Kundenrezensionen


22 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (16)
4 Sterne:
 (1)
3 Sterne:
 (2)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


11 von 16 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen "A TRENCHANT, DEFIANT, ENGROSSING NOVEL"
If you read but one book this year let it be The Goldfinch, seven years in the writing and well worth every day of waiting for the incomparable pleasure it brings. Donna Tartt’s prose sings, dances, makes you smile and breaks your heart. Each word is carefully chosen, so perfect in placement that it is as if a master craftsman had set it there. And why not...
Vor 9 Monaten von Gail Cooke veröffentlicht

versus
70 von 77 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Superficial, shallow, boring and inconsistent
This was easily the most overrated book of 2013. I hated it. Let me try to explain why:

1. The constant use of superlative language: Every slam is deafening, every headache splitting, the narrator is "tormented" by small things (not the bombing that takes place in the beginning itself). Donna Tartt writes in a language of a cliche New York snob, where...
Vor 5 Monaten von B. Lutze veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

70 von 77 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Superficial, shallow, boring and inconsistent, 10. Februar 2014
Von 
B. Lutze (Potsdam) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 1000 REZENSENT)    (REAL NAME)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Goldfinch (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
This was easily the most overrated book of 2013. I hated it. Let me try to explain why:

1. The constant use of superlative language: Every slam is deafening, every headache splitting, the narrator is "tormented" by small things (not the bombing that takes place in the beginning itself). Donna Tartt writes in a language of a cliche New York snob, where every little thing is forced to mean something or to be special. Horrible.
2. Cultural, but superficial name dropping (all the freaking time): 13 year olds with Palestrina on their Ipods (or Shostakovich), art history books that a kid carries with him, Tupac Shakur courses at high school, and on and on and on. Neither the narrator, nor the main characters are really affected by art. It does not serve any purpose here, other than Tartt showing off, in a patronizing and preaching manner: Disgusting.
3. Oh, boy, her problem with time: Ipods in 1999? Or references to 9/11? The research here is lousy, brands and products appear at times when there were not even launched or invented. Bad job, Donna, what did you do in those 10 years?
4. Length: 770 pages? Really? With endless sections about furniture restoration and drug use? With completely shallow and inconsistent characters, that are sketchy at best?

I am really sorry that I am using the superlative language I complained about myself, but this book was the worst I forced myself to read in a long time. What a waste of time.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


18 von 20 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Too Many Words!, 16. März 2014
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Goldfinch (Gebundene Ausgabe)
It took me a month to read this novel. It was a major investment on my part. I am a slow reader, but even the fastest of readers will have to make a definite commitment to get through it.

I’m not sorry that I read “The Goldfinch.” I just wish I could have liked it more. When I was finished, the first thought that went through my mind was that the book’s page count could have been reduced by half and it would have had not only the same, but likely a greater impact on the reader. Another first gut reaction: too much drug description. Too much alcohol. Again: less could have been more. It got absolutely tiresome reading all this. Didn’t Tartt have an editor? I understand, of course, that everything is beautifully written, but enough is enough.

I was fascinated by the worlds Tartt opened up for us: the life of wealthy New Yorkers via Mrs. Barber & Co; the antique furniture world via Hobie, the restaurator; seedy Las Vegas as seen through the eyes of teenagers who have to live there. I appreciated her craft in building these worlds.

And I thought she did a great job developing her characters. They were life-like. Each had his or her own cadence, quirks, etc . Their inner life shone through. They were complex human beings.

Nonetheless: there was only one character, one character amongst dozens, who we really like: Hobie. And he’s not the protagonist. He’s the mentor character — I suppose metaphorically speaking, the one who not only fixes up the furniture, but other characters, ie. Pippa and Theo, too. But he’s not the protagonist who takes us through hundreds upon hundreds of pages. Theo is the protagonist and he’s not really likeable. I can appreciate that Theo’s “goodness” dies the moment his mother dies, but I really do wish he had some redeeming factor. I couldn’t find it amidst all those gorgeous, voluptuous words, images and metaphors of Tartt’s. Okay, the mother, who is killed at the beginning in the explosion of the Met, seems nice enough, but we do wonder how she could have been crazy enough to stay so long with her sad sack, gambling, conniving, self-centered husband.

Boris, Theo’s best friend, is a wonderfully colorful character, but, alas, he’s a one-joke character too. At first it’s great fun “listening” to him talk a mile a minute with his mix of English, Russian, Ukrainian and maybe ten other languages. But after a while, I as a reader, thought: I get it. I got it a hundred pages ago. It’s boring listening to this over and over and over again.

So this is what I think: Tartt is absolutely brilliant at dazzling us. The book is an explosion of words, characters and exotic worlds. We are amazed. We are fascinated. But at the end of the day, when the shock of the explosion settles, we wonder: so? Big deal! And why? Because we don’t really care about these characters. I know, I know, they may be very realistic, and maybe that’s how life it, but if she had given us a reason to love Theo and Boris despite their blown-out minds and callousness, their criminal ways and mixed up hearts, it would have gone a long way to make this a more satisfying read. As I see it, the book totters between 3 and 4 stars. Today, after writing this, it feels like 3. So be it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Wie man Spannung totquatscht, 22. Juli 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Goldfinch (Audio CD)
...dafür ist dieses Buch ein Lehrstück! Schon die erste potenziell spannende Szene sei hier beispielhaft genannt - Theo und seine Mutter befinden sich in einem Museum, in dem eine Bombe hochgeht. Der Junge kommt in den Trümmern wieder zu sich, findet einen alten sterbenden Mann, der ihn (gefühlt) ewig lang bequasselt. Theo hört (gefühlt) ewig lang zu, blablabla, Theo trinkt Wasser, Theo nimmt das Bild, Theo nimmt den Ring, quassel quassel, (gefühlte) Ewigkeiten verstreichen, und irgendwann mal - siehe da! - fällt Theo ein, dass er noch eine Mutter hat, die seit der Detonation verschwunden ist, und an die er bisher nicht einen Gedanken verschwendet hat, obwohl sie doch das Zentrum seiner Existenz ist. Sicher, man kann alles auf den Schock eines Kindes schieben. Aber überzeugt hat's mich zu keiner Sekunde. Der sterbende alte Mann ist Fundament der gesamten Handlung, die Autorin musste diese Szene so hinbiegen, wie sie es getan hat, aber ich fühlte mich von der Szene erst befremdet, dann gelangweilt.

Und so geht es in einem Fort weiter. Dabei sind Theos Empfindungen und Gedanken als verwaistes Kind tiefgründig, empfindsam und ergreifend, seine Drogenkarriere, sein zwielichtiges Leben - alles nachvollziehbar. Nur leider wäre weniger mehr gewesen - so sensibel die Bilder ausgewählt sind, mit denen die Autorin Theo sein Leid schildern lässt, so sind es oft zuviele. Die Inflationierung nimmt weiter zu, als Boris in Theos Leben tritt. Dabei ist Boris eine wunderbare Figur - ein total unkonventionelles Kid, das bereit zu jeder Untat ist, solange sie Fun verspricht. Aber die Szenen mit Boris sind quälend lang, jeder Gedankenfurz wird beblubbert nach bester russisch-philosophischer Manier.

Wann immer Boris auftauchte, wünschte ich mir, ich müsste nicht das Hörbuch in voller Länge hören, sondern könnte die Seiten querlesen.

Gut gefallen hat mir hingegen Theos Vater. Hier wird die Figur nicht breitgetreten, sondern hier schillert der zwielichtige Charakter des Vaters unkommentiert; mir wurde ausnahmsweise nicht vorgekaut, wie ich den Vater zu sehen habe, sondern hier durfte ich mir selbst eine Meinung bilden. Auch bei Theos Verlobter hat's mir sehr gut gefallen, dass ihre Figur Heimlichkeiten anzeichnete, ohne dass sie sofort ausgeleuchtet wurden. Da dachte ich mir: Was hätte das für ein Roman werden können, wenn nicht alles totgequasselt worden wäre!

Wie das Bild, so das Buch: Wird das Bild "Der Distelfink" im Buch als unglaubliches Meisterwerk beschrieben, so scheint das in der Kunstgeschichte nicht ganz so gesehen zu werden; Bild und Buch sind zwischenzeitlich aber eine lukrative Symbiose eingegangen, so dass nun das Bild im Mauritshus an prominentere Stelle rückt und die literarische Welt Donna Tartts Roman zugleich zum Meisterwerk erklärt. Cleveres Marketing ist alles!!

Fazit: Meilenweit entfernt von einem Meisterwerk. Wegen Theos herrlich schillerndem Vater gnadenhalber noch 2 Sterne.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Tja..., 7. Mai 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Goldfinch (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Wunderbar geschrieben. Und dennoch: langatmig und streckenweise langweilig. Die Sauf- und Kotzorgien zweier Halbwüchsiger sind nicht unterhaltsam. Weniger wäre mehr gewesen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


11 von 16 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen "A TRENCHANT, DEFIANT, ENGROSSING NOVEL", 24. Oktober 2013
Von 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
If you read but one book this year let it be The Goldfinch, seven years in the writing and well worth every day of waiting for the incomparable pleasure it brings. Donna Tartt’s prose sings, dances, makes you smile and breaks your heart. Each word is carefully chosen, so perfect in placement that it is as if a master craftsman had set it there. And why not? Tartt is a master craftsman creating fully drawn characters and revealed to us in all of their complexities. We not only see them but share their ruminations as they reveal their thoughts on life, love and the power of art.

At heart this is the story of New Yorker Theodore Decker and The Goldfinch, a painting by Dutch master Carel Fabritius. We meet Theodore or Theo at the age of 13 when he and his beloved mother take shelter from a rainstorm in a museum. His mother means everything to Theo and when she is killed in a horrific explosion at the museum he realizes “...the daily, commonplace happiness that was lost when I lost her.” For him that is so true. Somehow he manages to escape the carnage physically sound but psychologically damaged. He takes with him the Fabritius painting, an object that becomes as necessary to him as breath. But how can he keep it when eventually the world will be looking for the masterpieces lost in tragedy?

Initially Theo returns to the apartment that he shared with his mother sure that she will return. But once convinced that she is dead he ricochets from place to place, steps ahead of the social service workers. His father deserted the family years ago, and he is alone. Theo finds a temporary home with a wealthy family on the Upper East Side, the Barbours, whose son Andy had been a playmate of Theo’s years before. Then, quite suddenly, his father appears with Xandra, a woman as different from his mother as any woman could be, and announces that they are taking Theo to Las Vegas.

So begins an odyssey for the boy with thoughts of his lost mother ever near. Readers are propelled by the narrative that carries us from Park Avenue to casinos to drug dealers’ dives to auction houses to Lower East Side bars. Later he finds work in the antiques business where he quickly develops a talent for shady dealing. Throughout The Goldfinch we are introduced to unforgettable characters - Hobie, a skilled craftsman with a “rough but educated voice” who befriended Theo and gave him shelter, Boris, a Ukrainian lad who introduced him to every kind of hallucinatory extant and says, “None of us ever find enough kindness in the world, do we?”

Donna Tartt has given us a rare gift that has been called a “...trenchant, defiant, engrossing and rocketing novel..” It is that and so much more.

- Gail Cooke
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Really good, 4. Juli 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Goldfinch (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
The life of Theo Decker, how fast can one be involved in an uncontroled situation. How far can a friend go? How much can we forgive? How little can we change?
The pages fly. New York, Las Vegas and Amsterdam, the book takes you for an exciting walk around. Never know what we will find around the corner.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Einsinken in eine Welt, 14. April 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Goldfinch (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Zwar fehlen mir noch rund 100 Seiten während ich schon diese Rezension schreibe, aber ich bin so völlig begeistrt, dass ich diese Stimmung sofort nach der Aufforderung durch Amazon mitteilen muss!!! Ich bin zwar im Rentenalter, aber selten habe ich die Lebenswelt junger Leute so gut verstehen können wie durch dieses Buch. Und ich habe vor 25 Jahren ein Jahr in Boston gelebt und das Buch bringt mir "mein Amerika" wieder sehr nahe.
Alle positive Stilkritik an dem Buch, von der ich gehört hatte, interessieren mich nicht, da das Buch etwas tut, was ein gutes Buch tun sollte: Es versetzt mich in eine andere Welt, ich fühle mich als Teil der Erlebnisse.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


12 von 18 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen My absolute literary highlight in 2013, 4. Dezember 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Goldfinch (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Certainly this year has seen a lot of memorable publications but Donna Tartt's new book is my absolute highlight. A novel of Tolstoyan dimensions it describes the life of Theodore Decker, a teenager who survives a bombing of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York and retrieves a priceless painting from the destroyed gallery he happens to be in at the moment of the attack. Injured and traumatized he succeeds to smuggle the painting out of the building, returns home and starts to wait for his mother, who was with him at the museum. It turns out that his mother is among the casualties, which means that his life is about to change totally. Orphaned he is taken up into the family of a school friend till his estranged father shows up and takes him from New York to Las Vegas. Over time the painting becomes Theodore's - as the New York Times wrote - prize, guilt and burden. We will follow Decker, who at the time of the accident is only 13 years old through early adulthood into his twenties, when he is working in the antique business. The novel starts in Amsterdam and Theo retells his life with a remark early on, that everything would have turned out different, if his mother had lived.
I had seen the Dutch translation of Goldfinch in Amsterdam at the beginning of October and was surprised by its sheer volume of well over a 1000 pages. Naturally, also the English version is long but the nearly 800 pages stand for a perfect reading experience. In the end you will have spent quite a few hours with Theo Decker and the characters surrounding him. You will know his life inside out. So much that you could be tempted to believe, he really exists and can be contacted in New York. (The painting actually is real and somehow currently on exhibition in New York).
Anyway a very good story and worth waiting for all the years that Donna Tartt needed to compose this literary cosmos of Theo Decker's world.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Not my style at all, 3. Mai 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Goldfinch (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I was very excited to start reading this book but honestly i find it totally bland...I don't think I can continue reading it. The narrative adds too much irrelevant detail, and it often seems forced or perhaps even fake.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Wunderbares Buch, 24. Juli 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Donna Tartt ist die Meisterin des Romans. Sie zieht einen in ihren eigenen Kosmos hinein, und man ist verzückt von den exquisiten Sätzen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Goldfinch (English Edition)
EUR 5,99
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen