Es wird kein Kindle Gerät benötigt. Laden Sie eine der kostenlosen Kindle Apps herunter und beginnen Sie, Kindle-Bücher auf Ihrem Smartphone, Tablet und Computer zu lesen.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Geben Sie Ihre Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Kindle-Preis: EUR 13,43
inkl. MwSt.

Diese Aktionen werden auf diesen Artikel angewendet:

Einige Angebote können miteinander kombiniert werden, andere nicht. Für mehr Details lesen Sie bitte die Nutzungsbedingungen der jeweiligen Promotion.

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

Facebook Twitter Pinterest <Einbetten>
Last Plane to Heaven: The Final Collection von [Lake, Jay]
Hörprobe anhören
Wird wiedergegeben...
Wird geladen...
Angehalten
Anzeige für Kindle-App

Last Plane to Heaven: The Final Collection Kindle Edition


Alle Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Preis
Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 13,43
MP3 CD
"Bitte wiederholen"

Dieses Buch war Teil der Kindle AusLese
Jeden Monat vier ausgewählte Neuerscheinungen für je nur 2,49 EUR. Erfahren Sie hier mehr über das Programm und melden Sie sich beim Kindle AusLese Newsletter an.

Produktbeschreibungen

Pressestimmen

Praise for Jay Lake

"Lake's world-building is stellar, even with as idiosyncratic a narrator as Green, and the story she tells thrills."--"Booklist" on Green

"The richness of [Lake's] rendering of urban life as tapestry is genuinely irresistible."--John Clute

"Lake's strong storytelling skills and his ability to depict exotic cultures and create believable characters make this a tale that should appeal to most lovers of fantasy and the martial arts."--"Library Journal" on "Kalimpura

""Lake deftly weaves complicated, stubborn characters into a plot that reaches the grandest and most personal scales without ever straining credulity.... This complex, lonesome, haunting novel will appeal to fans of Valente, Monette, and Mieville."--"Publishers Weekly", starred review, on "Endurance
"
"Lake wields big themes--magic and religion versus science, free will, colonialism, and a bit of romance."--"Publishers Weekly", starred review, on "Pinion"

Praise for Jay Lake
"Lake's world-building is stellar, even with as idiosyncratic a narrator as Green, and the story she tells thrills."--"Booklist" on Green
"The richness of [Lake's] rendering of urban life as tapestry is genuinely irresistible."--John Clute
"Lake's strong storytelling skills and his ability to depict exotic cultures and create believable characters make this a tale that should appeal to most lovers of fantasy and the martial arts."--"Library Journal" on "Kalimpura
""Lake deftly weaves complicated, stubborn characters into a plot that reaches the grandest and most personal scales without ever straining credulity.... This complex, lonesome, haunting novel will appeal to fans of Valente, Monette, and Mieville."--"Publishers Weekly," starred review, on "Endurance
"
"Lake wields big themes--magic and religion versus science, free will, colonialism, and a bit of romance."--"Publishers Weekly," starred review, on "Pinion"

"The prolific Lake s death in 2014, after a long, harrowing, and very public battle with cancer, gives extra weight to these 32 epitaphs. Lake s command of language is strong and sincere, and his stories of everyday heartaches, filled with secret fears and self-delusion, whisk readers from inner geographies of mind to limitless gulfs of space." "Publishers Weekly""

Kurzbeschreibung

Last Plane to Heaven is the final and definitive short story collection of award-winning SF author Jay Lake, author of Green, Endurance, and Kalimpura.

Long before he was a novelist, SF writer Jay Lake, was an acclaimed writer of short stories. In Last Plane to Heaven, Lake has assembled thirty-two of the best of them. Aliens and angels fill these pages, from the title story, a hard-edged and breathtaking look at how a real alien visitor might be received, to the savage truth of "The Cancer Catechisms." Here are more than thirty short stories written by a master of the form, science fiction and fantasy both.

This collection features an original introduction by Gene Wolfe.


At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.


Produktinformation

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Dateigröße: 1404 KB
  • Seitenzahl der Print-Ausgabe: 319 Seiten
  • Verlag: Tor Books; Auflage: Reprint (16. September 2014)
  • Verkauf durch: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • ASIN: B00IW3DEGY
  • Text-to-Speech (Vorlesemodus): Aktiviert
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Aktiviert
  • Verbesserter Schriftsatz: Aktiviert
  • Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung: Schreiben Sie die erste Bewertung

  •  Ist der Verkauf dieses Produkts für Sie nicht akzeptabel?

Kundenrezensionen

Es gibt noch keine Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.de
5 Sterne
4 Sterne
3 Sterne
2 Sterne
1 Stern

Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.0 von 5 Sternen 3 Rezensionen
8 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Such an incredibly worthwhile read 25. September 2014
Von M. Garrison - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe Verifizierter Kauf
I don't know that I can do this review justice, so I'll just say that I found this collection to be a wonderful collage of stories in an anthology that manages to be thought-provoking and heart-wrenching in the midst of science fiction and fantasy stories that seem vividly real. I'm so very glad that I was able to swim through Lake's prose again like this. Despite enjoying several of his novels, I've always felt that short stories were where his voice was strongest -- and this anthology shows that in spades.

This should be an obvious read for those who've read and enjoyed his fiction before -- but it is also a great choice for those who have never read a Jay Lake story or novel. Although some of the stories are tied in one way or another to some of his previous work, there's nothing here that requires previous experience with earlier writing or that doesn't hang well on it's own. Definitely a worthwhile buy.

Someone asked for a list of the stories included -- after all, in buying an anthology, it can be useful sometimes to see if there are new morsels to savor or old favorites to love on. Here's the stories listed as they are in the table of contents, albeit not as nicely formatted as the one in the book:

Last Plane to Heaven: A Love Story
Angels i: The Houses of the Favored

SCIENCE AND OTHER FICTIONS
The Starship Mechanic
Permanent Fatal Errors
"Hello," Said the Gun
The Speed of Time
West to East
The Women Who Ate Stone Squid
Looking for Truth in a Wild Blue Yonder

Angels ii: Scent of the Green Cathedral

STEAM, PUNKS, AND FAIRIES
Spendthrift
Jefferson's West
They Are Forgotten Until They Come Again
The Woman Who Shattered the Moon
The Blade of His Plow
Grindstone
The Temptation of Eustace Prudence McAllen
That Which Rises Ever Upward

Angels iii: A Feast of Angels

PHANTASIES OF STYLE AND PLACE
Promises: A Tale of the City Imperishable
Testaments
The Fall of the Moon
A Critical Examination of Stigmata's Print "Taking the Rats to Riga"
From the Countries of Her Dreams
Unchambered Heart

Angels iv: Novus Ordo Angelorum

DESCENT INTO DARKNESS
The Tentacled Sky
Such Bright and Risen Madness in Our Names
Her Fingers Like Whips, Her Eyes Like Razors
Mother Urban's Booke of Dayes

Angels v: Going Bad

THE END
The Cancer Catechism
1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen A hard pull 26. Februar 2015
Von Roger Mastrude - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verifizierter Kauf
Had trouble keeping reading. I love his novels, but this not.
4 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A Nice Testimonial To an Excellent Author Who Will Be Missed. 25. Oktober 2014
Von William Bentrim - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe
Last Plane to Heaven by Jay Lake

Sadly this is purported to be Jay Lake's last book due to his demise. I only use the purported since I still see books by V.C. Andrews and she has been deceased for years. This is a collection of Jay Lake short stories. I have made it known in the past, I am not a fan of short stories. This book was not an exception. I liked several of the stories very much and then they were over. There were others I didn't like at all. I would prefer to remember Jay Lake for his outstanding trilogy on Copper Downs.

I would suggest reading Green and Endurance and Kalimpura. All three books deal with empowering women and defying the status quo. There is a body of literature that suggests that if women were in charge there would be fewer wars. I don’t think this is just due to the heighten sensibilities of women, nor do their lack of interest in macho posturing. I do think there would be less conflict because when they do throw down the gauntlet, they follow it with massive overkill. Green exemplifies that role with her temper and actions.

This book is worth reading as it shows another side of Jay Lake. It shows some whimsy and in some cases a depth of creativity that might be beyond bizarre.

Jay Lake's untimely demise is a blow to literature. His mind drifted to realms that are daunting in their characterizations and scenes.

RIP Jay Lake.

Web Site: http://www.jlake.com/2010/08/14/writing-endurance-is-a-wrap/
Waren diese Rezensionen hilfreich? Wir wollen von Ihnen hören.
click to open popover