Sale Sale Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto Jetzt informieren Book Spring Store 2017 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimitedEcho BundesligaLive wint17

Kundenrezensionen

4,0 von 5 Sternen
13
Stumbling on Happiness (Vintage)
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:10,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime


am 4. Dezember 2016
Daniel Gilbert ist mir zuerst durch TED Talks aufgefallen. Wer sich nicht sicher ist ob ihm dieses Buch gefallen könnte, kann sich den 20 minütigen Vortrag auf TED anschauen. Dies ist eine Mini Zusammenfassung des Buches und gibt einen Vorgeschmack auf den Schreibstil des Autors. denn genau so wie er es präsentiert, schreibt er auch. Für mich war es überaus unterhaltend und faszinierend.

[...]

Es werden sehr viele Studienergebnisse kurz mit eingeflochten, was dem ganzen einen praktischen Aspekt verleiht. Dadurch kam es mir nicht mehr rein theoretisch vor und die Faszination, sowie wahrscheinlich auch die Akzeptanz der Thesen, ist dadurch gestiegen.

Da es für die Bewertung dieses Buches durchaus einen Unterschied macht: Ich habe weder Psychologie studiert, noch viele Fachbücher dazu gelesen. Ich kann nur sagen, dass es für mich nicht Psychologen sehr verständlich und interessant war.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 19. Mai 2015
The author shoes very interesting studies and concepts about psychology and how to explain happiness. Many interesting point about how our brain works, especially how we experience the present, remember the past and expect the future.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 6. Juli 2006
Among the many snappy one-liners spicing the "Star Trek" films, this one, issued by a computer to the resurrected Mr Spock, stands out particularly. Then, it seemed a poor joke. Now, a computer posing such a question is no longer a speculative idea. With many studies of the brain's signal intensity of our outlook on various topics, the question, even if posed indirectly, is valid. The problem, as Gilbert explains, is that we really don't have a secure answer. "Happiness", he reminds us, is a complex emotion with countless factors weighing in on how we view it. In this intriguing study, the author brings a wealth of experience and the work of many researchers into this examination of our various ways of considering what makes us "happy".

While this book asks serious questions, recounting how cognitive sciences have revealed some of the answers, this is hardly a ponderous academic study. Gilbert's lively wit ameliorates some of the grim episodes he must use to impart how science has considered these issues. How can a man wrongfully imprisoned for thirty-seven years declare his incarceration "a glorious experience"? More significantly, who are we to judge his viewpoint as "impossible" or "misguided"? Gilbert acknowledges that most of us would view askance such a judgement of a legal mis-judgement. He also contends that both viewpoints are correct - if considered in their actual frame of reference. Our problem is that we have our own views of what comprises happiness, and projecting it on how others should feel is an error. Compounding that situation is that our own view of our own happiness is likely out of whack.

One of the major points this author proposes is that any attempt we make to forecast what will bring us happiness will almost surely prove false. Part of the reason for this comes from what studies have shown the brain to be doing "behind our backs". Because the multitude of sensory inputs and body function regulation roles keep the brain so busy, it often has to make judgements based on incomplete information. Among the choices it faces, the mind may settle on something positive whether or not factual or complete supportive information is available. That is what our "consciousness" perceives and considers valid. Even new information may not dislodge this choice from our consideration. How "individual" this selection process is has been borne out by studies of twins - even conjoined twins, who certainly ought to reflect common thoughts for what gives pleasure. It is clear, therefore, that judging our own happiness or that of others is fraught with the likelihood of error. Delusion about what brings happiness isn't merely a possibility. It's fundamental to how we handle values.

The other side of this coin is why our approach to happiness appears to be a human universal. The mechanisms that lead us to consider happiness arose with the enlargement of our frontal cortex beginning some two million years ago. Although that sounds like a long time, it's an "eyeblink in the evolutionary time scale". The brain's new capacities gave us the power to imagine. "Imagination", Gilbert argues, is the ability to fabricate a mental image of the future. We have an ability no other creature possesses. We can ponder options, imagine scenarios, consider various paths to follow. We can thus consider what will make us happy. Regrettably, we are unable to choose accurately, because that same cognitive power grants the brain the means to select ways and means with no real capacity for choosing reliably.

Gilbert's conclusion to all the research he's summarised is necessarily vague. After all, we aren't dealing with physical trauma or human values in this survey. The topic is how we view our wishes and desires. It's not the sort of thing we feel is normally amenable to analysis or correction. It's a very individual view. Or is it? Gilbert finds that the multitude of "self-help" books might have something to say to us after all. They reflect, he says, a set of things we all hold dear and wish to achieve. While we all treasure our uniqueness, it turns out that people in similar circumstances pretty much strive for similar aims. There are no formulas to follow to achieve happiness. We can only imagine what we would like to have or be, and can only reflect on past endeavours and rewards gained. Our big brains, he concludes, with all its powers, can best be used to allow us to understand what makes us stumble into happiness. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada]
0Kommentar| 15 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 23. Oktober 2010
Das ist das erste wissenschaftliche Buch, das es geschafft hat, dass ich es mit Suchtfaktor lese wie einen guten Roman.
Es wird nie langweilig, die dargebrachten Themen sind leicht verständlich ohne oberflächlich zu sein und wer sich noch genauer über eine Sache informieren möchte, kann das im Anhang tun.
Dieses Buch ist außerdem so witzig geschrieben, dass man schon alleine deshalb gerne weiterliest.

Für mich sowohl inhaltlich als auch vom Schreibstil eines der besten Bücher, die ich seit Langem gelesen habe.
0Kommentar| 8 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 25. Mai 2014
Good book with a lot of interesting background information.
But not very much helpful information what to do to rise your level of happiness.
Anyhow - a good read and my recommendation.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 18. Dezember 2009
In lockerem und witzigem Schreibstil räumt Daniel Gilbert mit vielen Vorurteilen über das Glücklichsein auf. dabei vermittelt er jede Menge psychologisches Fachwissen auf einfache Weise. Ich habe das Buch sehr gerne gelesen und viel dabei gelernt. Manchmal hat das Buch seine Längen, wenn er mich von etwas überzeugen will, was ich aber schon längst so sehe. Besonders positiv ist mir aufgefallen, dass er (gerade für einen Psychologen) sehr logisch argumentiert.

Ob man nach der Lektüre glücklicher ist? Ich weiß es nicht. Auf jeden Fall weiß man danach sehr viel über die eigene Gefühlswelt und dürfte viele Zwänge im Leben gar nicht als so dramatisch betrachten.
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 21. April 2015
Daniel Gilbert erklärt auf witzige Art und Weise warum der Mensch niemals zufrieden sein wird. Das Englisch ist meiner Meinung nach leicht verständlich sodass man es gut "runterlesen" kann ohne sich zu langweilen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 14. April 2013
This book is about more than happiness. It helped me to understand how our brains work, and explained many puzzles about the human behavior. I do now better understand myself and others.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 26. Juli 2015
While I like many of the presented ideas the language makes it difficult (Or shall I rather say boring) to read. To me the book felt bloated and could have been easily cut in one third.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 13. Januar 2016
Great book, very interesting top up with Dan's writing style which is something between a science and stand up commedy.
great piece of work.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden