flip flip Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Spring Deal Cloud Drive Photos Learn More HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimitedFamily BundesligaLive

Kundenrezensionen

4,0 von 5 Sternen
19


am 18. April 2018
Das Buch ist recht umfangreich und gut geschrieben. Interessant sind die vielen Hintergrund-Infos und der nur seltene Pathos, der in solchen Büchern oft übertrieben wird. Zusätzlich kommt das in vielen Bereichen vorhandene administrative Versagen klar zum Vorschein, was Filme wie 'Rambo' dann in ein anderes Licht rückt. Die Schilderung des Alltagslebens der Soldaten ist teilweise ganz witzig, aber auch schockierend. Fazit: Ein kleines Stück Geschichte aus einer üblen Zeit.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 9. Mai 2013
Das Buch schildert den Vietnamkrieg aus der individuellen Sicht des jungen Marine-MG-Schützen Johnnie Clark, der viele Monate mit seiner Einheit den Dschungel Süd-Vietnams durchkämmt, um Einheiten des Vietcongs und der nordvietnamesischen Armee aufzuspüren und zu vernichten. Doch meistens finden die Gefechte unter den exakt anderen Vorzeichen statt, so dass die Jäger zu Gejagten werden. Der Autor schildert den Ablauf der Kämpfe, den Verlust von Kameraden sowie die inneren Kämpfe und Zweifel in einer sehr eindringlichen Art. Habe schon viele individuelle Kriegsgeschichten gelesen, aber kaum eine hat mich derart fasziniert und bewegt wie die, dieses jungen MG-Schützen. Selbst gut gemachte Antikriegsfilme wie Full Metal Jacket und Platoon verblassen neben den Schilderungen des Autors, die noch dazu authentisch sind. Ein unglaublich tolles Buch!!!!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 11. Dezember 2014
Do not waste your money on this one piece of manure, barely readable (especially the many Jesus saves-Halleluja pages got to my nerves!). Get some other war memoir on the Vietnam War instead. I recommend Philip Caputo's "A Rumor of War", which was actually a good book.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 11. März 2014
It amazes me mans inhumanity to man, a good look at what the Americans went through------at the end of the day for what!!! a good read
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 23. Dezember 2012
Sehr interessante und schonungslose Sicht auf den Vietnamkrieg aus Augenzeugenperspektive. So schrecklich das Ganze erscheint, ist man doch gezwungen das Buch bis zum Ende durchzulesen. Wenn man Filme wie Platoon, Apokalypse Now und ähnliche mag, wird man auch dieses Buch mögen. Natürrlich in dem Sinne, das Krieg etwas unglaublich Schreckliches ist!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 29. Januar 2013
Fast pace, absolutely riveting book. A good insight in this immensely sensless war. A must read for everybody trying to understand why the US got a bloody nose in Vietnam.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 4. Juni 2013
Ganz fantastisch geschriebenes Buch, wer Interesse an authentischen Erzählungen über den Vietnamkrieg hat sollte sich dieses Buch unbedingt kaufen. Lohnenswert!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 8. August 2013
The Vietnam war without the f-word! Impossible? Indeed!

What I accept in a book about this war is a good story, written by somebody who was there and who tells it the way he experienced it. Including the good, the bad and the ugly. Right or wrong, my country. Or at least: my ass, which I intend to get out of all this in one piece.

I also accept a thoughtful analysis, a putting-in-perspective, a discussion of the relative merits of different systems of organizing society. An attempt to learn from the past in order to develop a better future.

What I do not accept is a poorly written story with lots of repetitive dialogue, which tries to convince me that the war was a crusade of some all-American heroes (the Marines) against a subhuman life form (the Gooks). Which tries to convince me that the Marines did not lose the war. And which every so often goes into elaborate quoting the bible in order to justify the suffering of the Marines. Without ever stopping to think that the "Gooks" suffered even more. What happened to "Love thy enemy", you bilble-quoters?

I salute the author for having been there when others evaded. I salute the author for bringing his buddies together after all these years- I am certain that they appreciate. However, if you transcend the war to the extent of sanitizing it, you have a duty to also see it from the perspective of the other side. And, if you cannot bring yourself to consider your opponents fellow humans, so at least call them "Enemy" and not "Gooks".

What the book brought to mind was the song by Atahualpa Yupanqui "Basta ya!", in which there are the lines: ¿Quién ha ganado la guerra en los montes del Viet-Nam ? El guerrillero en su tierra, Y el yanqui en el cinema. Or, in this case, in a book.
11 Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 9. September 1999
I have read GUNS UP! several times and keep returning to it. I have read several accounts of Vietnam, but I keep returning to this one. The way that Mr. Clark is able to take his readers through the gamet of emotions and glories of comradeship felt by Marines in Vietnam makes this book a tribute to the men who fought and died when their country called - whether they believed in the war that they were called upon to fight or not, they were truly "forever faithful".
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 18. Oktober 1998
I've read this book five times, twice to my sons. Each time I've read it I have come away with a new admiration for Johnnie Clark and his buddy Chan. It is an incredible story about a Marine's struggle in Vietnam and the gruelling hardships they had to endure. Johnnie through his friend Chan saw how the power of God can be seen even in War. Meet such characters as "Swift Eagle", the full blooded Indian who felt more at home in Vietnam than the US, and the strange "Sam the blooper man" who loves to shock new troops to Vietnam by sucking on a human ear. Having read countless books about Vietnam, I have enjoyed this the most! One day I want to meet Johnnie M. Clark.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden

Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)