest...
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Januar 2013
From the first sentence the story gets under the reader's skin. It just feels so touching. The writing style is easy to comprenhend and the story is so interesting that keeps peopole totally intrigued and wondering what's comming next. The used written-language is very interesting too; on one hand it shows the lower south American way of speaking versus the more culturalised class. It is not just a social novel, but a master literature's work.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. Mai 2000
The Color Purple, written by Alice Walker, is an emotional story of an African American woman's journey through an unbearable life which teaches women to unite in order to find strength and happiness. The main character, Celie, journeys through many different abusive relationships to discover who she really is and to find the strength she possesses. However, until she discovers her hidden strength, she allows herself to be physically and mentally abused, first by her father, and then later by her husband. Two independent women enter her life and help her to see past her feelings of self worthlessness and discover her own beauty. She discovers that life is not a matter of simply existing, but rather, it is about enjoying living. This book may be hard for some readers who are especially sensitive, because it is very graphic. It deals with sexuality, rape, homosexuality and offensive language. It is easy to read because it is divided into short diary entries and letters, but the language and dialect can be somewhat confusing. Also, the story seems to drag on and on. I liked the ending because everything ties together, but it almost seems to end too perfectly and unrealistically. Celie goes from being a weak, submissive wife to Albert at the beginning to a his equal at the end just because she has become a stronger person. Albert's personality doesn't seem as if it would permit this drastic change. In addition, Celie's long lost sister suddenly appears on her front porch. It's a good book with a powerful story, but if you have a choice, watch the movie instead.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Mai 1998
Throughout Alice Walker's The Color Purple Celie, the main character, undergoes several changes brought about by her contact with other people. Her Pa or who turned out to be her stepfather was a major influence in her life - not good, though, but bad influence. He abused her physically by raping her and left her to take care of her siblings as a surrogate mother even when she was but a child. He didn't even tell her that he wasn't her real Pa, or that her children were alive.
The second man in her life was even worse in some ways - her husband, Mr.______ or Albert whom she married, but she really was bought - he got a cow with the deal. He abused her not only physically by beating her but he also abused her verbally by calling her names while working her to the bone. He kept her under his thumb with these tactics. These two men left her subdued and passive, who acquiesced and gave in rather than put up a fight. She became emotionally dead with this suppression of her personality of who she was - she was just a person who cooks and cleans and takes care of the children without any consideration given to her. Even a horse who has worked hard and loyally for its master gets to enjoy freedom and relaxation, but not Celie. She is treated worse than an animal.
However this changes with the coming of two women into her life - Sophia and Shug Avery. Sophia, wife of Harpo, was a strong willed women both physically and emotionally, also as stubborn as a mule. When Sophia first arrived Celie became jealous of her as she waw how much in love she and Harpo were in and no matter how difficult life became they were truly happy - something Celie thought she could never have. So when Harpo came to her for advice on how to deal with Sophia, Celie said, "Beat her". And he did. When Sophia found out that Celie had told him to beat her, she rushed to Celie and demanded to know what she was doing to her marriage and said, "All my life I had to fight ... but never did I think that I would have to fight in my own home". The realization of what she had done to Sophia came to her and from then on Celie and Sophia were fast friends. Sophia's courage to fight for her rights with Harpo, Mr.______ and the Mayor taught Celie to stand up in the face of adversity not crumble. And later on in the book she does stand up to Albert.
Shug Avery was the one person in her life who affected Celie the most in her life. Shug had held a fascination for Celie ever since Celie first saw her picture which had fallen out Albert's pocket. When Shug first arrived she was very sick and was practically at death's doorstep. Celie through clever manipulation brought Shug from the very jaws of death, metaphorically speaking. Slowly but steadily their friendship grew until the time when they went to bed together. That was when Celie unburdened herself and told Shug her life story. When Celie told Shug her about her Pa who raped her and had two children by Shug said, "You're still a virgin then" and Celie replied, "I guess I still am". By these small acts of listening and other small acts of kindness and love, the first Celie had known for a long time - not since her sister Nettie went away, Celie broke out her shell of isolation. Shug brought Celie back not only emotionally and physically but also sexually and religiously. It was as though Celie was reborn as a different person. A person who not only had the courage to tell Albert off and stabbed his hand with a knife, but someone who left her husband to go with Shug to Memphis to start a sort of pant factory there with two girls working under her.
Celie wasn't the only one in The Color Purple who underwent changes in personality - Albert became more the kind of person who Celie could grow to love - caring, loving and who helps her. Sophia changed from strong willed to pathetic in her old age as she became more like Celie of old - subdued and passive from her long stay in prison and as a servant, a change that was the direct opposite of the change Celie underwent. These changes in Celie and others through their interaction with others were akin to the ever changing shoreline, which, under the influence of others is being altered and transformed constantly. The changes that Celie underwent are aptly surmised by Alice Walker's poem "Remember". At first Celie was, "the girl holding their babies cooking their meals sweeping their yards washing their clothes Dark and rotting and wounded, wounded". But after meeting and befriending Shug she becomes, "the woman: Dark repaired, healed". In the end the woman that Celie turns out to be, is confident, resolute and healed from the scars left from her childhood.
This was not an exceptional book nor did it have an original plot but it did do a very good job of the portrayal of characters and their reactions to their surroundings and other stimuli. Therefore, the two characteristics of the book in my mind tend to even out thus it received an average scoring.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

5,99 €
13,99 €

Benötigen sie kundenservice? Hier klicken