Kundenrezensionen


51 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (27)
4 Sterne:
 (13)
3 Sterne:
 (6)
2 Sterne:
 (3)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen I love this man
This was the first DFW work I ever read, and it still sticks in my mind as a brilliant, beautiful collection. Even those who have tried Infinite Jest and hated it (and you are legion) should give this a try. You will be blissfully surprised. A friend of mine was recently on the cruise ship that is the subject of the title piece. She said that everything she saw...
Veröffentlicht am 2. Juni 2000 von Matt B.

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Lots of weird stuff put together in one place
Wallace is precocious--no doubt; his grammatical shenanigans shine in this work and inspired me to vow to risk more with my own writing from now on.

He is also very, very funny when he trusts himself to get beyond junior high boy humor. I quickly tired of the "ooooo let's snigger at the fat women" snidery in his essay about the Illinois State Fair...
Veröffentlicht am 30. März 1998 von Lisa Schweitzer


‹ Zurück | 1 26 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen I love this man, 2. Juni 2000
This was the first DFW work I ever read, and it still sticks in my mind as a brilliant, beautiful collection. Even those who have tried Infinite Jest and hated it (and you are legion) should give this a try. You will be blissfully surprised. A friend of mine was recently on the cruise ship that is the subject of the title piece. She said that everything she saw reminded her of a specific line, that he had left nothing out. DFW is one of the greatest writers of our (or possibly any) time. Forgive him his excesses, and you will be amply rewarded.
I suppose I should make a token effort to say what the book is about. Okay, then: cruise ships, state fairs, tennis, David Lynch, agorophobia, preformance anxiety, etc. There. Now read it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen When he's on he's on, when he's not he's not, 5. Januar 2000
I think David Foster Wallace is a brilliant writer, but can't really hit the target all the time. Either he is totally on top of something in describing it, or he writes himself into an intellectual loop that only he appreciates. When i read his stuff, i almost wonder if he is too intelligent for his audience, in that he tries to write about pop culture and similar themes that appeal to the average reader with such strength and knowhow that he seems like he's a genius stuck in a kid's mind and his descriptions of the kid's world can become too complicated for the kid to enjoy. That said, this book is well worth it, if not for the title essay on board a cruise ship which is hilarious then for the essay on amercian writing in the television age. There is a remark about irony in that essay which just blew my top off, it was great. The other notable essay is his "personal" review and account of a state fair, which is also equally funny. As for the others, i wasn't all that interested, in that i found them too wholly theoretical and dull. However, don't let this stop you, his writing is so original and fresh that its worth buying, not only for what it can give, but for what it exposes you to. Well worth it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Bipolar Reading, 25. April 2000
David Foster Wallace is a very entrancing writer. His prose is, for lack of a better word, beautiful (though he falls into bouts of "like ____ or something", more notably in Infinite Jest than here). Most of this book is his own personal narrative on events he's either experienced or sent on assignment to experience. These tend to be eye-opening, entertaining, and marvelous.
There are also a couple of essays, doctorate-level in complexity, on entertainment and David Lynch. These are very tough to get through unless you're truly interested in the subject. The Lynch essay got more readable towards the end, where it turned into a personal narrative.
The amusement level of this book is, overall, very high. Wallace's odd take on the world is something very unique, which you have to experience yourself. He's semi-agoraphobic, and possibly boviscopophobic (get used to big words). He's a ping-pong guru (maybe). He lost at chess to a 9 year old girl. He has a fear of chickens. He lets you into his world.
Enjoy
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An H-Bomb in reverse, 30. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
David Foster Wallace is an endearing writer, and these essays (which cover tennis, luxury cruises, state fairs, movies/television) are disarmingly sincere and phenomenally crafted. His "journalistic" pieces in particular make the works of a Hunter Thompson or even a Tom Wolfe seem amateurish by comparison.
Despite DFW's repeated assertions that he's not a crack journalist, these essays prove that he's not only good: he's celestial. However, if you hate the subjects, you'll definitely be put off by his fixation with minutiae and his legions of footnotes. (The final essay describing a Caribbean cruise boasts over 130 of the little buggers.. each of them delicious.)
On the other hand, I can't think of an author who has done better with the subjects than DFW. He's intelligent without being haughty and genuine without being sickening. A great introduction to his works.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen His essays are better than his fiction, 26. Januar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
There is exactly one reason why this book is eminently recommendable: it shows in elegant detail why DFW is, above all, a beautiful person. This book draws you in, and not just because DFW's expository skills put you right alongside the action. The real draw is that DFW is unafraid to experience and evenhandedly relate joy and wonder in details. We are allowed to know of his distaste for Andre Agassi and Balthazar Getty, but we're also treated to his clear affection for Pete Sampras and the older ladies at the cruise ship dinner table. We're also exposed to the natural and endearing compulsion to pour the au jus bucket overboard, if only to attract sharks.
Bottom line: you want to hear details when they're from people you would like and trust. DFW is likable and trustworthy, and his essays will convince you.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Full of the richness of reading, 14. Dezember 1999
I most recently have given this book to a friend of my whom is a speed reader, and goes through about 3 books a week. I told her this one had speed bumps. I have given this book to at least 5 people already, including my own copy, which I will have to replace. Reading the reviews of DFW's work, I can't help but be reminded of....living people, that is, the people I enjoy being around that are interested and interesting, usually entertaining and occasionally annoying. DFW's work encompasses so many aspects of the human condition, good and bad, that I recommend this work for anyone who enjoys reading. Why? Because they will either thoroughly enjoy talking about this book, or thoroughly enjoy trashing this book. It is a life-giver to the brain and well worth the read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Truly Great Book I'll Read Again And Again, 27. Januar 2000
Von 
David Foster Wallace is perhaps the greatest living essayist. He's never just showing off, never just impressing the reader, even when he's showing off and thoroughly impressing. His prose rockets in every direction, changing angle and tone continously. And yet his essays are sharply focused and deeply engaged with their subject matter. Best of all, even though Wallace is forever exposing the ridiculous, his writing is warm, affectionate and modest. His pieces on taking a cruise (the title piece) and on attending the Illinois State Fair are as funny and carefully observed as anything in the english language.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen DFW Thrills again, 6. Oktober 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Not often enogh will an author make you laugh AND make you think. It could be arugued that some of the issues Wallace addresses are not worthy of one's precious thought, but I believe the reader can easily see past his silly neroticisms and delve into the great essays here. The best part about this format (essays and arguments) is that if one particular entry does not suit your fancy, another one probably will. Even the essay on the ATP tour was shockingly interesting to me, even though I'm not a fan of Tennis. Check it out, you won't regret it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Great Essay on David Lynch, 20. Juli 2000
Von 
R. W. Rasband (Heber City, UT) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
The other essays in this volume are pretty amusing, but the real find here is Wallace's long consideration of David Lynch's career. It the best thing I've ever read on that filmmaker. Wallace catches the peculiar combination of innocence and horror that inhabits Lynch's work and makes him so special. Along with his essay "Laughing With Kafka" (not in this book but you can find it online), Wallace shows real talent as a critic, and could probably be a great one if this fiction day-job doesn't pan out (that's a joke, son.)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen the next Swift?, 1. Oktober 1999
Von Ein Kunde
The title essay, concerning the author's trip on a cruise ship for an assignment for Harper's magazine is quite possibly the funniest thing I have ever read. I have so far given this book to three people who are considering going on a cruise ship, hoping to dissuade them from doing so. (It hasn't worked yet, but I'll keep trying) While the rest of the book is pale by comparison, that might not be fair: rather like saying that looking into a searchlight is dimmer than looking into the sun. Well worth the time and money.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 26 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen