Hier klicken Sale Salew Salem Hier klicken Jetzt informieren 30 Tage lang gratis testen Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimited Autorip longss17

Kundenrezensionen

4,6 von 5 Sternen
79
4,6 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:7,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 15. Mai 1997
With all of the carbon-copy junk novels out there

today I find it wonderful to find a book that has

a unique plot that twists like a vine.

13 year old Jessie lives in a small Indiana

town in 1840, or so she thinks. When a

diphtheria epidemic breaks out among the

children she suddenly finds out the truth,

it's 1996. For years her family has been
living in a "pretend" world where it's still the

1800's. Jessie suddenly finds herself lost in
an entirely different century where there is a
cure for diphtheria. She must find that cure
and alert the world of the injustice that is

going on where she comes from. This is a
wonderful book that will keep you captivated from
beginning to end!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. April 2000
The Book Running Out of Time by Margaret Peterson Haddix was a very enjoyable book. Jessie's story is very similar to "The Truman Show" because they are both watched over, except they don't know it. Jessie is "living" in the 1800's except she is really living during 1996. Some of Jessie's friends are starting to die and she has to go beyond her city to reality. It was a very interesting transition. It was a very interesting book because of the way Margaret Haddix writes it. She thought very different. Not too many books are like the one that she wrote. I think that she is an amazing author because the people in the book are living in an imaginary world. Although they are living in the past, the children in the town don't know it. They do think that it is the 1800's. They always wondered why they couldn't go beyond some places. They never knew why they couldn't climb trees. They were "locked away" in a world that wasn't reality. They were living in a world where they had not too much technology. I recommend this book to all people who love to read historical fiction because it talks about the way people lived in the 1800's. I would also recommend this book to children who are in elementary school or the beginning of middle school.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Juni 2010
Thirteen year old Jessie lives in a frontier town, Clifton Indiana in the year 1840. It is a nice comfortable town. Her father is a blacksmith which is indispensible and her mother looked after sick people at night when the local Doc was asleep. One day her mother discovered that the town was plagued with diphtheria. People were going to die without proper medicine. So due to circumstances Jessie was sent out of town to bring back help. This trip could prove deadly for Jessie as she is about to find her world turned up-side-down and we are also in for a shock as we discover a cabal behind a deadly plot.

They say that the people that write best are those people that write about what they know and Margaret Peterson Haddix actually knew of a tourist place similar to where our story starts. Yet the strength in Haddix's story is not as much the intriguing plot as it is her description of people and things. She makes you wonder what you would do.

I knew or thought I pretty much knew the story before reading the book as I saw the movie "The Village" (2004). However the movie was readjusted to match M. Night Shyamalan's standard formula including the standard ending twist. The book was more complex and did not need the minute twist.

The Village (Widescreen Vista Series)
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Juni 2000
Jessie believes she is being raised in the 1840s, but the year is actually 1996. You see, Jessie lives in a tourist site made to look like a real village of 150 years ago. Her classmates have begun dropping out of her small, one-room classroom, and the medicines they are given don't seem to work. Jessie's mother finally tells her the truth about their community, and it's up to Jessie to escape from Clifton and seek help from the "real world." Although the plot is quite serious and suspenseful, I had to laugh at the scene where Jessie sees cars for the first time and thinks they move by witchcraft. My favorite part of this well written story is when she calls a press conference and reveals the "shocking secret" of Clifton. I haven't read many books with female protagonists, so it was neat to see a young girl making things happen - it's usually a boy. Now imagine this: We're moving along, thinking it's the year 2000 when a terrible disease spreads through our city. Eventually we learn that the year is really 2150 and people have been paying money to watch our EVERY move since we were born. Get the idea? Read this book!
-- JFS
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Juni 2000
Jessie believes she is being raised in the 1840s, but the year is actually 1996. You see, Jessie lives in a tourist site made to look like a real village of 150 years ago. Her classmates have begun dropping out of her small, one-room classroom, and the medicines they are given don't seem to work. Jessie's mother finally tells her the truth about their community, and it's up to Jessie to escape from Clifton and seek help from the "real world." Although the plot is quite serious and suspenseful, I had to laugh at the scene where Jessie sees cars for the first time and thinks they move by witchcraft. My favorite part of this well written story is when she calls a press conference and reveals the "shocking secret" of Clifton. I haven't read many books with female protagonists, so it was neat to see a young girl making things happen - it's usually a boy.
Now imagine this: We're moving along, thinking it's the year 2000 when a terrible disease spreads through our city. Eventually we learn that the year is really 2150 and people have been paying money to watch our EVERY move since we were born. Get the idea? Read this book!
-- JFS
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. Januar 1999
Would you like people starring at you every breath you took? That is what it was like for Jessie. How about if you thought it was in the 1840's and one day your mom told you it was 1996. Would you believe her? If you did would you think it was strange? I sure would. One day Jessies mom took her out to the edge of the land into the forest were no one could see her. She said " In the outer world it is 1996. People put up camera's and watch us all the time. They have tourists that watch us through them. None of you children know that. I'm trusting you to keep a secret. I need to ask this of you even though you may not like it. I need you to go out to where it is 1996. You are brave. Here there are bad bad sicknesses. That are lick nothing to 1996. They have medicines to cure them. I don't have a lot of time. You are to find this guy whose name is(I forget it) Go in this tunnel. Watch out there are guards. Put on these cloth that I think are the type they wear in the outer world.(Clifton)" After that she had full-packed Adventure with Clifton and other worlds around it. I recomend it to everybody in the world.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. März 2000
I gave the book Running Out of Time five stars because it was an exciting book that had loads of adventure. The main character, Jessie, was a curious fourth grader who was let in on a secret of the town, it was fake. The adventure started when Jessie was called upon to save her town, Clifton. She had to find her way to Indianapolis to get medicine and proper care for her sick friends in Clifton. She had to look inside herself to find the courage to continue. The author, Margaret Haddix, had an interesting way of teaching the past. She made up a town for the 1800's, but it was really 1996. She incorporated fact and fiction to add life to the character. For one, Jessie's father and mother were characterized as good parents who wanted to live in a small town. Obviously, they had no idea that Clifton was going to go bad, but in the book, it made them sound oblivious. She made the teacher a fun, loving guy, when really back then, they were strict. In my opinion, the book was exciting, adventurous, and educational. I would recommend it to people wbo like books; any age would like this book.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Juni 1998
BeBeep Book group, a middle level reading group in Severna Park, Md discussed this book at their July meeting. Six really liked it while two did not. We talked about Jessie's character quite a bit which was well drawn, but felt the setting was a little confusing as were the motivations of some of the adults. The book is well suited for a group because it has good starting points for discussion but proved to be unsettling for some of the children(2children die and a mother puts her child in danger)and I would keep this in mind if choosing the book.Katie(9)thought it was interesting how a 13yr. old had to react in this situation, Emily(10)thought it was good but too unbelievable, Laura(9)didn't think this was a good book for her age and thought the author should have done a better job of describing Clifton.Kelly(8)thought it was scary, Max(9)really enjoyed the way it was written Derrick(10) thought it was a GREAT book and liked to see how Jessie got out of situations, Babette(8)thought it was much more exciting than the regular books she reads, and Lindsay thought the whole reenactment idea was very neat.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. Januar 1998
I really enjoyed reading Running Out of Time. To see the world from the point of view of a girl who believed her self to be living in the 1840's. Her world was viewed through one way mirrors by tourists. They got modern antibiotics for illness's, but suddenly, when a diptheria epidemic strikes, the medicine dries up. Is it a coincidence? Most adults still remeber the modern world, and they choose a messenger to go out and call help. Jessie is frightened. In her town you could trust people, but she has stumbled into a strange new world of deception where she could be killed at a wrong move. The diptheria was introduced by a scientist, who wants the human genes to build resistances to diseases. He says that the diseases are building resistances to antibiotics. I agree with him that we should try to build up our imune system, but on people who agree to it. Not on innocent children who's only crime was being born at the wrong place in the wrong time.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. Februar 2000
I have just started to read the book Running Out of Time. I like this story, because it gives a pretty good description of the 1800's. When Jessie finds out that it is really 1996 instead of 1841, I feel that the story becomes boring. I was not even half way through the story, and it was becoming very boring. Also, I would give this story only three stars because I thought that the plot was way too predictable.When Jessie's mother told her to meet her at night in the woods, Jessie already knows that it has something to do with the disease dipthera that is spreading around. Jessie's mom tells her how it is really 1996, and the author writes for about two chapters with Jessie's mom answering her questions about the real world. There were also many other things in the description that told you Jessie was going to have to go out into the real world to help her town. This story, in my opinion, does not deserve five stars or even four stars.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken