Herbst/Winter-Fashion Hier klicken Duplo studentsignup Cloud Drive Photos Learn More HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Learn More Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic GC HW16

Kundenrezensionen

4,7 von 5 Sternen
42
4,7 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:9,49 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 24. November 2012
Excellent book. Well and thoughtfully written.
Told in real time by a little girl who lived through the horrors of Pol Pot's madness. It shows how little Loung was forcibly changed from a pretty, innocent child to a person so consumed by hatred that she eagerly runs to the scene where a Khmer Rouge soldier is horribly executed - and the experience does not even affect her that much at the time.
This is a holocaust that is all too often forgotten in the West because we, or our relatives did not experience it first hand. Perhaps this book and others like it should become essential reading matter in our schools.
This brings home what it is like to be a refugee during and after a wars fought for insane cultural or religious ideals.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Die Grausamkeit des Khmer Rouge Regimes ist kaum vorstellbar. Was in den Köpfen passiert, die einen radikalen Völkermord rechtfertigen und für gut befinden ist für mich ein Rätsel...wenn man aber sieht wie oft dies in der Geschichte der Menschheit vorkommt, dann nichts zum Wegschauen. Und um so wichtiger sind Bücher wie diese. Denn es handelt sich hier sowohl ein wichtiges Zeitzeugnis als auch um ein sehr gut zu lesendes Buch.

Luong Ung erinnert sich. Sie erinnert sich an ihr wohlbehütetes und wohlhabendes Leben in Phnom Penh als kleines Mädchen. Sie erinnert sich an den Einmarsch der Khmer und die Vertreibung von Zuhause. Sie erinnert sich an eine lang anhaltende Lügengeschichte und das immer weiter Fliehen, um unentdeckt zu bleiben. Sie erinnert sich, wie ihr Vater abgeführt wird. Sie erinnert sich, wie ihre Schwester stirbt. Sie erinnert sich, wie ihre Mutter sie und zwei weitere Geschwister fortschickt, um als Weisen bessere Überlebenschancen zu haben. Sie erinnert sich, an die Indoktrinierung im Camp.

Diese Erinnerungen sind in reale Geschichte eingebettet und ihr Schreibstil im Präsens ziehen einen geradezu hinein in die Grausamkeit. Aber auch die Veränderung ihrer Gefühlswelt - von Angst, Verwirrung hin zu blankem Hass sind hervorragend gezeichnet. Das Buch kommt (fast) gänzlich ohne blutige Effekte aus. Die Grausamkeit des Alltages und des Ahnens sind schlimm genug. Als Leserin musste ich mich ab und an aktiv daran erinnern, dass dies Kindheitserinnerungen sind. Das Thema ist so sehr nicht kindgerecht, dass ich das immer wieder vergessen habe. Aber immer, wenn ich mir das wieder ins Gedächtnis gerufen habe, mir meine eigenen Kinder vorgestellt habe, dann hat es ein Messer ins Herz gestossen.

Wie ich sehe verfilmt Angelina Jolie das Buch derzeit. Ich glaube ihr liegt etwas an dem Thema. Ich glaube sie wird das gut machen. Ich hoffe, dass Buch und Film einen Beitrag zur Aufklärung leisten werden und dazu bewegen, nicht wegzuschauen. Egal wo sich das Grauen abspielt.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Februar 2000
"First they killed My father" is Loung Ung's Horror filled account of her childhood stolen from her by Pol Pot's regime which ranks behind only Hitlers for it's brutality and inhumanity. It is also a story of a family's love and sacrafice for one another. A father and mother's love for thier children a sister's love for each other but most of all a little girls love for her father.
Think of Anne Frank Meets the "killing fields" and you only begin to get an idea of what this book is about.
Loung's writing is at once so simple and yet so vivid you can almost feel the shook, disgust and horror of a little girl living in what can only be discribed as hell on earth.
You can feel the confusion and fear in a little girls mind as her life of cars, TV's, phones and movies is ripped away from her and replaced with starvation, murder, bombs, gun fire and death.
PA what are communist she asks, and why do they hate us? Her Father's answer is simple and direct they are destoyers.
This book is truly a must read for everyone, least we forget and let history repat it's self.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. Juni 2000
The attrocities committed by the Khmer Rouge, which resulted in large-scale genocide of the Cambodian people, have not received the attention that they warrant from the Western press. This book describes the horrors of the Khmer Rouge's brutal rule, from the view of a woman who was only a five-year-old girl at the time the Khmer Rouge invaded Phnom Phen.
As young as she was, the author showed incredible courage and determination. I have always wondered why some people survive in such horrid conditions; this book provides some insight into the will-to-live, and refusal to give up which kept this woman alive.
The descriptions of her family's suffering are graphic, but no more than necessary to provide the reader with an authentic feeling about the torture, starvation and other maltreatment by the Khmer Rouge, as led by the "invisible" but revered and feared leader, Pol Pot.
By the way, a complementary book about this epoch which I recommend, told by a woman who was a few years older, is "When Broken Glass Floats."
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. Dezember 2014
Ich las das Buch während unseres Trips durch Cambodia und konnte mich so noch viel mehr mit dem Thema befassen, das Loung so ergreifend, emotional sowie historisch beschreibt. Das Buch habe ich beendet als wir in Phnom Penh eintrafen und ich habe mich während der 2 Tage in der Stadt immer heimlich gefragt, wo Luong wohl als Mädchen gespielt hatte, Cyclo gefahren ist und welche Schrecken die Bäume dieser Stadt wohl gesehen haben. Es gibt einige Stellen, an denen ich einfach Schluchzen musste, weil es einfach sehr berührt. Ich freue mich auf das Folgebuch und empfehle es gerne weiter.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Juni 2000
The chilling story of the Cambodian purges led by the Kmer Rouge was impossible to put down. Ms. Ung tells her story without resorting to being overly violent even thogh the killings were in the millions. Her brilliance is in humanizing the violent struggle through a family we grow to care about deeply. She avoids the political side of the Cambodian civil war and focusses on an ordinary family turned from a happy middle class life to one of survival and loss. I read this in one day because I needed to know what happenned to this family. Poor little Loung Ung led a terrible few years but lives to remind us that our American lives of comfort are not to be taken for granted. I recently read a similar book on Rwanda and was similarly touched by how much suffering still can go on in our supposedly modern, humane world. Clearly, wanton slaughter in other countries makes me appreciate the simple freedoms of safety and security we have. Read this story and you will not complain about the simple things that aggravate us in America.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Mai 2000
WOW! A powerful journey of struggle against a fear so great, most of us will feel the tingling awakening of discomfort with the reality that civility can be so easily striped from us. We think of law, order, fairness and justice as a part of everyday life. It is unimaginable what life would be like without them, until you read Loung Ung's book. Loung reminds us that these are ideals, Loung allows us to experience existance in its most basic form. If you can read without denying the fear you should feel, you will grow from reading this book. From the acceptance of the cold and cruel, I developed a stronger sense of love and appreciation for the fragile life I am fortunate to have. This book is also about love, bonds, sacrafice, determination, willpower, the value of intelligence and wisdom, appreciation and character. Thank you Loung for your book.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Februar 2000
From 1988 to 1990 I was living and working in Cambodia with OXFAM UK. It was almost daily that I was told, by my Cambodian collegues/friends, accounts of the killings and suffering that took place during the Khmer Rouge time. When I read Loung Ung's book, I felt as though I was back in Cambodia, being told another experience that emotionally tears one's heart apart. I can not comprehend how a child at that age would be able to deal with such brutalities and loss of parents and siblings.
Loung Ung's book describes, through a personal account, an historical period in Cambodia that needs to be remembered and told. I would hope that, through reading of this book, our society would become more aware and compassionate towards others. Loung Ung's book is a must to be read by all.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. Juli 2000
First, let's get the nitpicks out of the way. Like other reviewers, I was bothered by the poor editing of this memoir, with its verb tense switches and simple errors in usage.
However, I was most disappointed that Loung Ung ended her story with her boarding the plane for America. I had fallen for this spunky, strong-willed little girl and wanted to read about her experiences in her new home in Vermont. Please, Ms Ung, write a new chapter to your story! Tell us how you adapted to Vermont and your new American lifestyle. Your epilogue only hints and teases at the new life you found here and many of your readers are bound to want more! Tell us more about your crusade to banish landmines and about your visits to various American cities as you speak about Cambodia's past and future. We'll be looking forward to it!
As for this volume, it is as most reviewers have said--an uplifting story of survival in the most horrific of circumstances. Five-year-old Loung's curiosity and perseverance are truly wonderful to behold as she watches her comfortable world destroyed by the Khmer forces.
The "dream" or "imagination" passages in which Loung describes the possible ways in which two of her sisters, her mother and her father all died are to me the most heart-rending of the entire book. It doesn't matter that they may not necessarily describe the actual events. What's important is that they describe the events as they were imagined by a child, a child who should never have had to imagine such things. To Loung, the deaths were the overriding fact and the created details of them were her child's way of visualizing her loved ones' last moments, not in a morbid way, but in a sympathetic way.
Another aspect of the story that struck me was the strength of the desire to reach America and the deprivation and dangers many Cambodians were willing to risk to enjoy the life most US citizens take for granted. Simply incredible--and still important today as the US government and people struggle with immigration concerns and as the gap between the "haves" and the "have nots" of the world grows ever wider.
This is an amazing story, an inspiring story, and an unforgettable story that will affect you long after you have read the final sentences.
11 Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. April 2000
You must read this book. Loung Ung tells us about ourselves as human beings. The news is both good and bad. While you despair over human cruelty, you rejoice at the power of love. The author tells her story without pulling punches. She is honest about her feelings of hatred and despair, feelings we can appreciate and understand, and would in fact share in her place. At the same time, if there is redemption in her life, it is because she rises above her completely understandable and normal wish to take revenge and turns her terrible experience into a positive force for good. She can attribute her ability to do this to the love she received from her family when she was a young child. Loung Ung's experiences are unfortunately not unique. They have been repeated over and over again, on large scale or small (and, after all, each individual only suffers on his or her own scale, so numbers are irrelevant). I couldn't read this book without thinking of a book by Nien Cheng--Life and Death in Shanghai. It is another story of the strength of the human spirit in the face of evil.
As for the reviewer who thinks a five year old cannot remember: memory is related to emotional intensity. That's why you forget 90 percent of your life, but can remember traumatic experiences in vivid detail. I vote for every word of this remarkable story being true. Read it.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden