Kundenrezensionen


70 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (38)
4 Sterne:
 (11)
3 Sterne:
 (6)
2 Sterne:
 (4)
1 Sterne:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5.0 von 5 Sternen It really works and is very positive
I was skeptical about rather this book would work. My mother used it to toilet train me and my sister back in the '70's and recommended it highly. I tried training the traditional way first. Following a suggestion in a magazine, I let my 2 year, 9 month old son run around the house naked so he could get to the potty unencumbered. He kept peeing on the floor and...
Veröffentlicht am 30. Juni 2000 von Rachel Harris

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Potty Training Nightmare!
On my doctor's recommendation, I bought this book and tried it with my then 30 month old son. My husband and I read the book carefully, went through the "readiness" checklist, bought all the gear, and set aside an entire day to follow the plan. What a nightmare! My son, who only two days before was *asking* to use his little potty chair, wound up hiding in...
Am 29. Mai 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Potty Training Nightmare!, 29. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
On my doctor's recommendation, I bought this book and tried it with my then 30 month old son. My husband and I read the book carefully, went through the "readiness" checklist, bought all the gear, and set aside an entire day to follow the plan. What a nightmare! My son, who only two days before was *asking* to use his little potty chair, wound up hiding in the closet, sobbing because he had wet himself. This book borders on child abuse -- it tells you to march the child who's had an accident back and forth to the potty 10 times (in wet pants) then repeatedly tell him things like "Grandpa will be sad because you peed your pants". What sounded a bit odd in theory became a horror in practice, especially the 4th or 5th time. I'm still kicking myself for even trying it!
I think people are drawn to this book by the title -- who wouldn't want to be done with training in less than one day? But for most children, I believe this is an unrealistic, sometimes cruel, expectation. My son is a very sweet, senstitive child; he tries hard to please us and very much wanted to learn how to use his potty. But after a day of being lectured and marched around, he wouldn't even go into the bathroom, let alone consider pulling down his pants and going in the potty. Fortunately, we've since tried a much gentler approach that's had fantastic results.
Other parents may claim that this book didn't work only because our son wasn't ready, and perhaps he was not. However, he did fit the all the criteria in this book's "readiness" test and it's a darn shame we had to traumatize *him* to find out that it was wrong! Given that it was written in the 70's, I guess I should have known better. Don't make my mistake, DON'T BUY THIS BOOK!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen It really works and is very positive, 30. Juni 2000
I was skeptical about rather this book would work. My mother used it to toilet train me and my sister back in the '70's and recommended it highly. I tried training the traditional way first. Following a suggestion in a magazine, I let my 2 year, 9 month old son run around the house naked so he could get to the potty unencumbered. He kept peeing on the floor and crying. Eventually, when I asked him where he would pee, he said "on the floor." This is when I decided to use the book. I had some trouble getting my son to pay attention to me and follow instructions, because he is very stubborn. He is not trained as well as the boy in book (he needs to be taken to the potty), but he has not had an accident in three days (I trained him six days ago). On reading the book, you may feel that the approach is cruel, as a reviewer I read earlier on the site did. However, you must be aware that everything is done in a positive way, the emphasis is on teaching your child, not humiliating them. Also, because the training process is so rapid, your child is spared the continued humiliation of having accidents, especially in public (and you are too). It took me four hours to train my son. Since then, he has been genuinely more happy and self assured. Our relationship has improved immensely as well. This book taught me that I can be my son's teacher and he can learn from me. It also taught me how to improve my interactions with him by following the suggestions for making sure he listens to and follows through on my instructions. This has significantly decreased the times I get frustrated with him or yell at him for things unrelated to toilet training. This book was written to end the humiliation that most children go through before they are completely toilet trained. It is backed by research. It was originally designed for retarded children, and can be successfully used on children with IQ's as low as 30. I am a licensed master social worker, and I would not hesitate to recommend this book to anyone, including my clients.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen From an educator, 21. Juni 2000
As an educator, I found this book very compelling. It is complete in that it addresses all the learning styles of children. Toileting oneself is a skill and the book teaches you how to be a skills trainer for your child.
My own 2 1/2 year old son was successful in being completely trained over a weekend. He had no urination accidents at all after the first 3 hours of training, and was successful with the rest over the course of the next few days. I will begin training my daughter when she is ready, based on the readiness assessment check list in the book.
It seems to me that the negative reviews of this book have not come from people who have read the entire book, nor from people who have employed this method. To use the book you MUST follow the instructions carefully, adjusting to your child's personality, of course, and you MUST have some persistence yourself. The first hour or two can be challenging but when your child is successful the first time, you'll know it was worth it.
The book recommends potty training in the kitchen, using a potty-training doll, providing many opportunities for practice with the use of salty snacks to promote fluid consumption, positive and negative reinforcement, recognition and reward, and more. Again, from an educator's standpoint, it is a terrific book in terms of addressing basic learning cycle models.
As an added benefit, there is basic parenting information about disciplining a small child to obey his/her parents, as part of the readiness assessment. My own observation as I see other children misbehaving everywhere I go is that that information is sorely needed.
I have bought and given this book away to friends 7 times. I am about to buy it one more time to prepare to train my 21-month old daughter.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen From an educator, 21. Juni 2000
As an educator, I found this book very compelling. It is complete in that it addresses all the learning styles of children. Toileting oneself is a skill and the book teaches you how to be a skills trainer for your child.
My own 2 1/2 year old son was successful in being completely trained over a weekend. He had no urination accidents at all after the first 3 hours of training, and was successful with the rest over the course of the next few days. I will begin training my daughter when she is ready, based on the readiness assessment check list in the book.
It seems to me that the negative reviews of this book have not come from people who have read the entire book, nor from people who have employed this method. To use the book you MUST follow the instructions carefully, adjusting to your child's personality, of course, and you MUST have some persistence yourself. The first hour or two can be challenging but when your child is successful the first time, you'll know it was worth it.
The book recommends potty training in the kitchen, using a potty-training doll, providing many opportunities for practice with the use of salty snacks to promote fluid consumption, positive and negative reinforcement, recognition and reward, and more. Again, from an educator's standpoint, it is a terrific book in terms of addressing basic learning cycle models.
As an added benefit, there is basic parenting information about disciplining a small child to obey his/her parents, as part of the readiness assessment. My own observation as I see other children misbehaving everywhere I go is that that information is sorely needed.
I have bought and given this book away to friends 7 times. I am about to buy it one more time to prepare to train my 21-month old daughter.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen It gave me a vocabulary and an outline for teaching, 17. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
The general plan of this book worked for us, but not in a day. It took about three days for general use and he improved steadily over the next few weeks. My first son was three years old, and I was facing the potty-training deadline of nursery school. I had no idea how to potty train him, and this book gave me a vocabulary to use and a plan for teaching him. It did not work in a day, but the basic program did work. As the book suggests, I set aside a day to teach my son. I showed him the steps and used a stuffed animal to model the behavior. The book told me how to talk about using the potty and how to teach the steps. Using the toy as a model and teaching tool worked well. The toy had accidents and was corrected, rather than focusing on my son, and my son talked to the toy and "taught" it. The book also told me how and where to use rewards, which worked great. I used candy and treats the first two days, and then gave my son toy cars as rewards in the next days. In the following weeks, I rewarded him less frequently, for example, for telling me he needed to go to the potty when we were out or for staying dry all day. I used Pull-Up pants because being wet didn't bother him. I used the cars to reward being dry. When accidents happened, during training and later, I repeated the lessons, so thanks to this book I didn't have to figure out how to react to accidents, and I didn't overreact to them.
DO: Use the book to teach the steps to using the potty, for a way to talk about potty training, for the reward system, and for how to use a toy to teach. Set aside the whole day to teach the potty and to monitor your child. You have to be focused that day, not him. It will be your main focus the next two days after that, too. DON'T: Don't feed your child a lot of salty snacks if you don't want to, kids drink juice anyway. Don't lose patience, just repeat the lessons when accidents happen. Don't be any more stern than you normally are or you are comfortable being. I was not stern, just persistent and serious. Don't use any gimmick that you are not comfortable with or which seems "mean" to you. I didn't use the friends and family list. We praised him to friends and family later, when they were actually around.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Mixed Results, 6. Juni 2000
Von 
Linda Alonzo (Great Lakes, IL United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
I ordered this book and after reading it prepared to train my son (28 months at the time) in March. The first day he went to the potty 7 times and had 3 accidents. The second day he refused to go, was crying hysterically for a diaper and going to a corner to pee. I become upset and yelled at him and then thought this is riduculous and put him back in diapers. I may have chosen a bad time to train him also. I found out three days later that he had a bad ear infection in both ears. It might have just been too much at that time for him to handle. Now, I am going to tell you why I liked the book. It seemed logical to me. Every other thing I had read on potty training just seemed to tell me 'you'll know when they are ready' with no real help on how to help the child learn. I didn't find it humilating and neither did my son. I truly think he wasn't ready. Last week I started training again, using some of the book's techniques. Since May 31st, he is using the bathroom now on his own. I still have him in diapers for naps and bedtime, but I plan to stop that next week. He is very proud of himself. I am giving him treats and lots of praise when he goes. He even went outside our home for the first time today. This is what he did learn from the book: *how to take off his pants and pull them up. Unlike most toddlers, my son has no interest in having his clothes off and had not initiated dressing and undressing. *how to listen to me and follow-through on a request I make. He is really so much better at this than before we used this book. * how to dump his own potty chair and clean up messes he makes. He's not perfect at this, but he thinks it is part of using the potty. If I would have known about this book, I would have used it when he was 20 months old and first started showing a bit of interest. He wasn't as stubborn as he is now. The one thing I didn't like about this book is that it lead you to believe that the next day the child would have it down perfectly. Now I know that is not true. I should have before. It is a learning process. He pushed us all weekend for diapers and had frequent accidents. Monday he quit asking for diapers and even had 2 BMs in the potty without me pressing him to go. No accidents yesterday or so far today either. Hope this helps. If you would like a training guide, it's a very useful book. And as a former school teacher, I will say, that people do learn some things much the way you train a dog: with awards, praise and reminders. The book does not advocate punishment, nor does it advocate you yell or humilate your child. I made a big mistake loosing my temper and I think if I would have pressed on the second day he would have gotten it in March.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Worked for me, despite my doubts, 26. Februar 1999
Von Ein Kunde
I had seen this book when I was in the process of toilet-training my first daughter. At that point, my daughter never got junk food of any kind, and I recoiled at the idea of having the learning process attached to food. However, what ensued was that for the next 6-7 months I was living with accidents to which I was more or less prepared to respond in a non-angry tone. In other words, I simply blew it sometimes since I had an infant in arms at that point. I determined that THAT method (inconsistent response style) was probably far more traumatic to a child than a one day attempt using this method. So, with daughter number two I decided to give it a try. I waited till she was exactly 26 months, but I think I caught her on a good day when I gave her the readiness test, because she can be rather stubborn. Hence, it took most of the day to get her trained. The most difficult aspect for me was getting her to drink enough to have some early successes. However, she quickly caught on to the concept of wet pants not being much fun and once she had an accident or two, things moved on quite quickly. Just as the book recommends, I phased out the treats by the end of the first day, so she does not ask me for candy each time. The only aspect that I find didn't stick too well was not wanting applause for her handywork. She insists on me coming to see it before she dumps it. But, she is EXCEEDINGLY proud of herself and within days of this training she was suddenly speaking in full sentences and progressing in many other ways. I don't pretend that there were no tantrums and no times when I doubted my choice- particularly the diaper checks after an accident when she was already crying anyway. I see how I might soften some things now that I have seen it work. However, the best thing that this method did for me was give me a formula to fall back on which prevented me from getting angry. How could you possibly get angry at your 2 year old for making mistakes the first day of training anyway? So if you can get it done, there is one less developmental hurdle that you can mess up. My daughter has had 3 accidents in the past 3 weeks- her last one over a week ago- and has not had any nighttime accidents. And, she can be successfully asked to hold her urination till we get home if she is in the car at the time. So, I would definitely recommend that if you are beginning to lose patience with your child, give this a try- but do not show ANY anger or frustration when you try this method. And DO be 100% committed time-wise for the duration. I'll admit it seems a bit surreal after you have spent 8 hours either in the kitchen or in route to the bathroom, but it was defintely worth it to me. And the basic premise of this book is all too obvious yet all too often over-looked when parenting 2 year olds- Give your 2 year old as much latitude as you can, but when you give a command, do not allow it to be ignored. It is easily within your power to physically cause your command to be followed- GENTLY. Tantrums have gone down significantly in the household since I have begun being diligent about only giving those requests that I am prepared to see through all the way. It is certainly much better than time outs or other forms of punishment. In fact, it was the lack of punishment in this process that I liked most. Yes, the practicing could seem like punishment, but it truly is practicing for the child who has not done toiletting before. Making those actions seem second nature DOES take some practice. I can certainly relate to those parents who did not do all of the reps and would never tell people to go against their feelings, but I did do all 10 reps for the 3 accidents that I dealt with. However, I cut out the wet pants checks after the first time. Best of luck to you all!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Not a Panacea, 30. Juni 1998
Von Ein Kunde
This is a well-written concise complete guide to using conditioning to teach your toddler how to toilet him/herself.
Be aware of the authors' definition of "trained". They consider the child "trained" when he has, one time, walked to the potty unprompted and urinated or defecated there (proving that he has gotten the concept). If you were expecting a magic switch which would convert your child in three hours from diapers to totally accidentless underpants, think again.
This method requires tireless, complete singlemindedness on the part of the parent or trainer for "as long as it takes". The authors aren't kidding about turning off your phone, farming out your other kids, and generally becoming a hermit for the duration. Don't expect to do ANYTHING and I mean ANYTHING else. Even trying to thoroughly clean up any accidents the child has may interfere with the training. Don't do as I did and expect a single day to be enough. Have the calendar ENTIRELY clear for at least two days.
If you have a generally compliant child, this method is likely to work very well for you. If you have an independent, spunky, or spirited child, this like everything else will take more work on your part. The authors' suggestions are not worse than any other ideas on potty training; just don't expect the rosy scenario they paint in the book. They gloss lightly over a few things, such as tantrums: "Don't allow your child's tantrum to interrupt the instruction." While theoretically possible, this requires more energy than that little sentence implies!
In my opinion the authors' best contributions to the process are: (1) emphasis is on dry pants rather than on "producing" something in the potty, and (2) while you're teaching, teach the child the ENTIRE process including emptying the potty into the toilet, flushing, and generally cleaning up after himself.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen WORKED FOR MY FIRST BORN, TRAUMATIZED THE SECOND., 10. November 1999
I trained my first daughter using this method with wonderful success (she was 2 1/2 at the time). It took us only 4 hours, and she had only 2 or 3 accidents after that. Whatever she learned transferred like magic to nighttime too. My second daughter had just turned 3 when we tried it, and she too seemed to catch on quickly. She appeared "done" after an hour, but then somehow became traumatized, we think during the practicing trials. At first she refused to get OFF the potty, and would actually get out of bed at night and sit on it until she fell asleep and fell off it. Sometimes after she would sit on the potty for hours, I would insist she get off, and then she would sream and cry and run frantically back to the potty. After a week of this, we put the potty away and put her back in diapers for a month. It has now been 6 months since, and I have tried everything, from totally forgetting about it and putting her back in diapers, to other methods of training (Brazelton, Spock, my mother, you name it). She is now finally trained for urinating, but is still having BIG problems with BMs. She ends up constipated and fearful and is only able to have a BM if she does so in a diaper, standing up behind a chair, watching a movie. But before this happens, we go through days of messed pants and tummy aches. My husband and I are at our wits end, and truly feel that the book's method initiated some kind of obsessive, anxious response in her, like post-traumatic stress disorder for 3-year-olds. I'm very disappointed, and am about 2 weeks away from finding a child psychologist. I would never have tried the book's method with her if I had known, and consider my luck with my first born a fluke.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen 1 1/2 hours and my son was toilet trained!!, 3. März 1999
Von Ein Kunde
I had heard from a friend that this book worked with both her kids (at 2 yrs old and in a couple of hours...) so I tried it with my 2 1/2 yr old son - IT TOOK 1 1/2 HOURS AND HE WAS DONE! Pulling up his pants alone, no prompting from me...etc. Over the next two days he had two wet accidents and that's it - he's been 'trained' ever since. I think the key is following the directions - no distractions, no having the potty out and 'getting the kids used to it' before the big day, and making a BIG difference between what makes you happy and what makes you mad (ie: dry pants we are hopping happy and wet pants you should be scowling....) ONE THING I did do that the book doesn't ---- I told my son "you're going to learn how to potty all by yourself and then you'll have no more diapers!" for about a week before I tried this. He was SO motivated to have "no more diapers" (a phrase he could say) that he told his friends and grandma days before he tried. I like the book because I am a dog trainer that truly believes in motivating the animals with food - if you can get a whale to jump thru a hoop with a piece of fish then I think you should be able to get your dog to sit with a treat - and I KNOW that motivating people with what they want, works too. If my boss didn't pay me money I sure wouldn't work for him! So if candy/crackers is what kids want, then let's motivate them with it! It works! It works! It works! Just follow the directions and remember--kids pick up on your cues. If you think it'll work, it will! If you approach this half hearted, so will they! Good Luck and be diaper free!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Toilet Training in Less Than A Day
EUR 5,94
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen