Es wird kein Kindle Gerät benötigt. Laden Sie eine der kostenlosen Kindle Apps herunter und beginnen Sie, Kindle-Bücher auf Ihrem Smartphone, Tablet und Computer zu lesen.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Geben Sie Ihre Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Kindle-Preis: EUR 0,99
inkl. MwSt.
Kindle Unlimited mit Hörbuch-Logo
Kostenlos lesen und hören. Weitere Informationen
Kostenlos lesen und hören
ODER

Diese Aktionen werden auf diesen Artikel angewendet:

Einige Angebote können miteinander kombiniert werden, andere nicht. Für mehr Details lesen Sie bitte die Nutzungsbedingungen der jeweiligen Promotion.

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

Facebook Twitter Pinterest <Einbetten>
Sword of Rome: Standard Bearer (English Edition) von [Foreman, Richard ]
Hörprobe anhören
Wird wiedergegeben...
Wird geladen...
Angehalten
Anzeige für Kindle-App

Sword of Rome: Standard Bearer (English Edition) Kindle Edition

3.8 von 5 Sternen 8 Kundenrezensionen
Buch 1 von 5 in Sword of Rome (5 Book Series)
Alle Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Preis
Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 0,99

Länge: 56 Seiten Word Wise: Aktiviert Verbesserter Schriftsatz: Aktiviert
PageFlip: Aktiviert Passendes Audible-Hörbuch:
Passendes Audible-Hörbuch
Wechseln Sie zwischen dem Lesen des Kindle-eBooks und dem Hören des Audible-Hörbuchs hin und her. Nachdem Sie das Kindle-eBook gekauft haben, fügen Sie das Audible-Hörbuch für den reduzierten Preis von EUR 2,95 hinzu.
Verfügbar
Sprache: Englisch

Februar-Aktion: Englische eBooks stark reduziert
Entdecken Sie unsere Auswahl an englischen eBooks aus verschiedenen Genres für je 1,49 EUR. Die aktuelle Aktion läuft noch bis zum 28. Februar 2017.

Komplette Reihe

Produktbeschreibungen

Kurzbeschreibung

Britain, 55 BC.

Julius Caesar’s invasion of the wild and mineral-rich land is becalmed, a stalemate exists between the forces of Rome and Britain. But the standard bearer of the Tenth Legion, Lucius Oppius, is about to display a depth of courage that will change the course of the invasion – and history.

Encamped upon the south coast Caesar, admiring the courage and skill of his standard bearer, orders Oppius to accompany a native British archer and go behind enemy lines. His mission is to hunt down a treacherous Roman agent, who is recruiting Britons to fight against the armies of Rome in Gaul.

Yet not all is what it seems and Oppius will fight for his life, as well as for Caesar and the glory of Rome, to complete his mission and find his way back home.

Sword of Rome: Standard Bearer brings together history and action and adventure in a story which will appeal to fans of both Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell.

Sword of Rome: Standard Bearer is the first book in a series of novellas featuring Lucius Oppius and the campaigns of Julius Caesar.

Praise for Augustus: Son of Rome



'Augustus: Son of Rome' forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom - and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction.’ – Saul David, author of the Zulu Hart series

Praise for Raffles: The Complete Innings



‘Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime.’ – David Blackburn, The Spectator

Praise for A Hero of Our Time



'An elegant novel which is awash with both hope and tragedy. A Hero of Our Time is a must read for anyone interested in WWII or 19th Century Russian Literature.' – Nigel Jones, author of Countdown To Valkyrie

Richard Foreman is the author of numerous bestselling kindle books, including Augustus: Son of Rome and the Raffles series of historical crime novellas. He is also the author of A Hero of Our Time, a literary novel set during the end of the Second World War. He lives in London.

Produktinformation

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Dateigröße: 635 KB
  • Seitenzahl der Print-Ausgabe: 56 Seiten
  • Verlag: Endeavour Press Ltd.; Auflage: 1 (6. Januar 2014)
  • Verkauf durch: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • ASIN: B00952UUDG
  • Text-to-Speech (Vorlesemodus): Aktiviert
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Aktiviert
  • Verbesserter Schriftsatz: Aktiviert
  • Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung: 3.8 von 5 Sternen 8 Kundenrezensionen
  • Amazon Bestseller-Rang: #394.594 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop (Siehe Top 100 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop)

  •  Ist der Verkauf dieses Produkts für Sie nicht akzeptabel?

Kundenrezensionen

3.8 von 5 Sternen
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel

Top-Kundenrezensionen

Format: Kindle Edition Verifizierter Kauf
In my opinion this is not a book but a short story which stops surprisingly at "page" 77 (also 77%). The rest of the "book" is filled with another text and no relation to the main story, as far as I had the energy left to read...
The story itself and its characters are simplistic and one-dimensional, details not worth mentioning, and far below what has been delivered so far by writers like e.g. Fabbri, Sidebottom or Cornwell.
I will definitely not buy any other book from this author.
Kommentar Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Format: Kindle Edition
Sword of Rome is not nearly as involving as the book that it's a prequel to, Son of Rome, but it's not supposed to be. The latter may be considered literature in places, the former is an action-adventure short story.

The plot is pretty one dimensional, if pacey. I would've liked to see more of a surprising Raffles-like twist at the end, but the story and characters provide enough of a hook to make the reader want you to follow them on to Alesia at the close of things.

The central character of Oppius is little different from his older self in Augustus: Son of Rome. Julius Caesar and the character of Teucer provide a bit of colour and humour though.
In regards to Caesar one can view him as a Wellington type figure, in reference to Bernard Cornwell's Sharpe series. With Oppius being Sharpe. Although no where near as good as Cornwell Foreman is conscious of writing to entertain, as well as inform a little.

Overall I was a little disappointed that Sword of Rome was not the equal of Son of Rome, in terms of length and intelligence. But although I did not love this book I did like it.
Kommentar 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Format: Kindle Edition Verifizierter Kauf
... but I couldn't finish it. Maybe I gave up too fast but the author failed to introduce his heros properly. At times he uses names, then their military ranks, sometimes even within the same sentence. I was constantly confused about who is who and eventually gave up.
Absolutely not my style of entertainment
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Format: Kindle Edition
This is a strong blend of historical fact and fiction. Set during Caesar’s campaign in Britain, Foreman manages to combine fast-paced, energetic action scenes with likeable characters and intimate scenes of dialogue. The simple plot is driven forward, although there are some nice moments too where the story slows to develop the principle characters and their comradeship. The central character of Sword of Rome is Lucius Oppius. He's far from an original or complex character - it sometimes feels as though the author has parachuted a Roman Sharpe or Jack Reacher into his story - but this is no bad thing in light of genre and length of book.
Kommentar 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
click to open popover