Es wird kein Kindle Gerät benötigt. Laden Sie eine der kostenlosen Kindle Apps herunter und beginnen Sie, Kindle-Bücher auf Ihrem Smartphone, Tablet und Computer zu lesen.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Geben Sie Ihre Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Kindle-Preis: EUR 3,99
inkl. MwSt.
Kindle Unlimited-Logo
Lesen Sie diesen Titel kostenfrei. Weitere Informationen
Kostenlos lesen
ODER

Diese Aktionen werden auf diesen Artikel angewendet:

Einige Angebote können miteinander kombiniert werden, andere nicht. Für mehr Details lesen Sie bitte die Nutzungsbedingungen der jeweiligen Promotion.

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

Facebook Twitter Pinterest <Einbetten>
CyberStorm (English Edition) von [Mather, Matthew]
Anzeige für Kindle-App

CyberStorm (English Edition) Kindle Edition

4.4 von 5 Sternen 11 Kundenrezensionen

Alle 8 Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Preis
Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 3,99
MP3 CD
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 30,08

Länge: 358 Seiten Word Wise: Aktiviert Verbesserter Schriftsatz: Aktiviert
PageFlip: Aktiviert Sprache: Englisch

Exklusive englische eBooks unter 2 EUR
Entdecken Sie unsere Auswahl an englischen eBooks aus verschiedenen Genres und Aktionen.

Produktbeschreibungen

Kurzbeschreibung

The MILLION-COPY, award-winning saga of a massive terror attack destroying New York, in terrifying and realistic detail, and one family's struggle to survive.

With 20th Century Fox now developing for film, CyberStorm is a fresh new brand of thriller for fans of Tom Clancy, Brad Thor, James Patterson and Lee Child.

"I couldn't put it down...shows how dangerous our transition to an interconnected infrastructure has become." - Karic Allega, Joint Military Cyber Command, US NAVY
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
THE CITY THAT NEVER SLEEPS GOES BLACK IN THE DEAD OF WINTER...

A TERRIFYING MYSTERY BEGINS, MILLIONS MUST FIGHT TO SURVIVE...

BUT WHO IS THE ENEMY? WILL THEY STRIKE AGAIN?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mike Mitchell is an average New Yorker struggling just to keep his family together when a string of disasters shreds the bustling megacity around them.

The Internet and communication networks go down...a deadly viral epidemic rages across the country...then a monster snowstorm cuts New York off from the world.

DAYS GO BY... THEN WEEKS.

MURDER AND VIGILANTE JUSTICE REPLACE LAW AND ORDER.

MILLIONS ARE TRAPPED. CAN HIS FAMILY SURVIVE?


In the chaos, conspiracy theories rage about a foreign cyberattack--that this might be the first shockwave of a colossal global shift in power--but even this becomes unimportant as Mike and his family struggle for survival in the wintry tomb of a doomed New York.

FROM THE BACK COVER

Matthew Mather is a leading cybersecurity expert who regularly presented in Washington (DC) to the Department of Homeland Security, FBI, and CIA, and who began his career at the at the McGill Center for Intelligent Machines. He now works as a full-time author of speculative fiction.

Translated in twenty three countries, CyberStorm is a worldwide bestseller, a new apocalyptic disaster classic in the spirit of On the Beach, Alas Babylon, One Second After, Lucifer's Hammer and Pandemic that will appeal to fans of A.G. Riddle, William Forstchen, David Brin, Nevil Shute, Hugh Howey and Douglas Richards.

Millions of readers voted CyberStorm into the Top 20 of its category on Goodreads, and has ranked as the NUMBER ONE BEST SELLER in Amazon's technothrillers, conspiracy, military, post-apocalyptic, dystopian, terrorism, and science fiction categories.

Über den Autor und weitere Mitwirkende

Matthew is the best-selling author of CyberStorm and the six-part hit series Atopia Chronicles. He's also a leading member of the world's cybersecurity community who started out his career working at the McGill Center for Intelligent Machines. He went on to found one of the world's first tactile feedback companies, which became the world leader in its field, as well as creating a major award-winning brain training video game. In between he's worked in a variety of start-ups,everything from computational nanotechnology to electronic health records, weather prediction systems to genomics, and even social intelligence research. He spends his time between Charlotte, NC, and Montreal, QC, hanging out with his bright and beautiful girlfriend Julie and their three dogs and a cat that thinks he's one.

Produktinformation

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Dateigröße: 1134 KB
  • Seitenzahl der Print-Ausgabe: 358 Seiten
  • ISBN-Quelle für Seitenzahl: 0991677196
  • Gleichzeitige Verwendung von Geräten: Keine Einschränkung
  • Verlag: Matthew Mather ULC (15. März 2013)
  • Verkauf durch: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • ASIN: B00BT4QRHG
  • Text-to-Speech (Vorlesemodus): Aktiviert
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Aktiviert
  • Screenreader: Unterstützt
  • Verbesserter Schriftsatz: Aktiviert
  • Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung: 4.4 von 5 Sternen 11 Kundenrezensionen
  • Amazon Bestseller-Rang: #59.914 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop (Siehe Top 100 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop)

  •  Ist der Verkauf dieses Produkts für Sie nicht akzeptabel?

Kundenrezensionen

4.4 von 5 Sternen
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel

Top-Kundenrezensionen

Format: Kindle Edition
I don’t know where to start in reviewing this book.
At first I was struck by the characterization. The author manages to make you feel in the shoes of the main character while he is living a terrifying drama with his family (his wife, with whom he has problems, and son) and his neighbours. A cyber terror attack completely blocks internet, causing the failure of basic services in Manhattan (electricity, water, etc ...). This is done in conjunction with a terrible snowstorm. The population is stuck in a city where everything stops working and is likely to freeze to death or starve in a short time. Added to this is isolation, because nobody knows if the same is happening elsewhere, if the world that everyone knows is really finished. The atmosphere is post-apocalyptic, with desperate humans who don’t hesitate to kill for a bit of food or fuel, others getting even to cannibalism.
The author chooses the limited perspective of the main character, Mike Mitchell, who is just an ordinary person trying to survive. His adventures are distressing. You suffer with him, wondering what will happen in the next page.
I liked all that, but only up to a certain point. Yes, because this continuous persevering of the author in worsening the situation of the protagonist becomes tiring. I had hoped that at some point the protagonist was somehow involved in the resolution of the story, but it isn’t what happens. Unaware of what is really happening in the world, Mike lives his human drama with increasing desperation, which is transmitted to the reader, and then suddenly it all ends, without him having any merit and with a resolution that leaves quite a few questions unanswered.
Lesen Sie weiter... ›
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Format: Taschenbuch
As our lives and interactions are increasingly based in and around the online world, a whole different level of security and safety concerns opens up. We have been living with the threat of computer viruses and identity theft for quite some time, but in recent years the sophistication and the reach of “cyber” threats has increased dramatically. It is not hard to imagine that at some point a malicious government with the right kind of know-how, or a very resourceful and malicious non-governmental organization might launch a devastating online attack that can cripple or seriously damage much of the important infrastructure in the US and the rest of the developed world. In fact, as many of the recent newspaper headlines can testify, NSA and many other high-level security agencies take this kind of threat very, very seriously.

In CyberStorm Mathew Mather makes a very detailed and gripping thought-experiment in which he imagines what would really happen if a very devastating computer attack were in fact to happen. He weaves a gripping and persuasive narrative around a group of families living in Manhattan. (For some reason all the worst disasters in fiction always hit Manhattan.) The story follows day-by-day events and paints a very painful picture of the deterioration of all civilized behavior and norms of conduct in the face of such a devastating catastrophe. Some parts of the book have a feel of an episode of The Walking Dead, a scene from The Road, or any number of other post-apocalyptic movies or novels. Nonetheless, CyberStorm is very unique in terms of its subject matter, especially of the details concerning the workings of the technological infrastructure on which we depend.
Lesen Sie weiter... ›
Kommentar Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Format: Kindle Edition Verifizierter Kauf
Cyberstorm is a prequel to Matthew Mather's "Atopia Chronicles", and a haunting description of what would happen in case of a cyber attack - all systems failing one by one. First, we only see some issues with our direct internet connections, then the infrastructure gets hit: supermarket checkout counters stop working, ATMs as well, TV feeds are failing, power goes down, and so on.... To make things worse, the protagonists of the story live in New York, and it is around Christmas, just in time for blizzard season. Initially, people huddle together and share, and even help each other, but as resources get scarce, they start the slow descent from human to animals that just want to survive.
The strength of Cyberstorm is how believeable and immersive it is. The world it starts in is our world, today, and we can find ourselves in these character's daily lives, and wonder what we would do if this kind of disaster happened in our hometowns. The characters in the book are three-dimensional and likeable, and we start to feel their fears, their dwindling hope and their desparation. In that regard, it is a magnificent book.
Personally, I expected a bit more Science Fiction and a little less drama/survival thriller...but still, the book gripped me from the first page, and was overall a great read.
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Format: Kindle Edition Verifizierter Kauf
Chilling in it s far going dimension of living through a devastating catastrophe. One of those not being able to put down books. Very well written and captivating. Draws you in and has you living in it with our heros all along the way. And soon you start wondering how ill prepared you are if that kind of end of the world scenario would drop in you...
Marvellously done.
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden

Die neuesten Kundenrezensionen

click to open popover