Kundenrezensionen


5 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (3)
4 Sterne:
 (1)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen The final roar of the 20s
Far from being in the vein of Wodehouse or Saki, Waugh's second novel, Vile Bodies, is much more in the serious vein than many readers would expect. Focus on the parties of the Bright Young Things may seem to be central to the novel, but the less central focus on politics, war and the fraught gender/generation relations make this novel a serious piece of...
Veröffentlicht am 22. Mai 2000 von Dr Joanna Bratten

versus
1.0 von 5 Sternen Vile Bodies
Didn't like the book at all. Too superfluous. All the characters way too full of themselves. Just a waste of time.
Vor 3 Monaten von R.B. veröffentlicht


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen The final roar of the 20s, 22. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Vile Bodies (Taschenbuch)
Far from being in the vein of Wodehouse or Saki, Waugh's second novel, Vile Bodies, is much more in the serious vein than many readers would expect. Focus on the parties of the Bright Young Things may seem to be central to the novel, but the less central focus on politics, war and the fraught gender/generation relations make this novel a serious piece of socio-historical commentary, summing up the anxieties of the 1920s as they became the 1930s, on the brink of another World War.
The first six chapters are written bouyantly, quickly, and are brilliant examples of Waugh's gift for lightly dark satire. The remainder of the novel takes on a darker tone, which causes the reader to recognise that there is, in fact, something serious going in within this novel. Personal events in Waugh's life account for this change, notably his divorce from his wife and his movement towards the Catholic Church.
This novel is pivotal in an understanding of the development of Waugh as a prose stylist, and as a social satirist of the first order.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Vile Bodies as 1930s remake of Through the looking glass, 26. April 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Vile Bodies (Taschenbuch)
What seems to be most missed by readers of Vile Bodies is the supposedly cold ironic author's sympathy for the Bright Young Things he's writing about. So they're empty, loveless, superficial, but they are also the animating force of the novel (1930 was a turgid time of Depression), inventive, amusing, some are even likeable. The love scene between Adam and Nina is very moving behind the brutally ironic mode of its narration - we sense two very scared naive human beings who live by appearances struggling as the reality of the situation hits them. The young people act as they do because their society has no moral centre they can cling to. Parents are mentally unstable and reckless, judges allow young girls to die stupidly in their company, prime ministers are lecherous old codgers, aristocratic grands dames are white slave traders, and religion is either a stepping stone for power (Rothschild) or a vulgarised money-grubbing circus (Miss Ape). By contrast, the Things' aimless frivolity is something of an understandable rebellion in the face of this example from their elders. So ineffectual is the Establishment that the two characters who do wish to settle down in the conservative state of marriage, however sincere or otherwise, are constantly hindered. Ironically, the form of the book is fragmentary, mirroring the society it portrays, but it is the exploits of the Things that bring it together, give it a unifying force. The book is epigraphed by two quotes from Through the looking glass: like Alice, ordered hierarchical society looks at itself, and sees a mad whirling spinning top going madly out of control. Like Thomas Pynchon's Maxwell Demon, the more energy it expends the quicker it reaches inertia. The war at the end isn't literal (we are never given any wider political dimensions). Adam is flung off the merry-go-round into a bleak, dismal hell of his own making, a life without any meaningful ties to shore up against the ruins. A very moving, terrifying, sad, comic masterpiece from the century's funniest writer.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Masterpiece about the Absurdity of Man, 11. Juli 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Vile Bodies (Taschenbuch)
In Mr. Waugh's second novel, the absurdity of humankind is explored. The reader is allowed to follow a brief period in the lives of the "Bright Young People." They are young Londoners of the early 1930's who are well educated and from good families. Through the trials of the protagonist, Adam Fenwick-Symes, the reader is able to see the silliness of human existence. The "Bright Young People" spends their days and nights avoiding all real human experiences, especially love. Mr. Waugh chronicles a time in England when the motto "eat, drink and be merry" was embraced as a spiritual philosophy. At times, passages in this book are very amusing, but it never fails to recognize how life can be wasted when people are just "vile bodies."
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Vile Bodies, 28. August 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Vile Bodies (Penguin Modern Classics) (Kindle Edition)
Didn't like the book at all. Too superfluous. All the characters way too full of themselves. Just a waste of time.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen One of the Best, 23. September 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Vile Bodies (Taschenbuch)
This was the book I chose for years at school when asked what my favorite book was. I cannot say that I find many books impossible to put down, but this one was. The wrighting is excelent, and the humor rivals P.G. Wodehouse. I would reccomend this book to anyone who enjoys good reading, especialy decidedly English reading.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Vile Bodies (Penguin Modern Classics)
EUR 5,51
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen