Kundenrezensionen


11 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (6)
4 Sterne:
 (3)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A superb sidekick for Aubrey/Maturin prettied to the nines
My previous review of Harbors and High Seas, found a couple of reviews below this one, was for the 1996 edition. So if you want my opinion of it, just scroll down a short way. This 1999 update is well worth buying even if you have the first one.
Of course, it embraces more titles of the series. But King and cohorts have spent some worthy time enlarging what was...
Veröffentlicht am 2. März 2000 von Doug Briggs

versus
6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Gibt nicht genug her
Nachdem ich das exzellente Begleitbuch "A Sea of Words" desselben Autors gelesen hatte, war ich von "Harbors and High Seas" doch ein wenig enttäuscht.

Die Karten sind interessant, aber man kann die Fahrten von Lucky Jack Aubrey auch mit einem Atlas verfolgen (schliesslich mangelt es in O'Brians Büchern nicht an Längen- und Breitenangaben)...
Veröffentlicht am 15. September 2005 von Leserin


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Gibt nicht genug her, 15. September 2005
Nachdem ich das exzellente Begleitbuch "A Sea of Words" desselben Autors gelesen hatte, war ich von "Harbors and High Seas" doch ein wenig enttäuscht.

Die Karten sind interessant, aber man kann die Fahrten von Lucky Jack Aubrey auch mit einem Atlas verfolgen (schliesslich mangelt es in O'Brians Büchern nicht an Längen- und Breitenangaben).
Die Zusammenfassungen der Plots sind eher überflüssig, und die Ortsbeschreibungen sind sehr knapp.
Sehr gut fand ich nur die ca. 20 Seiten zu Handelsrouten, Wind, Strömungen und Navigation.

Also: Wer nach dem letzten bisschen Information aus dieser Zeit dürstet und den für den Inhalt unverhältnismässig hohen Preis akzpetiert, kann sich das Buch guten Gewissens kaufen. Wer nur eines der beiden Begleitbücher von Dean King kaufen will, greift besser zu "A Sea of Words".
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A superb sidekick for Aubrey/Maturin prettied to the nines, 2. März 2000
My previous review of Harbors and High Seas, found a couple of reviews below this one, was for the 1996 edition. So if you want my opinion of it, just scroll down a short way. This 1999 update is well worth buying even if you have the first one.
Of course, it embraces more titles of the series. But King and cohorts have spent some worthy time enlarging what was already there.
For just one example, the new edition has a biographical sketch of Lord Cochrane, the real fighting captain that Aubrey is patterned after. It was Cochrane, as captain of the little 16-gun Speedy, who captured the 36-gun Spanish ship that is the Cacafuego in the novel. Cochrane believed that anything shocking, out of the ordinary, was a valuable battle strategy. So he had his men blacken their faces and swarmed aboard the superior ship screaming bloody murder, exactly as Aubrey did.
Cochrane, like Aubrey, fell afoul of real-life jealousies and suffered the considerable consequences. It seems that military commanders with blood and guts run chills of jealousy up the spines of their more timid counterparts, and so find themselves in hot water. A modern example is Gen. George Patton -- he made too many other generals (Viscount Montgomery for one) appear hung up on dead center while he blasted full-speed ahead.
The new version of Harbors etc. bears a fine original cover painting by Geoff Hunt, who illustrated all the covers of the O'Brian sea stories.
Aubrey/Maturin fans who already have the 1966 version will find this a worthy addition. Those who don't -- well, how are you to learn what o'clock it is, Mate?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen More than a reference, 21. Juli 2000
Von 
I. Westray (Minneapolis, MN USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Harbors and High Seas gets more use from me than the lexicon reference to the Aubrey Maturin series, A Sea of Words. I skimmed through Harbors and High Seas after each O'Brian book the last time through; leaving alone the clearer geographical detail, this really adds depth to O'Brian's already convincing world.
I would recommend this highly to fans of the series who feel bereft at its close and long to return, to poke around a little themselves. Harbors and High Seas is full of taking off points, tangents to the stories that the curious reader can follow up on. A print of the decrepit Temple, reproduced here, might spark you to pursue some detail or other about Napoleon's Paris. The discussion of the many Desolation Islands has lots of little sides to it that could reward some curiosity. Like the stories, this is a sort of open-ended invitation into the historical setting, you might say.
Harbors and High Seas is a "companion" to the series, a complement to it, not just a reference to be consulted when you're muddled. Don't just refer to it -- read it for fun.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Dürftig und überflüssig - Eine Enttäuschung, 21. März 2009
Man hat in dem Buch grafische Darstellungen der Fahrten Jack Aubreys auf zahlreichen Karten. Die Qualität dieser Karten ist allerdings schwach, um nicht zu sagen dilettantisch und man findet in jedem Schulatlas wesentlich besseres Material.
Die zusätzlich zu den Karten in den Texten enthaltenen Informationen über Ortschaften sind zwar interessant, gehen aber nicht sehr in die Tiefe. Man findet sie im Internet schneller als im Buch.
Das Werk besteht aus Informationen, die man entweder schon hat, oder die man anderswo in besserer Qualität findet. Aus diesem Grund ist es überflüssig.
Insgesamt habe ich mehr erwartet und bin enttäuscht - Preis/Leistung ungenügend.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Indispensible Companion, 27. Februar 2000
I'm now on book 7 of the Aubrey-Maturin series, and have only had my Companion for the last 2...how much it adds to the joy and the education. The best part of the companion is the maps, with clearly marked routes taken by Lucky Jack's vessels. O'Brian's description of Aubrey passing by Elsinore while Jack describes his role in Hamlet as a young midshipman comes alive with both the map and the picture of Elsinore. As well, eliminating the frustration of trying to determine what is fiction (Grimsholm) from what is not (Admiral Suamarez) greatly adds to the historical learnings.
The only downside to having this companion is the irresistable temptation to read ahead...the plot lines of the first 17 books are all given in general outline. As O'Brian readers know, however, much of the joy is as much in the characterization and writing as in the plot line. So, even if you do look ahead, it in all likelihood only will increase your desire to move on to the next book....I personally can hardly wait to get to Treason's Harbour and the mood that O'Brian will create around historic Malta.
If you love maps, though, and have always used them to add a visual learning dimension and reference to the words, you can't possibly read the books without it.
In closing, I guess I should add the warning that as addictive as these books are, they become even more addictive with the companion.
Beware!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A splendid sidekick to have along with Aubrey & Maturin, 1. Mai 1999
Once in awhile just the right writer comes along for a critical assignment, and this time it is Dean King, accompanied by some other worthy contributors. A globe isn't nearly enough when you're sailing, fighting, surviving and adventuring with Jack Aubrey and Stephen Maturin, and it mattered not to me that King had to wait until there were sufficient chapters in O'Brian's incredible series (one that I look upon as one great, great book with 19 chapters) to form an adequate foundation for Harbors and High Seas, for I read them over and over and King's guide makes the repeat servings even more delightful.
Now as I travel the world in the O'Brian series I know where I am and where I've been -- and often where I'm going. The maps are outstanding (I always thought a map here and there in the novels themselves was called for), and King's narrative takes me ashore in places all over the aquatic world to round out my adventures with my favorite literary characters.
The old pictures from The Naval Chronicle are worthy -- and thoughtful -- additions to the whole fine work.
I guess I'll be reading Aubrey/Maturin books forever, and with Harbors and High Seas right at hand. Too bad the guide had to end with The Commodore but, hey, I'm not complaining. I'm happy for what's here.
Thanks to King, too, for his lexicon, A Sea of Words. That was the finishing touch for the O'Brian addict that I am -- I want to KNOW what a studding sail is, a snow (for I, like Maturin, thought a "snow" must be a white ship), the mainchains (not "chains" at all), the messenger (definitely not a means by which you might get a message to Garcia) . . .
A tip of the hat and a warm thank you to Dean King and his cohorts: John B. Hattendorf, J. Worth Estes, and mapmakers William Clipson and Adam Merton Cooper.
It is truly wonderful that this incredible series of historical novels has inspired these indispensible accompaniments. There is also the volume edited by A.E. Cunningham, "Patrick O'Brian: Critical Essays and a Bibliography" which belongs on the shelf with every O'Brian fan's collection. These books about O'Brian's books are a further testimony to the greatness of them -- they stood tall on their own, it's only that they're even more robust now.
Doug Briggs
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen An excellent companion to the Aubrey-Martin books, 23. Oktober 1997
If you enjoy the Aubrey-Maturin books as I did (and I read almost nothing else for several months), you will find this book an excellent reference aid. At times I found the geography in the books difficult to follow. The maps in Dean King's companion set forth with excellent clarity where Jack Aubrey and Stephen Maturin have been and when they were there. Although I found Dean King's lexicon (his other book) more helpful, I would nonetheless recommend this one.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Tolles Buch, 11. Februar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Inhaltlich sehr interessant und packend beschrieben. Hervorragend zu lesen. Besten Dank und herzliche Grüße bis zum nächsten Einkauf bei Ihnen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Like a "Text Book" but very helpful., 31. Mai 1998
Von 
Useing a guide/reference book while reading the great Aubrey/Maturin novels by P. O'Brian is like being back in school except this one is a lot more fun. And like reference books this one is now obsolete due to the release of more Aubrey/Maturin novels. It is still worth the price.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Its use doubles the pleasure of the Aubrey/Maturin series., 18. September 1998
This book enhances the pleasure of reading POB books. The charts and explanations clear up any geographic questions that invariably arise attempting to follow Capt Aubrey around the world. I wish I had this book when I first started reading the series.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen