Jeans Store Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Neuerscheinungen Cloud Drive Photos Alles für die Schule Learn More designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle Sparpaket Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,4 von 5 Sternen
69
4,4 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:6,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 15. Juni 2000
I have read this book three times: When I was a first year medical student I found it to be exaggerated. When I was in my intern year I found it to be an understatement. Reading it for the third time in the middle of my residency allowed me to have a more mature perspective of this book. I find it to have a striking resemblence to another classic: "Catch 22" by Joseph Heller. I will start by saying that both books are NOT great literature masterpieces . They do not stand in one line with Joyce, Amos Oz, Steinback or Hemmingway and as a work of art they therefore deserve , in my opoinion 2 or 3 stars of rating.They do share, however, a unique quality which is this: They both manage to capture in an astonishing accurracy, through sarcasm and absurd, all that is twisted, wrong and cruel in the systems they deal with. Being both a doctor and an IDF officer, I can testify from personal experience that both the military and the medical field have a lot in common , mainly that they both are a stressfull, wearing enviroments. Shem's accurate perception lead this book to being the sharpest description of this enviroment so far, just as "Catch 22" was in its times I therefore share the enthusiasm of the majority of the reviewers of this book, as much as I can identify with the ones who found it disappointing in the literary sense. It therfore gets a rating of 4.
0Kommentar| 17 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Januar 2000
To the lay-readers who find the book's images and points of view both horrifying and repulsive, I would say only this: As a street paramedic I fully empathize with any experienced doctor, nurse, P.A., or other medical practitioner, who happens to be a little "crispy around the edges." Medicine at any level of practice is often a mental beat-down, frequently unrewarding, and always tough. The "gallows-humor" that HOG depicts so graphically is a defense-mechanism for a lot of health-care workers. Myself included. You either succumb to its temptation, or you burn out. And in that case, you're no good to anyone, least of all your patients. If you read the book from a perspective outside the medical profession, please keep an open mind and you will love the book as much as we who are "in the know" do. And if that doesn't work, you could always try walking a mile in our shoes...
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Juni 2015
Auch ein Klassiker, aber einer der anderen Art. Sehr speziell, aber unbedingt lesenswert. Alleine um die vielen Anspielungen in Film, Fernsehen udn anderen Büchern zu verstehen. Und um einige seiner eigenen ethischen (?) Einstellungen zu überdenken...
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. April 2001
Jeder werdene Mediziner, alle die mit dem Gedanken spielen einer zu werden oder wer sonst einfach nur mal herzlich Lachen will muss dieses Buch gelesen haben! Teils derb und makaber bringt einen Samuel Shems ausgezeichnet schwarzer Humor doch unweigerlich zum Schmunzeln. Wenn dies obendrein noch von einem Amerikaner geschiht, ist es umso bemerkenswerter!
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Mai 2015
Vor mehr als dreißig Jahren habe ich Shems Meisterwerk als junger Arzt um ersten mal gelesen - jetzt habe ich es meinem Sohn gegeben, der selbst auf dem Weg ist, Arzt zu werden. Angeregt durch seine begeisterte Reaktion habe ich es jetzt noch einmal gelesen. Die Fragen, die der Roman aufwirft bleiben aktuell: Was bewirken Ärzte wirklich mit ihrem Tun? Wie ist es möglich, Teil des Medizinbetriebs zu sein, ohne Schaden an seiner Seele zu nehmen? Wie steht es mit der ethischen Verantwortung für alle, die in diesem Betrieb arbeiten?
Auch für medizinische Laien ist Shem lesenswert, denn es geht letztlich nicht nur um Medizin sondern auch um Fragen, die jeden Menschen betreffen. Was bedeutet Krankheit, Schmerz und Tod? Welchen Platz sollen sie im Leben haben?
Es gibt viel zu lachen beim Lesen dieses Berichts aus der medizinischen Hölle. Aber wie so oft berühren uns gerade beim Lachen die Angst und das Grauen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Dezember 1997
This book gives you some sort of relief, if you work in the medical field (I'm a vet), because you can see, that you are not the only one terrified with the idea, that if you make a mistake or don't remember something, somebody is gonna die.
It gives you some inner peace, but on the other hand, it has a lot of sexual scenes, that are completely unnecessary and out of place, and gives the book a taste of low class porno book.
It also gives you the impression, that medicine is some sort of joke, that 95% of the treatments are useless and that your only escape from the "joke" is to become a psychiatrist, so you don't have to "touch" sick people anymore. It's just ridiculous!
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Januar 2000
It's interesting to hear non-medical opinions on HOG. This book is actually not that humorous. I can see how it "seems" to be; with all the dark morbid humor and the LAWS. A colleage told me not to read this book until i had finished my 3rd year of MD-school. Why? Until you put yourself on the ward, this book doesn't mean much to you. I didn't believe him and read it at the end of my 2nd year. I read it again at the end of my 3rd year. It was like i was reading a different novel. There is no way to clearly describe the sensation of having 7 admissions on call...all gomers....trying desperatly to BUFF and TURF them.
This book is a must read for the doctor to be. The nonmedical world has to realise that what seems as perverse dark sick humor (gomers, turfing, not doing anything, the only good admission is a dead admission) is merely an attempt to survive the onslaught of internship. Balance fatigue with limited knowledge and throw in some unparralled responsibility and you get a taste of what it's like.
House of God does just that.
Oh.. and never ever.... go to a teaching hospital in July. :)
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Januar 2000
I read this book 18 years ago when I was a young intern. In the first half the author brilliantly captures the physical side of human medicine where people are hard work and the body is a messy machine badly in need of repair. I still use many quotes from the book, such as, "Show me a [blank] who only triples my work and I will kiss [his/her] feet." The darkness of the humor helped me realize joy in my work as I never felt as bad on a day in my internship as the principal character seemed to feel constantly. Where the book failed me is half-way through where I realized that the character/author doesn't perhaps get his own joke. Humans are dirty, messy, and often demented as patients; and doctors are often misguided, clueless, and overwhelmed. And this is who we are! I love this fact of our closeness to the base, rather than the idea of man as a clean-bodied, god-fearing species, held apart from all others. A psychiatrist! Who wants to be that, when we can be so happy as inmates of the asylum?
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Mai 2013
Habe ihn schon während der Anfänge meiner Ausbildung gelesen, und seither immer wieder einmal (eines der ganz wenigen Bücher, die ich mehrmals gelesen habe). Großartige Beschreibung des Lebens der Interns in einem amerikanischen Krankenhaus - auch wenn es schon Jahrzehnte alt ist ...
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. September 1999
House of God is a nicely written book - it is a quick read thanks to its fluency. Events happen so fast in the life of the portrayed intern that they simply fly by, which Shem carries across to the reader by not clearly distinguishing them by paragraphs or chapters. This might perhaps not be suitable to all readers. The sarcasm and reality mix quite well and if you are not a doctor yourself, you think twice before entering a hospital next time. The only character I truly didn't enjoy was Berry, the girlfriend of the main protagonist, and her neverending Freudian anecdotes. But this might derive from the fact that I am coming from the psychological side of this profession, who outdated Freud some time ago.
Who liked this book might also enjoy "The Year of the Intern" by Robin Cook, which is quite different from his nowadays trash novels.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

11,99 €
12,99 €

Benötigen sie kundenservice? Hier klicken