Hier klicken Sale Salew Salem Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto Sonderangebote Book Spring Store 2017 Cloud Drive Photos Learn More TDZ Matratzen Hier klicken Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimitedFamily AmazonMusicUnlimited longss17



Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 10. August 2009
I first saw the Miramax movie starring Kenneth Branagh, which was based upon this book. I was intrigued enough by the film to read this book. I was not disappointed. This book is certainly a testament to the human spirit. It also reveals the harsh, paternalistic and racist policies that the Australian government imposed upon its Aboriginal population.

In 1931, the Australian government issued an edict that mandated that all Aboriginal and part Aboriginal children were to be forcibly removed from their homes and taken to special settlements where they were to be assimilated. There, while living in inhumane and degrading conditions, they would be taught to be culturally white, would be mandated to speak English only, and would be trained to be domestic help or laborers in white households.

The author tells the reader the story of three young girls, Mollie, Gracie, and Daisy, who had Aboriginal mothers and White fathers. Ranging in age from nine to fifteen years old, the three girls were forcibly removed from their loving families and taken to a special settlement. The girls rebelled against this system, and, homesick, escaped from such a settlement. They left with iterally just the clothes on their back. Their only guide home would be a rabbit-proof fence that stretched for over a thousand miles across Australia.

The girls Aboriginal heritage and survival skills would come in handy throughout their nearly nine week long trek across Australia, as they were forced to subsist on the land and the occasional kindness from strangers. They had to endure thirst, hunger, and danger, while avoiding being caught along the way by professional trackers, police on the lookout for them, and white settlers that were unsympathetic to their situation.

This story is a most personal one for the author, as one of the girls, Molly, is the author's mother. Told in a straightforward, factual manner, it is an incredible story that is an indictment of the Australian government's racist policies against its Aboriginal people and its imperialistic self-proclaimed superiority over them.
0Kommentar| 12 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. Dezember 2013
Mein Sohn (9. Klasse Gymnasium) hat das Buch im Englischunterricht gelesen. Es war das erste Buch, das ihn seit langer Zeit überhaupt interessiert hat - und dann auch noch auf Englisch UND als Schullektüre! Er war so fasziniert davon, dass er es uns vorgelesen (!) hat; zum Teil haben wir es auch im Wechsel laut gelesen. Die Geschichte ist spannend und bewegend und von der Sprache her wirklich sehr leicht verständlich. Wir mussten nur vereinzelt Wörter nachschlagen. Am liebsten würde ich dem Buch mehr als 5 Sterne geben!!!
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. Februar 2017
Review of the Book Rabbit Proof Fence:

Introduction:
This review is written by students of the ninth grade who read the novel '' Rabbit Proof Fence'' in their class. We occupied ourselves for several weeks with the book
and also have written a class test about it. With our achieved knowledge we like to share our opinions about the book. Hopefully this feedback will help you with your decision to buy/read to book or not.

History:
The book is based on a real story so we were excited to read the novel. Before reading the book we discussed the situation between the Aborigines and the Europeans in our class. We found out that the Aborigines have lived for centuries in the Australian country. The influx of pirates and the Europeans created a multitude of half-English children. The government felt obliged to decide what was best for these half castes. That's why they took them out of their families and brought them to schools where they should learn the white men’s way and become decent Europeans. These children are also called the ''Stolen Generation''.
The government built a fence called Rabbit Proof Fence in 1907. It should keep the rabbits out of Western Australia but it did not work at all. Today, the fence is a very helpful landmark for all the people. Moreover it plays an important part in the book.

(Spoiler alert!)

Content:
Owing to that historical appendix we could put ourselves better into the girls’ situation and that's why some of us had many expectations.
Molly's daughter decided that all people in the world should know the story about her family so she wrote this book and it was even made a film. Thanks to her we are all now aware of the brave escape of the girls.
The book points out pretty well the situation of the Aborigines perspective. Although the novel is a bit short it contains the most important information and feelings the reader needs to know. While reading the book we got more and more into the whole situation. Generally it is about three girls who were taken out of their Aboriginal families because they were half-castes. The government brought them to the Moore River Native Settlement where they should learn the European values.
The girls named Molly, Gracie and Daisy wanted to control their own destiny so they ran away though no one ever before them had successfully escaped. The main part of the book is about the time on the run. There are detailed descriptions what the girls have done during their escape and how they handled it. To survive they caught animals, built shelters where they slept in and had to be very careful to leave no tracks the policemen could find. They had to walk over thousands of miles to reach Jigalong, their home. They used the Rabbit Proof Fence as a guide which lead them straight to Jigalong because it runs from north to south. The time on the run was a very difficult and exhaustible time for them. They had always the threat behind them to be brought back to Moore River, the sores on their legs made it even more difficult for them to keep on walking, they had to hunt their food themselves and slept outside in the desert. Over and above there is also a chapter about their time after the escape and what happened to them.

Characters:
The main characters of the book are of course Molly, Gracie and Daisy, the three half-castes from Jigalong. Molly, who is 14 years old, plays an important role because she is the oldest, an example for the other two and she is the one who leads them the whole time. Her father was an Englishman and worked on the Rabbit Proof Fence. He told her a lot about it that's why she knew it would help them. ''[...],Molly was not like the other Mardu girls she knew much more about the bush and the fence. She had one fixed plan in her head, that she and her sisters going home to Jigalong and nobody was going to stop them." This sentence from the book shows how ambitious she was about getting home and that her knowledge of the bush helped them a lot to survive. Gracie, 10 years old, wasn't convinced about Mollys plan. Several times during their time on the run she wanted to give up. Moreover she was naive enough to believe her Mother was in Wiluna so she went there, was caught and brought back to Moore River Settlement and hasn't even found her Mother. Daisy was only eight years old when she escaped with Molly and Gracie. That's why Molly sometimes carried her. Only Molly and Daisy reached Jigalong because they never gave up and followed their aim. Other characters are for example Moodo the tracker, Mr. A.O Neville the Chief protector of Aborigines and Constable Riggs who took the girls out of their families.

Language:
The book is very easy to understand for children at the age of 14 and the use of Mardu words makes the novel very interesting to read.
However a lot of us agreed that the author could have used more adjectives to make the novel more exciting. Futhermore there is a helpful glossary at the end of the book that explains some words you may not understand.
Over and above that were also some pictures of the movie added which were underlain with quotations from the text.

Conclusion:
To conclude we can say that all of us liked the book. It is suitable for young people and also for reading in class because of the easy and understandable language. Although it wasn't very thrilling all the time because there was often too much information about the walk and it wasn't written in an exciting manner. However it was interesting to read and explore a true story of the Aboriginal/Australian history. The author wrote very well about the situation of the ''Stolen Generation''. It was impressive to follow the girls on their way back home and we simply felt a part of the story. The book showed us what the government decision has done to the Mardu culture. Moreover we could learn many things from the book ( for example 'Never give up').
Therefore we recommend this book all who are interested in the Australian history. In our opinion ''The Rabbit Proof Fence'' is a good book for the English lessons, book groups and other interested readers. But be careful, the book has a low speech level for collegians or students who study Englisch at universities which is far too low! If you don't fit in that group then buy this book and discover the fascinating story of Molly, Daisy and Gracie!

Things we should learn form the book:

• Never give up!
• No one has the right to control others lives!
• Believe in your dreams and work hard for them!
• No one can seperate you from your family!
• Stand up when you’ve fallen down!
• Love is stronger than education!
• Don't be dependant on other people -> be yourself!
• If you want to, you can reach everything!
• Together we are strong(er)!
• It's important to stick together!
• Don't trust strangers you have never seen before!
• Focus on your aims!
• Family first!
• Help others in difficult situations!
• Don't let anyone stop you from what you like to do!
• All people have the same rights!

Content by class 9c of the Melanchthon-Gymnasium Bretten, written by MoLa and ViBo.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Juli 2016
This book may be interesting for some, for the author's family no doubt, but probably just them or people who live in the area or experienced something similar. I read this for a book group but, personally, I found it so very tedious that I wasn't willing to waste more free time on discussing it when it came to the meeting itself . The book can't decide if it's a report, novel or ??? It includes dull excerpts written by authorities which seem only to serve as proof that what is described is based on fact. Can't recommend it and even had trouble giving it away!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. März 2010
Während einige den Film interessanter und spannender als das Buch finden, kann ich mich diesem Urteil gar nicht anschließen.

Der Film an sich ist nicht schlecht! Das Buch baut die Geschichte jedoch viel mehr auf, während der Film direkt mittendrin einsteigt und man denkt "huch? hier sind wir schon?" All das geschichtlich und kulturell wertvolle und aufwühlende wird im Film höchstens angekratzt. Dafür gibt es lang(atmig)e, dialogfreie Szenen zwischen den drei Mädchen.

Mein Urteil: Wer das Buch gelesen hat, für den ist der Film nur dann ein Gewinn, wenn er prinzipielle Probleme damit hat, sich die Weiten und die Landschaft Australiens vorzustellen. ;-)
11 Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. November 2003
Often, if a novel or a book in general is turned into a film, it does not exactly get better. This time it does. The film is definitely more moving than the book, mostly because of the narrator's style, which somehow does not manage to enthrall the reader too much. (Compare what the preceding reviewer says.) Still, it is interesting reading, especially if you want to compare the similarities and the differences between the book and the film.
0Kommentar| 8 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Februar 2014
Schönes Layout, tolle und spannende Story zu den Themen Australien und kulturelle Konflikte. Es gibt Aufgabenvorschläge im hinteren Teil des Buches, die auch in Ordnung sind
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. November 2016
Hat mir gut gefallen!
Es war sehr interessant, obwohl es auf Englisch war.
Australien ist ein Land mit einer traurigen Geschichte
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. Januar 2014
Very early delivery of this book makes from it a pleasant shopping. Thank you very much for sending it. Cheers. PM.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. Juli 2010
Dieses Buch habe ich in einer Klasse 11 vorgestellt und in Auszügen wurde es von den Schülern gelesen.
Die Rückmeldungen waren absolut positiv, vor allem auch im Zusammenhang mit dem Vergleich von Buch und Film.
Auch mir hat es sehr gut gefallen:
-informativ (Die "Geschichte" Australiens in 3 kurzen Kapiteln)
- spannendes/echtes Thema
- Film zum Buch ist vorhanden

Fazit:
Es macht Spaß das Buch zu lesen und damit zu arbeiten
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden