Facebook Twitter Pinterest <Einbetten>
Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 14,57
+ EUR 3,00 Versandkosten
Gebraucht: Sehr gut | Details
Verkauft von historybookshop (uk)
Zustand: Gebraucht: Sehr gut
Kommentar: Schnell aus Grobritannien Lagerhalle, in der Regel ausgelst, sptestens am nchsten Werktag.
Möchten Sie verkaufen?
Zur Rückseite klappen Zur Vorderseite klappen
Hörprobe Wird gespielt... Angehalten   Sie hören eine Hörprobe des Audible Hörbuch-Downloads.
Mehr erfahren
Dieses Bild anzeigen

The Promise of the Foreign: Nationalism and the Technics of Translation in the Spanish Philippines (Englisch) Gebundene Ausgabe – 15. Dezember 2005


Alle Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Preis
Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition
"Bitte wiederholen"
Gebundene Ausgabe
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 91,27 EUR 14,57
6 neu ab EUR 91,27 6 gebraucht ab EUR 14,57
click to open popover

Es wird kein Kindle Gerät benötigt. Laden Sie eine der kostenlosen Kindle Apps herunter und beginnen Sie, Kindle-Bücher auf Ihrem Smartphone, Tablet und Computer zu lesen.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

Geben Sie Ihre Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen — selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät — mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.



Produktinformation

Produktbeschreibungen

Pressestimmen

"[C]ontributes to our understanding of the fundamental assumptions informing nationalist discourse, as well as the contradictions and complex realities at work in Philippine society.
--Gary C. Devilles, "Philippine Daily Inquirer"

"As we move through the book, we can draw the conclusion, and it is the highest praise possible, that Rafael, a brilliant Filipino historian living in the U.S. and writing in English, may be the next in that line of illustrious figures."
--Rudolf Mrazek, "Pacific Affairs"

"Rafael's book, diversified as it is in its approach, is a tour-de-force that combines historiographic and cultural analysis to yield an intriguing portrayal not only of Philippine nationalism but also of the origins of postcolonial nationalism (and its conflicting sources), caught between the opposing discursive fields of autochthonous and colonial cultures."
--Leila Lehnen," Journal of Anthropological Research"

“Following up on "Contracting Colonialism", Vicente L. Rafael studies the Philippine nationalists’ failed attempts to lay claim to Spanish, and the emergence of a hungry Tagalog meaning-machine eager to ‘host the foreign in the familiar.’ Rafael takes his readers on an astonishing trip through the Philippine cultural archive, from vernacular comedia, epic and novel, to underground newspapers, speeches, and the captured documents of secret societies, examining language as an unstoppable producer of social and political possibilities, including the possibility of the national. No one grasps better than Rafael the ambiguous agency of language in colonialism and decolonization.”—Mary Louise Pratt, New York University

“In the tradition of James Siegel and Benedict Anderson, Vicente L. Rafael has given us a daring book about the ambivalent origins of the nation in the Philippines. It will be loved and emulated by students of nationalism, Southeast Asia, and comparative literary studies everywhere. There is good reason for this, for it is a beautiful book, a book of readings for lovers of literature, a book about literature for the media age. Mostly, however, it is a book about the foreignness in us all: an unassailable refutation of nationalist ideologies of purity.”—Rosalind C. Morris, author of "In the Place of Origins: Modernity and Its Mediums in Northern Thailand"

"Following up on "Contracting Colonialism", Vicente L. Rafael studies the Philippine nationalists' failed attempts to lay claim to Spanish, and the emergence of a hungry Tagalog meaning-machine eager to 'host the foreign in the familiar.' Rafael takes his readers on an astonishing trip through the Philippine cultural archive, from vernacular comedia, epic and novel, to underground newspapers, speeches, and the captured documents of secret societies, examining language as an unstoppable producer of social and political possibilities, including the possibility of the national. No one grasps better than Rafael the ambiguous agency of language in colonialism and decolonization."--Mary Louise Pratt, New York University

"Following up on "Contracting Colonialism," Vicente L. Rafael studies the Philippine nationalists' failed attempts to lay claim to Spanish, and the emergence of a hungry Tagalog meaning-machine eager to 'host the foreign in the familiar.' Rafael takes his readers on an astonishing trip through the Philippine cultural archive, from vernacular comedia, epic and novel, to underground newspapers, speeches, and the captured documents of secret societies, examining language as an unstoppable producer of social and political possibilities, including the possibility of the national. No one grasps better than Rafael the ambiguous agency of language in colonialism and decolonization."--Mary Louise Pratt, New York University

"This latest work is one of erudition and unique insight. What is characteristic of Rafael's prose is not only its eloquence but the meticulous unpacking of every snippet of source material, which is mined for its heuristic value, propelling the argument towards often unique lateral understandings. This is a work that would be of great value to Philippinists in particular and to those who are interested in the development of nationalist thought in Southeast Asia more broadly."
--Julius J. Bautista, "Journal of Southeast Asian Studies"

Following up on "Contracting Colonialism," Vicente L. Rafael studies the Philippine nationalists failed attempts to lay claim to Spanish, and the emergence of a hungry Tagalog meaning-machine eager to host the foreign in the familiar. Rafael takes his readers on an astonishing trip through the Philippine cultural archive, from vernacular comedia, epic and novel, to underground newspapers, speeches, and the captured documents of secret societies, examining language as an unstoppable producer of social and political possibilities, including the possibility of the national. No one grasps better than Rafael the ambiguous agency of language in colonialism and decolonization. Mary Louise Pratt, New York University"

In the tradition of James Siegel and Benedict Anderson, Vicente L. Rafael has given us a daring book about the ambivalent origins of the nation in the Philippines. It will be loved and emulated by students of nationalism, Southeast Asia, and comparative literary studies everywhere. There is good reason for this, for it is a beautiful book, a book of readings for lovers of literature, a book about literature for the media age. Mostly, however, it is a book about the foreignness in us all: an unassailable refutation of nationalist ideologies of purity. Rosalind C. Morris, author of "In the Place of Origins: Modernity and Its Mediums in Northern Thailand""

This latest work is one of erudition and unique insight. What is characteristic of Rafael s prose is not only its eloquence but the meticulous unpacking of every snippet of source material, which is mined for its heuristic value, propelling the argument towards often unique lateral understandings. This is a work that would be of great value to Philippinists in particular and to those who are interested in the development of nationalist thought in Southeast Asia more broadly.
--Julius J. Bautista, "Journal of Southeast Asian Studies""

Synopsis

In "The Promise of the Foreign", Vicente L. Rafael argues that translation was key to the emergence of Filipino nationalism in the nineteenth century. Acts of translation entailed technics from which issued the promise of nationhood. Such a promise consisted of revising the heterogeneous and violent origins of the nation by mediating one's encounter with things foreign while preserving their strangeness. Rafael examines the Filipinos' fascination with Castilian, the language of the Spanish colonizers. In Castilian, Filipino nationalists saw the possibility of arriving at a lingua franca with which to overcome linguistic, regional, and class differences. Yet they were also keenly aware of the social limits and political hazards of this linguistic fantasy. Through close readings of nationalist newspapers and novels, the vernacular theatre, and accounts of the 1896 anti-colonial revolution, Rafael traces the deep ambivalence with which elite nationalists and lower class Filipinos alike regarded Castilian. The widespread belief in the potency of Castilian meant that colonial subjects came in contact with a recurring foreignness within their own language and society.

Rafael shows how they sought to tap into this uncanny power, seeing in it both the promise of nationhood and a menace to its realization. Tracing the genesis of this promise and the ramifications of its betrayal, Rafael sheds light on the paradox of nationhood arising from the possibilities and risks of translation. By repeatedly opening its borders to the arrival of something other and new, translation compels the nation to host foreign presences to which it invariably finds itself held hostage. While this condition is perhaps common to other nations, Rafael shows how its unfolding in the Philippine colony would come to be claimed by Filipinos, as would the names of the dead and their ghostly emanations. Vincente L. Rafael is Professor of History at the University of Washington. He is the author of "White Love and Other Events in Filipino History" and "Contracting Colonialism: Translation and Christian Conversion in Tagalog Society under Early Spanish Rule", both also published by Duke University Press.

Alle Produktbeschreibungen

Kundenrezensionen

Noch keine Kundenrezensionen vorhanden.
5 Sterne
4 Sterne
3 Sterne
2 Sterne
1 Stern