Facebook Twitter Pinterest <Einbetten>
Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 6,31
+ EUR 0,00 Versandkosten
Gebraucht: Sehr gut | Details
Verkauft von Second City Books USA
Zustand: Gebraucht: Sehr gut
Kommentar: Ships from the USA.Please allow 2 to 3 weeks for delivery. A copy that has been read, but remains in excellent condition. Pages are intact and are not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Biggest little used bookstore in the world. Second City Books - the first place to look for second hand books.
Möchten Sie verkaufen?
Zur Rückseite klappen Zur Vorderseite klappen
Hörprobe Wird gespielt... Angehalten   Sie hören eine Hörprobe des Audible Hörbuch-Downloads.
Mehr erfahren
Alle 2 Bilder anzeigen

The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code (Ala Notable Books for Adults) (Englisch) Gebundene Ausgabe – 14. Mai 2013


Alle 14 Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Preis
Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition
"Bitte wiederholen"
Gebundene Ausgabe
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 47,61 EUR 3,31
1 neu ab EUR 47,61 5 gebraucht ab EUR 3,31
click to open popover

Es wird kein Kindle Gerät benötigt. Laden Sie eine der kostenlosen Kindle Apps herunter und beginnen Sie, Kindle-Bücher auf Ihrem Smartphone, Tablet und Computer zu lesen.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

Geben Sie Ihre Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen — selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät — mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.


Produktinformation

Produktbeschreibungen

Pressestimmen

“Fox is a talented storyteller, and she creates an atmosphere of almost nail-biting suspense. . . . This one deserves shelf space along such classics of the genre as Simon Singh’s The Code Book.” (Booklist (starred review))

“A fascinating yarn centered around an unlikely heroine. . . . Fox’s deft explanations of the script-solving process allow readers to share in the mental detective work of cracking the lost language.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Fox recreates the emergence of one of history’s most vexing puzzles—and then puts readers alongside the remarkable figures who, brilliantly, obsessively, and even tragically, devoted their lives to solving it. Forget the Da Vinci Code. This is the real thing.” (Toby Lester, author of Da Vinci's Ghost)

“Margalit Fox describes the decipherment of Linear B in such lucid detail that any reader can follow the steps and participate in the thrill of discovery.” (Stephen Mitchell, translator of Gilgamesh and the Iliad)

“Fox’s achievement here is to make this fascinating tale accessible to a broader audience.” (Washington Post)

“… a nail-biting intellectual and cultural adventure.” (The Times UK)

“Deft, sharply written … Fox’s account runs with the pace and tension of a detective story - and has much to say about language and writing systems along the way.” (The Guardian UK)

“[Fox] … has cracked it, fashioning an intellectual puzzle into an engrossing detective story of driven personalities, hidden clues, perseverance and intuition. In the process, she has uncovered a remarkable woman who had been buried by history.” (Sunday Times UK)

“As with any good detective story, there’s a driving narrative behind the puzzle, peopled by solitary sleuths.” (The Guardian US)

Buchrückseite

In 1900, while excavating on Crete, the charismatic Victorian archaeologist Arthur Evans unearthed inscribed clay tablets amid the ruins of a lavish Bronze Age palace. Written by palace scribes circa 1450 b.c., the script they displayed—featuring outline drawings of swords, chariots, and horses' heads, as well as other tiny pictograms—resembled no alphabet ever seen. Evans named the script Linear B, and from the start it posed a deep mystery. No one knew what language Linear B recorded, much less what the curious inscriptions meant. If the tablets could be deciphered, they would open a portal onto a refined, wealthy, and literate society that had flourished in Greek lands three thousand years earlier, a full millennium before the glories of the Classical Age.

The Riddle of the Labyrinth is the true story of the quest to solve one of the most mesmerizing riddles in history—Linear B—and of the three brilliant, obsessed, and ultimately doomed investigators whose combined work would eventually crack the code. There was Evans, who had discovered the script but could never unravel it; Alice Kober, the fiery American scholar whose vital work on Linear B never got the recognition it deserved; and Michael Ventris, the haunted English architect who would solve the riddle triumphantly at the age of thirty only to die four years later under circumstances that remain the subject of speculation even now.

For half a century some of the world's foremost scholars tried to coax the tablets to yield their secrets. Then, in 1952, the script was deciphered seemingly in a single stroke—not by a scholar but by Ventris, an impassioned amateur whose obsession with the tablets had begun in childhood. The decipherment brought him worldwide acclaim. But it also cost him his architectural career, his ties to his family, and quite possibly his life. 

That is the narrative of the decipherment as it has been known thus far. But a major actor in the drama has long been missing: Alice Kober, a classicist at Brooklyn College. Though largely forgotten today, she came within a hair's breadth of deciphering Linear B before her own untimely death in 1950. As The Riddle of the Labyrinth reveals, it was Kober who built the foundation on which Ventris's decipherment stood, an achievement that until now has been all but lost to history. Drawing on a newly opened archive of Kober's papers, Margalit Fox restores this unsung heroine to her rightful place at last.

Above all, this book is a detective story in the tradition of Dava Sobel and Simon Winchester. As Fox narrates the lives of Evans, Kober, and Ventris, she takes readers step-by-step through the forensic process involved in cracking a secret code from the past. Following the three investigators as they hunt down, analyze, and interpret a series of linguistic clues hidden within the script itself, The Riddle of the Labyrinth offers the first complete account of one of the most fascinating conundrums of all time. 

Alle Produktbeschreibungen

Kundenrezensionen

Noch keine Kundenrezensionen vorhanden.
5 Sterne
0
4 Sterne
0
3 Sterne
0
2 Sterne
0
1 Stern
0
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel

Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4,3 von 5 Sternen 206 Rezensionen
4,0 von 5 SternenDetective Story
am 4. Juni 2014 - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Verifizierter Kauf
Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich.
5,0 von 5 Sternenchances are you will enjoy it. The decipherment of Egyptian Hieroglyphics was solvable ...
am 14. Oktober 2014 - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Verifizierter Kauf
7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich.
5,0 von 5 SternenBetter than fiction
am 3. Juni 2013 - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Verifizierter Kauf
Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich.
4,0 von 5 SternenGood, not great
am 7. Januar 2014 - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Verifizierter Kauf
2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich.
5,0 von 5 SternenHighly recommend!
am 9. Juni 2015 - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Verifizierter Kauf
Möchten Sie weitere Produkte entdecken? Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf dieser Seite: Wärmepumpentrockner

Wo ist meine Bestellung?

Versand & Rücknahme

Brauchen Sie Hilfe?