find Hier klicken Jetzt informieren PR CR0917 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ Hier klicken Mehr dazu Hier Klicken Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimitedFamily AmazonMusicUnlimited Fußball longSSs17



Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 7. Juni 2017
Nach langem warten auf den letzten Band der Trilogie kann ich sagen, dass es sich durchaus gelohnt hat. Die Geschichte wird spannend und stimmig weiter und zu Ende geführt.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. Juli 2014
Endlich, nach einer zu langen Wartezeit, ist der Abschluß der Trilogie um Diana Bishop und Matthew Clairmont erschienen – und sie enttäuschte mich in keiner Weise. Nachdem die beiden ersten Romane sehr unterschiedlich waren (der erste eher moderne Urban-Fantasy, der zweite historische, übernatürliche Geschichte), war ich sehr gespannt, wohin Deborah Harkness ihre Leser im dritten Roman führt.

Erneut erfreut sich der geneigte Leser an historisch korrekten Details (zumal Deborah Harkness als Geschichtswissenschaftlerin und –dozentin mit mehreren akademischen Abschlüssen ihr beträchtliches Wissen einfließen läßt), am exakten Lokalkolorit und einer wunderbar vielschichtigen Sprache.

Auch treten – Vorsicht Spoiler – vertraute Figuren auf, wie zum Beispiel Matthews keltischer Cousin Gallowglass, dessen Geschichte mich sehr berührte. Auch begegnen wir historischen Persönlichkeiten, wie Elizabeth I, Steven Procter oder Walter Raleigh. Die Art, in welcher Harkness diesen Personen Leben einhaucht, gefällt mir ausgesprochen gut, vor allem, da sie glaubwürdig erscheinen. In manch einem historischen Roman ist das dem Autor nicht gelungen.

Die Geschichte beginnt dort, wo der zweite Band endete, und führt Diana und Matthew zurück in die Gegenwart. Und endlich, nach spannungsgeladenen, facettenreichen und aufwühlenden Ereignissen, gilt es, dem Geheimnis von Ashmole 782 auf der Spur zu bleiben, welches sie durch faszinierende Orte in Europa führt. – Spoilerende –

Die Autorin verbindet meisterhaft Geschichte mit moderner Wissenschaft, läßt unterschiedliche Persönlichkeiten aufeinanderprallen, was ich in einem Roman, der viele wichtige Figuren enthält, nicht als einfach erachte, und fesselt den geneigten Leser mit einer Geschichte, die in meinen Augen einen wunderbaren Abschluß der Trilogie darstellt, die jedoch auch Spaltungspotenzial besitzt, zumal sie manche Fäden aufnimmt, andere nicht weiter verfolgt… Persönlich bedaure ich es sehr, von den Charakteren Abschied nehmen zu müssen.
11 Kommentar| 10 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. September 2015
Before anything else...this is part three of a series, you should definitely read the two before! Tastes vary but if you like fantasies with a romantic touch then you will be happy with this book. But mind you: it is not shallow reading, neither in language nor in story, you can definitely see that the author is into history herself. So you get a lot of background and description, if this is too much "language" then this is certainly not the right choice. I loved it and although I prefer the stories to end at some point and not drag into endless series I was kind of sad to have to say goodbye to something that added a nice escape of everyday life for quite some time.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. September 2015
I totally loved the story about Matt and Diana. The only reason i didnt gave five stars is, that sometimes, the story took to long.. I prefer it fast and excited and reading about the past (in the second book) or about daily life was always interessting but took too long in my opinion.

Still, if you like paranormal romance without too detailed descriptions of sex, no silly love triangles as the feelings are always true and dont waver and a exited hunt to save the creatures - this is a series you need to read!!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Juli 2014
Luckily I stumbled quite late onto the first two books, so it was just a few days wait for me to read the final book.

I was really well entertained by all three books which provide an interesting twist on all the popular vampire-romance-books out there.

Of course I read the Twilight series, and this trilogy by Deborah Harkness is much wittier, much more complex and includes more three-dimensional characters. Yet they aren't really completely developed in my opinion: Matthew is way too old-fashioned and dominating in his attitude towards women and sometimes ridiculously insecure in his mate's feelings for him, though Diana really goes to extreme lengths to prove them to him. There's little character development for Matthew in all three books (he kind of stays the "macho" and control-freak he was in the first book with minor improvements in the last book), and though Diana really undergoes a development in finding out who she really is, she stays insecure about herself until about the middle of the last book.

The first book really made me interested in finding out more about all the characters and the secret of Ashmole 782, and I found all the settings the action took place in very well depicted. If I reviewed all books separately I would give it five stars.
The romance started quite conventionally for this kind of genre, but I couldn't quite understand Diana's patience to the in all aspects overly controlling Matthew especially in the second book. Being stranded in Elizabethean times as a present day born character was interesting to read (and the author's knowledge about history is a great and enjoyable asset throughout all three books), yet her mate is no real help in coping with that situation - on the contrary, his behavior makes everything even more complicated for Diana.
The last book finally reveals what all the secrets of Ashmole 782 and Diana are about and gives a satisfying end to a lot of plot strings.

All in all a highly intelligent, very entertaining and recommendable trilogy which makes me want the author to write more books!
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. August 2015
Da ich die ersten beiden Teile gelesen habe, musste ich natürlich auch das Ende der Story lesen. Obwohl der dritte Teil doch noch eigenständig zu lesen und mit Überraschungen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. September 2015
Gebraucht aber wie neu. Der letzte Teil der Trilogie ist wie erwartet spannend wie die zwei vorher. Schade, dass es keine anderen Romane von Deborah Harkness gibt.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. August 2015
Nach vielen Irrungen und Wirrungen und Reisen durch Raum und Zeit findet Diana zu Ihrer endgültigen Stärke

Runder Abschluß der Trilogie
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. August 2014
I have read "Shadow of Night" and "A Discovery of Witches" and loved both. Accordingly I could not wait to finally lay my hands on "The Book of Life" and find out how it was all going to end. Well, the book was good, I did like it, but I did not love it.
There were so many questions that I wanted an answer to, but unfortunately I did not get that many. So I am still asking myself where the book of life came from. Surely someone made it for a reason? And what about the tree in the fireplace? Just to mention two of the major issues that were left open.
Don't get me wrong, I liked the book, but not as much as I thought I would. Perhaps it's just too simple.
After struggling to keep their love a secret and trying to figure out Diana's power through two books, in "The Book of Life" they do not only do it all rather openly, they even start to trust whomever. And Diana all of a sudden is so extremely powerful and, above all, that much in control of her power, nobody's any longer a match for her.
And Matthew? Well, I don't know, I adored Matthew in the previous books, but in "The Book I Life" he somehow lost appeal. Where did the dominant vampire macho go? OK, granted, it's not easy keep that going while being the husband of the most powerful creature in the world, but I would have liked more congruency for his character.
Over all I got the impression that the author had come up with a great idea that she developed well through the first two books, but that she herself didn't really know where it all would lead. Or where it came from. And so the ending is rather shallow and unsatisfying.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. Dezember 2015
My favorite book. Really good story. I have read it twice! The ideas are really cool and fun to read.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden