Kundenrezensionen


 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The book that reflects my generation.
I turned 18 in 1966 and went to college, not sure about Vietnam. Three years later I drove from Notre Dame to Washington D.C. to protest the War. Nixon surrounded the White House with buses so as not to see us. The bastard. He sacrificed my friends and many others for this unwinnable war. I knew it was a meatgrinder and a soul destroyer, but until I read...
Veröffentlicht am 28. Juli 1999 von MKND70@AOL.COM

versus
1 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen where do all the stars come from?
I bought this book originally because of the many 5 star on the english Amazon and besides that because the topic Vietnam is covered mostly by such personal war stories about soldiers and their experiences and impressions. I wonder why there are so few historical books about the Vietnam war, possibly an american phenomenon.

The book itself is about a war...
Veröffentlicht am 28. April 2010 von Reinhard Hofer


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The book that reflects my generation., 28. Juli 1999
Von 
I turned 18 in 1966 and went to college, not sure about Vietnam. Three years later I drove from Notre Dame to Washington D.C. to protest the War. Nixon surrounded the White House with buses so as not to see us. The bastard. He sacrificed my friends and many others for this unwinnable war. I knew it was a meatgrinder and a soul destroyer, but until I read "Dispatches" I did not truly learn how the war twisted the souls of the soldiers who were forced to fight this crappy war. With respect, I salute those who fought and those who died. Michael Herr accurately distinguished between the soldiers and the war. I was a conscientious objector and was mightily pissed at Jane Fonda for consorting with the enemy. I just wanted the boys to come home. For those of you who are younger, read "Dispatches". If you have time, also read, "The 13th Valley" by John Del Vecchio. Vietnam split our country in two and carved wounds into many of our young people who are now in their 50's. Someday, when we are all gone, the memoirs will be catalogued and rated. Without exaggeration, the book that stands alone, in its accurate portrayal of the psyche of the American combat Marine is Michael Herr's "Dispatches". God bless you, Michael Herr, you have done more than you know. You have given a voice to the pain of the combat soldier and to the Stateside civilians who knew it was bad but weren't sure.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Good Stuff, 3. Februar 2000
I have never read an account of war, fiction or non fiction, that truly exposes the essence of combat in the same way that "Dispatches" does. The key to this piece is the honesty with which every story, every dialogue, and every descrition is portrayed. It is clear to see how this work alone could spark the interest and mystique that surrounds the concept of the Vietnam war as Hell. From films such as Apocalypse Now and Full Metal Jacket, one may often find themselves struggling to believe the events that appear to them on the screen. As "Dispatches" is a firsthand account, it is impossible to discount much of what the reader experiences. Herr, being a journalist, unveils the culture of Vietnam (the war) from a non-military perspective. However, the relationships he forms with marine grunts gives the reader an idea of how easily one can be sucked into the culture. This book is absolutely amazing, if you have an interest in the Vietnam War, this will give you a greater understanding of what went on. If you have little or no interest in the conflict, this book will spark some in dramatic fashion.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent, 6. Juli 2000
Being only 17 detracts from my ability to fully appreciate the novel, because I never experienced Vietnam or society from that time. I have done research of Vietnam, analyzing Platoon, When Heaven and Earth Changed Places, and research from other wars. The book fully portrays the "reality" of war, and definitly makes the reader appreciate that they're reading someone else's account. I did however find some fault in the stream of consciousness writing, though not from my inability to understand it. I have read Joyce, the pioneer of the writing style, and possibly spoiled by his masterful use, I found some displeasure in Herr's use. However, don't let momentarily lapses of coherency ruin the book for you, because the feeling of depth and knowledge gained at the end fully redeems any faults. It agrees with all other accounts of the war I've seen, and possibly adds more of a personal touch that a reader must respect. For anyone that enjoys war history, human psyche, or harsh speaking reality, then this might be a book for you.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Klassiker über Krieg und Vietnam, 25. April 2005
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dispatches (Picador thirty) (Taschenbuch)
Dieses Buch ist der Klassiker über Vietnam, die Journalisten und den Krieg. Wer sich für diese Themenkomplexe interessiert, der kommt auf seine Kosten, wer sich für andere Dinge interessiert, wird an diesem Buch nicht so viel Gefallen finden. Es sind interessante Gedanken, die Herr anstellt. Er berichtet zum Beispiel davon, dass Krieg etwas Schönes sein kann, eine eigene Ästhetik hat, die arg unterbrochen wird, wenn die Schrecken und der Tod wieder in den Vordergrund treten. Es ist beeindruckend, wie Herr auch sprachlich das Lebensgefühl der GIs wieder gibt. In diesen Blues muss sich der Leser anfangs erstmal reinlesen, aber nach einer Weile lässt sich die Intensität des Krieges auch in der Sprache spüren. Eine stringende Struktur hat dieses Buch nicht direkt, es folgt grob einem Aufzeichnugsrythmus des Autors, der sehr viel autobiographische Dinge berichtet. In gewisser Weise sind das seine Vietnam-Erinnerungen, seine Reflexionen über den Krieg und seine Rolle darin als Printjournalist. Es ist auch das Zeugnis einer Generation, die in Indochina ihre Naivität und ihren Glauben an die Werte des Westens und besonders der USA verloren hat.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Dispatches - an insider's version of Vietnam, 29. November 1999
Von 
rebecca kahn (Johannesburg, South Africa) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
I found this book lurking on a forgotten shelf in my University library and picked it up because I had nothing better to do. Little did I know that I was in for a nightmare journey into some of the most terrifying, beautiful, exciting and sometimes darkly funny prose I have ever come across. The narrative itself is just that, a nightmare, where reality becomes unhinged and the reader is never quite sure whether Herr is telling the truth or hallucinating. As a twenty-something South African I would have appreciated a little more detail about events that Herr assumes are common knowledge, but this aside, the book is one of the best I have read this year.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Herr makes words rain like bullets, 11. Oktober 1998
Von Ein Kunde
I am not a lover of war books, and would not ordinarily pick up any text primarily about war. But, like others, I was assigned Dispatches in a college class. I love it--it is one of the six or seven books of my life. But it does not seem primarily a book about war as much as it is about language, about the odd languages used by the officers in Vietnam, about the lingos employed by the grunt privates--the entire strange verbiage of a unique time and place. Everyone in love with words should read it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Michael Herr as we know him ..., 18. Juli 2012
Von 
PZF85J (hier und dort - manchmal) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Good read, very interesting insights. Like the other very very interesting "Once Upon a Distant War: David Halberstam, Neil Sheehan, Peter Arnett--Young War Correspondents and Their Early Vietnam" it is very much focused on the early 1960s, before the US entered the war with full force.

I am looking for some book about the later, of course not - with all due respect - the memoirs of some vets (and not "We Were Soldiers once ...", but the bigger picture. Would be grateful for any useful hint.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent as history and as literature, 8. Februar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
I'm not a vet; I have no real personal connection with Vietnam or the war. Nor was any required to experience Dispatches. It's as much a poem about the condition of men at war, any men, any war, as it is the story of Herr's year as a war correspondent. It's not a history of the war; you won't find a handy map and glossary in the back. (If you honestly don't know what words like di di, zip, grunt, 16, and DMZ mean, I suggest you bone up on your history before trying this.) However, if you're even mildly knowledgeable, there's nothing to prevent you from feeling the full impact of the language here. And what language! If I ever manage to write anything half so eloquent, so beautiful, and so horrifying in my life, I'll be content to shut the laptop and walk away without writing another word.
Herr describes, in brief and sometimes disjointed vignettes, his experience as a war correspondent: the fear of death, the love of the machinery, the media-driven fantasies, the ambivalence of the troops towards the correspondents, and the correspondents' ambivalence about the troops, the misery of Khe Sanh, the frustrated schemes of the bureacracy, the myth and the reality of the drug-taking, foul-talking, anti-establishment reporters who supposedly "lost us the war".
I've probably been overstating this, but I love this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Einfach nur zu empfehlen, 30. September 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Ich hatte das Interview von Michael Herr gesehen und ich MUSSTE das Buch haben. Ich bereue den Kauf nicht, man wird in seine Erfahrung hineingezogen während der Lektüre, super Buch.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen War IS hell, 17. Juni 2000
Von 
Brian D. Rubendall (Oakton, VA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
It is not the content the distinguishes Michael Herr's "Dispatches," it is the delivery. Herr is an excellent reporter who risked life and limb to cover the Vietnam War. The book is his account of what he saw there. What he saw was young American soldiers, far from home fighting a war few of them understood against an frustratingly elusive enemy. If this sounds like the subject matter for many Vietnam books, it is. But Herr's writing is so evocative ans so powerful that many of his descriptions will stay with you for a long time after you've put it down. Along with Phillip Caputo's "A Rumor of War," and Fredrick Downs's "The Killing Zone," this is one of the best personal accounts of the Vietnam War available.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen