Jeans Store Hier klicken Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs b2s Learn More designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,2 von 5 Sternen
17
4,2 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 20. August 2016
Marcus A was the man.
The translation is identical to the Long translation available in the public domain. The quality of the print is worth the cost though.
Maybe the Hays translation is better and easier to understand (especially with the backdrop etc), but the Long version has that fancy rhetoric (ironic if you understand Aurelis' life) which makes the lessons stick to memory.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Juni 2016
Das Geschriebene ist eher herausfordernd und bestimmend, statt sich mit klarer Ruhe anzubieten. Das ist mir immer wieder aufgefallen. Als ich dieses Buch erhalten habe und las, habe ich jedoch einiges gelernt. Es war eine Lernphase, wie vieles andere auch, und alles ist stetig im Wandel. Jetzt sehe ich dahinter viele Ego-Probleme und impulsive Sätze, allerdings kann ich es wegen seiner anfänglichen Lernwirkung wertschätzen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. Februar 2016
While the contents of the book are great, I am extremely displeased with the overall quality of the Hardcover.
I expected the books cover to not be a paper cover, with a bland hardcover underneath.
I'm extremely disappointed in the overall quality of the book, because I paid the premium above other versions of the book. And in the end I received a book with the quality of a cheap knockoff.
If i knew this beforehand - I would've bought a different one.
review image
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Dezember 1998
The style is direct and unpretentious. The message is simple but extraordinarily powerful: life is short, the past and the future are inaccessible, pain and pleasure have no meaning, but inside each one of us there is a ruling faculty that is touched only by itself. Only that which makes us better capable of confronting our condition with resolution and courage can be said to be good, and only that which makes us worse and more unsatisfied can be said to be bad. The only thing that is of any importance is our own private quest for perfection, which no external power can ever destroy. Marcus Aurelius delivers many insightful and inspirational observations about human nature and the human condition, and he makes an excellent rational argument for seeking the good and for acting modestly and continently. I cannot think or a more satifying and moving work, and it is all the more poignant because it was written by a man who wielded almost absolute power and lived surrounded by the luxury, yet managed to keep things in perspective and to occupy himself only with what truly matters. One sentence captures perfectly the spirit of his writings: "Where a man can live, there he can also live well." An extraordinary testimony of wisdom and fortitude.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Juni 2016
reading Meditations is peeking into a wiseman's notebook which wasnt meant to be a book. amusingly enough Marcus Aurelius advises against reading books in the second part of this 'book' twice already. but the beauty of this 'book' is exactly in the honest tone of a man who was thinking and writing to himself. and kudos to the translator Gregory Hayes who's kept the personal tone of writer and hasn't confused this work with a formal treatise of ancient philosophy.I gave it four stars and not five because I couldn't always agree with the author on all the points and advices he makes which are psychological in nature or otherwise science related rather than philosophical, and so are not matters of opinion and introspection and for me are to be settled only through experimental and scientific methods.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. November 2004
Marcus Aurelius, the emperor-philosopher, ruled the immense Roman Empire from 161 untill 180. He is the last representative of the Stoa. In this book, also known by the name "Diaries of M.A.", written between 170 and 180 in his army camp, he reflects about his ideals and his doubts. In his meditations one can (constantly) very well distinguish the ideas of a living human being, a man ... ruled by the universe of the divine providence, where all men live as fellow citizens of the gods. With far more warmth than one may expect from a stoic, Marcus Aurelius emphasizes the social "duties" and the feelings of solidarity that originate of them.
Another ever-recurring motive is the personal liberty, freedom of the individual. This is quite normal because ALL DEPENDS on our judgments (in the sense of 'impression') of the circumstances. Very often WE SUFFER FAR MORE OF OUR JUDGMENT of something or of a situation that we consider "terrible", THAN OF THE SUBJECT ITSELF !! For example a poor constitution (of the body) and other adversities cannot/could NOT HAVE influence our own inner compass...
Top of the shelf literature, STRONGLY RECOMMENDED to ALL OF YOU!!
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. November 1999
Here is a great book of meditations for both believers and atheists. Marcus Aurelius was emperor of Rome with an unfaithful wife, a worthless son, and the duties of leading an army for 13 years in what is now Germany. Trying to cheer and console himself in the middle of a desolate area, he wrote down what he remembered of the Stoic philosophy which he had studied. His thoughts are inspiring and provoking. This is the book you want with you when life becomes tough. As Marcus' view of god is a pantheistic one, anyone can profit from his thoughts, whether atheist or believer. A book to read ever few years. Highly recommended.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. September 2014
Nothing to complain about. It is very well translated, and its introduction is complete and neutral.
Whoever is interested on philosophy and ethics, here is among the best to read.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Mai 2015
Nothing new in this book and not that interesting compared to great Philosophers like Kant or John Stuart Mills.
But since he only cites Plato and adds some thoughts its more like an insight to an emperors thoughts than a Philosophers Work.

Still, I enjoyed it and it helped me during a few boring Trainrides.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. April 2015
Provides a way to perceive and live life, beyond what we see as life, that which happens everyday. A book to nourish, digest and cherish.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden