Kundenrezensionen


17 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (9)
4 Sterne:
 (4)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:
 (3)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Explaining New Possibilities Presented Today by Crunching and Reusing Data
"For in much wisdom is much grief,
And he who increases knowledge increases sorrow." -- Ecclesiastes 1:18 (NKJV)

I believe that your reaction to this book depends totally on whether you already crunch and reuse all available data. If you do, it's old news. If you don't, you may feel that the floor has been tilted a bit in favor of those who have and know...
Vor 18 Monaten von Donald Mitchell veröffentlicht

versus
7 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Overky trivial and repetitive
I can only confirm what several readers before me have stated: This book could have easily been compressed into an article. If you have any idea what statistics and data mining is, then this book will not add much to your knowledge.

The author goes to some great length to define big data by three attributes (more, messy, correlation rather than causalty). While...
Vor 17 Monaten von C. Ziegler veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Explaining New Possibilities Presented Today by Crunching and Reusing Data, 29. Mai 2013
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
"For in much wisdom is much grief,
And he who increases knowledge increases sorrow." -- Ecclesiastes 1:18 (NKJV)

I believe that your reaction to this book depends totally on whether you already crunch and reuse all available data. If you do, it's old news. If you don't, you may feel that the floor has been tilted a bit in favor of those who have and know how to use the data. In the latter case, first appreciating that data-driven learning can be more valuable than theory-testing learning can be quite an eye-opener. You may not agree. Sometimes you should and sometimes you shouldn't.

If you aren't a data jock, the book has accessible examples and anecdotes that you will probably understand just fine. If you are a data jock, the content may seem, well, "Elementary, my dear Dr. Watson."

I thought the most interesting parts related to how privacy might be protected against unanticipated invasions by those who are incautious in plowing ahead without considering who will get hurt and how.

The case for not needing to know cause-and-effect is greatly overstated here. One of the best potential uses of data-driven analysis is identifying what combinations of changes may work best with one another in a new business model, an improved strategy, or an upgraded business process. If you don't understand cause-and-effect in seeking to make such improvements, you'll make a big mess most of the time. That's also true in other complex environments, such as many medical ones. The benefits of one such cause-and-effect based improvement will usually run rings around the kind of incremental enhancements described in this book from acting on merely data-driven conclusions.

I've graded the book for its value to someone who is new to the subject.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


7 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Overky trivial and repetitive, 29. Juni 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Big Data (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I can only confirm what several readers before me have stated: This book could have easily been compressed into an article. If you have any idea what statistics and data mining is, then this book will not add much to your knowledge.

The author goes to some great length to define big data by three attributes (more, messy, correlation rather than causalty). While all these hold true, an explanation mght have fit into two pages each, rather than several dozens.

All in all, easily digestible but also largely boring. Not recommended to anyne who is not a 100% rookie in data matters.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Lots of information and all important aspects about this new development of data science, 16. Mai 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
It's about the what, not the why.
A good book for all people who want to learn more about the new buzz-word 'Big-Data' and what it might be good for. They also write about the chances and risks of this new development, easy to understand even for non-technicans.
Whether you're a CEO deciding about the investment or just a worried citizen - this book will give you all insights to make up your mind.
I believe that the authors could have reduced the content about 20% and still would have draw the same accurate picture. Too many examples are repeated at times. Maybe thats necessary for someone entierly new to this, but I believe anyone with a smart mind, does not need that.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Spannende Einführung in die Thematik, 22. April 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Die Autoren liefern eine fundierte Einführung in die Thematik "Big Data". Ohne je (zu) akademisch oder langweilig zu werden, geben sie einen tiefen Einblick in Nutzen und Gefahren von big data. Mithilfe zahlreicher Fallbeispiele schaffen sie es, ein Bewußtsein dafür zu herzustellen, in wie vielen Bereichen unseres Alltags wir bereits ständig, bewußt oder unbewußt, big data nutzen – und natürlich auch selbst unsere Daten dafür liefern. Besonders fesselnd fand ich die Beschreibung der Gefahren von big data und die (durchaus kritischen) Überlegungen zu den Möglichkeiten gesellschaftlicher und staatlicher Kontrolle.
Die Menge der angeführten Beispiele verdeutlicht das Ausmaß des Einflusses von big data - nicht zuletzt deswegen bleibt das Buch auch bis zur letzten Seite spannend und bietet jede Menge Anknüpfungspunkte für eine weitere Vertiefung des Themas.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen To measure is to know. Lord Kelvin, 11. August 2014
Big Data beschreibt das hier besprochene Buch von Viktor Mayer-Schönberger und Kenneth Cukier mit vielen Facetten, die unser Leben bereits stark beeinflussen und noch stärker beeinflussen werden.

Geschichte von Big Data
Zu Beginn veranschaulichen überraschende Blicke in die zum Teil schon vor sehr langer Zeit begonnene Geschichte von Big Data die Wurzeln von Big Data und den Weg zu Big Data von heute. Zum Beispiel die Geschichte von Matthew Fontaine Maury, der 1839 schwer verunglückte und eine Karriere auf See nicht mehr fortführen konnte. Und trotzdem weiter „zur See fuhr“, als Datenpionier mit seiner erfolgreichen Idee Logbücher auszuwerten, daraus Muster zu erkennen und effizientere Routen zu entwickeln. „Merchant ships desperately wanted to get hold of his charts; Maury insisted that in return they too hand over their logs (an early version of a viral social network). ‘Every ship that navigates the high seas’, he proclaimed, „may henceforth be regarded as a floating observatory, a temple of science.“ (S.75)

Segen und Fluch von Big Data
Ausführlich stellen die Autoren auch Segen und Fluch von Big Data vor. Beides mit vielen greifbaren Beispielen, die mich mit dem Gefühl zurücklassen: für mich überwiegt der Fluch. Ich teile den in Bezug auf den Fluch für mich zu oft durchscheinenden Optimismus – das müssen/können wir in den Griff bekommen – der Autoren nicht.

Wohl sehe und verstehe ich: „Just as the telescope enabled us to comprehend the universe and the microscope allowed us to understand germs, the new techniques for collecting and analyzing huge bodies of data will help us make sense of our world in ways we are just starting to appreciate.“ (S.7)

Doch ich sehe auch die riesige Herausforderung dabei: „We must prevent the rise of the twenty-first-century data barons, the modern equivalent of the nineteenth-century robber barons who dominated America’s railroads, steel manufacturing, and telegraph networks.“ (S.183)

Zwischen diesen beiden Polen von Big Data schlummern dann noch jede Menge weitere Herausforderungen, nämlich u.a. an unser Know-How mit Daten umzugehen, z.B.: „Ultimately, big data may require us to change, to become more comfortable with disorder and uncertainty.“ (S.48)

Für mich sind dies auch die drei Gründe, warum man sich unbedingt mit Big Data beschäftigen sollte:

- um den Segen,
- um den Fluch
- und um die Know-how-Herausforderungen für einen selbst kennen zu lernen.
Ich sehe das immer mal wieder bei meinen StudentInnen: Statistik wirkt nicht für alle Menschen verlockend. Da ich ja zum Glück Statistik-Visualisierung unterrichte, kann ich mit der Vielfalt an heutigen Visualisierungsformaten doch indirekt etwas zu Statistik verlocken.

Statistik etwas offener gegenüberzustehen, lohnt sich:
„Unlike material things – the food we eat, the candle that burns – data’s value does not diminish when it is used; it can be processed again an again.“ (S.101)
„In fact, with the right mindset, data can be cleverly reused to become a fountain of innovation and new services. The data can reveal secrets to those with the humility, the willingness, and the tools to listen.„ (S.5)

Klar ist natürlich auch, dafür braucht man ein “big-data mindset” (S.129) Und “big data will require a new group of people to take on this role. Perhaps they will be called “algorithmists’.” (S.179)

Das Buch hilft auf umfassende Weise, Big Data kennen zu lernen. Allerdings muss man sich das erarbeiten. Etwas mehr inhaltliche Straffung und dem Verständnis helfendere Typographie würde die Lektüre sicher erleichtern.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


10 von 13 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Less would have been more, 21. März 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Excessively repetitive, same stories and examples of big data over and over again, none of them new or surprising. The authors are uncritical of social and political implications, at best leaving all options open. In this case, less would certainly have been better. It would possibly have made an interesting lecture or paper, but it's not the stuff of books.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen I am very impressed with this book! This is quiet sophisticated!, 21. April 2014
Finally, I found a book in my field of interest! Mr Mayer-Schönberger and Mr Cukier are delivering to my joy a well-grounded analysis that goes beyond consensus and the general academic pub-talk! Furthermore, I was really pleased the way in which this massive, complex and sensitive issue of big data was handled and presented as it provides you with recent context, illustrates with plenty of examples, with provition of detailed analysis and written for a general audience likewise me :) Moreover, this very explanatory work also seeks the explanation in the form of causal relationships that is also narrowly focused. To sum up simply, this book is a superb investment for every business, start-up, think thank and person, that wants to have the big picture.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Great introduction to the details of Big Data, 6. April 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
I enjoyed all the interesting background on history and technologies, but also the use cases and Bog Data Examples. What was great is the critical view on Big Data as well. What are the threats and risks and what to look out for. Overall a great and entertaining read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The big picture of big data, 22. April 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Trust me, you won't get bored! Mayer-Schönberger and Cukier do an excellent job in keeping you focused on the issue: why big data is becoming increasingly significant in so many regards. The authors are presenting a number of well-chosen examples in order to explain and illustrate to the point the current stage of developments.

But - perhaps even more importantly - they are pointing to the many future impacts big data will have on a broad spectrum of fields.

Some of these issues are already part of our daily lives - mostly hidden and obscure, for good reasons: the thought that a huge portion of our decisions, actions and statements are being tracked and processed is disquieting.

It's that dark side of big data the authors are elaborating on in an excellent way. Their rationale for necessary mechanisms of public and legal control is convincingly clear.

Although the text itself is avoiding academic style (while far from simplifying!) the extensive bibliography shows the authors' broad knowledge of the current discourse (and creates appetite for the pundit reader...).

So, reading the book is a journey into a new era of how we will define and use terms like evidence, experience, and knowlegde.

Big data is the exciting new territory on the map of the information revolution, and it's far from being charted completely. This book is a great guide to this potential of fascinating explorations. Moreover, it's also pointing precisely to hidden trap doors and dangerous trails of our future datascape.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Gut, aber redundant, 4. Dezember 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Ein interessantes und nachdenkenswertes Buch. Leider ist es teils redundant geschrieben. Ein guter Lektor hätte das ohne Inhaltsverlust auf die Hälfte gekürzt.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen