Jeans Store Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Neuerscheinungen Cloud Drive Photos Erste Wahl Learn More Herbstputz mit Vileda Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle Soolo festival 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,4 von 5 Sternen
44
4,4 von 5 Sternen
Format: Audio CD|Ändern
Preis:20,37 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 15. September 2007
This book is one of my very favourites. It is the story of an English couple which has moved to France and their struggles with the French bureaucracy, getting their house finished and freezing in the chilling winds of the mistral. But it is also about the joys of French cuisine, lovely neighbours and the stunning provencal landscape. It is truly a masterpiece. It is wonderfully written, laugh-out-loud funny at times and always beautiful. A must read!
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Juli 2013
I read this book as a recommendation in hindsight of our holidays we wanted to spend at the Provence - without having decided where to go precisely. Mayle describes the region and his experiences with the people of it during his first year after moving to the Provence from his homeland England. He describes with lots of humor and also with acceptance and understanding of the 'natives' without confirming prejudices - on the contrary: you can understand the people better after reading this book. We found some of the places he mentioned and described in his book and due to his book it was like coming home.
The region of the Luberon is wonderful and I think Mayles book was the reason that we wanted to visit it and found not only the landscape and the villages magnificent. Also the people were lovely, friendly and hospitable.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Juni 2000
I generally abhor travelogues, but this defies the genre and isn't really a travelogue per-se anyway. It describes a destination rather than a journey. Mayle and his wife arrive in Provence with full expectations of living la dolce vita and end up embroiled in a series of catastrophes that require them to reshape their entire characters and perform some serious attitude-adjusting. The English, like their American cousins, are accustomed to time and labor operating at peak efficiency. When someone tells us a job will be done in two weeks, we expect it done in 10 days. When we listen to weather reports, we want to know how long a particular pattern will last. We don't want to be told, "Maybe two days, maybe two weeks, maybe two months." As Mayle reports, things are done a bit differently in Provence. Time operates in a different dimension. If time is even considered, it is contemplated in terms of seasons, rather than hours, days, or weeks.
Mayle's (and his wife's) adaptation to the Provencal lifestyle is sometimes painful, other times poignant and telling, but almost always extremely funny. He is a born raconteur, a master of the amusing anecdote, expert at rendering a farcical tableau.
The cast of characters of A Year in Provence are priceless. He describes them vividly and each lends color to the overall impression of les Provencals that we eventually come away with. Mayle pokes gentle fun at them and obviously has warm feelings towards them, even his fox-eating neighbor, Massot. Every inhabitant of the region has a strong opinion on a variety of subjects, and these opinions are often at odds with those of their neighbors. About the only thing everyone agrees on is the importance of food. Mayle's decsriptions of his gastronomical forays are rendered so vividly that I have started combing the supermarket here in Pinehurst for ingredients (pale imitations for the most part, sadly).
I was fortunate to find the unabridged tape of this book at my library. David Case did a great job at rendering the English disposition slowly succombing to the pace and timbre of Provencal life. Mayle is great company. I look forward to hearing more from him.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Juli 2000
I think Peter Mayle was a genius to leave his boring Madison Avenue job to become a provencal in search of the perfect marc; pastis; olive oil; boulangerie; 130-franc seven-course dinner (!); philosophical plumber; crochety (murderous?) neighbor; goat race; Parisian hipster party...I could go on! The author has a flair for developing his characters with wry panache. You will want to read this book over & over (& at least ONCE while actually in Provence)! Enjoy!
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. April 2000
When I was a sophomore in college, I spent a semester in Aix-en-Provence, France. While I was there I discovered that many of my fellow classmates had read "A Year in Provence" and were captivated by Mayle's account. Once I returned to the US, my parents bought it for me and I devoured it quickly. I loved this book -- and since I spent some time in Provence, I could relate to the various characters and adventures that Mr. Mayle writes about. His talent is definitely in the writing -- you certainly feel as if you are in Provence with him, searching out truffles or lamenting over his stone dining room table. I read this book (as well as its sequel, "Toujours Provence") over and over again, whenever I want to reminisce about the four months I spent abroad, or just for a few quick laughs. It truly is like taking a vacation, and taking a peek into Peter Mayle's charming quaint Provencal life. I highly recommend this book to anyone . . . and I promise that you will want to visit the South of France immediately!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Februar 2013
Das Buch war ein Geschenk für einen Freund. Ich habe dieses Buch in gebrauchtem Zustand gekauft und mein Freund hat mir erklärt, daß das Buch in einem hervorragenden Zustand ist - praktisch wie neu. Ich bin sehr zufrieden.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. Juni 2000
Truly an amazing book--reading this takes you on a fantastic trip to the Provence you once knew, or the Provence you want to know (and trust me, after reading this, you will want to know Provence). It is a well written chronicle of French life that should be indispensible for any traveler.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Dezember 1999
Every chapter of this book presents a vignette that brims with unpredictable hilarity. It has the sheer charm to make you reluctantly nod yet more or less agree why the fame and fabled South of France is all at once riveting, alluring, loungy, laidback and the quintessential respite to pamper people from all over the world. Its unharried glamour all the more becomes real and felt once you start with even chapter one. It's like going through a travelogue where encounters will not stupify yet mystify you. And you will just really laugh! Then you slowly reckon why and how its denizens's lifestyles, annotations, conceptions and the French culture become simply irresistible to many while being puzzling to a few.
Like a laiback yet long string of circuitous coil, every event is connected and funny and serious at the same time. I read and follow the detailed records of Peter Mayle in what I can describe as his sojourn to Aix-En Provence and I am left charmed and delighted.
Particular house, street, get-together scenes in sun-drenched hillsides, gardens and stream banks just fill my imagination. My eyes cannot avert from these picturesque visions. Then they're perfectly admixtured with Mayle's records of the perplexing yet funny experiences the characters get into.
This book is a dear and a delicious feeder with or without the aperitif!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Dezember 1999
Every chapter of this book presents a vignette that brims with unpredictable hilarity. It has the sheer charm to make you reluctantly nod yet more or less agree why the fame and fabled South of France is all at once riveting, alluring, loungy, laidback and the quintessential respite to pamper people from all over the world. Its unharried glamour all the more becomes real and felt once you start with even chapter one. It's like going through a travelogue where encounters will not stupify yet mystify you. And you will just really laugh! Then you slowly reckon why and how its denizens's lifestyles, annotations, conceptions and the French culture become simply irresistible to many while being puzzling to a few.
Like a laiback yet long string of circuitous coil, every event is connected and funny and serious at the same time. I read and follow the detailed records of Peter Mayle in what I can describe as his sojourn to Aix-En Provence and I am left charmed and delighted.
Particular house, street, get-together scenes in sun-drenched hillsides, gardens and stream banks just fill my imagination. My eyes cannot avert from these picturesque visions. Then they're perfectly admixtured with Mayle's records of the perplexing yet funny experiences the characters get into.
This book is a dear and a delicious feeder with or without the aperitif!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Dezember 2011
Das Buch ist wunderbar und wer die Provence kennt, wird die Erlebnisse, die Peter Mayle zum Besten gibt genießen und viel lachen und schmunzeln können. Das Hörbuch ist leider sehr stark gekürzt und es fehlen leider vor allem die schönsten und besten Geschichten. Mir völlig unverständlich und es wäre zu schön, wenn es eine vollständige Ausgabe als Hörbuch gäbe...
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

12,85 €
8,99 €

Benötigen sie kundenservice? Hier klicken