Kundenrezensionen


58 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (54)
4 Sterne:
 (1)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


7 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Johann-Ohneland einmal anders!
König John von England ist den meisten wohl am ehesten bekannt als der böse Gegenspieler zum (fiktiven) Robin Hood (und vielleicht noch als Schattenfigur neben der Lichtgestalt Richard Löwenherz). Dass Richard nicht so strahlend war und John nicht ganz so böse, zeigt dieser im besten Sinne des Wortes historische (= historisch ausgezeichnet...
Am 5. September 2000 veröffentlicht

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen A very talented writer, but...
I found the book most enjoyable - few people write with such clarity nowadays. (For this reason I plan on getting her other books!) From a historical view it is however sadly lacking, and she tends to leave out huge gaps in time. The book focuses very much on Joanna and her romantic feelings (I will confess this is not my genre) and leaves out the movements and...
Am 20. Oktober 1999 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 26 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

7 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Johann-Ohneland einmal anders!, 5. September 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Here Be Dragons (Taschenbuch)
König John von England ist den meisten wohl am ehesten bekannt als der böse Gegenspieler zum (fiktiven) Robin Hood (und vielleicht noch als Schattenfigur neben der Lichtgestalt Richard Löwenherz). Dass Richard nicht so strahlend war und John nicht ganz so böse, zeigt dieser im besten Sinne des Wortes historische (= historisch ausgezeichnet recherchierte und die eruierten Fakten verantwortungsvoll aufbereitende Roman, dessen eigentliche Hauptfiguren aber nicht Englands König, sondern seine (illegitime) Tochter Joana und ihr Gemahl, der walisische Fürst Llwyelyn Fawr (L. der Große) sind - und letztlich die englisch-walisische Geschichte am Beginn des 13. Jahrhunderts, vor allem die Auseinandersetzungen um die Magna Charta 1216. Mag manchmal auch die Liebesbeziehung Joanas - erst zu ihrem Mann, dann ihrem Geliebten de Braose - etwas zu dominent sein (wohl ein Zugeständnis an den Lesergeschmack, der seine Romanze wünscht!), so darf insgesamt doch das Buch auch als historisches Infotainment empfohlen werden: Auch ein wissenschaftliches Geschichtsbuch muss nur wenige Fakten korrigieren. Gewünscht hätte man sich allerdings eine genealogische Tafel und ein Personenregister: Wer sich in der Periode nicht auskennt, mag sonst manchmal verwirrt sein.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Wow!, 24. Juli 2000
Von 
J. Peterson "jenpeterson" (United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Here Be Dragons (Taschenbuch)
This book is wonderful. I wasn't too sure when I first picked it up if I was going to like it, mainly because the beginning, is a little dry (but it sets the stage for other things to come). However, once I got into the book, I found it very hard to put it down. Joanna's behavior is understandable, given her circumstances. First, she has to overcome the death of her mother and the revelations that are exposed about her. Then, when she thinks her life is happy, she is forced into a marriage with her father's bitterest enemy AND she has to travel to a unknown land, where she doesn't speak the language or know the customs. Once there, she has to deal with a recalitrant stepson who can do no wrong in the eyes of his father. Llewelyn is a character that is shown to be human, but possibly too perfectly human. He has his faults, but we are shown them as strengths.
I found myself sympathizing with Joanna, Llewelyn, and King John, and the rest because I found myself CARING about what happened to them. There were times that I was in tears over a particular situation (I don't want to spoil anything). The author has a way of bringing these people to life who lived so long ago. You can see their expressions, see how and where they live, all in her words and imagery. I can't wait to pick up books 2 & 3 in the series.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Impeccable! Flawlessly and compellingly written, 25. Juni 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Here Be Dragons (Taschenbuch)
It is so rare as to be nonexistent that I am kept up half the night with a book I can't put down - and this is the first time I have ever been compelled to write a review of one. Such is the case with "Here be Dragons". Ms Penman is an acurate historian and a completely compelling storyteller. I have ever been fascinated with this century of British history, and this book has set me into delving deeply into Welsh history of this era. Llewelyn and Joanna became personal friends - I wept and cheered their stormy life together , and even found some understanding of King John with all his politically expedient, and really evil deeds - mayhap even a bit of empathy. Her description of Welsh countryside was such that I could almost smell the waterfalls and damp earth. I will visit that country in the fall, and take with me much more interest in the history and the peoples that make up this fascinating land. Thank you, Ms Penman, for "Here be Dragons" - I wait eagerly for the rest of the trilogy which I have just ordered.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Incredible!, 2. August 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Here Be Dragons (Taschenbuch)
This book is nearly flawless! I have spent each available moment reading it until I have to put it down or until sleep overcomes me. The characters are gripping, with conflicts and constants in their personality that realistically portrays how a person grows with time and experience. You don't have to like the characters, or agree with them, but you can't help but understand them and be moved by their trials. I was delighted at Ms. Penman's candor about the time period -- ranging from the way women were treated, to how much the Church and Christianity played a part of people's day to day thoughts and actions. She did not hide the fact that if a man cheated on his wife then, he was justified, but if a woman did, she was a harlot. She does not beat around the bush, or sugarcoat the truth. Being an avid history buff, that quality is highly commendable.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Amazing Journey!, 31. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Here Be Dragons (Taschenbuch)
This book was fantastic. The characters and the images just came alive across the pages and by the end I was staying up later and later to learn about where each characters path would lead them. Its been a week since I finished and so often its images have entered my mind again and again, which to me is the sign of only the best books, the ones that stay with you long after you have read them.
I highly recommend to anyone who loves a good story, regardless of whether or not they enjoy historical fiction, so much of English historical fact seems like fiction anyway!
Don't be intimidated by the size of this book either, it is a very quick and easy read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Brilliant & well researched historical story, 21. Juni 2001
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Here Be Dragons (Taschenbuch)
One of the best historical stories I ever read - and very well researched. The author drags you back into Wales and England into the 12./13. century. The story of Llewelyn, Prince of Wales and Joanna, bastard daughter of King John is definetely a keeper. It kept me enthralled from the first until the last page. It is not only the history which is so well written but also the main characters of the story. This book made me laugh & weep, fear & enjoy, loathe and love... I really value the time and work the author must have went through in researching the history of Wales and England 700 years ago considering the fact that there are not many records available for Welsh history during that time. Great work, Sharon - you wrote a story which is not boring in one line at all - quite the opposite! I can't wait to read the sequence - although the outcome of the trilogy is known history fact and will make me sad again.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The best book I ever read, 3. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Here Be Dragons (Taschenbuch)
Here Be Dragons is a fantastic book. It sounds like a fantasy book, but in truth, it is a historical fiction novel. It seems like a huge book, but I read it in about a week and a half. I'm a teenager, and it still was fascinating for me. Even if you are not much of a reader, I would still recommend this book to you. The language may be a bit confusing at first (seeing as it is set in the 11th century) but you get used to it quickly. You will be glad you dedicated time to sit down and read it. I had trouble putting it down. It was fabulous.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen A very talented writer, but..., 20. Oktober 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Here Be Dragons (Taschenbuch)
I found the book most enjoyable - few people write with such clarity nowadays. (For this reason I plan on getting her other books!) From a historical view it is however sadly lacking, and she tends to leave out huge gaps in time. The book focuses very much on Joanna and her romantic feelings (I will confess this is not my genre) and leaves out the movements and conflicts of the key players (or the 'shapers of history' - if you will). I would recommend this book for good writing but not for its historical content.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Rich, Compelling, Authentic Historical Drama, 2. November 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Here Be Dragons (Taschenbuch)
"Here be Dragons" is a wonderful, delightful historical novel: the kind you'll read many times, and sink into on a long winter evening to cheer yourself up. I have read "Here Be Dragons" countless times since I was about fourteen, and still enjoy it thoroughly. Ms. Penman's research is excellent, and she does not spoil this book at least by involving too many peripheral characters. Although Llywelyn and Joanna are wonderful characters because they are so nice, so human and appealing, I personally enjoy the character of King John more. His faults cannot be denied, but Penman explores his personal torment, while still allowing that there are totally inexcusable acts which no amount of inner torture can absolve. If I were to find one fault with this book, and with "Falls the Shadow", its next sequel, it would be the "chumminess" of its characters. I find it hard to believe that some royal figures, who are tenuously linked by marriage, would have such personal bonds and even friendships as Ms. Penman illustrates in her books. The figure of Eleanor de Montfort, for example, causing ructions at Llywelyn's court on behalf of her disgraced sister Joanna: in reality, is it not far more likely that Joanna and the much-younger Eleanor barely knew each other? Joanna went to live in Wales long before Eleanor was born (in 1215). Travel was rarely undertaken for pleasure in Norman times, and Joanna - no matter how independent she might seem - would have spent the vast majority of her time acting as Llywelyn's chatelaine, not taking pleasure jaunts to the English Christmas court. For much of Henry III's reign there was uneasiness, hostility or open warfare between Gwynedd and England. Equally, when Eleanor was Countess of Pembroke, it is unlikely that she would have been hanging around at Llywelyn's court! By modern standards, if Joanna and Eleanor were half-sisters, we would imagine that they had a personal relationship. By early medieval standards, one need only point to the de Lusignans to verify the truth of this statement. The de Lusignants, Isabelle d'Angouleme's family from her second marriage, were also Eleanor's half-brothers and sisters, but as we see in Falls the Shadow, she did not even meet them until she was an adult, barely exchanged two words with them and had no interest in doing so. This is a far more realistic representation of many medieval relationships than Penman's highly romanticised view. Nevertheless, I would thoroughly recommend this and all of Penman's work.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A TRIUMPHANT MASTERPIECE!, 2. Dezember 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Here Be Dragons (Taschenbuch)
My dog's veternarian turned me on to Ms. Penman when she found out I love Dorothy Dunnett. This book is full of layers and textures given to the reader in clear, broad strokes and clean lines. At the very center is one of the most beautiful love stories I have ever read. Joanna is given in a political marrigae to Llewellyn when she is 14 and he is almost 32. This was a definite sign of the times and Penman is deft in the handling. She does not make Joanna appear the awkward teenager nor does she make Llewellyn appear the "dirty old man". What she gives us is a girl on the verge of womanhood who accepts this marriage of countries as her fate while dealing with the fact she is falling in love with her husband. Her maturity and growth throughout the book is given to us through a wonderful progression of events including: adultery, childrearing, death, learning those we love are not always what we want nor what we believe them to be. Llewellyn is drawn just as deeply. He has children older than Joanna, but, he realizes the marriage is becoming more than political - he, too, is falling in love with his mate. He never treats her like an addled headed adolescent. He treats her with respect and love. Even though he lives within the double standard of the times concerning adultery, he is willing to follow his heart and take Joanna back and does not care what his subjects will think. The scene when he goes to see her at the home to which he had banished her is breathtaking! The struggles Llewellyn goes through in loving this daughter of his enemy and what that could mean for Wales are shown to us realistically. This is the first historical I have read were the characters are the protagonists and not just backdrop for fictional characters. I applaud Penman for the risk in doing this. Penman's character development, action, and plotting are woven together so beautifully and intricately that one is swept away.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 26 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Here Be Dragons
Here Be Dragons von Sharon Kay Penman (Taschenbuch - 1991)
Vergriffen
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen