Facebook Twitter Pinterest <Einbetten>
Auf Lager.
Verkauf und Versand durch Book Depository DE. Für weitere Informationen, Impressum, AGB und Widerrufsrecht klicken Sie bitte auf den Verkäufernamen.
EUR 10,05 + GRATIS Lieferung innerhalb Deutschlands
+ EUR 3,00 Versandkosten
Gebraucht: Sehr gut | Details
Verkauft von worldofbooksde
Zustand: Gebraucht: Sehr gut
Kommentar: The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Andere Verkäufer auf Amazon
In den Einkaufswagen
EUR 5,78
+ EUR 5,06 Versandkosten
Verkauft von: Bill & Ben
In den Einkaufswagen
EUR 7,85
+ EUR 3,00 Versandkosten
Verkauft von: Bookspinner UK
In den Einkaufswagen
EUR 11,07
Kostenlose Lieferung. Details
Verkauft von: Amazon
Möchten Sie verkaufen? Bei Amazon verkaufen
Zur Rückseite klappen Zur Vorderseite klappen
Hörprobe Wird gespielt... Angehalten   Sie hören eine Hörprobe des Audible Hörbuch-Downloads.
Mehr erfahren
Alle 3 Bilder anzeigen

Shady Characters: The Secret Life of Punctuation, Symbols, & Other Typographical Marks (Englisch) Gebundene Ausgabe – 24. September 2013


Alle 10 Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Preis
Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition
Gebundene Ausgabe
EUR 10,05
EUR 5,78 EUR 5,03
10 neu ab EUR 5,78 6 gebraucht ab EUR 5,03
click to open popover

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

  • Shady Characters: The Secret Life of Punctuation, Symbols, & Other Typographical Marks
  • +
  • The Book: A Cover-to-Cover Exploration of the Most Powerful Object of Our Time
Gesamtpreis: EUR 24,77
Die ausgewählten Artikel zusammen kaufen

Es wird kein Kindle Gerät benötigt. Laden Sie eine der kostenlosen Kindle Apps herunter und beginnen Sie, Kindle-Bücher auf Ihrem Smartphone, Tablet und Computer zu lesen.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

Geben Sie Ihre Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen — selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät — mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.


Produktinformation

Produktbeschreibungen

Pressestimmen

Fascinating. --Rob Kyff

I'm a sucker for this stuff. The @ is called chiocciola (snail) in Italian! The & was once taught as a letter of the alphabet! The manicule has been with us for a millennium! Thank you, Keith Houston, for bringing these little mysteries out of the shadows of typographic history. --Constance Hale, author of Vex, Hex, Smash and Smooch and Sin and Syntax"

For fans of Lynn Truss's Eat's, Shoots, and Leaves, this bestiary of lesser-known punctuation marks is a wonder. "

Funny, surprising, and, of course, geeky. --Michael D. Schaffer and John Timpane"

Fascinating. --Rob Kyff"

If Eats, Shoots & Leaves whetted your appetite on the subject of punctuation, then you have a treat in store. Shady Characters is an authoritative, witty, and fascinating tour of the history and rationale behind such lesser known marks as the ampersand, manicule, the pilcrow, and the interrobang. Keith Houston also explains the octothorpe otherwise known as the hashtag and and my final comment on his book is #awesome. --Ben Yagoda, author of How to Not Write Ba"

Funny, surprising, and, of course, geeky.--Michael D. Schaffer and John Timpane

Might make you look at books in an entirely new way.--Andrew Robinson"

Houston is a tireless researcher and an amiable teacher.--Jan Gardner"

Fascinating.--Rob Kyff

Klappentext

A charming and indispensable tour of two thousand years of the written word, Shady Characters weaves a fascinating trail across the parallel histories of language and typography. Whether investigating the asterisk (*) and dagger ( ) which alternately illuminated and skewered heretical verses of the early Bible or the at sign (@), which languished in obscurity for centuries until rescued by the Internet, Keith Houston draws on myriad sources to chart the life and times of these enigmatic squiggles, both exotic () and everyday (&). From the Library of Alexandria to the halls of Bell Labs, figures as diverse as Charlemagne, Vladimir Nabokov, and George W. Bush cross paths with marks as obscure as the interrobang (?) and as divisive as the dash ( ). Ancient Roman graffiti, Venetian trading shorthand, Cold War double agents, and Madison Avenue round out an ever more diverse set of episodes, characters, and artifacts. Richly illustrated, ranging across time, typographies, and countries, Shady Characters will delight and entertain all who cherish the unpredictable and surprising in the writing life."

Alle Produktbeschreibungen

Welche anderen Artikel kaufen Kunden, nachdem sie diesen Artikel angesehen haben?


Kundenrezensionen

Noch keine Kundenrezensionen vorhanden.
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel

Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4,6 von 5 Sternen 69 Rezensionen
85 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich.
4,0 von 5 SternenDon't buy this book for Kindle
am 9. Oktober 2013 - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Verifizierter Kauf
43 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich.
5,0 von 5 SternenLots of sunshine on a shady history
am 2. Oktober 2013 - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Verifizierter Kauf
8 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich.
5,0 von 5 SternenA fascinating survey of pilcrows, interrobangs, octothorpes, and other esoterica of typography
am 12. Juni 2014 - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Verifizierter Kauf

Wo ist meine Bestellung?

Versand & Rücknahme

Brauchen Sie Hilfe?