Kundenrezensionen


129 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (73)
4 Sterne:
 (20)
3 Sterne:
 (16)
2 Sterne:
 (5)
1 Sterne:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


15 von 15 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Ein prima Buch, das man nicht aus der Hand legen möchte!
Der Leser von Jhumpa Lahiri's Debütwerk „Interpreter of Maladies" wird von einer großen Themenvielfalt überzeugt, die ansprechend und faszinierend zugleich ist. Der multikulturelle Aspekt ist nur ein Thema von vielen; Gedanken über Heirat, Glück oder Alleinsein sind der Beziehung emigrierter Inder zu ihrem alten Heimatland in ihrer...
Veröffentlicht am 7. Februar 2001 von ulimar@gmx.de

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Impersonal and Melancholy
I was eager to read more on Indian culture, and found this book lacking. If you enjoy the melancholy or are searching for a read to make your troubles seem minimal, this might be the book for you.
It may be that the author is too Westernized. The closest to culture that I found was "The Real Durwan" - one of two stories that wasn't focused on Western...
Veröffentlicht am 2. Juli 2000 von Technical Trainer


‹ Zurück | 1 213 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

15 von 15 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Ein prima Buch, das man nicht aus der Hand legen möchte!, 7. Februar 2001
Von 
Der Leser von Jhumpa Lahiri's Debütwerk „Interpreter of Maladies" wird von einer großen Themenvielfalt überzeugt, die ansprechend und faszinierend zugleich ist. Der multikulturelle Aspekt ist nur ein Thema von vielen; Gedanken über Heirat, Glück oder Alleinsein sind der Beziehung emigrierter Inder zu ihrem alten Heimatland in ihrer Bedeutung gleichgesetzt. Lahiri schreibt eben nicht nur über indisches Leben, sondern beschreibt eine Vielzahl von sympathischen Charakteren und deren private Probleme, die durchaus glaubwürdig gezeichnet wurden und denen sich der Leser nur schwer entziehen kann. Es ist außerdem die Breite an Situationen, die den Leser von Lahiris Talent überzeugt und ihn auf den kommenden Roman neugierig werden lässt. Der Wechsel zwischen den Perspektiven und sogar der kulturellen Identität spricht für eine tiefe Vorstellungskraft und ein Einfühlungsvermögen der Autorin, die nicht selbstverständlich sind. Die Figuren und deren Erlebnisse entspringen fast immer einem indischem Hintergrund, jedoch ist alles so beschrieben und erklärt, dass man sich dem multikulturellen Amerika näher fühlt und Probleme der Einwanderung besonders für Menschen der zweiten Generation besser versteht. Die Texte sind produktiv und so kann der Leser auch die dargestellten Geschehnisse aus dem spezifischen indisch-amerikanischen Kontext befreien und sie sich überall vorstellen. Genau das macht Lahiris Schreiben aus: ein komplexes Verständnis von der Art des Menschen, verpackt in einem Stil, der auch wiederholtes Lesen des gleichen Textes erlaubt und dessen Faszination sich nicht verliert.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Nostalgic, Romantic and Great Prose, 31. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Interpreter of Maladies (Taschenbuch)
When I first received a copy from my brother, who sent it to me from Amazon, I was not sure what this was about. Many Indian authors who live in the US and write about lives of Indians in the US had disappointed me earlier, especially a book by much coveted Mrs. Bharati Mukherjee. When I started reading the book, I was completely taken by surprise, by the nostalgic undertones, the romanticism of the immigrants towards their long lost home, and relations., and more. The first story did not strike me that much, where a couple's relationship goes through crescendo of a kind I am not familiar with but when that culminated in crisis I am more familiar with, I felt the strength in the story telling. However, the most moving stories for me, are "Mr. Pirzada came to dine", which portray's a tormented soul who is in the middle of a war, and watching the war on TV, happening in his homeland, and his family is stuck back there, "Mrs. Sen", the loneliness of a housewife of an Indian person who came to US to work at a University, and the last story, which trouched me the most.
Since then, I have gifted copies of this book to many relatives and friends. When I visited India this April, I took a copy for one of my Aunt, and just after I reached there, before presenting my Aunt with the gift, I read in the local newspaper that Jhumpa Lahiri won the Pulitzer award for this book. This of course underscored the importance of the book in the minds of people who were yet to read at that time. For people like me, my brother, my cousin, and all, who read it not so long ago, we still have the vivid memory of the great feeling and impact it has left on us.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Delightful stories, 27. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Interpreter of Maladies (Taschenbuch)
Jhumpa Lahiri writes well, with a great economy of words, in a simple and direct manner. In a few pages, she is able to paint a few complete characters. Although she has a good knowledge of Calcutta and India for one who was brought up and lived all her life away from India, one or two things about India are not correct. The language of Orissa in not `Orissi' (Interpreter of Maladies) but `Oriya'---Orissi is a dance form of Orissa. It is `Mandeville Gardens' not `Mandeville Road' in Calcutta (This Blessed House).
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Fremde Welten, 23. November 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Interpreter of Maladies (Taschenbuch)
Was kann Literatur leisten? Wenn die hoechste Leistung eines Schriftstellers darin besteht, Interesse fuer Menschen und Situationen zu wecken, die dem Leser fremd sind, dann hat Jhumpa Lahiri den Pultizer-Preis wahrlich verdient. Ihre Kurzgeschichten handeln von indischen Immigranten in den USA, eine dem "normalen" Europaer voellig gleichgueltige Gesellschaftsgruppe. Doch Lahiris Art zu erzaehlen, macht jede einzelne Story wertvoll. Meine liebste ist wahrscheinlich jene, die dem Band den Namen gab: Der "Uebersetzer der Krankheiten", ein indischer Touristenfuehrer, der nebenbei als Uebersetzer fuer einen Arzt arbeitet, trifft auf eine in die USA ausgewanderte Familie. Hier wird sichtbar, wie sehr wir alle von der Kultur unserer Umwelt gepraegt sind.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Impersonal and Melancholy, 2. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Interpreter of Maladies (Taschenbuch)
I was eager to read more on Indian culture, and found this book lacking. If you enjoy the melancholy or are searching for a read to make your troubles seem minimal, this might be the book for you.
It may be that the author is too Westernized. The closest to culture that I found was "The Real Durwan" - one of two stories that wasn't focused on Western influence on Indian life. One reader previously indicated this book was in the line of Roy's "God of Small Things" - which is true, but not something to boast about, and at least this book comes in smaller doses.
I had a hard time liking any of the characters - which may be because the stories were never written in true first person even when written from the storyteller's perspective. The only story I found truly entertaining was "This Blessed House" just because it was extremely absurd and Twinkle - so likable.
In response to the "Gentle Breeze" review - I found a few mixed up facts. Lillia is a little girl in "When Mr. Pirzada Came To Dine". Most of the stories were not centered around "insignificant" circumstances - unless you call leaving your spouse, being torn from your family, adultery, poverty, and severe illnesses "insignificant". And I am pretty sure Mr. Kapasi was pretty relieved when his address fluttered away - since Mrs. Das didn't want him sexually, just wanted him to "Interpret" her sorry life and make her feel better - which is the only thing Mr. Kapasi gained from the incident - a realization that he had the ability as an interpreter for a doctor to have a significant impact on others' lives.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Story telling at its best..., 27. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Interpreter of Maladies (Taschenbuch)
I loved reading Jhumpa Lahiri's 'Interpreter of Maladies'.
Being an Indian myself, I'm tired of reading books that package India's 'exoticism' to the West. Jhumpa Lahiri's stories do not revolve around the "Indianness" of the characters.India is always in the background, but the characters and their emotions are simply human.
In the 'Interpreter of Maladies', Ms. Lahiri's breathtakingly beautiful, yet simple style of storytelling tells you a story about people who just happen to be Indian.The narrative she employs is very humane, with a lot of attention to detail. The stories are strong and delicate at the same time.
I particularly enjoyed the title story 'Interpreter of Maladies' and the last story 'The Third and Final continent'.
Another aspect of her writing I particularly liked is that she doesn't drown the story in style. The narrative occupies centerstage and the story telling is natural, not contrived.
Looking forward to her next book
Mekhala Vasthare
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Besser als "Namesake" oder "Lowland", 11. Januar 2015
Von 
Felix Richter - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)    (REAL NAME)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Interpreter of Maladies (Kindle Edition)
Als jemandem, der erst relativ spät im Leben so richtig Zeit für Bücher gefunden hat, passiert es mir gelegentlich, dass ich mich rückwärts durch einen Autor lese. So habe ich auch Jhumpa Lahiris Erstlingswerk, die Pulitzer-Preis-gekrönte Kurzgeschichtensammlung "Interpreter of Maladies", als letztes ihrer drei Bücher kennengelernt. Es ist, wie ich finde, tatsächlich ihr bestes.

Es überrascht bei ihrer eigenen Familiengeschichte nicht, dass sie ihre Inspiration fast ausschließlich aus dem "Kulturschock" bezieht, den indische Einwanderer in Amerika erleben (auch wenn sie selber als Tochter bengalischer Einwanderer in London geboren wurde). So ist auch der Titel der deutschen Ausgabe mit "Melancholie der Ankunft" zur Abwechslung mal gut gewählt, und die Ankunft sollte man nicht nur auf die neue Heimat, sondern auch auf neue Lebenssituationen beziehen, oft radikal neu, man denke nur an die von den Familien daheim ausgewählte Bräute, die sich nicht nur mit einem fremden Land, sondern auch mit einem ebenso fremden Mann arrangieren müssen, eine für uns selbstbestimmte Mitteleuropäer unvorstellbare, aber nach wie vor für Inder in Amerika typische Situation.

Es sind bei aller Kürze intensive, oft beklemmende Geschichten, mit stark gezeichneten Charakteren, stets an Wendepunkten ihres Lebens, und auf Happy Endings sollte man keinen allzu großen Wert legen. Es sind Geschichten in sehr unterschiedlichen Tonarten, von denen zwei, die ausschließlich in Kalkutta spielen und mit Amerika nichts zu tun haben, so aus dem Rahmen fallen, dass es fast überrascht, dass sie in dieser Sammlung auftauchen. Aber so bekommt der interessierte Leser noch ein paar kurze, nachdrückliche Impressionen vom täglichen Leben der kleinen Leute von Kalkutta.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A great read, 12. Juli 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Interpreter of Maladies (Taschenbuch)
The worst thing about the short stories in Jhumpa Lahiri's Interpreter of Maladies is that all of her stories eventually come to an end. In Interpreter of Maladies Lahiri lets the reader in on one small moment in the lives of a person, family or town. Her narrative style is simple and her imagery is subtle. It lacks the complexity that literary critics seem to find so valuable in the works of other contempory Indian writers. But it is this simplicity that makes her work so engrossing. In the small space of a short story Lahiri creates characters that are so real you feel as though you have known them all your life.
Lahiri was raised in America by Bengali parents. She obviously writes about what she knows. All of her short stories intertwine the Western and the Eastern world. In one story an American boy, of Indian heritage, observes an Indian man who is visiting his family. In between the young boys descriptions of his favorite toys,and his favorite lollies the story of the Indian man gently unfolds. He is running away from the war between India and Pakistan. He is an outcast from his own country. As a foreigner he is an outcast in America too.
All the characters in Lahiri's collection of stories are outcasts and exiles. On one level they are outcasts from the American or Indian society they live in. On another level they are outcasts from the people and the things that are important to them. In America an Indian man feels like an outcast from his wife and her family after their child dies. In India a poor woman is outcast from the building she cleans once the values of the its residents change.
All this talk of outcasts makes Interpreter of Maladies seem like a rather depressing book. I can assure you it is not. Lahiri may write about sad people, but she doesn't implore the reader to feel sad themselves. Oddly enough most of her characters inspire hope through their sad situations. It is no wonder Interpreter of Maladies has won the 2000 Pulitzer prize. Lahiri deserves it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Almost Jane Austen, 27. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Interpreter of Maladies (Taschenbuch)
I read her short story when it appeared in the New Yorker and was just blown away. She is very much a woman of her place and class, and so her perspective is not always mine. [The scene she describes of the husband and wife attempting a faithfulness-to-their-indianness by attending a boring lecture, for instance, is so believable, so annoying]. However, I could never accuse the author of ever creeping into the story with her own personal axe because every emotion was in perfect measure, and in perfect proportion to the character she had already set up. She "goes in and out of her characters' minds like the blood in their veins", as Woolf wrote of Jane Austen.
I think we Indians have much harsher standards for our own writers because we have much sharper sensibilities to the whole "selling out" phenomenon. Sometimes we see a red flag and charge blindly. So yes, an Indian is not always going to be sympathetic to her *characters* or the way they are constructed. And because she so faithfully mirrors her time, her place and her class, it is easy to read in an endrosement-of-the-establishment kind of thing. With her particular establishment being the urban, intellectual, Indian-American and everything that goes with it. However, what she has pulled off here is no mean feat. To write with your own voice, to find a sentence that fits you, to create a subject-matter that is uniquely yours - is hard enough to do for any writer in any age. For an Indian, or an Indian-American writer, it's that much harder to do precisely because of the India-is-in phenomenon that can turn a work of art into just another commodity. To resist that pull and to still write with originality and depth is quite an achievement.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Exotically universal . . ., 2. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Interpreter of Maladies (Taschenbuch)
I read A Temporary Matter on the NY Times First Chapters site and was immediately taken with the author's precise voice and her matter-of-fact ethnicity. When I got my hands on the book, the other stories showed the same deftness of delivery, the same luster. I finished the book far too quickly and wished for more.
What stands out--besides Lahiri's writing skill--is her use of the exotic to display the universal. One of the hazards of ethnic writing is the temptation to focus on comparisons and dwell on differences. Even when cultures clash, very few good stories can stand on the novelty of conflict and unfamiliarity alone. Lahiri leaps over this trap entirely by giving us characters whose Indian heritage is woven like golden threads through the cloth of an expensive sari. Indian references add and accent but never do they overwhelm. Lahiri's characters are people first and even in their culural context, they vary in personality, circumstance, and outlook. She gives us perspectives as divergent as an elementary school-aged boy observing his baby-sitter's homesickness for India, a young woman recalling her parents' friend worried about his family back in war-torn Pakistan, an irrepressible and upwardly mobile new bride, and an older gentleman looking decades in the past to the first few years after his arrival from India. Even those voices farthest from my own--the tour guide whose other job was the eponymous "interpreter of maladies," and Bibi Haldar, a presumably epileptic woman dependent on the kindness of others--struck universal chords of desire, despair, and hope. This kind of accessibility and connection is what makes her stories stand out.
My one quibble is that several of the stories seemed to end just a hair too soon, as if Lahiri were afraid of overstaying her welcome. This is, I fear, the trend in modern fiction, one I hope will soon pass. Still, she is so generous with all else, it is hard to hold a grudge.
I hope the commotion attached to winning a Pulitzer Prize doesn't keep her too long away from whatever she has for us next.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 213 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Interpreter of Maladies
Interpreter of Maladies von Jhumpa Lahiri
EUR 4,52
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen