Kundenrezensionen


250 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (203)
4 Sterne:
 (18)
3 Sterne:
 (16)
2 Sterne:
 (4)
1 Sterne:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


12 von 13 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Heaven in Book Form
I fell in love with the movie first, but then discovered from the credits that there was a book counterpart. I quickly found & ordered the book. I'm not even finished yet and I love this book dearly. I find myself thinking of Inigo, Fezzik, Westley, and Buttercup through the day. I find myself smiling at the parts that the movie takes directly. I thought I loved...
Veröffentlicht am 28. Juli 2000 von Julia

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen It made a better Movie
William Goldman, the man who penned the screen treatments to such classics as The Ghost and the Darkness and Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, had an interesting premise and wrote a compelling, fairy tale-like novel that is quite entertaining. However, I saw the movie first. I loved the movie, the characters, the concepts, etc. It was my favorite movie and still...
Veröffentlicht am 25. März 2000 von Hank Robbins


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen What fun!, 26. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Princess Bride (Gebundene Ausgabe)
This is an awesome book. I only wish we could read stuff like this in school instead of "Lord of the Flies" or "A Separate Peace." Just one thing though, for all you people out there who *still* don't get it--this *is* the original version! Goldman did it to get out of writing all the horrible annoying details, and to have an excuse for the somewhat choppy writing style. Don't worry, though--I didn't understand it myself at first.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen One of my favorites, 4. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Princess Bride (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I saw the movie version of this at a young enough age so that when I came upon the book, I did not remember most of the plot. I am quite glad of this, because it didn't limit my perceptions as much by forcing them into the reality of the movie. (I am not saying that the movie is bad.. FAR FROM IT! Just that I'd suggest reading the book first, THEN seeing the movie..) The little interludes between sections were my favorite parts of the story, and I simply loved the extra background on Fezzik and Inigo. All in all, I would count this book as one of the great works of our time. Perhaps it won't be counted up there by academia, who unfortunately decides which books get taught in most english classes (Dickens? Blech! ) but it is a book that I think will always take up a little corner of our mind... And every so often we will encounter something in life that makes us think: Oh! that's sorta like that bit from The Princess Bride... I love this book =)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Book: way better than the movie!, 4. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Princess Bride (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I loved this book! I just finished reading it and really, really want to find the sequel, Buttercup's Baby, which, I believe, won't be published for a while. The story is about Buttercup, a beautiful woman, who discovers that she loves the farm boy, Wesley, just in time for him to leave for America! But then Buttercup recieves the devasting news that Wesley has been killed by the Dread Pirate Roberts! Buttercup is devasted and in her haste, consents to marry the evil Prince Humperdink. For three years, Buttercup, the once common daughter of a farmer, learns how to be a princess and future queen. One day, she is kidnapped by a band of three men: a mighty giant (the champion wrestler of 73 countries), the gratest swordsman in the world, and a tiny hunchback who happens to be the genius of the theives of Florin! However, a man dressed completely in black soon appears on the scene who seems to match all three mens' skills! This man attempts to rescue the doomed-to-die Buttercup, and you'll have to read this wonderful novel to find out what happens!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen This book was a significant emotional event for me., 4. Juni 1998
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Princess Bride (Taschenbuch)
I first read this book when I was fifteen. I've gone through four copies (mostly due to unreturned loans), and I've practically memorized it over the past fifteen years. The book has a great premise (of being written by Morgenstern and read to the author as a child), and a wonderful message for anyone who wonders what happened to the fairy-tale endings they never found when they grew up.
Goldman's conversational style gives the book an intimacy. The reader really feels like they *know* him. I've read almost all of his other books, and this seems, to me, to be the most polished and sensitive. It's very subtle and charming, and then--wham!--a line like "Life isn't fair; it's just fairer than death, that's all." That's one of my all-time favourite quotes.
The movie did a good job of giving a cartoon-like, fun feeling to the story, but I thought the author's interjections and his cynical observations were quite moving, especially when contrasted with the happily-ever-after flavour of Westley & Buttercup's romance.
The movie caught the basic storyline, but the book has more to offer. I recommend it for anyone who's wondering "Hey...is this all there is??" Somehow, Goldman's book, The Princess Bride, makes you feel better about the answer.
(P.S. - Did anyone ever write in for the "alternative reunion scene"? I was always curious whether there really was one.)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Verwirrend, aber genial, 2. März 2009
Auf das Buch kam ich über die Zitate von C. Funke in Tintenherz. Man sollte allerdings erst ein paar Erkundigungen einziehen, bevor man dieses Buch liest, sonst ist die Verwirrung groß. Erst allmählich dämmerte mir die Erkenntnis, dass Morgenstern eine Erfindung ist und die Vorworte die Rahmenhandlung des Ganzen bilden. So gesehen ist die Konstruktion des Buches schon etwas Besonderes und der Ton gefiel mir ausnehmend gut. Die Ironie basiert hauptsächlich auf dem Kontrast von mittelalterlicher Abenteuerhandlung und zeitgenössischem Englisch mit allen entsprechenden Wortspielen und Redewendungen, das ist köstlich. Auch fand ich das Ineinandergreifen der Rahmenhandlung und die Autorenkomemntar mit Bezug auf die eigene Biografie witzig und erfrischend. Leider schien mir die eigentliche Handlung der von dem Autor selbst so hochgerühmten Abenteuergeschichte, auch hier ist natürlich wieder jede Menge Ironie im Spiel, etwas zu kurz zu kommen. Es störte mich auch die Brutalität der Folterszene, da blieb mir das Lachen doch etwas im Halse stecken.
Ansonsten ist das Buch jedem Freund des skurilen Humors zu empfehlen, man sollte für die vielen sprachlichen Ironien und Feinheiten allerdings gewappnet sein, das erschließt sich nicht immer auf den ersten Blick.
Außerdem empfehle ich, das erste Vorwort erst am Ende zu lesen, sonst kapiert man erst mal garnichts.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Delightful and Charming, 28. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Princess Bride (Gebundene Ausgabe)
"Wait a minute, wait a minute....Is this a kissing book?" Well, yes and no...you'll just have to read it to find out for yourself.
William Goldman is a legend in the world of screenwriting, known for his clever, crisp dialogue and engrossing narrative, so why should his novels be any different?
Utterly charming, 'The Princess Bride' combines action, adventure, plenty of swordplay, and yes, some kissing....Those of you who only saw the movie (also writen by Goldman -- see my DVD review) are missing out on many of the delights of the book, notably on the developed backstory of the characters and the clean, wry prose.
Here's a bit of trivia: First, there is NO S. Morgenstern -- he is made up, fictitious, a red herring...accept it and move on. Second, Mr. Goldman will send you a lost section if you write to his address and request it (the one of mentions in the book)! When I first read that 10 years ago, I wrote to the company mentioned in the book and was delighted to receive my bonus section! (Hey, Mr Goldman if you are reading this, I lost my copy 3 years ago when I moved to LA! Could you please send me another one? ) :)
Cherish this book and keep it to share with your children.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Classic tale, 20. März 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Princess Bride (Taschenbuch)
If you have seen the movie, you will still enjoy the book. Highly recommended and good for about age 8 up.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The 25th anniversary edition of the classic book for the top movie, 6. Januar 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Princess Bride (Kindle Edition)
As many other fantasy lovers, I really love the movie "The Princess Bride" for its laconic humor, tendency not to take itself too seriously, and funny quotes ("inconceivable" among many others). The book does not disappoint, and keeps to the spirit of the movie in that the author continues to interrupt the story with commentary on "what he skipped from the supposed - but fictional - original because it was too boring".
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen great, just great, 13. Januar 2012
I really loved the story, its characters and the author's comments.

If you look for reality - start looking - you won't find it (at it's core a great book for children).
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen impossible to put down, 15. April 2011
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
I got notion of this book through a readers comment to Walter Moers Stadt der träumenden Bücher (five star-book), in which was insinuated, that Moers had found his style in the Princess Bride. This is interesting, I thought, lets have a look. Fact is, I wouldnt have wanted to miss this for the world, its unchallenged. Like Moers, the story is fantasy with enough real characters, witty dialogues, exciting turning points and jest to keep you going. Its enough for four books. I loved the Princess Bride.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Princess Bride
The Princess Bride von William Goldman
EUR 4,84
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen