Kundenrezensionen


8 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (5)
4 Sterne:
 (1)
3 Sterne:
 (2)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Fun to read!
Are you thinking about buying this book, and considering whether you'll have the time and concentration to read it?
I hope this review will help you make up you mind, because I want to comment less on the contents and more on the "manageability" of reading this book if you happen to be pretty busy.

As an English teacher, I slightly dread teaching...
Vor 19 Monaten von KrankyKat veröffentlicht

versus
2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Easy and entertaining way into Shakespeare's life and works
Shakespeare on Toast is a book about Shakespeare. The author introduces Shakespeare as a person from the Elizabethan era. He explains the time and conditions under which Shakespeare wrote his plays. Furthermore he gives an insight into the most important aspects of Shakespeare’s plays and sonnets.

The book is lightly written and easy to understand. The...
Vor 18 Monaten von T.R. veröffentlicht


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Fun to read!, 21. Januar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Shakespeare on Toast: Getting a Taste for the Bard (Kindle Edition)
Are you thinking about buying this book, and considering whether you'll have the time and concentration to read it?
I hope this review will help you make up you mind, because I want to comment less on the contents and more on the "manageability" of reading this book if you happen to be pretty busy.

As an English teacher, I slightly dread teaching Shakespeare, which is coming up for me for the first time. So I jumped at the opportunity to buy this book for 99 cents, when it was on sale for a day.
Boy, was it worth it!

This book teaches you a lot about Shakespeare and his writing, about the historical context, and all in such an easy, entertaining and fun manner. Ben Crystal does such a great job at illustrating how we might read Shakespeare much more easily. While his style is clear and extremely accessible (I read most of this book during my daily streetcar rides), the book is never dumb, but actually quite complex and has opened up several avenues of reading Shakespeare, mostly because of its emphasis as Shakespeare as the equivalent of a writer of soap operas and the stress the author puts on the music of Shakespeare's language.

An excellent, short but very informative introduction to Shakespeare. Definitively worth the full price, too.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


13 von 14 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Savour tasty bite-sized chunks of Shakespeare, 6. Juli 2009
Von 
Mark O'Neill (Würzburg) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
There are LOTS of Shakespeare books out there but this one is one of the most easiest to read. Ben Crystal gives you the opportunity to study Shakespeare's work and realise that while it looks difficult, it is actually not that complicated when you begin to think about it a bit more.

This book reminds us that Shakespeare was no different than say a blogger or TV soap script writer of today. He wrote on demand and talked about the social issues of the day. The only difference between a Shakespeare script and a TV script is that some of the language is a bit old fashioned and some of the words are now out of use. Apart from that it's still the same kind of writing you'd expect to see today from elsewhere.

Crystal also reveals the clues that Shakespeare hid in his work, the "director's instructions" for how his actors should act out his work. This is absolutely fascinating but at the same time, it can get a bit difficult to follow and this point of the book is where you have to slow down and really concentrate!

Sprinked with bits of Shakespeare's plays and sonnets so you can put the theory into practise, this is a must-have for all Shakespeare fans.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Wieder was gelernt!, 12. Januar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Shakespeare on Toast: Getting a Taste for the Bard (Kindle Edition)
Wer sich für Shakespeare interessiert, für den ist dieses Buch unbedingt empfehlenswert! Wenn ich versucht habe, Stücke von Shaekespeare (im Original) zu lesen, habe ich meist entnervt aufgegeben - wie ich jetzt weiß, soll man sie nicht lesen, sondern hören und jede Textform (Prosa, Vers, Reim) hat einen bestimmten Sinn für das Verständnis des Charakters und der Umstände! Warum, das erklärt Ben Crystal ausführlich in seinem Buch, das kurzweilig und witzig geschrieben ist und sehr gut erklärt, wie man sich Shakespeare nähern sollte. Ich habe heute morgen angefangen zu lesen und konnte/wollte nicht aufhören - und ich hätte noch stundenlang weiterlesen können; leider ist das Buch nicht sehr lang! "Shakespeare on Toast" macht (wieder) Lust auf Shakespeares Sprache - zum Glück habe ich ein paar Stücke auf DVD (Kenneth Branagh) und "Much ado about nothing" ist immer wieder schön - und jetzt wage ich mich an die englische Version!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Easy and entertaining way into Shakespeare's life and works, 4. März 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Shakespeare on Toast: Getting a Taste for the Bard (Kindle Edition)
Shakespeare on Toast is a book about Shakespeare. The author introduces Shakespeare as a person from the Elizabethan era. He explains the time and conditions under which Shakespeare wrote his plays. Furthermore he gives an insight into the most important aspects of Shakespeare’s plays and sonnets.

The book is lightly written and easy to understand. The reader is not stressed with special terms; instead he explains Shakespeare on a level, which should be well understood by schoolchildren. However, it is equally appropriate for adults, since it is even entertaining to learn interesting facts of the Elizabethan era, Shakespeare’s life and his language and his plays. However, it is no comprehensive in-depth guide about Shakespeare. Surely, the aim of the book is to give an introduction and raise the interest into Shakespeare’s works. One of the most important features, which I want to point out, is that the author gives a very useful guide, how Shakespearean plays can be analyzed and understood. Rather than explaining all the elements of the plays he shows how one can approach these plays. In my opinion, this is outstanding aspect of the book, since it provides the tools to actually understand Shakespeare beyond just reading explanations from secondary literature.

A couple of years beyond my school education, I used this book to refresh my knowledge about Shakespeare. For me, it is very entertaining and interesting to read and follow the book. It gives me a guide how to understand Shakespearean plays and what I have to focus on while reading or watching them. I recommend this book to everyone, who wants to get into Shakespeare and learn how to understand his plays. As mentioned before, it does not provide a detailed compendium about Shakespeare, but explains in a very authentic and atmospheric way the setting and language of Shakespeare’s plays. I could broaden my view on Shakespeare. After that, every reader should feel confident enough to dive into Shakespeare’s plays.

“Despite the fact that he was as human, flawed and fallible as the rest of us, the one rule that has always guided me straight and true with Shakespeare is this: There is always a reason for it.” (Ben Crystal, Shakespeare on Toast, p. 193)

Tags: happy, gentle, easy, unusual, short
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Shakespeare verstehen, 6. Februar 2013
Von 
karin1910 - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 1000 REZENSENT)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Shakespeare on Toast: Getting a Taste for the Bard (Kindle Edition)
Ben Crystal will den Lesern mit diesem Buch einen Schlüssel zu Shakespeares Werk in die Hand geben.

Es wird hier aber weder dessen Biographie erläutert noch werden die Inhalte seiner großen Werke zusammengefasst. Vielmehr wird erklärt, wie man bei der Lektüre und Interpretation eines Shakespeare-Textes in der Praxis vorgehen sollte.
Dazu erläutert der Autor zunächst die Entstehungsgeschichte dieser literarischen Meisterwerke, lässt die Welt des elisabethanischen Theaters wiederauferstehen und macht vor allem immer wieder deutlich, dass Shakespeare in erster Linie für die Schauspieler seiner Theatergruppe geschrieben hat - ihnen wollte er durch eine geschickte Gestaltung seiner Texte Hinweise geben, wie sie die von ihm erdachten Geschichten am besten zum Leben erwecken können.
Wenn man diese Tatsache immer im Hinterkopf behält und sich an einer möglichst originalgetreuen Ausgabe orientiert, dann - so Ben Crystal - sollte Shakespeares Werk für jedermann zugänglich sein.
Natürlich werden auch diverse "technische" Themen angesprochen, wie Versmaße, Strophenformen, die Unterschiede zwischen Prosa und Poesie oder die Merkmale eines Sonetts.

Auch wenn viele Punkte nur kurz abgehandelt werden, macht dieses Buch doch Lust auf mehr und kann durchaus dazu motivieren, sich einmal einen Original-Shakespeare vorzunehmen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen the only quibble - too short! ;), 23. Juni 2013
Von 
M. A. Gabriel (vienna) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Shakespeare on Toast: Getting a Taste for the Bard (Kindle Edition)
great stuff - makes shakespeare so much more accessible. love how crystal takes the reader by the hand and leads them through shakespeare's world/culture to put everything in perspective. made me want to go and read the entire portfolios.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen amüsant, 12. Februar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Shakespeare on Toast: Getting a Taste for the Bard (Kindle Edition)
Weil es hilft Shakespeare zu verstehen.
Weil es in Teilen amüsant ist.
Weil es erklärt warum man bei den Originaltexten einfach nicht so ohne drauf los lesen kann.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Tolles Buch, 1. Februar 2013
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Shakespeare on Toast: Getting a Taste for the Bard (Kindle Edition)
Super, würde ich mir immer wieder kaufen es ist sehr zu empfehlen.
Das Buch habe ich meinen Freunden und Arbeitskollegen empfohlen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen