Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto Jetzt informieren PR CR0917 Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Mehr dazu Hier klicken HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Hier Klicken Jetzt bestellen AmazonMusicUnlimitedEcho BundesligaLive longSSs17

Kundenrezensionen

4,0 von 5 Sternen
9
4,0 von 5 Sternen
Stranger on the Shore
Format: Kindle Edition|Ändern
Preis:2,41 €


am 10. Mai 2014
4.5 glorious stars

Hmm. This is a bit difficult to review without spoilers, at least in my case... But I'll try my best.^^

Well, the good - no, the delicious - first:
I've always liked Lanyon's way of storytelling, liked the way he develops his mysteries and have not yet been disappointed by his books. Understandably, this was a must-read for me.

First of all: I really, really adored both Griff and Pierce, individually and together. They really worked as a couple for me, even though the romance aspect in this mystery wasn't all that prominent, maybe a bit too little for some readers. Although it was exactly right imo, especially the antipathy and dislike versus some extent of attraction in the beginning -- I would not class this as "enemies-to-lovers trope" (which I am a sucker for) though -- really did it to me.

The mystery was... hm, well-developed. I very much liked how Griff had to metaphorically turn every stone to get to the bottom of the mystery about what exactly happened to little Brian all those years ago. I was captivated and drawn into the "whodunit" and "what happened"-part more or less immediately.
And while I totally have to doff my hat again to Lanyon in some ways, in others I'd have wished that some of the hints (regarding the mystery) offered would have been more subtle, at least in the beginning. Because I kind of felt cheated when the most crucial part of the mystery (at least the most crucial in my opinion) - and I'm not talking about the "whodunit"-part here - was revealed, or rather: hinted at quite obviously, so soon.
To have solved the aspect that could and should have made for a very intriguing turn of events and unforeseen development later on at just a little bit over 30% into the book.. yeah, that was a bit disappointing.

To be fair though, that did hardly dampen my eagerness to read on. Because even then the story and the mystery were compelling and captivating enough, wondering when and how the MCs would find out...

Hell, maybe it was even intended that the reader should find out that particular part early on while Griff and everybody else remain in the dark? I don't know... To me it was still somewhat disappointing either way, which is why I couldn't bring myself to give the full 5 stars.

Other than than: Another well-done mystery with interesting and unique characters and a lovely romance thrown in in well-known Lanyon fashion.
Recommended to all Lanyon-fans and mystery lovers.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Mai 2014
Well, I am one of those people who stumbled across one of Josh's books and then - I read them all. And now I am hanging around his blog always waiting for the next one. Why does it take so long to write a book that you can read in a couple of hours? Unfair!

What I love about Josh's writing is that it is flawless and beautiful. He has a very poetic way with words. He can get me to see, feel and experience things in a way that is unexpected, fresh. He lets me discover things, make up my mind about the characters and doesn't tell me what I should feel.

I also appreciate that he writes mm romance. At first for me - as a woman - it was a little unexpected - as I said I stumbled upon one of his books not knowing it was mm and then I just read it because it was a great book.

For me reading mm books has done something really great. It has changed the way I think of relationships. When I used to think about relationships this stereotypical image would pop up in my mind: man + woman = relationship. Yes, I KNOW that there are very different forms of relationships out there and I have met many wonderful gay people - but tell that to my subconscious mind :-)

So after reading mm for a while I noticed that whenever I think about relationships I see different images pop up in my mind. I see two men walking hand in hand, I see two women kissing, I see a man and a woman walking next to each other - my mind has made room for more possibilities. And that feels great!

But enough about that. I loved the book, the setting was beautiful and I liked stumbling along with the MC and constantly going OMG it couldnt be - or could it??? The romance was sweet, sexy and totally believable for me.

I don't want a lot of drama in my books, I want them written well. I guess Josh is one of these authors who could write just about anything and I would read it - he's just that talented. (Sorry, having my fangirl moment here...)

So - what are you waiting for? Go buy the book!!!
And Josh - keep writing :-)
11 Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. Mai 2014
Josh Lanyon did it in the most ingenious way: He added to his prose, that I admire in any case, the magic of F.Scott Fitzgerald.

I.WAS.SOLD.

I don't want to talk a lot, except:

It was one of the best mystery a là Josh Lanyon.

It was one of my favourite book of Josh Lanyon.

He is like a good wine - he's getting better and better as time goes by.

Of course: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

If you can appreciate a good plot, a thrilling mystery, a wonderful romance and a brilliant writing.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. Juni 2014
Ich habe mittlerweile etliche Bücher von Josh Lanyon glesen; dass er schreiben kann, steht außer Frage. Jedoch kann ich mich mittlerweile des Eindrucks nicht mehr erwehren, dass er ständig dieselben Charaktere schreibt. Sicher, sie haben andere Namen, andere Hintergrundgeschichten, andere körperliche Gebrechen und stecken in unterschiedlichen Schwierigkeiten. Aber sie haben irgendwie stets dieselbe Stimme, und die Geschichten wirken auf mich wie mit Rigips um einem bewährten, leichtverkäuflichen Grundriss herumgebaut.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Mai 2014
Das Warten hat sich wieder einmal gelohnt! Sobald ich sah, dass dieses Buch erscheinen würde, habe ich es vorbestellt, denn, wenn mich auch die Inhaltsangabe im ersten Moment nicht wirklich überzeugt hat, so tat es der Umstand, dass es ein "Lanyon" sein würde und ich jetzt wirklich überlegen müsste, ob mich ein "Lanyon" jemals so richtig enttäuscht hätte...

Eine Nacherzählung der Story -oder gar Spoiler- werde ich mir sparen, da es davon mehr als genug in den anderen Rezensionen gibt.

Ich bin eine eifrige Leserin in diesem Genre, liebe jedoch auch Fantasy und Krimis. Ich schätze es über alle Maßen, wenn ein Buch von all meinen Vorlieben etwas enthält und das ist bei `Stranger on the Shore' absolut der Fall.

Noch mehr schätze ich eine Schreibweise, bei der sich mir nicht ständig der Magen umdreht, sei es der vielen Rechtschreibfehler wegen oder als Folge der Gossensprache, die uns so häufig vorgesetzt wird. Doch nicht so in einem "Lanyon".

Natürlich verstehe ich, dass es manchen Leser entäuscht haben mag, dass die Sexszenen nicht mindestens auf jeder zehnten Seite zu finden waren, (ja, ich weiß, dass ich etwas übertreibe) doch manchmal ist weniger eben mehr!

Obwohl bis zur Mitte des Buches schon klar wird, welches Rätsel es zu lösen gilt, wird es auch ab diesem Zeitpunkt auf keinen Fall langweilig! Ich habe eine schlaflose Nacht hinter mich gebracht, weil ich meinen Kindle einfach nicht ausschalten konnte.

Ich bin kein Fan von Rezensionen, wenigstens nicht meiner eigenen, da ich denke, dass man an dieser Stelle die Beschaffenheit eines bei Amazon gekauften Artikels bewerten sollte, was ja bei einem Ebook kaum möglich ist.
Das Format war in Ordnung, das Inhaltsverzeichnis vorhanden und funktionsfähig, was kann man zu einem Ebook sonst sagen?
Darum werde ich auch jetzt nicht hingehen, und jedes einzelne Buch von Lanyon rezensieren, hoffe aber, dass sich niemand daran stößt, dass ich hier eine der wenigen Ausnahmen gemacht habe.

Bei meiner Viel-Leserei kommt es mir übrigens sehr entgegen, dass die Bücher von Lanyon mein knappes Budget nicht so sehr strapazieren, obwohl ich höchst wahrscheinlich auch mehr dafür bezahlen würde.

Ich wünsche, es würde viel mehr solch gute Autoren in diesem Genre geben, als die wenigen, die wir fleißigen Leser zur Genüge kennen, und die meiner Meinung nach gar nicht genug veröffentlichen können. Josh Lanyon führt diese Liste für mich ganz eindeutig an und ich warte ungeduldig auf den nächsten Titel, den ich ganz sicher auch bestellen werde.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. September 2014
Dieses Werk von Josh Lanyon war - meiner Meinung nach - perfekt: das Cover des Buches ist wunderschön und passt hervorragend zur Geschichte, die Story war atmosphärisch dicht erzählt, und dann noch John Coltrane dazu hören....
Das hat für mich ein perfektes Stimmungsbild ergeben.
Bei dem ich die Protagonisten, insbesondere Pierce, fast als störend empfunden habe.
Zur Geschichte:
Brian, ein recht glückloser Reporter, wird vom Oberhaupt einer einflussreichen Familie gebeten, das lange zurückliegende Verschwinden seines Enkels zu untersuchen bzw. ein Buch darüber zu schreiben. Der Rest der Familie sowie der Anwalt derselben ist von diesem Ansinnen nicht begeistert, aus welchen Gründen auch immer. Brian versucht das damalige Geschehen zu rekonstruieren, taucht immer mehr in die Geschichte ein, spricht mit den Personen, die damals schon vor Ort waren....
Immer mit Pierce, dem Anwalt, auf den Fersen.
Ich bin sicher nicht die einzige, die die Auflösung schon von weitem hat kommen sehen, wobei ich bei dem "wer" fast bis zum Schluss im Dunkeln getappt bin.
Was für mich nicht stimmig ist war die "Romanze", deshalb einen Punkt Abzug.
Und wenn sich mein Liebhaber während einer heissen Nacht so verhalten hätte wie Pierce.....
Ich hätte nicht so darüber hinwegsehen können wie Brian.
Fazit: Ein weiteres ausserordentlich gut geschriebenes Buch von Josh Lanyon, das ich wohl aber kein zweites Mal lesen werde.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. Mai 2014
This was my very first Josh Lanyon book and I'm not sure whether I'm joining the ranks of the Lanyon fanatics out there. There were some things that I liked and some that I didn't like about Stranger on the Shore which probably results in a 2.5 star rating. I might try out another novel by Mr. Lanyon but probably not any time soon.

Griffin is a crime reporter and has somehow found what other reporters are looking for their whole careers. The chance to write a book about a popular case of a missing child from one of America's most prestigious families. But even though Jarrett Arlington, the patriarch of the family, hired him to finally find the truth, the rest of the family isn't exactly enthusiastic about his plan to open up this old case again. Especially Pierce, the family lawyer, seems to be downright hostile towards him.

I really liked the mystery aspect of this book. It was a little bit predictable but still very entertaining. There was a lot of substance to the plot, it wasn't "only" a m/m romance story.

It's pretty obvious that Lanyon is an accomplished writer. But I thought he lost himself in lots of completely unnecessary detail and I found myself skipping lots of paragraphs because they were simply too boring.

The biggest problem I had was with the two main characters. I did like Griffin and Pierce as single people but I didn't really like what was going on between them. It was totally unbelievable to me. I couldn't believe that people would ever act like that. The ending was simply ridiculous. And not getting into the romance part of the plot was a bit of a killer for me.
So unfortunately, I can only say that it was an alright book but nothing more.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Februar 2016
Now it would be easy to spoil this, because of a major twist, but I won't. Duh. Loved loved loved it. Will definitely reread and see what it's like the second time.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Mai 2014
Die Geschichte als solche war nicht schlecht aber in der Zusammenfassung stand nichts darüber, dass das intime Sexleben von zwei Schwulen beschrieben wird. Hätte ich das gewusst, hätte ich das Buch nicht gekauft.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)