Es wird kein Kindle Gerät benötigt. Laden Sie eine der kostenlosen Kindle Apps herunter und beginnen Sie, Kindle-Bücher auf Ihrem Smartphone, Tablet und Computer zu lesen.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Geben Sie Ihre Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Kindle-Preis: EUR 4,34
inkl. MwSt.
Lesen Sie diesen Titel kostenfrei. Weitere Informationen
Kostenlos lesen
mit Kindle Unlimited Abonnement
ODER

Diese Aktionen werden auf diesen Artikel angewendet:

Einige Angebote können miteinander kombiniert werden, andere nicht. Für mehr Details lesen Sie bitte die Nutzungsbedingungen der jeweiligen Promotion.

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

Facebook Twitter Pinterest <Einbetten>
Stigma (English Edition) von [Hawley Jr, Philip]
Anzeige für Kindle-App

Stigma (English Edition) Kindle Edition

4.0 von 5 Sternen 2 Kundenrezensionen

Alle Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Preis
Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 4,34

Kindle Storyteller 2016: Der Deutsche Self Publishing Award
Kindle Storyteller 2016: Der Deutsche Self Publishing Award
Von 15. Juni bis 15. September Buch hochladen und tollen Preis gewinnen Jetzt entdecken

Produktbeschreibungen

Pressestimmen

“A rare combination of taut plotting and brilliant writing. Sit back and enjoy. Phil Hawley is for real.” (Ridley Pearson )

“Watch out Michael Crichton! High-concept storytelling, non-stop action, terrific plotting...the thriller world has an authentic new voice.” (John Lescroat )

“Stigma pulses with tension and drama. Philip Hawley has written a top-notch thriller!” (Tess Gerritsen )

“Stigma is the thriller debut of the year. Hawley is a huge new talent on the thriller scene!” (David J. Montgomery, Chicago Sun-Times )

Kurzbeschreibung

When science surrenders to man’s darkest impulses, who will protect the innocents?

In Los Angeles, a young Mayan boy with a blue-crescent-moon tattoo dies mysteriously. In Central America, a puzzling illness is spreading among Mayan tribal villages.

And soon, E.R. physician Luke McKenna will discover the link between these events and demons from his dark past. The secrets that haunt Luke are about to pull him and the woman he loves into a terrifying house of mirrors where nothing is as it first appears. Time is running out, and only by reawakening the ghost of Luke McKenna’s past can they discover the truth.

His enemies may also discover a truth: When threatened, Luke McKenna is a very dangerous man.


CRITICAL ACCLAIM FOR STIGMA:

“STIGMA is the thriller debut of the year. Hawley is a huge new talent on the thriller scene!” —David J. Montgomery, mystery/thriller critic, Chicago Sun-Times

“STIGMA pulses with tension and drama. Philip Hawley has written a top-notch thriller!” —Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author

“Hawley delivers intense action, tricky plotting and an unpredictable hero sure to satisfy anyone with an appetite for a good page-turner.” —Publishers Weekly

“STIGMA is an explosive, page-turning thriller, with a depth and emotional complexity that moves Phil Hawley to the front of the line. Hawley is a master storyteller.” —Allison Brennan, New York Times bestselling author

“Talk about debuting with a bang! Hawley's first foray into the medical thriller field is a stunner.” —Romantic Times Book Reviews

“STIGMA is a blast of a read from start to finish. Phil Hawley is the real deal and the thriller world has an authentic new voice.” —John Lescroart, New York Times bestselling author

“Philip Hawley delivers a rare combination of taut plotting and brilliant writing. Sit back and enjoy. Phil Hawley is for real.” —Ridley Pearson, New York Times bestselling author

“Action-packed . . . rich with authenticity. Philip Hawley tells a great story.” —Jonathan Kellerman, New York Times bestselling author

Produktinformation

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Dateigröße: 592 KB
  • Seitenzahl der Print-Ausgabe: 492 Seiten
  • ISBN-Quelle für Seitenzahl: B000UDFC8M
  • Gleichzeitige Verwendung von Geräten: Keine Einschränkung
  • Verlag: Amnion (1st edition published by HarperCollins); Auflage: Second (24. August 2011)
  • Verkauf durch: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • ASIN: B005HRRITW
  • Text-to-Speech (Vorlesemodus): Aktiviert
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Aktiviert
  • Verbesserter Schriftsatz: Nicht aktiviert
  • Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung: 4.0 von 5 Sternen 2 Kundenrezensionen
  • Amazon Bestseller-Rang: #447.364 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop (Siehe Top 100 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop)

  •  Ist der Verkauf dieses Produkts für Sie nicht akzeptabel?

Welche anderen Artikel kaufen Kunden, nachdem sie diesen Artikel angesehen haben?

Kundenrezensionen

4.0 von 5 Sternen
5 Sterne
1
4 Sterne
0
3 Sterne
1
2 Sterne
0
1 Stern
0
Beide Kundenrezensionen anzeigen
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel

Top-Kundenrezensionen

Format: Kindle Edition Verifizierter Kauf
A lot of different issues coming together which on the surface do not seem to be related, or may even seem a bit far fetched .... but: the autor manages, in a brilliant narration style, to make them all fit, around likeable and genuine characters (and not so likeable in case of the villains), and in a way that builds up tension until the finale.
If there were any grammar or spelling errors, I did not notice them as I was too busy reading and biting my nails!!! I just could not put this one down, and I hope there will be more of this author!!
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Format: Taschenbuch
Der vorliegende Roman lässt sich gut lesen und ist durchaus spannend. Allerdings fehlt dem Buch die wirkliche Klasse. Kurzes Fazit: Ein netter Urlaubsroman, ansonsten nichts neues unter der Sonne...
Kommentar Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden

Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.3 von 5 Sternen 251 Rezensionen
85 von 86 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A thriller debut that will blow you away 21. August 2011
Von David Montgomery - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
It's an exciting feeling when a debut novel appears out of nowhere and dazzles you with such strong writing and storytelling that you can't believe the author has never done this before. That's the case with Philip Hawley, Jr.'s "Stigma," one of the best debut thrillers I've read in a long time.

Hawley is a pediatrician in Los Angeles, so naturally his main character, Luke McKenna, is, too. McKenna is also a former Navy SEAL and a real tough guy. (No word on whether Hawley, too, has a black ops background. I suspect not.)

The plot starts off with a bang when a boy from Guatemala is rushed into McKenna's emergency room and dies a mysterious death. The doctor begins to investigate what really happened, and discovers a plot involving high-tech science and low-grade greed.

You expect a book like "Stigma" to have wall-to-wall action and suspense. And it does. What might surprise you is that this is also a smart book, one that makes you think while entertaining you. "Stigma" probes interesting ethical questions about the role of technology in medicine, and the ages-old dilemma of where we draw the boundaries of medical science.

For a first novel in particular, "Stigma" shows tremendous polish and poise. If this book is any indication of the kind of talent Hawley possesses, it won't be long before he ascends to the top ranks of thriller authors. Fans of Michael Crichton or James Rollins in particular will find much here to enjoy.
51 von 51 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen STIGMA will leave you breathless! 21. September 2011
Von Allison Brennan - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
I read STIGMA when it was first published in mass market paperback. I loved it so much that I did something I rarely do--I emailed the author and told him how much I enjoyed the book. Now I'm doing something I've never done before--writing my first Amazon review because now, years later, I still remember how much I enjoyed this book. STIGMA has everything I love in a story--fast-pacing, great plot, wonderful characters to love or hate, and a touch of romance to raise the stakes. I was stunned it was never made into a movie--it's written so visually, I could see it; I think it would be amazing on the big screen. Almost as good as reading it.
60 von 65 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Fun medical thriller, that should have stayed medical! 23. Dezember 2011
Von Christina (Ensconced in Lit) - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verifizierter Kauf
Being a pediatrician myself, I enjoyed the first part of the novel immensely. The description of the ER and the inner workings were accurate and I am a sucker for medical thrillers in general.

However, once the story dissolved into military territory, I thought it lost a bit of its verisimilitude. I felt the plot got lost once the main character treks to a foreign country to save his loved one.

That said, it was very fast paced and an enjoyable read overall.
19 von 20 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen medical mystery 19. August 2011
Von 39 steps - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
I read "Stigma" when it first came out and was completely amazed. It's extremely authentic as far as all the
medical/doctor/hospital information and the way the action progressed was very exciting. I couldn't put it down!
Anyone who has any knowledge of medicine will appreciate this book and mystery fans will have a great read.
I'd love to read another Luke McKenna book.
12 von 12 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Crackling Good Yarn! 28. Februar 2007
Von MM - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch Verifizierter Kauf
This book excels on so many levels it's hard to know where to begin ... but fortunately the author knows exactly what he's doing in this thrilling, all-out adventure.

Start with a great story, inject realistic, multi-dimensional characters, then weave multiple thematic elements together seamlessly and what you have in Stigma is a first-rate thriller. For good measure, the dialogue includes some well-timed humorous exchanges that make the story all the more enjoyable. By the end of the first chapter you feel you're in the hands of a seasoned professional; it's hard to believe this is a debut novel.

This story quickly grabs hold of you and then takes off. Sit back and enjoy the ride!
Waren diese Rezensionen hilfreich? Wir wollen von Ihnen hören.
click to open popover