Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto Jetzt informieren PR CR0917 Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Mehr dazu HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Hier Klicken Jetzt bestellen Unlimited Fußball longSSs17



am 3. Dezember 2016
Vier Geschichten für jede Jahreszeit und (fast) alle sind gelungen.
'Shawshank Redemption' ist ein Meisterwerk, eine unglaublich interessante und packende Gefängniserzählung.
'Apt Pupil' handelt von einem Teenager, der einem ehemaligen Konzentrationslager-Direktor auf die Schliche kommt und dessen Leben, sich immer mehr mit dem des Alten verwickelt. Auch ein interessantes und düsteres Thema, das einen aber ein bisschen ratlos zurücklässt und keine sympathischen Hauptcharaktere bietet.
'The Body' ist dann wieder ein wahres Meisterwerk, vier Freunde, die nach einem toten Jungen suchen und dabei, so manches fürs Leben lernen. Freundschaft und Erwachsenwerden pur, grandios.
'The Breathing Method' ist eine recht klassische Horrorstory, sie ist unterhaltsam, lässt aber so manche Frage offen.

Fazit: Mir gefällt dieses Buch sehr. Auch wenn zwei Geschichten davon nicht ganz so stark sind, ziehen ihre beiden Kollegen den Schnitt hoch und lassen mich gerne fünf Sterne vergeben.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. Mai 2017
Everything was just fine! It came right in time, with no delays, and the quality is good! Nothing else to say than WELL DONE!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. Februar 2014
... dazu viel sagen? Stephen King, eben. Nicht weniger. Und im Original allemal besser zu lesen und zu verstehen als in den teilweise nur schwer nachvollziehbaren Übersetzungen (wer IT / ES sowohl-als-auch gelesen hat, weiß, was ich meine), denn er ist nicht nur der Gruselmeister, sondern auch der englischen Sprache meisterlich fähig. Punkt.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. September 2014
wir dieses Buch lieben :D!

Jede geschichte ist absolut einzigartig. Es gibt nur wenige Autoren die eine so gewaltige atmosphaere erschaffen koennen wie s. king. Habe das lesen jeder einzelnen seite wahnsinnig genossen und kann das bucht nur weiterempfehlen :)
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. Mai 2000
Two of the four stories in "Different Seasons" ended up as the movies "Stand By Me" and "The Shawshank Redemption," perhaps the two best movies ever made from King's written work. That should serve as notice just how good this collection is. These are not horror stories, but instead highly effective charachter studies and well told in their own right. "Different Seasons" shows what kind of writer King might have been had not horror been his first love. This is one of his best books.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Juli 2000
This is by far the greatest book in the King collection. Most King fans back him for the horror, but here's the gold. Two of these nuggets are stories that I have lined up to read to my kids someday, lessons on life. First we have "Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption", a story of the lenghts of hope. The other important one is "The Body", which through my attempts to be tough and steeled still brings me to tears with how close it slices to memories of a not-too-far gone childhood. I implore anyone who has yet to thumb their way through these to do so as soon as possible. I only read Salinger more often than these.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. Juni 2000
The situation described in the book and the use of the Shoah are quite different. A high school student discovers an old man in his neighborhood is an ex-SS who was the commander in the concentration camp of Patin. « Bergen-Belsen, January 1943 to June 1943. Auschwitz, June 1943 to June of 1944, Unterkommandant. Patin... You left Patin just ahead of the Russians. You got to Buenos Aires.... » (p. 112-113) The 13-year-old teenager blackmails the old man into telling him all the gritty details. But curiosity kills the cat. He is so taken over by the stories that his school work, that was previously perfect, declines from straight A's to flunking in the space of six months. He hides the fact from his parents by falsifying his report cards, then he uses the old man and brings him into the school picture to save his skin and avoid a direct contact between his guidance counselor and his family by short-circuiting it. The old man pretends he is the grandfather of the teenager and that the parents are going through a difficult phase. Then the old man forces the teenager to catch up on his work. The teenager accepts, though reluctantly, and he passes the year brilliantly. The parents will never know the truth. Yet, to force the teenager into studying, the old man blackmails him in his turn by telling him a full record of the « adventure » is in a safe-deposit box in a bank. The teenager is afraid the old man may die and then the truth should come out. Time passes and the teenager little by little finishes his high school and prepares for college. He distends his relation with the old man, though he always keeps some fear, because the old man is frail, he chain-smokes and he drinks heavily. During those years, though, the morbid curiosity of the teenager leads him to an even more morbid experimentation : killing vagrant people in empty places where they get shelter for the night, such as the old station that is no longer used. At the same time the recollections of the old man lead him to experimenting - to save his sleep and balance - the killing of animals and then alcoholics that he lures to his home with the ambiguous promise of a meal and a couple of dollars. Then he buries them in his cellar. One night, the old man has a heart attack while in the process of burying one of his victims. He calls the boy, who is supposed to read things to him because of his bad eyesight, and makes him clean up the mess before calling an ambulance and covering his urgent visit with a lie about a letter from Germany that he read, though in German. But everything goes even faster. In the hospital, in the next bed, another old man, an ex-prisoner in Patin, recognizes the old ex-SS commander and reports him to the Israeli secret services at the Israeli Embassy. The man is thus trapped and forced to find a way out to avoid trial : he commits suicide. In spite of the fact that no secret safe-deposit box in any bank appears, the teenager is ruined by another incident. The guidance counselor goes to a convention in the city were the real grandfather lives. Being bored by the conference, he gets in touch with the old man and visits him. But he finds the grandfather in a wheelchair, and this grandfather does not look in the least like the grandfather who visited him some three years before. The publicity around the death of the ex-SS reveals the true identity of the false grandfather, both to the guidance counselor and the parents. Then the teenager is trapped. And he has no real answer to the questions he may be asked and is asked. So he goes on a killing spree with a .30-.30. He kills Ed French, the guidance counselor, then gets to a hideout over the highway where he ambushes going-by cars and the police will need six hours to take him down. Here the Shoah is very crudely described in its perversion and it is treated like a catching disease that infest the curious teenager and leads him to crime, murders, delinquency and final death, just as much as it causes the old ex-SS to fall in a relapse and become a criminal again. In other words, crimes against humanity are never finished. They always find, in some individuals, a perfect ground to prosper. Humanity will always commit such crimes because the sheer knowledge of them will lead some individuals into committing new crimes of the same type. Crimes against humanity are an incurable disease. The Shoah is the example and starting point in the book. Those who will be infested will always find some « marginal » people to give way to and carry out their crime desire, their death instinct, their Thanatos, as well as they will also, as some kind of side effect, develop antisemitism and racism. Vagrant people, or alcoholics, or homeless people will be their natural victims in our society. The film follows the book closely but erases all the gritty details and reduces the criminal development of the teenager. The film is thus a lot less explicit and effective. Yet the meaning is the same as in the book. Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, Universities of Paris IX and II.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. Juni 2011
A few years ago I had read Everything's Eventual : 14 Dark Tales, a collection of 14 short stories by Stephen King. For years I had been a big fan of Stephen King's novels, and I had always enjoyed short stories as a genre. Therefore I was pleasantly surprised to find out that Stephen King is not only able to write book-long narrative thrillers, but was equally if not more at home with the constraints that short story imposes on the writer. I saw that King's writing style is in its own right a very compelling tool that he deftly uses to keep readers interested in the story, even there is nothing supernatural or out of this world in the narrative. This sentiment had led me to look forward to The Best American Short Stories 2007 collection for which Stephen King was a guest editor. However, this collection of short stories proved to be a complete disaster - the stories were some of the most boring and unimaginative that I have ever read in the Best American series of books. It had shaken my impression of King as someone who can truly appreciate a well-crafted short story, but I still believed that it bore no relation to his own writing ability. So when I came across this new collection of his own short stories, I was very eager to give it a try. The first red flag came in the introduction. It turns out that King was inspired to write this collection by his experience as the editor of "Best American Short Stories" collection. As I read through the stories my misgivings got confirmed. The stories, by and large, turned out to be the worst of the two worlds: they had all of the discursive, aimless rambling of some of King's longer works, and none of the shocking potency of immediacy of a short story. The characters find themselves in a variety of supernatural and otherwise strange situations, but for the most part we are not sympathetic enough to their plight to care what happens to them in the end. There were a couple of stories that I genuinely enjoyed, but overall this has been a rather disappointing reading experience. I still believe that Stephen King is a great writer of suspenseful stories that reflect on some of our deepest fears and anxieties, but this collection of short stories doesn't do justice to his talent.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Mai 2000
These four tales took seven years to get my attention, but once I started, I did not want to stop. All four stories are written well, with developed characters and gripping plot lines. Secret Window, Secret Garden was exceptional! There is no other word to describe the tension King manages to build in this novella-it is nothing short of spectacular. I had difficulty concentrating on my job during the two days it took me to finish this story. The extent of the mental anguish suffered by the main character created a genuine feeling of stress for me. The Library Police was not far behind. The story contains an awesome power to suspend the reader's belief. The creature/Librarian was vaguely reminiscent of the creature from "It" in the sense that it played on the worst fears of the Sam. The similarities were easy to ignore as the reader gets lost in the plight of the characters. At this stage of Stephen King's career, one cannot help noticing the shift in Mr. King's attentions. He seems to have gotten away from the blood-and-guts style of horror and has opted to get inside the reader's head. I find the change refreshing and challenging at the same time. I began reading Stephen King when I was in seventh grade, and I have not looked back. I have argued with many a friend over the difference of today's writing versus yesterday's writing. Whereas his older work was accessible to anyone with a middle school education, his newer work requires the reader to pay attention and even use a little brainpower. I guess that doesn't set well with everyone. Many have remarked that King has stepped over some imaginary line into perversion. Perhaps Mr. King is merely treading a little to closely to reality. Children are raped every day, and Mr. King has taken that horror and made it more tangible. Personally, I have enjoyed being witness to the evolution of King. The Sun Dog was above average, and very entertaining. I had read "Needful Things" before "Four Past Midnight," and getting to know Pop Merrill was fun. The nature of Pop was exquisitely sinister. I was not especially fond of The Langoliers. While it moved along at a good clip and was certainly suspenseful, I didn't find it nearly as riveting as the other stories. I suppose others like it so much because it is closer to King of the past. All in all these are four beautifully crafted stories, told brilliantly and thoroughly enjoyable to read.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Juni 2009
Different Seasons ist eine Sammlung von vier Kurzgeschichten. Jede von ihnen behandelt ein anderes Thema, doch eins haben sie stets gemeinsam: hat man einmal angefangen zu lesen, fällt es schwer damit aufzuhören.

Den Auftakt macht Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption, eine Geschichte über einen spektakulären Gefängnisausbruch und allem voran, über die Macht der Hoffnung.

Darauf folgt Apt Pupil. Diese Geschichte schlägt einen gänzlich anderen Ton an. Hier läuft es dem Leser oftmals kalt den Rücken hinab, wenn er sich in die Beziehung eines eiskalten Jugendlichen zu einem ehemaligen SS-Mann vertieft. Die Thematik wird dabei so großartig umgesetzt, dass die Handlung den Leser lange Zeit nicht los lässt.

The Body, vielen bekannt durch den Film Stand by Me, hat mir persönlich am besten gefallen. King beschreibt eindrucksvoll die Freundschaft von vier Jungen, die in ihren Sommerferien aufbrechen um die Leiche eines Jungen zu finden, der im Wald auf den Gleisen von einem Zug getötet worden ist.

Die letzte Geschichte The Breathing Method enthält als Einzige die Elemente des Übersinnlichen die man in vielen Büchern von King wiederfindet. Dennoch steht im Fordergrund nicht der Horror, sondern der verzweifelte Wunsch einer schwangeren, einsamen Frau ihr Baby sicher zur Welt zu bringen.

Different Seasons zeigt sehr deutlich die Vielseitigkeit von Stephen Kings Werken. Wer ihn lediglich mit Horrorgeschichten in Verbindung bringt, irrt. Dennoch ist jeder Geschichte der unverwechselbare Schreibstil von Stephen King deutlich anzumerken. So kann das Buch als ein untypisch typisches Buch von King bezeichnet werden, das nicht nur Fans gefallen wird.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden