Kundenrezensionen


12 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (6)
4 Sterne:
 (5)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Woa.
I'm a Ricardian, but I love this play--it's Shakespare at his finest. He manipulates the historical characters beautifully, especially Richard himself (and Richard then manipulates most of the other characters). The play opens with Richard, then Duke of Gloucester, who gives a poetic list of all the nasty things that he will do...why? Because he wants to be king...
Veröffentlicht am 6. Mai 2000 von Malice

versus
0 von 19 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen THIS BOOK STUNK, WAS IT ACTUALLY WRITTEN IN ENGLISH?
This book is the worst book i have ever read in my life. It was only good for making me fall asleep. And we hade to resite the first 41 lines, Now is the winter of our discontent? Made glorious summer by this son of york? here's what And all the clouds that loured upon our house in the deep bosom of the ocean burried. Now are our brows bound with victorious wreaths? ( i...
Veröffentlicht am 5. Februar 2000 von Kewlman713


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Woa., 6. Mai 2000
I'm a Ricardian, but I love this play--it's Shakespare at his finest. He manipulates the historical characters beautifully, especially Richard himself (and Richard then manipulates most of the other characters). The play opens with Richard, then Duke of Gloucester, who gives a poetic list of all the nasty things that he will do...why? Because he wants to be king? Partly. But there are plenty of psychological reasons as well (for instance, does anyone notice that once Richard does become king, he isn't as happy as he thought he'd be?).
Slowly, Old Crookback's conscience begins to tug (forget the Sixth Sense, *he* sees plenty of dead people himself!). Some of my favorite quotes are to be found here, for instance:
Anne Neville, to Richard, before accepting his proposal of marriage: "Never hung poison on a fouler toad. Out of my sight! Thou dost infect mine eyes."
or
"Off with his son George's head!" And of course "A horse! A horse! My kingdom for a horse!" and the very nifty little pun at the beginning of the play. (Richard's lines, of course.)
You *do* begin to like him, that that *is* rather frightening!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen "Elven marked abortive rooting hog", 11. August 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Shakespeare portrays King Richard III as a hunchbacked thoroughly evil man. While based upon the historical Richard III, the play is a dramatization. Although classed as a history, remember that Shakespeare's histories aren't historically accurate biographies. Richard is a power-hungry brother of a king who murders, schemes, marries, and plots to usurp the throne from rightful heirs. Richard gets his due when he meets Henry Tudor on the field of battle and the reign of the Yorkist kings comes to an end. Written under the rule of a Tudor monarch (Elizabeth I), the play paints the brutal Richard in an especially unfavorable light. After all, the rise of the Tudors depended upon the death of Richard III. The treatment of women in the play has been criticized, especially the speed under which Anne accepts Richard III -- with her dead father in law in the scene, no less. The play compresses 14 years or so of real history into 5 acts. It is hard to go wrong with Shakespeare. A good but dark read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Cambridge (Lull) edition one of the best intros., 13. Juli 2000
Von 
Dr. Richard D. Feinman (Brooklyn, NY United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
This edition has one of the best introductions I've read: informative, well-written and with photos from productions of R III. Just the section on Macbeth and Richard makes this top-notch. Even the Folio/Quarto stuff is interesting -- short and not pedantic. This is my choice for Richard III edition.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Robert Stephens chews scenery magnificently, 18. Januar 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: King Richard Iii (Hörkassette)
This is a terrific version of Shakespeare's play, starring Robert Stephens as the wicked King Richard in a deliciously "over the top" performance. Audio book lovers should take heed: this is the *unabridged* play, on three cassettes and clocking in at approximately four hours! And indeed some of the more formal lamentation scenes do tend to grow tiresome (but that is a feature of the play and not the performers' fault); however, the vitality of the Richard scenes amply outweighs this. The supporting cast, including Glenda Jackson, Dame Peggy Ashcroft, and Cyril Cusack, is uniformly excellent, but top honors must go to Stephens. The recorded sound (digitally remastered from a 1967 recording) is very good. Highly recommended.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A dark classic, 10. Januar 2000
Von 
Gregory Baird (New York, NY) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Perhaps the most intriguing aspect of this book is how, despite how evil and violent Richard is, you root for him the whole way. He is such a charismatic villain that he endears you over to his side (as he does his victims in the play). Absolutely superb.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Lässt keine Wünsche offen, 29. September 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Als Student kann ich diese Ausgabe von Richard III, ebenso wie die anderen Ausgaben aus der Reihe Annotated Shakespeare nur empfehlen. Man bekommt den Originaltext, dessen heute z.T. nicht oder nur schwer verständlichen Wörter und Wortspiele durch zahlreiche Fußnoten in modernem Englisch erklärt werden. Dabei wird lieber eine Übersetzungshilfe zuviel als zu wenig geliefert und bisweilen auch Begriffe erklärt, die man leicht hätte erschließen können. Aber lieber so als bisweilen ratlos vor den Zeilen des Meisters stehen. Vor- und Nachwort von Raffel und Bloom ersetzen sicher nicht die Sekundärliteratur, sind aber allemal ein brauchbarer Einstieg, wenn man etwa für eine Seminararbeit recherchiert. Das ganze zum moderaten Preis von ca 6 Euro. Für mich eine klare Empfehlung.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Evil at it's most chilling!, 14. März 2000
Richard III is the most well crafted satanic character in all of Shakespeare's writing. What can get frightening is that you see his evil, and yet you like him. The play is dramatically frightening from one scene to the next. To this day, I never could forget the scene where Hastings is sentenced to death or when Richard is haunted by the 11 ghosts. But the virtuous Henry VII also offers captivating passages (especially his passage that announces the end of the War of the Roses.) It is also interesting to see how carefully Shakespeare had to handle Henry VII, seing his granddaughter Elizabeth was in the audience. To be sure, Richard III is blamed for several things he did not do. The dramatic irony is that whatever he was innocent of, all the circumstancial evidence says he murdered his nephews.(Rumors that he killed them continued to spread like fire. Not only did he start losing England's loyalty, but many of his own followers in a rage abandoned him and joined Henry VII. France began to humiliate Richard by broadcasting official accusations and Richard never so much as denied having done it. If he could have produced the princes, his troubles would have been over.)This one vile deed made it possible for Shakespeare to make Richard this monster from hell and convincingly pile a slew of vile deeds upon him of which he was innocent. But all that aside, women such as Richard's furious mother and the raging former Queen Margaret add to the drama and chills. The gradual unfolding of Margaret's curses adds a charming orginizational bonus to this masterpiece. If you want to enjoy this play all the more, make sure you read "3 Henry VI" first. Richard's demonic nature is heavily prepared in this preceeding play.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen FIRST MURDERER Remember our reward, when the deed's done, 18. August 2013
Rezension bezieht sich auf: King Richard III (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
SECOND MURDER Zounds, he dies: I had forgot the reward.

There is no good place to start on the play "The Tragedy of Richard III" by Shakespeare without having spoilers. Yet people that know history or at least Shakespeare's version 1592 or 1593, or familiar with Virgil's "Historia Angliae" will want this book for a good copy of the details of the play.

This is the GLOUCESTER: "Now is the winterer of our discontent" play.

I have several hard copies but the kindle adds portability and text-to-speak.

I have a hunch we have not seen the last of Richard III. No telling what can be dug up now days.

The Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey

Richard III DVD ~ Ian McKellen
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Your sympathies please, 2. Dezember 1998
Von Ein Kunde
This is my favortie Shakespeare play, simply because Richard is so evil and so power hungry. You have to get under his skin in order to like it: something many people are afraid to do. If you are able to sympathize with evil desires, then this play promises many rewards.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Bravo! Bravo!, 31. Mai 1999
Von Ein Kunde
This book has proven to be Shakespeares best piece of work.In wich he conquers the protrayal of an evil master mind at his best.Please read and enjoy.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

King Richard III (English Edition)
King Richard III (English Edition) von William Shakespeare
EUR 0,00
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen