Facebook Twitter Pinterest <Einbetten>
  • Statt: EUR 9,99
  • Sie sparen: EUR 1,00 (10%)
  • Alle Preisangaben inkl. MwSt.
Nur noch 6 auf Lager (mehr ist unterwegs).
Verkauf und Versand durch Amazon. Geschenkverpackung verfügbar.
Arabian Sands (Penguin Cl... ist in Ihrem Einkaufwagen hinzugefügt worden
+ EUR 3,00 Versandkosten
Gebraucht: Gut | Details
Verkauft von betterworldbooks__
Zustand: Gebraucht: Gut
Kommentar: Versand aus den USA. Lieferungszeit ca. 2-3 Wochen. Wir bieten Kundenservice auf Deutsch! Geringe Abnutzungserscheinungen und minimale Markierungen im Text. 100%ige Kostenrueckerstattung garantiert Ueber eine Million zufriedene Kunden! Ihr Einkauf unterstuetzt world literacy!
Möchten Sie verkaufen?
Zur Rückseite klappen Zur Vorderseite klappen
Hörprobe Wird gespielt... Angehalten   Sie hören eine Hörprobe des Audible Hörbuch-Downloads.
Mehr erfahren
Alle 3 Bilder anzeigen

Arabian Sands (Penguin Classics) (Englisch) Taschenbuch – 25. Oktober 2007

4.6 von 5 Sternen 10 Kundenrezensionen

Alle Formate und Ausgaben anzeigen Andere Formate und Ausgaben ausblenden
Preis
Neu ab Gebraucht ab
Kindle Edition
"Bitte wiederholen"
Taschenbuch
"Bitte wiederholen"
EUR 8,99
EUR 4,66 EUR 3,88
83 neu ab EUR 4,66 8 gebraucht ab EUR 3,88
click to open popover

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

  • Arabian Sands (Penguin Classics)
  • +
  • Seven Pillars of Wisdom
Gesamtpreis: EUR 15,07
Die ausgewählten Artikel zusammen kaufen

Es wird kein Kindle Gerät benötigt. Laden Sie eine der kostenlosen Kindle Apps herunter und beginnen Sie, Kindle-Bücher auf Ihrem Smartphone, Tablet und Computer zu lesen.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

Geben Sie Ihre Mobiltelefonnummer ein, um die kostenfreie App zu beziehen.

Jeder kann Kindle Bücher lesen — selbst ohne ein Kindle-Gerät — mit der KOSTENFREIEN Kindle App für Smartphones, Tablets und Computer.


Produktinformation

Produktbeschreibungen

Pressestimmen

"Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, [Arabian Sands] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia."
-The Daily Telegraph, London

"The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life."
-The Sunday Times, London

Synopsis

Wilfred Thesiger was born in Addis Ababa in 1910 and educated at Eton and Oxford. Though British, he was repulsed by the softness and rigidity of Western life, "the machines, the calling cards, the meticulously aligned streets, etc." In the spirit of T.E. Lawrence, Thesiger spent five years exploring and wandering the deserts of Arabia. With vivid descriptions and colorful anecdotes he narrates his stories, including two crossings of the Empty Quarter, among peoples who had never seen a European and considered it their duty to kill Christian infidels.

Alle Produktbeschreibungen

Welche anderen Artikel kaufen Kunden, nachdem sie diesen Artikel angesehen haben?

Kundenrezensionen

4.6 von 5 Sternen
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel

Top-Kundenrezensionen

Format: Taschenbuch Verifizierter Kauf
The author, Wilfred Thesiger (1910-2003), has given the world with this book, that was first published in 1959, a rare insight of the Bedu and the tribal life in the Arabian desert.
Thesiger was one of the first travelers that explored a great part of the Arabian desert, some parts unknown before to the western world. During a time where the desert was ruled by tribes in constant war with each other, in a time where raids where a constant occurrence, in a time where nomads where still nomads - born free, living free, the author traveled with them, always by food or on camel, always completely adopting to the nomad style of life. While he was living and traveling with his companions, mostly from the Rashid tribe, he became insight into their culture, customs, and thinking, like probably nobody else.
Now, 70 years later, what is left from these proud nomad tribes? So many of them have moved to cities, that this book reads almost like a fairy tale, a story about a world almost dead. A story about a culture that survived hundred of years of sand storms, droughts, hunger and thirst, incredible hardships, but a one point slowly could not withstand the seduction of money and modernity.
It is a wonderful, wonderful book that is an absolute joy to read.
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Von Kopf am 1. August 2008
Format: Taschenbuch
In Arabian Sands Wilfred Thesiger describes his crossing of the Empty Quater (1946-48), the largest sand desert in the world, located in Yemen, Saudi Arabia, UAE and Oman. He travelled their by foot, with a small band of Bedouins. They were exposed not only to extrem physical hardship, but also to several warring tribes who declared to kill the "infidel" in their country. It is difficult to understand how someone can find pleasure in such a journey.

Wilfred Thesiger himself recounted his motives as followed, "For me, exploration was a personal venture. I did not go to the Arabian desert to collect plants nor to make a map; such things were incidental. At heart I knew that to write or even to talk of my travels was to tarnish the achievement. I went there to find peace in the hardship of desert travel and the company of desert people. I set myself a goal on these journeys, and, although the goal itself was unimportant, its attainment had to be worth every effort and sacrifice[...] Everyone knew that there was nothing to be found on the top of Everest, but even in this materialistic age few people asked, "What point is there in climbing Everest? What good will it do anyone when they get there" They recognized that even today there are experiences that do not need to be justified in terms of material profit. No, it is not the goal but the way there that matters, and the harder the way the more worth while the journey. Who, after all, would dispute that it is more satisfying to climb to the top of a mountain than to go there in a funicular railway? Perhaps this was one reason why I resented modern inventions; they made the road too easy.
Lesen Sie weiter... ›
Kommentar 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Format: Kindle Edition Verifizierter Kauf
Man merkt sofort, dass der Autor kein Schriftsteller, sondern Abenteurer ist. Was er schreibt ist wirklich interessant, aber so trocken und ohne jeglichen Witz und Spannungsbogen beschrieben, dass man kämpfen muss dran zu bleiben.
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Format: Taschenbuch Verifizierter Kauf
Die beeindruckenden Durchquerungen der grössten Sandwüsten der Welt. Wilfred Thesiger hat dieses Gebiet bereist kurz bevor Öl entdeckt und die Kultur der einheimischen Bevölkerung nachhaltig verändert wurde. Ein faszinierender Einblick in eine andere Welt, eine andere Kultur. Geschrieben in einer offenen Art, offen gegenüber den Unterschieden die es gibt. In schnörkellosem Englisch verfasst. Eine klare Empfehlung.
Kommentar War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden
Von Ein Kunde am 23. November 2000
Format: Taschenbuch
Wilfred Thesiger described himself once as " the last explorer in the old fashion " . This is actually true. Only by the help of aims which were the same a thosand years ago did he accomplish to cross the so called " Empty Quarter " the great sand desert of South Arabia. His book concentrates on an exhaustive description of the natural landscape as well as on his deep sympathy and admiration for the natives- the Bedus. The prose of the account is as plain as the surroundings but nevertheless overwhelming. He allows the reader to get an insight into a world, which was with the oil-boom uncontrovertibly lost. For everybody who dreams of, or is even planning to visit Arabia or the desert, this book offers first-hand information on the "true " character of the desert. Thesiger is not too much known but he is certainly to judge among the most important explorers of the 20th century. Read it !!!!
Kommentar 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein Feedback senden...
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.
Wir konnten Ihre Stimmabgabe leider nicht speichern. Bitte erneut versuchen
Missbrauch melden