Sale Sale Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Book Spring Store 2017 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimitedEcho BundesligaLive wint17



am 29. Januar 2018
Ich habe die Serie geschaut und erst dann erfahren, dass es auf 8 dicken Büchern basiert. Ich habe gleich das erste bestellt. Ich muss sagen, es ist kein Masterpiece, es war ja damals nur ein Experiment von der Gabaldon, es ist aber in jedem Fall spannend, v.a. wenn man die Serie geschaut hat. Was ich damit meine, ist, dass einige Szenen ziemlich kurz beschrieben sind und das macht die Handlung ab und zu sprunghaft. Nicht, dass es nicht logisch nachvollziehbar ist, es ist nur das Gefühl "Hm, ok, und das war es?". Vielleicht lasse ich mich von der Serie beeinflussen. Ich habe gelesen, dass die nächsten Bücher literarisch besser sind, da die Schriftstellerin schon mehr Erfahrung hatte, was absolut verständlich ist.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 27. November 2016
Ich beziehe mich hier auf die 20th Anniversary Collector's Edition von Outlander. Die Ausgabe ist einfach nur wunderschön! Die Buchdeckel fühlen sich an, als wären sie wattiert, was einen echt wertigen Eindruck vermittelt. Die Seiten sind strahlend weiß, was bei englischsprachigen Büchern nicht selbstverständlich ist. Außerdem hat das Buch ein Lesebändchen und hinten im Buchdeckel klebt sogar noch eine CD.

Ergo: Ich finde diese Ausgabe ist einfach die schönste von allen! Ich kann sie vollkommen empfehlen!
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 30. August 2015
There are already several spot-on reviews of “Outlander”. Hopefully, I can contribute something new to the mix. Here goes:

I am happy to report that this book falls most comfortably in the historical fiction genre. And boy, do I feel redeemed. I was pretty leery about reading it when I heard it is often shelved in the romance aisle of bookstores. This, of course, made for an eventful purchase. First, I searched the fiction section in my used bookstore with my fingers crossed – no to avail. But as I am intested in epics about Scotland I gave it a try. And finally bought it when it came out first time around in 1991 - I purchased the English originals over Amazon to have the first 4 books of the series together, back in 91 I read them in German and I was hooked on very soon.
It does have some, shall I say, steamy scenes, but on the whole, it reminded me of Mitchell’s Gone with the Wind, Follett’s Pillars of the Earth, and Winsor's Forever Amber. And let me throw in there that when you exclude the concept of time travel (which is only lightly used), the book is emphatically not science fiction.
It is a very enjoyable, fast, obsessive read. I love the setting in Scotland during the 1700s. The characters have such magnetism and complexity – Jamie in particular. The relationship between Claire and Jamie is so robust and intense! I specifically think their fight scenes are fantastically written. And in the end, my emotions were really caught up in their story.

I do have some quibbles: Claire’s easy acceptance of the fact that she just time travelled, the rarity of her reminiscences about her 1940s life (and husband), the numerous scenes where rape is contemplated, attempted or executed, that Jamie is constantly getting the crap beaten out of him (voluntarily or otherwise), the cliché witch accusations, the over-the-top wickedness (and then incongruous tenderness) of the main villain, the sudden insertion of religion at the end, and the bizarre exorcism scene. And on a different vein, the style of writing is good, but certainly not exceptional.

That being said, the overall story is so great and intentionally epic that I would often gladly overlook the deficiencies. Even more often, I just shrugged my shoulders, dived in and enjoyed the heightened drama, self-indulgence, perspective, or just flat-out weirdness.

Surprisingly, those steamy scenes do not offend me. They are not as graphic as some reviewers indicated. Yes, these scenes are everywhere and, once again, very steamy. Yet they are good fun and, more importantly, reinforce Claire and Jamie’s relationship rather than define it.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this book to historical fiction readers.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 11. August 2016
Die hier angebotene Kindle Version ist die britische Variante von Diana Gabaldons Buch (Cross Stitch), welche beträchtlich von der originalen amerikanischen Version (Outlander) abweicht. Ich hatte die Kindle Version gekauft um sie zusammen mit dem Hörbuch zu verwenden, aber einige Passagen fehlen oder sind verändert/zensiert. Synchronization zwischen den beiden Formaten funktioniert tadellos, aber die fehlenden Passagen in der Kindle Version dämpfen das kombinierte Lese/Hörvergnügen beträchtlich. Ich habe Amazon's Kundenservice kontaktiert, aber die Originalversion von Outlander wird im Moment leider nicht angeboten.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 16. November 2014
schon viele Jahre, habe es mir aber erst jetzt, während Starz es in den USA als Serie verfilmt hat und witzigerweise überall außer Grossbritannien ausstrahlt, nochmal als ebook im Original gekauft und nochmal gelesen. So packend geschrieben, dass es sich sozusagen von allein wegliest, ein echter pageturner, selbsr im zweiten Durchgang. Wer sich für Schottland interresiert, kann diese Buch nur lieben. Die Geschichte ist allerdings wegen der love story schon eher was für die Romantiker unter uns... Die historischen Hintergründe sind von der amerikanischen Autorin aber gut recherchiert und vermitteln so auch Zeitkolorit am Rande der Geschichte. Wenn Sie das Thema Zeitreise ganz und gar für abstrus halten, wird Sie das Buch wohl nicht gefangen nehmen, für alle, die eine epische love story zu schätzen wissen, ist es aber ein Must Read.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 14. Oktober 2014
Zu dem Buch ist nicht mehr viel Neues zu sagen, außer dass es Pflichtlektüre ist für alle, die Historische Liebesromane oder die schottische Geschichte mögen. Gabaldon läßt sich Zeit beim Erzählen, hat aber unvergessliche, einzigartige Charaktere in Jamie und Claire geschaffen. Eines der ganz großen Liebespaare der Literatur.
Daher fünf Sterne, aber: Die vorliegende TV Tie-in Version von Arrow Books ist die britische Ausgabe - es wurden einige Namen geändert (Colum= Callum) und Pferde kurzerhand in Ponies umgewandelt, was an sich nicht schlimm ist, aber: Mehrere Liebesszenen (z.B. die nach dem Überfall des feindlichen Clans) - auch noch die meiner Meinung nach beste - wurden entweder ganz weggestrichen oder "entschärft". Für unzensierten Lesegenuß empfehle ich daher die Movie Tie-in Ausgabe von Dell, das ist die original amerikanische. Wer ohnehin keinen Wert auf explizitere Liebesszenen legt, kann ruhig die vorliegende Ausgabe nehmen: Druck und Qualität des Covers sind meiner Meinung nach etwas schöner geraten als bei der US-Ausgabe. Aber man kann nicht alles haben! :)
(Die Kindle-Ausgabe des Movie Tie-ins ist übrigens auch ungekürzt.)
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 30. September 2011
I couldn't resist the appeal of this novel. I have to admit, though, that I was very doubtful at first, before I began to read. A time travel novel, really? But as I allowed myself to be drawn into the story I quickly became immersed in the plot that thickened by the minute.

The writer did her homework well. Historical facts are there, and she was able to convey the Scottish manner of speaking in a fashion that allowed me to actually 'hear' the dialogue spoken with the according accent. It wasn't difficult at all to fall in love with the male lead, Jamie Fraser, as many women have before me, and I am curious to find out about his other exploits and the love story Claire and Jamie have begun to live.

This novel contains many pages, but they just fly by as one journeys through funny, cruel, abhorrent, passionate or terrifying scenes. Personally, I'd like to see this novel become a film. In my head I found my personal casting, since the moments are so well drawn and depicted that the reader is able to imagine the places. The beauty of Scotland comes equally captivatingly to life as do her people and their blood tainted history. This book will surely remain one of my favourites.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 4. Juli 2015
It's one of those books that are hard to put down if you're a woman and a bit into historical fiction mixed with fantasy and a lot of romance. I can also heartily recommend the series from STARZ TV featuring Sam Heughan and Caitriona Balfe. It makes you wish you could go time-traveling like Claire and Jamie from one century to another to relive the most extravagant adventures possible and yet always be able to rejoin your beloved.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 5. September 2009
First of all, Diana Gabaldons writing style is outstanding. She creates vivid descriptions full of dazzling details. Sometimes she's overdone it in my opinion.

The beginning of the story is very interesting. Claire and her husband are on vacation at Scotland. As she comes near the standing stones she travels 200 years into the past. The time travel is explained very well and believable. The characters are fully fleshed out and so vivid you can think they hop from the pages every moment. The only negative point is that the story moves a bit slow. It takes much time before Claire meets Jamie and a while longer until they got married.

The story is at no point dumb or unbelievable. It's better written than the most contemporary entertainment literature.

The next two books "dragonfly in amber" and "Voyager" are superb!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 12. Juli 2017
Very good series, I wanted to reread it and was again absorbed in the live of the 17th century. Jamie is a true hero and all the characters are well developed and intricate. not at all an easy cheesy romantic novel but grown up and serious.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden