find Hier klicken Sonderangebote PR CR0917 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Hier Klicken Storyteller Unlimited AmazonMusicUnlimited Fußball longSSs17



Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 21. November 2013
...than in the german books. I discovered a lot of stories which were new for me, because they have been left out in the German translations. Anybody who likes the stories of Herriot should try the english original! It's easy to read (although one needs a little phantasie with the language of the farmers...) and as I said - there are a lot stories which don't come in the German books.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. September 2012
In den frühen 80er Jahren wurde die TV-Serie "All creatures great and small", die auf den unter dem Pseudonym Jems Herriot veröffentlichten Erinnerungen des Landtierarztes James Alfred Wight basiert, auch im deutschen Fernsehen ausgestrahlt. Ich habe "Der Doktor und das liebe Vieh" in bester Erinnerung, und seinerzeit habe ich mir auch die literarische Vorlage zugelegt - zumindest in Teilen, und einer davon, der Sammelband "All things bright and beautiful", ist mir kürzlich wieder in die Hände gefallen.

Das Erstaunliche: Selbst mit dem Abstand langer Jahre, die sowohl seit der letzten Ausstrahlung der TV-Serie als auch meiner letzten Lektüre ins Land gegangen sind, war mir der Inhalt vieler der kurzen, anekdotenhaften Geschichten sehr präsent - insbesondere Herriots Erlebnisse mit einem ebenso genialen wie unverwüstlichen Kollegen, dem auf Kleintiere spezialisierten Arzt Granville Bennett, sind mir offensichtlich so unvergesslich geblieben, dass mir beim Lesen sowohl Bilder aus der Serie als auch bestimmte Wendungen der Erzählungen wieder eingefallen sind.

Zum Teil liegt das sicher daran, dass Herriot einfach ein begnadeter Erzähler ist. Seine schnörkellose, unverstellte Prosa macht "All things bright and beautiful" deshalb nicht zuletzt zu einer guten Leseempfehlung für alle, die ihr mehr oder minder eingerostetes Schulenglisch ein wenig aufpolieren möchten. Zudem ist die Länge der einzelnen Kapitel sehr überschaubar - Herriots mit erkennbarer Liebe zu seinem Beruf sowie mit viel Mutterwitz und Wohlwollen für die von ihm beschriebenen Charaktere zu Papier gebrachten, Erinnerungen sind perfekte Unterhaltungsliteratur für einen kurzweiligen Abend auf dem Sofa, an dem die Flimmerkiste einfach mal ausbleiben soll, für lange Bahnfahrten oder für den Urlaub. Die Welt, die Herriot schildert, mag nicht heil sein, aber Herriots versöhnlicher, warmherziger Blick und sein hintersinniger Humor lassen das oft genug vergessen.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Juni 2000
This was the first book of James Herriott's that I read, and I just couldn't put it down. I was so caught up in the story, it transported me to Yorkshire in the'60's. He is a master story teller, the story becomes alive, it makes you laugh and warms your heart. I could imagine all the characters in the book, what they may have looked like, their mannerisms, voice. I have read it over and over more than 10 times. It is both humourous and heartwarming and one of the most interesting books I have ever read.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. November 1998
I found this book to be a very easy read, and would recommend it to anybody that reads at the fourth grade level or higher. The Scottish author, James Herriot, describes his life as a newly hired veterinarian, in pre-WWII England. He shares with readers his experiences in handling distressed animals, their owners and caretakers, the business of being a veterinarian, and the successes and failures of love and life.
His descriptions of the situations he was in, were right on. Being British, and the grandson of a blacksmith, I could easily picture in my mind what kind of weather he was experiencing, or how dark a barn, byer, or piggery might be. His characterizations of the local farmers and townspeople were great, and he met some really interesting people!
The book left me with a new respect for what life was like for people in the days when life seemed so much simpler than what it is today. I have just started "All Things Bright and Beautiful", and look forward to completing it, and the rest of Herriot's books in the future.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. Juni 1998
Monique Gammon Sunnyvale C.A. 6/5/98 The book All Creatures Great and smallby James herriot was not my first pick. Infact it was my last choice but because ai was absent on the day my class handed them out I was stuck with it. My first impression was "Great now I have to read this fat old thick book" I wasn't to happy. But, after reading the second chapter I started to enjoy it. By the middle of the book I couldn't put it down. What I enjoyed most about it was the love story and the struggle Mr. Herriot had with his boss. For a person that dosen't enjoy reading this probebley wouldn't be the best book for you. It is a realy good book with ggreat stories. One sujestion to you is to organize your time so you don't end up breadig the whole book in one week. Because if you do that you won't get the full affect of the book. PS."Try not to judge a book by it's thickness" The movie Titanic was a long movie but a great one at the sametime.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. April 2000
Rarely will you find a novel which so well captures the essence of real people. This book goes beyond just talking about the life of a country veterinarian in Yorkshire and his cases with all forms of pets. It brings insight into the amazing relationships that people have with their pets, whether they be dogs or cats, or farm animals. We see the true grit of birthing a cow as well as the tender affections that an elderly lady has for her prissy poodle. This book also includes biographical accounts of Mr Herriot's clumsy courting of his future wife and other amusing side adventures; marvelous truths that we see in ourselves. Whether you read this book for the vet's practice, the animals, the people, or all of the above, you will enjoy what has become a treasure around the world.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Dies ist ein Sammelband mit den ersten beiden Büchern, die James Herriot (eigentlich Alf Wight) nach seinen Erinnerungen als Tierarzt im östlichen Yorkshire schrieb. Frisch von der Uni bekommt er immerhin eine Stelle (was damals nicht jedem seiner Kommilitonen gelang), allerdings "ab vom Schuss" und dann scheinbar auch noch bei einem Deutschen, denn sein neuer Chef heißt Siegfried. Besagter Siegfried Farnon stellt sich aber als urenglischer Exzentriker heraus, der Hunde, Pferde und Frauen liebt (ja, etwa in dieser Reihenfolge), einen äußerst bizarren Fahr- und Führungsstil pflegt und zudem eine nicht immer leichte Mischung aus Choleriker und Spaßvogel ist. Für den jungen Assistenten ist er aber der perfekte Lehrmeister, denn ihm gelingt es, die Stärken in seinem neuen Kollegen zu fördern und an seinen Schwächen zu arbeiten. Zudem ist er unbedingt loyal und stellt sich in der ersten Zeit oft schützend zwischen streitlustige Bauern und den jungen Mann aus der Stadt.
Wären die Geschichten rein fiktiv könnte man manches für etwas kitschig halten, aber der Autor spricht, wenn auch mit veränderten Namen und Orten, aus seinem eigenen Erleben. Und dazu gehört auch seine eigene Entwicklung, die neben dem natürlichen Schritt vom unsicheren Anfänger zum selbstbewussten Landtierarzt mit Erfahrung auch tatsächlich eine emotional-spirituelle ist, weil "Herriot" inmitten der urigen Landschaft zu einer Art Pantheismus findet und sich nach anfänglicher Skepsis gegenüber der Einöde von Yorkshire bald immer mal wieder in Lob und Bewunderung über die Schönheit der Schöpfung ergeht. (Dazu passen auch die Bibelzitate der Buchtitel).
Perfekt wird die Schreibe durch den Humor, der das ganze durchzieht und der Tragik und moralische Betrachtungen immer wieder auswiegt. Dazu trägt vor allem die Figur des jüngeren Farnon-Bruder Tristan bei, der wohl einerseits der intelligenteste der drei Männer, aber zugleich auch etwas arbeitsscheu und spaßsüchtig ist.

Ein moderner Klassiker, der hoffentlich nie in Vergessenheit gerät, wenn auch die dazu gehörige TV-Serie heute manchmal etwas altbacken wirken mag.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. April 2000
I recieved this book as a gift then it was first published in the 1970's. I have read it at least five times. Each time I read it I am delighted all over again.
This is an animal lover's delight - but it's much more than that. Follow the young James Herriott as he starts his adventure as a country veterninarian. You feel his pain and joy as he experiences failures and successes. His courtship with his wife-to-be Helen is poignant. Herriott tells it like it is: there's no fancy stuff. Don't let that make you think this is dull. Herriott's descriptions of the landscape and characters make you feel like you're there: the sights and smells he describes tantalize your senses. You can smell the fresh country air, the hearty farm meals, and so much more.
This is a book that will delight young and old alike. Read a chapter and it's a mini-book in itself, or curl up for the long haul. I found it very hard to put down.
You'll be enchanted by Herriott's adventures (and misadventures) and find yourself laughing and crying. Even after 5 reads, I'm ready for another. This stuff never gets old.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. April 2000
I picked this book up one day with no clue as to what it was. After having read it I've concluded that it's the best story that I've read concerning animals (excluding animal farm). It also helped me understand life as a veternarian (at least some fifty years ago!) I've also come to the conclusion that Herriot has created a brilliant novel in his first try that have taken so many others years to complete. Synopsis: A heart-warming true tale of a veternarian named Dr. James Herriot in the late 30s in Yorkshire, England.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Juli 2000
You have probably heard that Herriot is heart-warming, enjoyable, and all that. (It's all true.) But how so? And what is so instructive about it?
Herriot was a small-town veterinarian who practiced for over half a century in Yorkshire, Great Britain. He took notes and remembered stories. He did such a good job of it that he was able to put together half a dozen books of his recollections. The accumulated stories are a delightful account of his efforts to get started in the practice, the whole gamut of farmers and pet owners in his area, and all the little details you normally wouldn't hear about. What a man he must have been to have for a grandfather.
The great unheralded benefit of Herriot's writing, in my view, is for the small businessperson who has a limited number of potential clients and who must win them over to succeed. By seeing how Herriot handled a certain type of customer, one can improve the way one deals with one's own customers. The excellent results he ultimately got while dealing with some very tough customers in difficult situations can show the way and inspire you to greater patience and effort. This, in my view, is the hidden value of Herriot.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden