Jeans Store Hier klicken Neuerscheinungen Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Slop16 Hier klicken UHD TVs Fire Shop Kindle Roosevelt festival 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,4 von 5 Sternen
24
4,4 von 5 Sternen
Format: Audio CD|Ändern
Preis:28,88 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 29. September 2012
Disclaimer: This review is based solely on my personal opinion and limited knowledge. As a human being, I am far from perfect, so please feel free to make comments and suggestions. I tried to keep this review as spoiler-free as possible, but certain plot details can't be avoided in a detailed book discussion. But don't worry, I'm not giving away the ending.

THE STORY

The story begins in Prague, where we are introduced to Karou, a 17-year-old art student and part-time hunter. She doesn't hunt for animals or treasures, however. She hunts for teeth. More precisely, the teeth of all living things that dwell on this earth. This includes dealing with criminals, grave robbers and poachers, much to her dismay. Karou delivers the teeth to Brimstone, a Chimaera living in a shop inbetween our world and an unknown supernatural world. Brimstone and his employees like Issa, the snake-lady and Kishmish, the bat-raven, are the only family Karou has ever known.

Brimstone's shop can be accessed through secret doors in all major cities of the world. Normal people would just see a regular room behind these doors, but when Karou knocks on them, Issa opens the door from within and leads her to Brimstone's shop. All teeth Karou delivers are strung on necklaces and stored in countless jars. Her reward isn't money, but wishes, sometimes smaller, sometimes stronger ones. But no matter how often she asks Brimstone about his work, he simply refuses to tell her what the teeth are for and how he gets all these wishes. Karou doesn't even know where she comes from, who her real parents are and why she has grown up in Brimstone's shop. But in the course of the story, she finds bits and pieces of information that help her solve the mystery of her existence.

Until this point, I really liked the innovative plot and setting, as well as Laini Taylor's creative vocabulary and fluent writing style. In brief, I was hooked and expecting a great adventure. However, as soon as an irresistible male lead was introduced, everything went downhill. I felt like I was reading an original work written by a passionate Twilight fan. Although, to be fair, the reincarnation theme of "The Vampire Diaries" was also included. We even have an equivalent to "So the lion fell in love with a lamb.", which is "Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love. It did not end well." This quote, unfortunately, is placed at the very beginning of the book and basically gives away the whole plot. Don't expect any surprises and prepare to get annoyed, because you will have figured out the backstory about 200 pages before it is finally revealed to the protagonist.

THE CHARACTERS

The protagonist Karou ("hope" in Chimaera) is portrayed as a strong and independent young woman in the beginning. But unfortunately, this positive image is quickly replaced by descriptions of her exceptional beauty, likability and talents, thanks to which she attracts friends and admirers wherever she goes. But as soon as she falls in love with the male lead, she turns into a sad caricature of a damsel in distress, no matter how much she stresses she doesn't want to be. Ah well, at least she didn't lose her virginity to a real vampire. She lost it to a fake one.

Akiva, Karou's love interest, is first portrayed as a cold, emotionless Seraphim soldier who tries to kill Karou. But he suddenly realizes that there is something special and familiar about her. His character quickly changes to that of a love-struck Edward, who resists the temptation to spill the female protagonist's blood. However, he can't resist "the pull", just like Karou, who can't keep herself from touching this beautiful being. And the author wants us to know that he's beautiful, because she devotes as many pages to the description of his angelic features as Stephenie Meyer devotes to the comparison of Edward and a Roman statue.

Brimstone, Issa, Kishmish and the other members of Karou's Chimaera family were the only characters that I actually liked, although they played a comparatively small role. Later in the book, the short flashback scenes with these characters were the only thing that kept me reading. I don't think it's a good sign when a female reader can identify more with a group of monsters than with the female lead. (No, I am not referring to my mental state.)

THE CULTURAL AND HISTORICAL BACKGROUND

What disappointed me even more than the actual plot were the cultural and geographical references. People who have actually spent some time in Prague, Marrakesh or Paris will notice that Laini Taylor's beautiful descriptions are nothing but the typical clichés found in tourist guides and far from reality. I'm sorry to use such harsh words, but people like Laini Taylor are the reason why the stereotype about self-centered, close-minded and uneducated Americans even exists. Not just because she didn't research the locations of her novel properly, but because she is clearly misinformed about other cultures and relies on stereotypes and prejudices instead. A few examples:

- Karou was trained in martial arts in Hongkong. By a SENSEI. I'm not sure if Laini Taylor just thinks that all people in East Asia speak the same language or if she actually believes that Hongkong is part of Japan.

- The name of the supernatural world is "Eretz", which according to the author means "earth" (in the sense of "world") in Hebrew. She probably used one of those crappy online dictionaries for that. Unfortunately, this term has a much deeper meaning and is used in a different context in (Biblical) Hebrew.

- The language of the Chimaera is described as guttural, with lots of fricatives (e.g. s, f, th, etc.). But Laini Taylor feels the need to add that even German and Hebrew sound melodious in comparison. Apparently, the author didn't bother to count the fricatives in English, German and Hebrew, or she would have come to another conclusion. But apart from that, it is simply outrageous to make such a statement about other languages, because melody (like beauty) is in the eye of the beholder. How other languages sound to you depends on your mother tongue and the amount of time you were exposed to foreign languages. Karou's native language is Chimaera, plus about 20 other languages she acquired by magic. Which means that she would never judge German or Hebrew as not melodious. This is clearly the author speaking here.

- The author constantly mentions the war crimes committed by the Nazis in Prague during WW II. And her poor heroine is annoyed by "a horde of German tourists" with "sensible shoes". In combination with her pejorative statement about the German language I can't help but wonder if Laini Taylor has issues with German(s) in general. I have to admit that it's certainly valid to compare the events in Eretz to WW I+II and the crimes committed by the Nazis are among the most atrocious in human history. But it is the only comparison the author draws and she even goes as far as stating that the invaders are always the bad guys. Funnily, she never mentions certain events in recent American history...

CONCLUSION

I can't recommend this book to anyone who expects an original plot based on proper research. This book is clearly aimed at young girls who can identify with the female protagonist and dream of an angel/vampire/knight in shining armor who comes to rescue them from the harsh reality of highschool and puberty. So if you enjoyed this book, that's perfectly fine, because everyone needs an escape from reality sometimes. But don't forget to put your books away occasionally, because they can't replace real friends and real love. Unfortunately, you will have to work for those.
22 Kommentare| 34 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Februar 2012
Inhalt: Karou ist Schülerin an einer Kunstschule in Prag. Doch da hört ihre Normalität auch schon auf...denn Karou hat viele Geheimnisse, z.B. dass ihre Haare wirklich blau nachwachsen und dass die Monster in ihrem Skizzenblock wirklich existieren. Aber Karou hat gelernt, wie man am Besten mit so etwas umgeht: Man ist ganz offen damit und es wird einem ja sowieso niemand glauben. So schlägt sie sich ganz gut durch. Allerdings macht es sie selbst fast wahnsinnig, dass sie nicht weiß, wer oder vielmehr was sie eigentlich ist.
Als dann immer wieder Engel gesichtet werden, die schwarze Handabdrücke auf den Türen zwischen den Welten hinterlassen, spitzt sich die Lage zu. Plötzlich ist Karou mitten in einen schrecklichen Krieg zwischen der dunklen und der hellen Seite verwickelt. Doch so kommt sie ihrem wahren Ich auch immer etwas näher und schon bald wird sie wissen, was das Geheimnis um ihre Person ist.

Meine Meinung: Wow, ein Buch, das wirklich aus der Masse heraussticht! "Daughter of Smoke & Bone" hat mich gefesselt und verzaubert. Die Geschichte ist originell, undurchschaubar und ergreifend. Der Schreibstil der Autorin trägt noch zusätzlich dazu bei, dass dieses Buch etwas ganz Besonderes ist. Sie hat einen regelrecht poetischen Stil und beschreibt die Orte und Wesen wundervoll. Das Buch hat meiner Meinung nach auch einen tollen Gothic-Touch: So wie Prag beschrieben wird, Karou selbst und das Konzept von hell und dunkel, wobei die Heldin zur dunklen Seite gehört.
Schon allein der Handel mit Wünschen, hat mich total begeistert. Die Idee allein ist ja schon klasse und wie das alles bis ins kleinste Detail durchdacht ist und beschrieben wird. Hut ab!
Gleich im ersten Kapitel war mir klar, dass dieses Buch sicherlich die Höchstpunktzahl von mir bekommen würde. Im Mittelteil, als die Liebesgeschichte begann, war ich dann etwas skeptisch und hatte Angst, dass es langweilig wird...aber dann ging es ja noch mal richtig zur Sache. Daher kann ich guten Gewissens meine 5 Sterne vergeben. Falls es euch auch so gehen sollte, dass ihr den mittleren Teil etwas langweilig findet, lest bitte unbedingt weiter! Es lohnt sich. Der Wechsel in die Vergangenheit und die andere Welt, ist faszinierend und die Auflösung hat mich ungehauen. Ich habe die ganze Zeit gerätselt, was denn nun genau mit Karou ist, bin aber ziemlich im Dunkeln getappt. Als ich dann kapiert habe, was los ist, war ich total begeistert. Eine echt tolle Auflösung!
Karou als Hauptcharakter liebe ich. Sie ist so rätselhaft und überhaupt nicht das normale Mädchen von nebenan. Das finde ich echt klasse. Überhaupt das ganze Konzept des Buches ist genau nach meinem Geschmack. Es gibt nicht nur schwarz und weiß, sondern viele Grauabstufungen und die helle Seite ist nicht automatisch die gute Seite.
Die Lovestory habe ich, wie bereits erwähnt, ja zuerst etwas unpassend und langweilig gefunden, aber wenn man nach und nach mehr erfährt, wird auch diese Liebesgeschichte immer besser und am Ende war ich total überzeugt.
Das Buch startet übrigens als Urban Fantasy und wird gegen Ende hin zu einer High Fantasy Erzählung. Diese Verbindung ist der Autorin prima gelungen und dem Leser wird dadurch noch so viel mehr geboten.
Ich kann "Daughter of Smoke & Bone" allen empfehlen, die eine spannende, fantasievolle Geschichte lesen möchten, die sich aus der Masse hervorhebt. Das Buch zählt ab sofort zu meinen Lieblingsbüchern und ich warte schon sehnsüchtig auf die Fortsetzung!
0Kommentar| 7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. August 2015
Karou ist ein blauhaariges, tätowiertes Mädchen, das als Kunststudentin in Prag lebt. Sie zeichnet jedes Wesen, das ihre Inspiration weckt, so auch die Chimären, die sie ihre Familie nennt. Ihre beste Freundin Zuzana ahnt jedoch nicht, dass diese absurden Figuren, die Karou in ihrem Block skizziert, lebende Wesen sind, denn Karou ist als fantasievoll, verwegen und mysteriös bekannt. Sie erzählt die schrägsten Geschichten mit dem Gesichtsausdruck, der allen sagt, dass sie sich natürlich nur einen Spaß erlaubt – in Wahrheit sind ihre Lügen aber keine Lügen …

Das Buch hatte einen sehr starken Start. Ich war wirklich gefangen, obwohl viele Fragezeichen im Kopf hatte, aber im Laufe der Geschichte wurden sie dann gelöst. Die Geschichte war also packend und hatte sehr viele coole, neuartige Aspekte zu bieten, die mir ziemlich gut gefallen haben. Die ganze Sache um Brimstone und die Zähnen fand ich einfach total krass :D

Das Ende hingegen war weniger meins und hat mich etwas enttäuscht. Auch diese starke Liebe zwischen Engel und Teufel … na ja, sagen wir, in welcher Art und Weise das vorgetragen wurde, konnte ich einfach nichts damit anfangen. Ich habe nicht für die beiden gehofft, dass sie zusammenkommen, dementsprechend ist mir das Ende von Band 1 teilweise auch egal. Der zweite, schlimme Aspekt des Endes berührt mich da schon mehr und motiviert mich zum Weiterlesen. Außerdem habe ich Band 2 und 3 ohnehin schon im Regal stehen.

Also ein solides, erstes Buch mit teilweise zu vielen Ausschweifungen und Insta-Love. Ich hoffe Teil 2 knüpft an den guten Dingen von ›Daughter of Smoke and Bone‹ an.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. März 2012
Karou is a 17-year-old girl who leads a double life. At first glance, she is an ordinary if somewhat eccentric student at an art academy in Prague. Unknown to most, however, she was raised by fantasy creatures who live in a parallel universe behind a secret portal, and she moves between these two worlds to complete mysterious errands for the half-human monsters who are her family. Even Karou herself does not know how she came to be raised by these creatures, or what their secret missions are about. However, when one day she is attacked by a beautiful but fierce angel on one of her missions, she suddenly finds herself in the middle of a full-blown war between two nations of mystical beings that she didn't even know existed. Slowly and painfully she learns the secrets of her origins and heritage...

This novel is classified as fantasy for young adults, but it is enjoyable for older readers too. I particularly appreciated the suspenseful way in which the reader, together with Karou, is kept guessing at what exactly is going on, and the clever resolution of the mystery towards the end. The second half of the book contained a little too much teenage romance for my taste, a little too much talk of love and beauty and longing etc. But overall I still really enjoyed the book, and I'm sure I will read the sequel (which is clearly planned).
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. August 2015
Ich, eigentlich kein Fan allzu dick aufgetragenen Fantasy-Schwulsts bin fast zufällig auf dieses Werk gestoßen. Angelockt durch den geheimnisumwobenen Titel ( die deutsche Übersetzung bitte vergessen ;-) ) und den günstigen Preis der kindle-Ausgabe habe ich mich nach längerer Fantasy-Abstinenz mal wieder an ein solches Werk getraut. Verfasst in anspruchsvollem Englisch entführt Laini Taylor den Leser in das winterlich verschneite Prag und eine ganz andere Welt, die hinter Pforten lauert. Tatsächlich ist dieser Fantasy-Wälzer irgendwo zwischen "Pans-Labyrinth" und "Twilight" anzusiedeln, allerdings ohne unlogisches Vampir-Geglitzer. Ich muss zugeben seit langen war ich wirklich wieder fasziniert von einer Geschichte dieses Genres. Könnte daran liegen, dass mich meine Englisch-Kenntnisse verlassen haben und ich die Geschichte falsch verstanden habe, könnte aber auch daran liegen, dass Laini Taylor da etwas ganz besonderes aufs Papier gezaubert hat ;-).
Die für das Fantasy-Genre so nervige Konstruiertheit ist in "Daughter of Smoke and Bone" kaum spürbar. Stattdessen wirkt die Geschichte trotz pompöser Erscheinungen und der Liebesbeziehung beider Hauptprotagonisten seltsam urtümlich und echt , wie eine uralte Sage, die bereits seit Jahrhunderten existiert. Der klassisch anmutende, sehr umschreibende Stil der Autorin wird durch einige "Once upon a time..." -Sequenzen noch unterstützt, was den Märchen/Sagen-Charakter der Story noch zusätzlich unterstreicht. Das macht "Daughter of Smoke and Bone" zu einem Juwel seines Genres.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Juni 2014
Meine Meinung:
Ich habe dieses Buch bisher "nur" zweimal auf Deutsch gelesen und das vor einigen Jahren. Da es zu einem meiner Lieblingsbücher gehört, dachte ich, dass ich es mir auch ein drittes Mal gönnen kann. Dieses Mal dann aber auf Englisch. Dass ich ein Buch mehrmals lese, das gleicht eigentlich einem Wunder. Warum ich dieses Buch gleich dreimal gelesen habe, das erläutere ich in dieser Liebeserklärung Rezension.

Karou ist eine tolle Protagonistin. Endlich mal ein Mädchen, dass auch unabhängig von ihrem Love Interesst Entscheidungen treffen kann. Dass sie ein Charakter mit einer eigenen Persönlichkeit ist, zeigt sich dadurch, dass sie ohne die Hilfe von anderen sich selber helfen kann. Es gibt keine einzige Stelle im Buch, in dem sie mich aufgeregt hätte. Ihr Verhalten ist stets begründet und auch im Alleingang treibt sie die Handlung voran, so wie es eine gute Protagonistin auch tun sollte.

Akiva ist der Love Interesst und der männliche Protagonist. Er ist keiner dieser Spielchen-Typen, dass er sie mag und sich zu ihr hingezogenfühlt, verschleiert er in keiner Szene. Anders viele seiner Artgenossen hat er Schuldgefühle und innere Konflikte, die sehr interessant zu beobachten waren.
Wenn man Glück hat, trifft man auf einige interessante Charaktere in Büchern. In diesem Buch sind alle Charaktere interessant. Das liegt daran, dass jeder einzelne Charakter eine eigene Geschichte hat. Jeder lebt sein eigenes Leben und dient nicht nur dazu, die Handlung voranzutreiben, wenn die Protagonisten mal auf der Leitung stehen. Die Nebencharaktere sind so bezaubernd, dass ich am liebsten ein ganzes Buch über jeden von ihnen lesen würde. Angefangen mit der quirligen Zuzanna, mit Issa, Izil und mein Lieblingsnebencharakter Brimstone.

Was kann man von einem Buch erwarten, wenn man liest, dass es darin um Chimären, Engel und Portale geht? Auf dem ersten Blick passen diese Zutaten nicht richtig zusammen, aber sobald man das Buch aufschlägt und anfängt zu lesen, wird man in diese Welt hineingezogen.
Zu viel will ich nicht verraten, denn das würde nur den Zauber zunichte machen und das möchte ich niemandem antun. Es reicht zu sagen, dass man aus der Welt, die Laini Taylor erschaffen hat, gar nicht mehr auftauchen mag.

Die Handlung ist immer spannend. Es passiert ständig etwas, dabei muss es nicht immer explossiv und Hardcore-Hollywood-Action sein. Subtile Spannung zieht sich durch das ganze Buch. Man fühlt sich weder durch die Seiten gehetzt, noch kommt Langatmigkeit auf. Am Ende setzten sich die Puzzelteile zu einem großen Ganzen zusammen, das einem die Luft zum Atmen nimmt, einen bezaubert und gleichzeitig auch neue Fragen aufwirft.

Das Buch besticht durch seine Schönheit. Durch seine innere und seine äußere Schönheit.
Laini Taylor schreibt so, als würde sie die Geschichte mit Glitzerfäden um den Leser herumweben. Einige Sätze gleichen Poesie, die Metaphern sind so ungewöhnlich und herzzerbrechend schön, dass ich auch beim dritten Lesen Gänsehaut hatte und seufzen musste. Obwohl sie so schreibt, dass man sich so fühlt, als wäre man in dem Buch, übertreibt sie es kein einziges Mal. Sie verliert sich nicht in Beschreibungen, wie so manch einer. Jede Beschreibung dient einem Zweck und ist mit Handlung verbunden, weshalb keine Langatmigkeit oder Langeweile beim Leser ankommen.
Etwas ganz Besonderes, was dieses Buch hat, sind die Botschaften, die mitschwingen, ohne dass sie belehrend wirken.Während in den meisten Büchern die Guten wunderschön aussehen und die Bösen nicht so schön, bricht Laini Taylor hier mit dem Irrglauben, dass Schönheit gleich Gutsein bedeutet.
Sehr schön ist auch, wie man Völkerhass und Krieg betrachtet. Hier wird nicht einfach nur behauptet, dass Völkerhass und Krieg schlecht sind. Vielmehr wird dem Leser gezeigt, weshalb sie schlecht sind. So wird dem Leser die Freiheit gewährt, sich seine eigenen Gedanken zu machen.

In der Kürze liegt die Würze:
Kennt ihr diese Bücher, die ihr lest und hinterher denkt, dass der Autor euch in die Seele geschaut hat und dann ein Buch geschrieben hat? Dieses Buch ist eines dieser wenigen, die einem dieses Gefühl geben.

Bewertung:
Man kann wohl mit Fug und Recht behaupten, dass der erste Band der Trilogie sehr viel erklärt. Man wird als Leser in die mystische Welt von Karou und Akiva eingeführt. Die Grenzen zwischen der realen und der anderen Welt sind so fließend, dass man als Leser sich heimisch in diesem Buch fühlt.
Chimären, Engel, Prag, Marakesch. Alles fühlt sich so unglaublich real, frisch und unverbraucht an.
Das Rad kann man nicht neu erfinden, aber Laini Taylor zeigt mit Daughter of Smoke and Bone, dass man mit bekannten Zutaten auch ein anderes und ungewöhnlich tolles Gericht zubereiten kann. Wenn am Ende all die losen Enden sich verbinden und alles einen Sinn ergibt, grenzt das Erlebnis einer Offenbarung.
Hut ab, Mrs. Taylor, fünf Herzchen reichen für diesen Lesegenuss nicht aus.

Das Buch könnt ihr getrost auf Englisch lesen. Einige Wörter müssten nachgeschlagen werden, jedoch sind das wirklich nicht viele und die Schreibweise der Autorin ist im Originalen unschlagbar.
Ja, ich weiß, dass ich total ins Schwärmen geraten bin.

Fun Fact:
In der Kurzgeschichte Night of Cake and Puppets geht es um Karous beste Freundin Zuzanna.
Die Kurzgeschichte sollte man nach dem zweiten Band lesen und bisher ist sie nicht auf Deutsch erhältlich.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Februar 2015
I absolutely adored this book. It was quirky and dark, fantasy but still so realistic when it comes to people's feelings and motivations. Taylor has a way of describing the atmosphere that makes you feel like you are right there with the protagonists.

I have to say that the end kind of ruined it for me. It was just so dark, so painful in a way, that I had to force myself to continue reading the second part of the trilogy. I still haven't finished it, but I will, I'm just waiting for the right mood to deal with it.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. August 2013
Vom Buch an sich war ich etwas überrascht, für 7,50€ hatte ich nicht so ein großes hübsches Taschenbuch erwartet. Von der Ausführung echt super schön ^^
Beim lesen habe ich das Buch förmlich verschlungen. Die Charaktere sind so toll beschrieben, dass ich sie mir alle lebhaft vorstellen konnte. Vorallem Karou ist mir sehr schnell ans Herz gewachsen ^^
Da störte es mich dann auch nicht, dass es das typische Gut und Böse verlieben sich ineinander, unmögliche Liebe Thema aufgegriffen wurde. Das liegt aber auch daran, dass die Welten, in denen die Geschichte spielt gut ausgearbeitet scheinen.
Allerdings je häufiger Rückblenden kamen, desto genervter wurde ich. Etwa das letzte Drittel des Buches besteht nur aus wirr durcheinander gewürfelten Rückblenden bzw. Szenen, sodass es echt anstrengend wurde zu folgen. Die große Rückblende an sich ist nötig für die Storyline, aber vielleicht hätte man die Szenen an sich chronologischer gestalten können.
Da ich das Buch trotz meiner Irritation wegen mangelnder Chronologie nicht aus der Hand legen konnte und auch unbedingt den nächsten Band lesen will, nur ein Stern Abzug.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. Januar 2012
I bought the book because of the fantastic review it got at the Review-Blog "All things urban fantasy.com". Since Abigail and Julie never fail me when recommending a book [or dismissing one btw], I did not even check any other reviews, since they gave the book five out of five stars.

And: good thing I read it! I started "Daughter of Smoke an Bone" yesterday morning and could not stop reading until I had it finished late last night. Wow, what a fantastic, wonderful and unique story!

The story revolves around Karou, a 17-year-old girl that is studying art in Prague and suffers from a heartbreak, since she just had to break up with her cheating boyfriend.
It takes only a few pages that the reader notices that there is something odd about Karou [besides her name]. Her hair grows out blue, she works as an errand-girl for very strange creatures, the chimeara. These chimeara look a lot of what I imagine demons oder devils to look like and the trade they're in is creepy: the sell whishes. For teeth. Yes. Teeth. And Karou is not only working for the chimeara, she was raised by them, in the shop where the whishes are sold for teeth - and that is located at the border of the human world and "elsewhere".

There are a lot of questions concerning Karou and the chimeara. First of all: why was she raised there, why by the chimeara, where exactly is that shop, who are her parents and where are they now?
All of these questions are answered during the course of the story - and some of the answers are heart-wrenching in the end.

The "heart-wrenching part" of course has something to do with the other main character, Akiva. He is an angel - and since the chimeara and the angels are sworn enemies and Karou is closely associated with the chimeara [don't forget: they're the only family she ever knew], Akiva an Karou are enemies whether they want to or not. And they don't. They fall in love and this love [and the struggle against it] is believable and I loved every minute of it.

Angels, chimeara, star-crossed-love: this story could have become predictable, but it did not. The world-building is unique [and I read a lot of urban fantasy, dark fantasy, YA, Paranormal romance, even high fantasy - you name it...] and there is no easy equation like "Angel = all shiny and good" and "Chimeara = all ugly and evil". None of these two peoples can claim being thoroughly good, I even think the angels were committing crueler deads, than the chimeara, but best judge for yourselves. And as there is no clear tagging of the "good" oder "evil"-label, there is no such thing as the right side - and best thing of all: allthough Ms. Taylor gives us a very good explanation how the human religion came to pass, there is nothing "bible-related", nothing like the christian believes or any of the other book-religions.
As for the star-crossed love: I just loved Karou and Akiva both and I related to them throughout the story. Karou is neither the "conquer-all-and-never-fear"-heroine, nor is she the damsel in distress, but she actually behaves like a witty and above all "real" person, who makes believable and thought-through-decisions.
And no, Akiva is no hero. He is a warrior and did a lot of unbelievable, even atrocious things [as did his people] - and some that are hard, if ever, to forgive. And I liked it that there is a really good reason for these two being "star-crossed", not some superficial, made-up and hard-to-believe reason as you can find really often in YA.

Besides, the writing is good, the pace keeps your heart pounding and you'll die to get to know the answers to all the open questions. And you won't be disappointed. Another thing I liked aboout the book are the secondary characters. These do often kind of stay "flat" in other books that revolve around a couple. This is not the case here. The chimeara, Karous friends [allthough she has little] and even the enemies, are well described. They feel like real persons, not just so extras.

This is the first book in a trilogy [next book "Days of Blood and Starlight", coming in fall 2012 as far as I know] and I really can't wait to get my hands on it.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. März 2012
I never intended to read DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE in the first place. Now I'm so glad Hodder & Stoughton sent me a copy and made me pick this book up. I read it in only a few days and it totally rocked my holidays.

~ It's Magic ~

"Hope can be a powerful force. Maybe there's no actual magic in it, but when you know what you hope for most and hold it like a light within you, you can make things happen, almost like magic"

The story around protagonist Karou is set in many places. The larger part of DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE takes place in atmospheric and cultural Prague. But magical portals allow Karou to travel to places all over the world like Paris or Marrakesh. Author Laini Taylor did such a fantastic job describing all the different cities, I could almost feel my feet wandering the Charles bridge in Prague and smell the foreign spices in Marrakesh. It's incredible how many places and worlds we get to discover!

~ Some hot stuff ~

"Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love. It did not end well."

Now meet Karou, blue-haired heroine extraordinaire. She's a tough and talented young woman who loves to draw and has still so much to discover about her past. I immediately cared about her. Karou's got a talent to draw so vividly you'd think her motifs of humans with animal limbs and heads were real. For Karou they are. Every time she goes through that special door, she'll get to a place called Elsewhere, where her family made up of otherworldly beings lives. And this magical place is just the entrance to a world larger than any human being could imagine.

The moment Karou meets stranger Akiva is intense. They have a special relationship, which can be described by so many various feelings, old and new to both of them, and I loved to see how they became more intimate and sure over the course of the story. Akiva is some hot stuff!

There are so many other characters introduced to us and every single one of them felt really authentic and alive to me with their unique personalities and histories.

Behind the story lies a war that is as ancient as the two races involved themselves. I'd love to gush about the beings Laini Taylor chose to build the story of DAUGHER OF SMOKE AND BONE around, but I don't want to ruin the fun of discovering their secrets and origins yourselves.
I knew so little about this book at first and was surprised of how much it had to offer in the end. I enjoyed the journey pretty much. And you won't be disappointed either!

~ The creation ~

"Happiness. It was the place where passion, with all its dazzle and drumbeat, met something softer: homecoming and safety and pure sunbeam comfort. It was all those things, intertwined with the heat and the thrill, and it was as bright within her as a swallowed star."

Laini Taylor achieved to create a gigantic story background and a wonderful world construct filled with so many colourful characters and places that simply captivate your mind. With each page Laini Taylor reveals a historical background to our character cast that really got to me. It's so beautiful and cruel at the same time. Every single detail fits perfectly and contributes to a wonderful story. Taylor's writing is hyper-engaging. She writes with wit, fun and always seems to find the right amount of words to make a scene lively and relevant.

The story is told from a 3rd person narrator and follows Karou and Akiva among others. The headlines are all made up of words or elements that are a significant part of each chapter. Each chapter offers a pleasant page count and you'll definitely have to mark a few of the sixty chapters as your favourites.

~ A much loved fairy tale blockbuster ~

"Oh, Hell. Must. Mate. Immediately."

DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE feels like a much loved fairy tale of your childhood and at the same time like this very exclusive and exquisitely hot and action-packed blockbuster.

THE VERDICT

DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE is a complexly constructed story, which consists of many layers of history and action. It's so much fun exploring them. Laini Taylor created a world of wishes, mysteries and magic. Find out which role dozens of teeth and smoke play in it!
I haven't read a book that captivated me as much as DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE in a long time. You'll love it!
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden