Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Hier klicken Jetzt informieren PR CR0917 Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Mehr dazu Hier klicken HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Hier Klicken Jetzt bestellen Unlimited AmazonMusicUnlimited BundesligaLive longSSs17



am 25. August 2017
Abigail Barnette (alias Jenny Trout) read „Fifty shades of Grey“ and found it… not so good.
She has said - amongst other things - that it especially fails describing a healthy BDSM-relationship.
The author then wrote a novel on her own, very loosely inspired by FSOG. Yetwith two main characters, Sophie and Neil, who are really into BDSM (he as a Dom and she as a Sub) AND respect each other and each other boundaries. They completely consent in what they do.
There is a scene early in their relationship where he takes her too far with the Dom/Sub thing, yet they actually talk about it and he apologizes like a dozen times.
There are conversations in this novel you seldomly find at all in the romance genre. For instance, they talk about health issues and contraception and not just in three sentences.
Both characters are nice and kind to each other and they have arguments like any other couple, too. Neil, who is not only a very sensual person but also a true gentleman, explains his fascination of dominance to Sophie in a way that even people like me – people who are not into BDSM – can understand it better. As this is an erotic novel, there are several hot scenes in there, and I mean really hot.
What I also liked was the fact that this book has quite a range of diverse characters. Some of them are bisexual, Sophie‘s roommate starts a lesbian relationship and there are people of colour, too.
At one point even object sexuality is mentioned which I have never read about in a novel, so far.
Both Sophie and Neil are complex, interesting characters which also applies to the minor characters, especially Sophie‘s roommate.
At Sophie‘s workplace there is a network of intrigues evolving and the plot is driven by that as well as the romantic story. The novel ends with an open end, yet there is a sequel. As I have gotten quite fond of the characters, I‘ll read that too.
The only thing I didn‘t like about the story was that Neil has too many skills. He isn‘t just super rich and a nice guy, he also speaks half a dozen languages, is extremely well endowed (if you catch my drift), an excellent cook, a magnificent lover and I‘m sure I‘ve forgotten another skill of his. I didn‘t find any flaw in him – unless you count tenacity or bad singing in the shower as one.
Yet apart from that, I really enjoyed the read and I‘m happy for the author that her novel has become a bestseller.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. September 2017
An sich eine spannend geschiebene fesselnde Story mit glaubhaften symphatischen Charakteren. Normalerweise auf jeden Fall 4 Sterne. Was mich allerdings sehr gestört hat, ist das Ende. Das hier ist Teil 1 von 6, und in diesem Fall ein totaler Cliff-Hanger. Etwas das ich nicht sonderlich mag und daher erst gar nicht lese, wenn es - wie es sich meiner Meinung nach gehört - in der Produktbeschreibung erwähnt est. Das gibt Abzug, also nur 3 Sterne von mir.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Januar 2016
The Boss book is written very nicely. The female character - Sophie Scaife - is portrayed as a young, independent and smart woman. I like how the writer described the s/d relationship between Sophie and Neil.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. August 2013
"The Boss" is a gem that might be easily missed in the current flood of books that style themselves, more or less obviously, after "50 Shades of Grey". The twist with this one is, however, that the author read and hated "50 Shades" (see her blog "Sweaters for Days" for hillarious chapter-by-chapter reviews). Barnette takes the basic premise of "50 Shades" - a young woman falls for a rich entrepreneur who is into BDSM - and shows how it could have been made into a great book, without all the mysogynist, abusive, "BDSM is for sick people!" nonsense (not to even mention the poor writing, logical flaws and lacking research) that E.L. James throws at her readers.

Instead, Barnette wrote a gripping novel with a strong, likable heroine who is not ashamed of her own sexuality, and a responsible male lead who respects her boundaries. Some scenes are really hot, some are heart-meltingly sweet, and to round it all off, there is some real conflict which seems neither forced nor over the top. Add to all that the well-researched backdrop of the New York fashion industry, full of luxury, intruigue, and quirky, endearing or douchey artists, and you have a book that simply feels good and that you can't put down. In spite of the luxury, though, Barnette keeps it real: her characters are not photoshopped images of perfection that make the reader feel inadequatehave. They have weaknesses (and bad morning breath) like everyone else, which makes them feel so much more authentic.

In short, "The Boss" is a mature and, for lack of a better word, enlightened contemporary erotic novel with wonderful characters. Anyone old enough to legally read it really should.
0Kommentar| 10 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. September 2013
Ich habe mich aufgrund der allerersten Rezension hier dazu entschieden dieses Buch zu lesen, statt irgendwann doch zu dem schlechten Pendant zu greifen. Die schlechten Kritiken zu Ms. James' Werk haben mich bisher immer davon abgehalten es den vielen anderen Lesern gleich zu tun.

Dieses Buch hat mich bezaubert, gefesselt und bis zum Schluss nicht mehr losgelassen. Die beiden Hauptcharaktere sind stets auf Augenhöhe und sehr sympathisch. Die Erotikszenen sind heiß! Nichts zu finden von frauenfeindlichen und unreifen Interaktionen zwischen Sophie und Neil.
Die Geschichte ist wunderbar entwickelt und erzählt. Auch den 2. Teil, The Girlfriend (The Boss), habe ich bereits verschlungen und hoffe, dass Abigail Barnette/Jennifer Armintrout/Jenny Trout bald den nächsten Teil vollendet!
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. September 2013
As ich den Titel las, dachte ich: okay, wahrscheinlich mal wíeder das alte Boss/Angestellten-Liebesverhältnis mit BDSM und war dann angenehm überrascht wie tief und einfühlsam die Geschichte wurde. Musste dann natürlich auch den Nachfolger " The Girlfriend" lesen. Beides sehr lesenswert. Außerdem sehr aufschlussreich was "submission" angeht. Um einiges mehr und doch realer als "Fifty shades" und dergleichen.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Mai 2014
Kann mich nur den anderen Bewertungen anschließen! Das Buch hat es in sich! Es ist humorvoll und ziemlich heiß, dass hat mich so einige Male zum Schmunzeln gebracht. =) Hat mir persönlich sehr gut gefallen und ist ein super Buch für zwischendurch!
Also kaufen und verschlingen! =)
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Dezember 2014
Eine ungewöhnliche Liebesgeschichte, denn dieses Mal ist der Mann doppelt so alt, wie die Frau also 48 und 24. Es sind beide zwei ehrliche, warmherzige und menschenfreundliche Charaktere, die in ihrem Leben an verschiedenen Entwicklungsstufen stehen. Sie erfreut sich ihrer Unabhängigkeit, er ist zwei mal geschieden und hat sogar eine Tochter in ihrem Alter. Zwischen den beiden Helden gibt es eine starke körperliche wie auch emotionale Anziehungskraft. Aber beide sind so vernünftig, sich keinen unreifen Illusionen hinzugeben, darum wollen sie eine tiefere Beziehung vermeiden. Also lassen sie sich auf eine no-strings-Affäre ein. Man ahnt es schon, es gibt Komplikationen - schöne, peinliche, traurige und spannende...
Das Buch fesselt einen und macht Lust auf mehr. Die anderen drei Teile mußte ich dann doch kaufen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Dezember 2014
Dass es in dem Buch ziemlich heiß hergeht, ist wahrscheinlich jedem klar, der die Beschreibung liest.
Mir waren mir die Sexszenen zum Teil ein bisschen zu detailliert, aber ich kann auch nicht wirklich etwas mit BDSM anfangen...
Trotzdem war die Geschichte von Sophie und Neil einfühlsam und flüssig geschrieben und ich wollte nach dem ersten Viertel nicht mehr aufhören zu lesen.
Was mir nicht gefällt, ist, dass das Buch nicht in sich abgeschlossen ist, sondern mit einem mega Cliffhanger endet. Kann mir vorstellen, auch den zweiten Teil zu lesen, da ich jetzt auch wissen möchte wie es weiter geht :-)
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Oktober 2013
also ich kann mich den Rezensionen einfach nur anschliesssssen - wirklich eine super Geschichte, mit absoluten WoW-EFFEKT :-)
totale Weiterempfehlung!!!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden