Es wird kein Kindle Gerät benötigt. Laden Sie eine der kostenlosen Kindle Apps herunter und beginnen Sie, Kindle-Bücher auf Ihrem Smartphone, Tablet und Computer zu lesen.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Geben Sie Ihre Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Kindle-Preis: EUR 3,09
inkl. MwSt.

Diese Aktionen werden auf diesen Artikel angewendet:

Einige Angebote können miteinander kombiniert werden, andere nicht. Für mehr Details lesen Sie bitte die Nutzungsbedingungen der jeweiligen Promotion.

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

An Ihren Kindle oder ein anderes Gerät senden

Facebook Twitter Pinterest <Einbetten>
Crossroads Road: A Novel (English Edition) von [Kay, Jeff]
Anzeige für Kindle-App

Crossroads Road: A Novel (English Edition) Kindle Edition


Alle Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Preis
Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 3,09

Länge: 264 Seiten Word Wise: Aktiviert Verbesserter Schriftsatz: Aktiviert
PageFlip: Aktiviert Sprache: Englisch

Kindle Storyteller 2016: Der Deutsche Self Publishing Award
Kindle Storyteller 2016: Der Deutsche Self Publishing Award
Von 15. Juni bis 15. September Buch hochladen und tollen Preis gewinnen Jetzt entdecken

Produktbeschreibungen

Kurzbeschreibung

Jovis McIntire's quiet life in the suburbs is turned upside down the day his mother-in-law wins $234 million in a multi-state lottery. She quickly makes an identical offer to all her children and their families: a large, custom-built home, and two million dollars cash.

But there's a catch, a nasty hook hidden inside the bait. If the deal is accepted, they will be required to live together on a newly-created cul-de-sac in southern California, for the remainder of the matriarch's life — a woman Jovis sarcastically calls Sunshine.

Not a chance!

And that would only be the beginning of it, he knows. The rest of his wife's family is no prize, either. Nancy the bohemian earth child with organic, free-range armpits, Kevin the pompous scarf-wearing intellectual, Sue the 400-pound attention junkie who throws herself down flights of stairs for sympathy… Jovis sees them all as kooks, in one way or another, and they want him to live amongst them? Not for a million bucks! Or two million, even.

But his defiance begins to fade when Jovis returns to his job, and realizes he's now there by choice.

Crossroads Road is the first novel by Jeff Kay, proprietor of the popular humor site The West Virginia Surf Report! It is a rollicking comedy, perfect for fans of National Lampoon's Vacation, Curb Your Enthusiasm, and It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia.

An early reader called the book "relentlessly hilarious."

Produktinformation

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Dateigröße: 567 KB
  • Seitenzahl der Print-Ausgabe: 264 Seiten
  • Gleichzeitige Verwendung von Geräten: Keine Einschränkung
  • Verlag: Smoking Fish Media (28. März 2011)
  • Verkauf durch: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • ASIN: B004UC538I
  • Text-to-Speech (Vorlesemodus): Aktiviert
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Aktiviert
  • Verbesserter Schriftsatz: Aktiviert
  • Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung: Schreiben Sie die erste Bewertung
  • Amazon Bestseller-Rang: #1.413.009 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop (Siehe Top 100 Bezahlt in Kindle-Shop)

  •  Ist der Verkauf dieses Produkts für Sie nicht akzeptabel?

Kundenrezensionen

Es gibt noch keine Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.de
5 Sterne
4 Sterne
3 Sterne
2 Sterne
1 Stern

Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen auf Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.2 von 5 Sternen 183 Rezensionen
37 von 38 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Who Doesn't want to Win The Lotto? 4. September 2011
Von Judi Coltman - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verifizierter Kauf
I just finished Kay's CrossRoads Road. I want to say upfront, that while 3 stars may seem a meager endorsement, it is not. The characters in Kay's book are frighteningly well written, unlovable and at the same time endearing. I certainly could relate to the odd family dynamics and that's what makes the book fun. It's like watching a trainwreck with the commentator of Saturday Night Live's news.

The premise, to get a fist full of cash and change his life, Jovis and family must heed the requirements put forth by his mother-in-law. Part of me wanted to just yell, "Run Away!" but who runs from 2 mil right? Kay expounds on the day-to-day activities of setting up life, with all of the nonsense it entails and he does it well. When he and his son travel a distance to help his sis-in-law and her spouse move, I was there feeling his frustration at their complete lack of urgency which translated into total selfishness. I know those people.

What I found lacking, however, was a decent sewing up of characters and scenarios. Perhaps that was his intent, but it bugged me. The ending seemed a little too outlandish and the second to last chapter seemed completely out of place. I felt myself asking questions that needed answers but were instead glossed over in an effort to move on.

Would I suggest it to others? Yes. Would it make a good movie? I think perhaps. I've read some incredible books in my life that merit 5 stars and 4, this stands as a solid 3 +
36 von 40 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Fantastic First Novel from a one-handed hair whipper 30. März 2011
Von John H. - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verifizierter Kauf
Jeff Kay has already been entertaining multitudes on the web with his website "The West Virginia Surf Report". And now he has created the kind of novel that his fans would expect. Funny and full of well turned phrases that will soon be creeping into your vocabulary, like yard biscuits, translucent, doucheketeer, and involuntary power sodomy.

I am so glad I found Jeff Kay on the web and now his terrific book.

I read it on the Kindle, wotta deal!
24 von 26 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Laugh Out Loud Read 31. März 2011
Von Terri - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verifizierter Kauf
Jeff creates a great cast of characters and shows how family and money don't always mix. Read this book straight through and recommend to anyone that wants to have a good laugh.
15 von 16 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Very funny but a little thin in spots 9. November 2011
Von RTCnME - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Taschenbuch Verifizierter Kauf
I've been following Jeff Kay's West Virginia Surf Report for a few years and am an artist myself, so when he published Crossroads Road I certainly wanted to support a fellow creative and hopefully get a few laughs out of it too. On that front Crossroads Road certainly delivers. As always, Kay is wonderful at creating quirky characters who seem to embody every wing-nut and whack-job you have ever encountered in your life. He excels at writing biting dialogue with enough one-liners to keep you laughing through even the most embarrassing or gut wrenching scenarios. BUT, I did feel that reading Crossroads Road was a bit like reading a pilot script for any number of the "edgy" humor oriented TV shows populating the various cable channels these days. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but to me the kind of writing Kay does in this novel seems like he found himself stuck between wanting to expand what he does in his blog, but not quite having the depth and breadth to really create a stand alone humor novel. I think he has the chops to do it, but maybe in wanting to get the book published and out in front of readers, he rushed the development a bit. Still, you could easily see this cast of characters returning for another wacky adventure, and perhaps if Kay were to develop a series that would allow him to delve deeper into each individual character (as pleasant or unpleasant as that could be!) he might be able to give them some real depth. Still, a solid first effort with some genuine laugh-out-loud moments. I'm looking forward to what he does next.
22 von 25 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Humor, not much else..... 23. April 2012
Von Kathy - Veröffentlicht auf Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verifizierter Kauf
Sigh...so many problems with this book. First off, I gave it 2 stars for the humor. I did find myself laughing out loud a few times but mostly I was frustrated with the main character.

Spoilers to come - First off, what kind of idiot gives 6 months notice at a job these days? Many company's will ask you to leave after 2 weeks because they know your loyalty lies elsewhere now. Wait until 2 weeks next time. Second, how can your realtor sell your house out from under you when she didn't even bring you an offer to accept or refuse and why would you sign a contract to sell your home immediately when you're not leaving for 6 months? Third, if you knew your relatives were annoying and the house you were getting wasn't going to be ready for 6 months, why go out there at all? Why not rent an apartment in your current town, continue your current job and wait then go out when it's ready, get your money then say "screw the house" and leave town with the 2 mil and your sanity?

The main character spent the whole book telling us everyone else was nuts but it was Jovis who was nuts. Now if this was the point of the whole book, I got that pretty quick and didn't need to finish it. This book annoyed me to my very core. I hate wasting time reading about idiots.

Sorry, can't recommend this one.
Waren diese Rezensionen hilfreich? Wir wollen von Ihnen hören.
click to open popover