Kundenrezensionen


41 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (32)
4 Sterne:
 (6)
3 Sterne:
 (3)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Heel on earth through the eyes of a child
"First they killed My father" is Loung Ung's Horror filled account of her childhood stolen from her by Pol Pot's regime which ranks behind only Hitlers for it's brutality and inhumanity. It is also a story of a family's love and sacrafice for one another. A father and mother's love for thier children a sister's love for each other but most of all a little...
Veröffentlicht am 28. Februar 2000 von yoco

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen How much can a 5 year old remember?
This is a good book. It portrays the Khmer Rouge horrors through the eyes of a five year old child. Having spent time in Cambodia, I find the book presents a clear and accurate snapshot of Khmer life; however, there's no way a five year old could recall the facts presented in such incredible detail. I recommend, therefore, that you read this as a cursory overview...
Veröffentlicht am 16. April 2000 von Auto Lobbyist


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Heel on earth through the eyes of a child, 28. Februar 2000
"First they killed My father" is Loung Ung's Horror filled account of her childhood stolen from her by Pol Pot's regime which ranks behind only Hitlers for it's brutality and inhumanity. It is also a story of a family's love and sacrafice for one another. A father and mother's love for thier children a sister's love for each other but most of all a little girls love for her father.
Think of Anne Frank Meets the "killing fields" and you only begin to get an idea of what this book is about.
Loung's writing is at once so simple and yet so vivid you can almost feel the shook, disgust and horror of a little girl living in what can only be discribed as hell on earth.
You can feel the confusion and fear in a little girls mind as her life of cars, TV's, phones and movies is ripped away from her and replaced with starvation, murder, bombs, gun fire and death.
PA what are communist she asks, and why do they hate us? Her Father's answer is simple and direct they are destoyers.
This book is truly a must read for everyone, least we forget and let history repat it's self.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Riveting autobiography about a courageous child., 10. Juni 2000
Von 
M. Desoer (Bay Area, California) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
The attrocities committed by the Khmer Rouge, which resulted in large-scale genocide of the Cambodian people, have not received the attention that they warrant from the Western press. This book describes the horrors of the Khmer Rouge's brutal rule, from the view of a woman who was only a five-year-old girl at the time the Khmer Rouge invaded Phnom Phen.
As young as she was, the author showed incredible courage and determination. I have always wondered why some people survive in such horrid conditions; this book provides some insight into the will-to-live, and refusal to give up which kept this woman alive.
The descriptions of her family's suffering are graphic, but no more than necessary to provide the reader with an authentic feeling about the torture, starvation and other maltreatment by the Khmer Rouge, as led by the "invisible" but revered and feared leader, Pol Pot.
By the way, a complementary book about this epoch which I recommend, told by a woman who was a few years older, is "When Broken Glass Floats."
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Impossible to put down, 1. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
The chilling story of the Cambodian purges led by the Kmer Rouge was impossible to put down. Ms. Ung tells her story without resorting to being overly violent even thogh the killings were in the millions. Her brilliance is in humanizing the violent struggle through a family we grow to care about deeply. She avoids the political side of the Cambodian civil war and focusses on an ordinary family turned from a happy middle class life to one of survival and loss. I read this in one day because I needed to know what happenned to this family. Poor little Loung Ung led a terrible few years but lives to remind us that our American lives of comfort are not to be taken for granted. I recently read a similar book on Rwanda and was similarly touched by how much suffering still can go on in our supposedly modern, humane world. Clearly, wanton slaughter in other countries makes me appreciate the simple freedoms of safety and security we have. Read this story and you will not complain about the simple things that aggravate us in America.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen First They Killed My Father, 27. Mai 2000
WOW! A powerful journey of struggle against a fear so great, most of us will feel the tingling awakening of discomfort with the reality that civility can be so easily striped from us. We think of law, order, fairness and justice as a part of everyday life. It is unimaginable what life would be like without them, until you read Loung Ung's book. Loung reminds us that these are ideals, Loung allows us to experience existance in its most basic form. If you can read without denying the fear you should feel, you will grow from reading this book. From the acceptance of the cold and cruel, I developed a stronger sense of love and appreciation for the fragile life I am fortunate to have. This book is also about love, bonds, sacrafice, determination, willpower, the value of intelligence and wisdom, appreciation and character. Thank you Loung for your book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen priceless account of a costly genocide, 12. Juli 2000
When I was a child in parochial school, we used to pray for "the starving children in Cambodia" every day. Now I finally know exactly who we were praying for.
Before this book was published, I wasn't able to find any first-person accounts of the genocide in Cambodia. Having finally read one, I can see why. Just reading it could be emotionally scarring. The actual experience is not something that most of Cambodia's survivors would want to relive in the telling.
Ung's unflinching account describes what we can only hope is the absolute nadir of human experience. These are the outrages endured by nation that was decimated twice over by squads of angry bullies, a crazed dictator, bitter classism and racial hatred, and senseless starvation.
"First They Killed My Father" is not for the squeamish, the pessimistic, or the tender-hearted. In fact, my greatest fear concerning books of this type is that some people are so overwhelmed by the horror of the Killing Fields and the Holocaust that they will not be able to comprehend it as fact, that their emotional health will require them to deny that such things are possible, and that consequently, they will hesitate or fail to act when they have the chance to prevent such things from happening in the future.
Some disappointments (really only worth deducting half a star, which Amazon doesn't allow):
1. Poor editing. Frequently the tense shifts in mid-paragraph from past to present, or from present to past, in describing a single incident. There are also numerous places where homonyms were used that should have been caught by an editor; "peddling" for "pedaling," for example, and "sown" for "sewn."
2. Very little follow-up on what happened to Luong after coming to the US. I wanted to know how she was able to heal her psyche after all she had endured as a child, for example, and what it was like for this little girl to become socialized in her new country. But perhaps this was too personal.
3. The title is misleading. I knew Luong was going to lose at least one sister, but I assumed that this would not happen until after her father was killed. Unpleasant surprises are fine in drama, but this was real life. I was upset enough without Keav's death taking me by surprise.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Harrowing account of the triumph of the human spirit..., 8. Juni 2000
Von 
L. Alper (Englewood CO) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
"First They Killed My Father" is a valuable memoir of a child's view of genocide. It is also a wonderful tribute to those members of the Ung family who died during Pol Pot's homocidal regime. However, what I found most fascinating was the way it turned the average American's perceptions on their head.
Luong Ung's parents seem to have been remarkable people. Her father, with no connections whatsoever, worked his way into the highest echelons of Cambodia in the pre-Pol Pot era. Simply thru hard work & honesty he went from being a poor ex-Buddhist monk to one of the upper level security people in government circles. Loung's mother had the courage to elope with this remarkable man while he was still dirt poor, defying her family & society. Then while raising 9 children, each parent was so loving that each child felt they were "the favorite". Unusually for an Asian woman's memoir, there is no feeling of the girls' being second class family members, or unwelcome mouths to feed who have to earn their way. The undying love & devotion both parents inspired in their children is truly touching to read about.
As the story unfolds, told in Loung's "you are here" style (all present tense thru a child's eye) you are present as she grows from a spoiled 5 year-old into a self-reliant independant 10 year old. The change from trust & selfishness to self-determination is well presented. In our rich Western culture we often need to be reminded that children are capable of much more than we allow them in our effort to infantilise them. During the course of "First They Killed My Father" 12 year old Kim takes full responsibility for keeping his mother & 3 sisters alive & fed. When Pol Pot's regime falls, it is Kim who takes the responsibility of uniting the remaining siblings. Meanwhile Loung takes care of her older but more passive sister Chou, making all decisions & doing all the talking. At an age where Western girls are getting their first Barbie's, Loung was being taught how to use a sickle or machete to kill if no rifle was available.
At the end of the book, when Loung gets to Vietnam (in 1979) it is ironic that to her eyes this is a colorful, free, prosperous country while we in the US consider it a dreary, famine-ridden example of Communist repression! It is always refreshing to have preconceptions thrown on their heads, & Loung Ung does this many times in her excellent book.
This is a powerful memoir that brought me to tears more than once. It is too bad it is not longer (Ung's editor is thanked in "The Afterward" for making the book so short; personally I'd like to wring her neck!) but you certainly won't regret the time you spend with "First They Killed My Father".
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The Human Dimension of the Khmer Rouge Genocide, 26. April 2000
Loung Ung's book FIRST THEY KILLED MY FATHER is an intimate, personal account of life under Cambodia's genocidal Khmer Rouge. Its emotion and urgency give the reader a sense of what it was like to be there -- to suffer as Ung and her family suffered and to see the horrors that they saw. The book thus provides a crucial supplement to drier, more academic accounts of the Khmer Rouge regime, which typically are written at a distance in order to preserve an aura of objectivity. Ung is not in the business of providing a dry, historical account of what happened to her country; rather, her purpose is to share the raw, often brutal, story of what happened to her.
Ung's book provides a human framework for coming to terms with the madness of the Khmer Rouge. Instead of remaining decontextualized victims -- remarkable only for their suffering and identical to the victims of countless other tragedies -- Ung's family and the people she meets gain the dignity of personal qualities and individuality. Through the eyes of the child that she was at the time, Ung forces us to see her family and acquaintances not just as statistics or haunted faces glimpsed on television, but as people with lives that began before the tragic period of the book and that, at least in a few cases, continued after the events described in the book were over.
FIRST THEY KILLED MY FATHER is part confession, part therapy and part urgent mission to share a story with the world. It is often painful to read but it is profoundly rewarding. Ung's story is heartbreaking but her own persistence, fortitude, and ultimate triumph inspire. Furthermore, in an age where tragedy and genocide have seemingly become commonplace, Ung's ability to heal after such a harrowing childhood is encouraging evidence that others, recovering from tragedies elsewhere, can do the same.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Survival in Campuchia, 4. März 2000
This is an elegant work of prose that traces the harrowing exodus of a young child from her idyllic home in Phnom Penh to the remote villages in the Cambodian country-side to the Angkar death camps.
As Loung Ung is exiled from her idyllic home, the reader is led down a terrifying path filled with betrayal, jealousy, and murder but also courage, heroism, and survival. Ung writes in a poignant yet succint style that shows how friends turned against one another in order to curry favor with the ruling regime. Families once on the margins of Cambodian society, both physically and economically, turned on their countrymen with a savage vengeance that defies a logical response. This led to unspeakable acts of violence by the ruling regime, either through starvation or slaughter, against countless people.
Yet, amid this awful backdrop, Ung also introduces to the reader people who reclaim their humanity under oppression and, in this sense, redeems this sad story. Of the most memorable is the author's brother, who underwent severe beatings from the children of the camp leader in order to provide his family a handful of food to stave off hunger. Ultimately, this is a story of survival and how the personal saga of one person reveals the depths of the human psyche under such desparate conditions. It reminds this writer of Primo Levi's book, "Survival in Aschuwitz" and how one person's experience can represent the journey of 10,000 more.
If there is one question that does arise from this book that was unanswered, it is this: given all that has happened to Cambodians in their civil war, how does the cycle of hatred and violence end and who is willing to make that change?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A deeply moving story of courage and survival, 22. April 2000
In the beginning pages of "First They Killed My Father", the book is dedicated in memory of the two million people that were killed by the Khmer Rouge in Cambodia. The vastness of that number is hard to understand and comprehend, but by writing her book Loung Ung helps us to understand. By telling her story she speaks not only for herself; but for all of those other voices that will never again be heard. The story that she tells is especially heartbreaking, because it is a story of horror and brutality seen through the eyes of a child. Loung Ung was only 5 years old when the Khmer Rouge took control of Cambodia in 1975. Loung and her family; along with hundreds of thousands of other families from the capital city of Phnom Penh; were forced to leave their homes and to flee into the countryside. They witnessed the deliberate destruction of an entire society by the Khmer Rouge. Day to day life in Cambodia became a living nightmare. I felt a very deep sense of grief and sadness reading about the death of so many of the Cambodian people; and of the terrible suffering endured by Loung and her family. But beyond those feelings of sadness, there is much more within this book. There are many poignant moments in the book, that reaffirm the ultimate value of every human life. As you read Loung's story, every member of her family will be vividly brought to life before your eyes. The love, sacrifice, courage and kindness of Loung's family helped to give her the strength to survive. Loung's courageous heart has helped others to live too. This is a book that was written from the heart, and it is a story that you will always remember.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen You must read this book, 20. April 2000
You must read this book. Loung Ung tells us about ourselves as human beings. The news is both good and bad. While you despair over human cruelty, you rejoice at the power of love. The author tells her story without pulling punches. She is honest about her feelings of hatred and despair, feelings we can appreciate and understand, and would in fact share in her place. At the same time, if there is redemption in her life, it is because she rises above her completely understandable and normal wish to take revenge and turns her terrible experience into a positive force for good. She can attribute her ability to do this to the love she received from her family when she was a young child. Loung Ung's experiences are unfortunately not unique. They have been repeated over and over again, on large scale or small (and, after all, each individual only suffers on his or her own scale, so numbers are irrelevant). I couldn't read this book without thinking of a book by Nien Cheng--Life and Death in Shanghai. It is another story of the strength of the human spirit in the face of evil.
As for the reviewer who thinks a five year old cannot remember: memory is related to emotional intensity. That's why you forget 90 percent of your life, but can remember traumatic experiences in vivid detail. I vote for every word of this remarkable story being true. Read it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen