Es wird kein Kindle Gerät benötigt. Laden Sie eine der kostenlosen Kindle Apps herunter und beginnen Sie, Kindle-Bücher auf Ihrem Smartphone, Tablet und Computer zu lesen.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Geben Sie Ihre Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Kindle-Preis: EUR 3,99
inkl. MwSt.

Diese Aktionen werden auf diesen Artikel angewendet:

Einige Angebote können miteinander kombiniert werden, andere nicht. Für mehr Details lesen Sie bitte die Nutzungsbedingungen der jeweiligen Promotion.

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

Facebook Twitter Pinterest <Einbetten>
An Exquisite Sense of What Is Beautiful von [Simons, J David]
Anzeige für Kindle-App

An Exquisite Sense of What Is Beautiful Kindle Edition

3.0 von 5 Sternen 1 Kundenrezension

Alle 4 Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Preis
Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 3,99

Länge: 294 Seiten Word Wise: Aktiviert Verbesserter Schriftsatz: Aktiviert
PageFlip: Aktiviert Sprache: Englisch

Englische Kindle AusLese
Jeden Monat vier außergewöhnliche englische Neuerscheinungen für je nur 1,99 EUR - empfohlen vom Amazon-Team. Erfahren Sie hier mehr über das Programm und unsere aktuellen Leseempfehlungen.

Produktbeschreibungen

Pressestimmen

"[A] highly accomplished and moving novel" - The Herald. "Artistic, literary and thoroughly involving... a novelist who understands the craft of writing and who, in this case, has applied it exquisitely." - Scots Whay Hae!. "[T]hat rare thing, a genuine tour-de-force, a beautifully written love story that combines political impetus, questions about art and truth, and an exotic setting once almost blown to extinction in an act of war. It is the kind of sophisticated, grown-up writing that properly intrigues, and calls to mind the best of William Boyd and Sebastian Faulks." - Lesley McDowell. "An Exquisite Sense of What is Beautiful is actually several love stories, seamlessly flitting between times, countries and historical events. (I'm sure I won't be the only one to say this, but) the prose is exquisite and beautiful. And while the main character is neither, you find yourself knowing him, understanding him, caring for him. A great read. A piece of art." - Helen Fitzgerald, author. "In the tradition of Graham Greene or William Boyd, taking in great sweeps of history without ever losing sight of the personal, the telling detail. Accomplished and compelling." - Chris Dolan. "A beautifully sensitive book portraying the inevitably damning inequalities that can arise within all human relationships, be they political, cultural, sexual or emotional. Insightful and thought-provoking." - Sara Allerton.

Kurzbeschreibung

"A genuine tour-de-force" Lesley McDowell. An eminent British writer returns to the resort hotel in the Japanese mountains where he once spent a beautiful, snowed-in winter. It was there he fell in love and wrote his best-selling novel, The Waterwheel, accusing America of being in denial about the horrific aftermath of the Tokyo firebombings and the nuclear destruction at Hiroshima and Nagasaki. As we learn more about his earlier life, however - as a student in Bloomsbury, involved with a famous American painter - we realise that he too is in denial, trying to escape the past events that are now rapidly catching up with him. An Exquisite Sense of What is Beautiful is a sweeping novel of East and West, love and war, truth and delusion. Featuring richly drawn characters and a narrative that perfectly builds the tension up to the explosive climax, this book has all the hallmarks of a modern classic.

Produktinformation

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Dateigröße: 985 KB
  • Seitenzahl der Print-Ausgabe: 294 Seiten
  • Verlag: Saraband (28. März 2013)
  • Verkauf durch: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • ASIN: B00APDWTV0
  • Text-to-Speech (Vorlesemodus): Aktiviert
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Aktiviert
  • Screenreader: Unterstützt
  • Verbesserter Schriftsatz: Aktiviert
  • Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung: 3.0 von 5 Sternen 1 Kundenrezension
  • Amazon Bestseller-Rang: #215.183 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop (Siehe Top 100 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop)

  •  Ist der Verkauf dieses Produkts für Sie nicht akzeptabel?

Welche anderen Artikel kaufen Kunden, nachdem sie diesen Artikel angesehen haben?


Kundenrezensionen

3,0 von 5 Sternen
5 Sterne
0
4 Sterne
0
3 Sterne
1
2 Sterne
0
1 Stern
0
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Alle 1 Kundenrezensionen anzeigen

Top-Kundenrezensionen

am 5. Juni 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verifizierter Kauf
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
click to open popover

Wo ist meine Bestellung?

Versand & Rücknahme

Brauchen Sie Hilfe?